Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Christiansburg, VA 
Golden Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 180ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 a chilling morning in the woods

1    10/18/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful when the leave are changing. Hole are fairly well defined and tee boxes well marked. Fantastic Job of layering the hills to make it easier to walk on some and to keep disc from rolling to much. Felt tees and distances matched well, keeping it real.
Cons: This is a hills course so if you don't like the up and downs then don't come here. Although the paths are well define so are some of the hiking trails and i got mixed up on a couple holes. The tee pads could use a little work, being filled in with dust or gravel would help with mud. The leaves were everywhere, combine that with a missed place drive you didn't watch land that well and you could easily miss place a disc on these hills. I also felt a few holes could have had a bit more defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy woods courses and this has all the elements required for a good one, with four tees you can play to what ever challenge your up to.There is some room for improvement but this a solid course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My new home course

5+    10/22/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Drew Craft
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Quiet, good workout, challenging, well kept. Maintenance people take good care of this course.
Cons: Some trees need to go. Easy course
Other Thoughts: I kill the course on a weekly basis.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Tree loverís delight.

1    11/4/2007   10/19/2008
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The greatest challenge, and pleasure, of GH is navigating through the trees. This course emphasizes control and accuracy over a big arm and long throws. After the first two holes, which do themselves have trees in play, you really go deep into the woods until you get to #18 that brings you out of the deep woods again. Hole #1 starts right at the edge of the parking lot and #18 holes out back at the parking lot.

I love the shot-making and thought that goes into navigating this course. There are big uphill throws (#4 for example) and a couple super steep downhill throws (#3 and #6 are lots of fun). There are shots that require a RHBH hyzers, straight shots and anhyzers. And several holes set up great for a tomahawk or some other overhead throw. The sheer length of the holes from the first tees isn't overwhelming, but you must choose a good path or YOU WILL find the trees. Actually, even if you do choose a good path, it's highly likely that you will find trees at some point. The fairways for the most part, though, are clearly defined and most have multiple options for approaching the pins.

This course is an excellent cardio workout as you traverse many ravines and crest many hills while playing. And you really do feel like you're in the middle of nowhere for a lot of the time.
Cons: There are very few opportunities to really air out your shots. And I'm not saying that because I'm a big arm either. (If I make a level, open throw and get it out over 300' I'm very happy.) Now I only played from the white tees, but there were only about four opportunities for me to throw at full throttle with a driver, including #1 & #18 so there are only about two holes in the woods to really let it rip. I hate to even list this as a negative, as this course is about much more than distance. But in order to judge the course fairly, this could be a real downer for some of players. And if you have to have water on your course, I don't remember seeing any. The course plays over what appeared to be wet weather stream beds, but I didn't see any standing water on the course at all. If this seems really nit picky, it is, so don't let it stop you from checking out the course. So to add a little more variety to the course, some more open holes and some water could be nice.

The only other negative that I can think of is that since so much of the course is in the woods, a couple holes really seem to play similarly. #7 & #8 are both slightly uphill, blind tee shots that really feel a lot alike. And #13 & #14 play very much alike, having you throw across the same valley "out and back." Again, I'm being very picky here. And if the holes mentioned didn't happen to both be back to back sets of holes, I'd probably never have even thought about it.
Other Thoughts: Recommendation: If you're considering playing this course by yourself, please think again. It's very easy to lose track of discs here as several tee shots play totally blind. And if there are leaves on the ground, it can be a bugger to find even your well placed shots sometimes.

I saw it mentioned somewhere that the par 3 on each of the holes seemed a little unfair at GH. The way that I see it is that if par is supposed to mean that the best players should regularly be able to make par on the hole, then par 3 seems to suit this course just fine. I played the course four times, each time from the white tees. The best that I scored for 18 was 1 under par and the worst was only 3 over par. #18 was by far the hardest hole for me. I made two bogies and a triple bogie on it... yet somehow, I managed a par once. So if I can do it once, the best should certainly be able to do dit regularly. Now maybe if I'd have played from the longer tees I'd be singing a different story here.

So if you can't tell, I really like this course a lot. Actually, it's probably my favorite course. I can't give it a five, though, as a little more variety (ie. more open holes and some water) might make it even better. It's about a four and a half hour drive for me to GH but it's definitely a course that I'd make the road-trip for and spend a couple of days on the course. And I might very well change my mind about not getting to air out my shots enough if I tried the longer tees. And if I want to just let it fly a little, I'd just head up to Roanoke and play Fishburn Park. Anyway, I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone who wants a change from wide open, grip it and rip it, type courses. If you like playing courses that require a very accurate short to mid-range game, this ought to suit your tastes just fine. Enjoy.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

3/22/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1147  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 26.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Highlight of my trip, as this course shows that the area Disc Golfers care a lot about their course. Very little trash. Lot's of nurse logging method used [placing fallen trees into voids to prevent errosion and help players walk up steep inclines]. LOVED # 3 and # 17 and # 18, but others we're just as challenging. Play it again sports store right down the street from the park that sells a good variety of discs and accessesories. Very progressive community.
Cons: small parking lot, dirt tees
Other Thoughts:

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the faint of heart

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: Snaps017
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety in holes and required shot techniques. This course really tests your skills. Many elevation changes which adds to a more enjoyable experience. Holes are typically long and good for power arms, though there are a few areas where finesse really comes in to play.
Cons: Sometimes the wind can be a bear to over come on holes 1, 2, and 18 (which are the only holes that are really open, the rest are heavily wooded). Each hole on the course is a par 3, which is fine for some but there are other holes where, unless your really good or on top of your game that day, it can be hard to do "extremely" well. Also because of the heavily wooded holes and changing topography, your accuracy and patience is truly tested. That one little tree can cause your disc to roll a hundred feet in the wrong direction...I've seen it happen.
Other Thoughts: I'm a Virginia Tech student so I play this course regularly...several times a week typically, and each time I go out there its new challenges to overcome. The course is set up really well, its in a great quiet area and generally gathers a good crowd of people. Great course and definitely worth a visit.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1/5/2008   1/5/2008
Review By: Chutney
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and a nice variety of required shots. This course will test your accuracy and ability to tolerate rollaways...
The pictures cannot do the elevation changes justice. There are some extreme holes.
Cons: Walking can be a bit treacherous at times due to the elevation, but otherwise no complaints.
Other Thoughts: A tough course that will definitely punish bad shots. Big numbers are possible on a lot of the holes if your game is off. One of my favorites so far. A really fun course. Your legs will be sore the next day!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.