Big Rapids, MI
Northend Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Course

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 103  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Tough narrow technical shots and lots of dog leg right shots.
-Very easy to follow
-Pro and Woman/Rec tees, all tees have signs and posts to show where next tees are.
Cons: Only if you're playing solo then there are some blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Go ahead and knock me for the "piss-poor" review, but I like to keep is short and simple! ;)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Let It Flow

1    6/24/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a nice parcel of wooded land. There is very good flow to this course, and although it has some decent length holes, you can move through 18 holes very rapidly. In most cases there is very little wasted movement getting from one hole to the next which can become tiresome in high heat or snowy situations. Very good for finding rhythm. The course is also marked very well with directions to your next location which is nice for visitors. Oddly enough the 18th hole seems out of place after a smooth run. There are red tees for ladies or beginners which offer much relief on a few holes. The layout here offers some fun playing. Even errant shots are relatively easy to locate as the rough spots are low and mostly vegetated with ferns. There are no ridiculous "stupid" holes that are clogged with trees and completely luck dependant here which I really was happy about. Zero frustration due to "stupid holes."
Cons: This place plays very flat. There is really not much variety to speak of in terms of terrain. No water. The majority of bends are to the right, which can effectively disable beginners and players who are solely righty backhand throwers. This makes for a decent degree of difficulty despite the relatively routine lay of the land.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing this course. I think there is much to be said about having fun whilst playing. What are we really there for? I don't want to spend a round completely frustrated by "stupid holes" and this course delivered the fun big time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uncommon northern location. Quite challenging, with lots of narrow corridors in the woods. Nice cement tee pads. Good signs, especially the ones pointing to the next hole. Better than average Chainstar baskets. Good navigation overall with few or no difficulties locating holes. Does a good job overall with available land and resources.
Cons: A few too many forest holes; a trait shared with Whitehall Township Park, which it closely resembles. Holes near road (1/18) seem a little compromised. Some slightly more open holes at the front and back end of the course, but no real stunning holes, and somewhat flat overall. A fairly crowded course.
Other Thoughts: Course could be improved slightly by utilizing some of the more open park areas and cutting some trees and planting grass in some of the wooded areas. Some benches here and there, but not at every hole. Hole 10 is a very tough 570 foot hole in the woods which few would par, and there are some fairway paths, like the 360' Hole 15.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, doglegs left and right, multiple tees, well marked, easy to navigate. Concrete tees on blue, dirt on red. Attractive northern michigan 'wooded course' that is tightly technical without being overly punishing to errant throws. Not overly busy for a Friday night when we played it.
Cons: The middle part of the course ('Anhyzer Alley' as the signs labeled it), is a bit tricky and tightly wooded. Bugs can be a problem in the woods, and poison ivy off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I played off the blue tees on our recent visit, while my companions played off the red tees ( in order to get a good overall picture of the course ), and we found that sometimes the red tees, while being shorter, were frequently more challenging in terms of being more technical. Overall, a nice course, that I would be happy to revisit.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.