Course Extinct
Christiansburg, VA 
Golden Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 150ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing

5+    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Great use of elevation changes
2. Mixture of short and long holes
3. Tees and holes are well marked and easy to locate
4. Paths for each hole are well cleared
5. Challenging
6. Fairways are clear and free from undergrowth
7. Benches!
Cons: 1. Tight fairways
2. Trash is common (desperate need of trashcans)
3. Course gets very muddy
4. Natural dirt tees
5. Broken signs
Other Thoughts: This is a fun midranged heavily wooded course. However the fairways are nice and open and easy to maneuver. Woods although thick off the fairway are very forgiving. Course is difficult but enjoyable and rewarding. They are extending this course to be a 36 hole course and should be open as a 36 soon. Overall this course is great for beginners and pro's alike. This is a diverse course that will really make you think about what you need to throw for the best outcome. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area. This is by far my favorite course in the Roanoke area, LOVE IT.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    9/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: fentos
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am new playing, but I have quickly come to realize what a gem of a course I have here as my "home course!" I have played it probably 20+ times over the last month and a half and have enjoyed every round. This is a challenging, yet fun course with lots of trees and elevation change. I have had bad rounds and good rounds, but still enjoy every single time I've played.

I've played this course with many friends as well as others I've met on the course and it seems to cater to all different types of throwers, be it backhand, sidearm, or tomahawk.

Another nice feature of GH is that the hole one starts to the right of the parking lot, and 18 returns right back to the parking lot. Also the practice/warm up basket is a nice feature.
Cons: The only real cons that I can think of are sometimes the course can get trashy, but you can return the next day and it's gone. Majority of the time it's kept clean.

The tee boxes can sometimes be muddy or loose dirt.

As far as playing cons, like I said, I'm pretty new to the sport, so I don't have a lot to compare the course as far as hole design.
Other Thoughts: Easy access from surrounding areas. Play-It-Again Sports (which sells discs) is right across 460 in front of the movie theater.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 mountain trip

5+    5/12/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: cbowl06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very technical. Doesn't rely just on the power throw. Its a great hike in the woods. At least one hole will test each throw you have. You really have to take the birdies that you can.
Cons: Can really get annoying if your disc is a tree magnet.
Other Thoughts: Love the course, it was actually the first one i played. Favorite holes. #3, 4 and 17.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gold Tees only

5+    11/3/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical. The alleys you see from the white tees are very frequently doubled in length and tighter. You have to find the fairway. If you hit early on the golds you will be punished. Requires placement and good upshots to score well. Will really challenge your game to make shots. 6 holes where it requires two shots to get to the basket. Fairways are fair but tight. Even more elevation in play than on whites and blue tees.
Cons: no tee signs. Natural tees. Probably need a guide or at least print off the map with directions to find them all. Does make for a longer round of golf. More course maintence gets done to the white and blue tees so a couple tee shots are slightly overgrown. Can be very frustating if you are off your game.
Other Thoughts: Course record is 52 by a couple different people. Not a begineer level tee. Amatuer player will shoot in the 60's and 70's. if it was to be parred would probaly be a par 60 or 61 depending on your view on long par 3's. Better tees and trimming on the fairways would rate this course to about 4.5. Due to the land and existing tees this course really can't get to a 5. Being near a college campus and having played this course over the last 10 years the white tees are 25x more open than it used to be due to kids breaking trees and ignoring the rules, but still plays well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tree loverís delight.

1    11/4/2007   10/19/2008
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The greatest challenge, and pleasure, of GH is navigating through the trees. This course emphasizes control and accuracy over a big arm and long throws. After the first two holes, which do themselves have trees in play, you really go deep into the woods until you get to #18 that brings you out of the deep woods again. Hole #1 starts right at the edge of the parking lot and #18 holes out back at the parking lot.

