Big Rapids, MI 
Northend Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a small multiuse park but the disc golf is a good ways away from the remaining activities. A big plus.
- Well laid out. No significant design flaws other than #17 and maybe the #3 fairway- more on that later.
- The front 9 and some of the back nine have nice little "next tee" signs that are engraved 4x4's low to the ground. Very helpful. Too bad they weren't every where.
- Tee signs are also 4x4's with the hole information engraved and painted on them. Very rudimentary but get the job done efficiently.
- Really enjoyed the baskets on #3 and #18. While not technically elevated baskets in the strictest sense they are up on a landscaped mound making for a challenging approach in both cases.
- The long tees all have well constructed concrete pads.
- Baskets seem to be newer Discraft however I don't know which model. They're in great shape and catch well with the multi layers of chain.
- Now it appears there is an active project going on at the moment to replace many of the benches. There are 4x4 stubs sticking out of the ground at most of the holes so since this seems like a active project going on I won't deduct anything from my evaluation. Just shows that someone is attempting to take good care of this course.
- Sandy soil. I know this is a really weird pro but there is some erosion issues here. Without the sandy soil I have to believe after a rain this place becomes a muddy muddy mess.
- Really thought the left vs. right holes were balanced out quite well.
Cons: - The #3 and #2 fairways are a little close to each other. Use caution on these holes for errant throws.
- The short tees are just 4x4's laid in the ground. Concrete pads for the shorts would really spruce things up. Right now, it's just a anckle twisting dirty rut in the ground.
- This course gets A LOT of traffic presumably from Ferris State. The main issue with that is erosion. It's high time for preventative measures before things get uglier.
- While the design for the most part isn't flawed and each individual hole on its own is great the course as a whole seems like a variations on a theme. Just one hole after another cut through the woods. Your typical Michigan discgolf right here. It isn't bad just nothing unique.
- The biggest con of all is the sheer number of huckers on the course. There's just so many of them.
- Really didn't like how you have to walk up the #17 fairway from the 16 basket to get to the 17 tee. With all the woods available it would be nice to have a more direct path between the two.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, I am completely jealous that people get to have a course like this so close to where they live. So don't take my criticisms wrong way. There's nothing lackluster about Riverbend but there just isn't anything spectacular about it either. The tee markers are sort of an indication of this. They work - but just. Nothing special.

Not sure I'd advise anyone to come here while school is in session at Ferris. That school is loaded with huckers a plenty. Some are cool, some are just clueless while others are just plane rude. Just goes to prove one of my life sayings; "Huckers, you can't live with 'em, you can't shoot 'em." Just show up when schools out and you'll have a great time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 108  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Tough narrow technical shots and lots of dog leg right shots.
-Very easy to follow
-Pro and Woman/Rec tees, all tees have signs and posts to show where next tees are.
Cons: Only if you're playing solo then there are some blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Go ahead and knock me for the "piss-poor" review, but I like to keep is short and simple! ;)

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Let It Flow

1    6/24/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a nice parcel of wooded land. There is very good flow to this course, and although it has some decent length holes, you can move through 18 holes very rapidly. In most cases there is very little wasted movement getting from one hole to the next which can become tiresome in high heat or snowy situations. Very good for finding rhythm. The course is also marked very well with directions to your next location which is nice for visitors. Oddly enough the 18th hole seems out of place after a smooth run. There are red tees for ladies or beginners which offer much relief on a few holes. The layout here offers some fun playing. Even errant shots are relatively easy to locate as the rough spots are low and mostly vegetated with ferns. There are no ridiculous "stupid" holes that are clogged with trees and completely luck dependant here which I really was happy about. Zero frustration due to "stupid holes."
Cons: This place plays very flat. There is really not much variety to speak of in terms of terrain. No water. The majority of bends are to the right, which can effectively disable beginners and players who are solely righty backhand throwers. This makes for a decent degree of difficulty despite the relatively routine lay of the land.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing this course. I think there is much to be said about having fun whilst playing. What are we really there for? I don't want to spend a round completely frustrated by "stupid holes" and this course delivered the fun big time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 86  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uncommon northern location. Quite challenging, with lots of narrow corridors in the woods. Nice cement tee pads. Good signs, especially the ones pointing to the next hole. Better than average Chainstar baskets. Good navigation overall with few or no difficulties locating holes. Does a good job overall with available land and resources.
Cons: A few too many forest holes; a trait shared with Whitehall Township Park, which it closely resembles. Holes near road (1/18) seem a little compromised. Some slightly more open holes at the front and back end of the course, but no real stunning holes, and somewhat flat overall. A fairly crowded course.
Other Thoughts: Course could be improved slightly by utilizing some of the more open park areas and cutting some trees and planting grass in some of the wooded areas. Some benches here and there, but not at every hole. Hole 10 is a very tough 570 foot hole in the woods which few would par, and there are some fairway paths, like the 360' Hole 15.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, doglegs left and right, multiple tees, well marked, easy to navigate. Concrete tees on blue, dirt on red. Attractive northern michigan 'wooded course' that is tightly technical without being overly punishing to errant throws. Not overly busy for a Friday night when we played it.
Cons: The middle part of the course ('Anhyzer Alley' as the signs labeled it), is a bit tricky and tightly wooded. Bugs can be a problem in the woods, and poison ivy off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I played off the blue tees on our recent visit, while my companions played off the red tees ( in order to get a good overall picture of the course ), and we found that sometimes the red tees, while being shorter, were frequently more challenging in terms of being more technical. Overall, a nice course, that I would be happy to revisit.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.