I love the shot-making and thought that goes into navigating this course. There are big uphill throws (#4 for example) and a couple super steep downhill throws (#3 and #6 are lots of fun). There are shots that require a RHBH hyzers, straight shots and anhyzers. And several holes set up great for a tomahawk or some other overhead throw. The sheer length of the holes from the first tees isn't overwhelming, but you must choose a good path or YOU WILL find the trees. Actually, even if you do choose a good path, it's highly likely that you will find trees at some point. The fairways for the most part, though, are clearly defined and most have multiple options for approaching the pins.

This course is an excellent cardio workout as you traverse many ravines and crest many hills while playing. And you really do feel like you're in the middle of nowhere for a lot of the time.
Cons: There are very few opportunities to really air out your shots. And I'm not saying that because I'm a big arm either. (If I make a level, open throw and get it out over 300' I'm very happy.) Now I only played from the white tees, but there were only about four opportunities for me to throw at full throttle with a driver, including #1 & #18 so there are only about two holes in the woods to really let it rip. I hate to even list this as a negative, as this course is about much more than distance. But in order to judge the course fairly, this could be a real downer for some of players. And if you have to have water on your course, I don't remember seeing any. The course plays over what appeared to be wet weather stream beds, but I didn't see any standing water on the course at all. If this seems really nit picky, it is, so don't let it stop you from checking out the course. So to add a little more variety to the course, some more open holes and some water could be nice.

The only other negative that I can think of is that since so much of the course is in the woods, a couple holes really seem to play similarly. #7 & #8 are both slightly uphill, blind tee shots that really feel a lot alike. And #13 & #14 play very much alike, having you throw across the same valley "out and back." Again, I'm being very picky here. And if the holes mentioned didn't happen to both be back to back sets of holes, I'd probably never have even thought about it.
Other Thoughts: Recommendation: If you're considering playing this course by yourself, please think again. It's very easy to lose track of discs here as several tee shots play totally blind. And if there are leaves on the ground, it can be a bugger to find even your well placed shots sometimes.

I saw it mentioned somewhere that the par 3 on each of the holes seemed a little unfair at GH. The way that I see it is that if par is supposed to mean that the best players should regularly be able to make par on the hole, then par 3 seems to suit this course just fine. I played the course four times, each time from the white tees. The best that I scored for 18 was 1 under par and the worst was only 3 over par. #18 was by far the hardest hole for me. I made two bogies and a triple bogie on it... yet somehow, I managed a par once. So if I can do it once, the best should certainly be able to do dit regularly. Now maybe if I'd have played from the longer tees I'd be singing a different story here.

So if you can't tell, I really like this course a lot. Actually, it's probably my favorite course. I can't give it a five, though, as a little more variety (ie. more open holes and some water) might make it even better. It's about a four and a half hour drive for me to GH but it's definitely a course that I'd make the road-trip for and spend a couple of days on the course. And I might very well change my mind about not getting to air out my shots enough if I tried the longer tees. And if I want to just let it fly a little, I'd just head up to Roanoke and play Fishburn Park. Anyway, I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone who wants a change from wide open, grip it and rip it, type courses. If you like playing courses that require a very accurate short to mid-range game, this ought to suit your tastes just fine. Enjoy.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

3/22/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Highlight of my trip, as this course shows that the area Disc Golfers care a lot about their course. Very little trash. Lot's of nurse logging method used [placing fallen trees into voids to prevent errosion and help players walk up steep inclines]. LOVED # 3 and # 17 and # 18, but others we're just as challenging. Play it again sports store right down the street from the park that sells a good variety of discs and accessesories. Very progressive community.
Cons: small parking lot, dirt tees
Other Thoughts:

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1/5/2008   1/5/2008
Review By: Chutney
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and a nice variety of required shots. This course will test your accuracy and ability to tolerate rollaways...
The pictures cannot do the elevation changes justice. There are some extreme holes.
Cons: Walking can be a bit treacherous at times due to the elevation, but otherwise no complaints.
Other Thoughts: A tough course that will definitely punish bad shots. Big numbers are possible on a lot of the holes if your game is off. One of my favorites so far. A really fun course. Your legs will be sore the next day!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.