Disc Golf Store
Big Rapids, MI 
Northend Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #10 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Northend

5+    5/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: SMZcrystals
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course conditions you for being able to maneuver between trees and in tight gaps.
-Makes all other fairways seem wide-open.
-No water traps.
-Never crowded
Cons: -Lots and lots of trees.
Other Thoughts: Great area, feel free to hop on a tube and the float river back to campus!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northend

5+    11/22/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: alex.topspin.uganski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of shots are required to get through the varying amounts of trees/shrubs. It is well maintained. Nice outdoors experience.
Cons: Trees will try to get in the way of every shot they can. It messes with some people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside is the cure for the Traveling Blues

2-4    9/17/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Although this course is located in a popular park, the majority of the patrons congregate along the river. While the lot is often packed, the traffic on the course is mostly DG patrons.

Beautiful wide cement tees in fantastic condition.

Secluded feel through most of the course. Paths are well worn and navigation is effortless.

Great course character with bottlecap-tiled paths, log art, and an "Anhyzer Alley" that replaces irritation of similar holes with an 'opponent' to beat, even in solo rounds. Benches wisely placed at key points during a round.

Length. Courses often consider reduced distances a fair trade with more trees. Here you get both. 11 of 18 holes > 300' and there are trees everywhere.
Cons:
Lackluster signage. 4x4 posts, unless jazzed up considerably, are a dreadful signage choice. Tee signs convey the least amount of information possible (length and vector representation of path). Many baskets are obscured from the tee, and some more info on the drive would be appreciated.

This course was listed as 'moderately hilly' on DGCR, and I found myself wondering why. There is some undulation that is certainly pleasing to the eye, but very little of it impacts your shot choice. I would say it is flat with bumps.

I was very disappointed that a course with "Riverside" in its title had not one water hole.


Other Thoughts:
While I cited course character as a significant pro (and it is), the majority of my complaints deal with things (signage, specifically) that would be considered 'course character'.

I could see the care and time that was taken to design and maintain this course, but it depressed me that the signage was so lazy. An investment in signage would definitely increase my rating.

I'm hard pressed to have much more to complain about. I played this course again rather than playing a new one on my way home. I very much like this course.

For some reason, thinking of this course always causes me to hum Led Zeppelin.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage--huge amounts of signs out here, there is absolutely no way you're getting lost out here.

Variety--decent amount, There were a lot of the same fades (right or left) in a row however

Dual tees--some helpful, some, not so much

Location--in one of my favorite parks in big rapids.

Originality--bottle cap path, cool looking trees, anhyzer alley, the bulletin board about half way through.

Cons: some supid holes--18 comes to mind. go left, then right, then left again. boo! there is also a hole with an uphill, hard right about 50 feet off the tee pad, very little room for error here. Also, there was a big garter snake here. :)

Erronious measurements--There is no way that some of the red tee lengths (compared to the blue tee) are accurate. There is not 60 feet that is equal to 15 feet ever.

A bit repetitve in some places, a lot of the same types of holes in a row, plus, tired of trees about halfway through.
Other Thoughts: I went to Ferris so this is a bit sentimental for me. I enjoyed this course, harder than hell but a great time none the less.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2008   7/13/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has a lot of really good Holes. It's pretty wooded which is a definite plus for me. Has a multiple tee's. Good amount of shots, Cement Tee's on Blues. It has bathrooms.
Cons: Saw some posion ivy. Some bugs are around. There can be a decent amount of people depending on the time.
Other Thoughts: Seems that sometimes the red's can be a little harder, even though shorter.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: jansenk4
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -No water, generally playable at anytime during the year.

-Holes are pretty good and wooden posts with fairway path carved into them lets you know where you are shooting.

-If beginning, amateur tees on some holes (2 and the longest hole 10?) have big advantages This makes it fun for beginners and is a good course to play if you want to eventually want to pick it up as a hobby.

-Since there are trees, you can play this course a million times and never throw the same shots. Fun to mix up your game/throws each time you come out. (I've driven backhand, forehand and even tomahawk on holes)
Cons: -Ferris State University has a lot of big groups of students go through, or "pros in training" like to throw multiple discs and can hold you up, but most people will let you play through.

-Hard to play if you throw right handed and don't have a forehand shot, many holes go right, although #3, #6, and 2 more on the back nine go left.

Other Thoughts: Whoever did the review should really switch this course description from moderately wooded to heavily wooded.

Four holes to warm up with few trees before you have to decide on how you plan to shoot around trees.

Both my favorite and most frustrating course to date (of 6 courses)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough..sorta

1    7/6/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: LangWu99
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very supprised with this course as have others. I went into this not really expecting much but after playing the first round and seeing what there was to offer I had to play again.

This was difficult without being too frustrating and fun enough to make up for the hassles that I did encounter.

Of course everything everybody else listed about this course like cement tees, alternate tees and such made this a great outing.
Cons: A few things too mention that brought it down but could be rectified.

Even a little bit off the fairway was very costly. There was a lot of young trees and bushes that just add strokes to a decent throw.

Low clearing branches on a couple of holes knocked down some great could have been shots

Some distance between a couple of tees.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to see some brush and dead branch cleansing here. That would of eliminated a couple of strokes from the card.

It would be nice to see an alternate loop using some of the distance along the power lines if its legal to do so..

I wish this was a little closer to me because I would definately play it over Kenwood every day.

If you're within even 40 miles of this course make a point to check it out at least once and play through a second time the same day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a surprise!

2-4    5/17/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This quality of this course came as a complete surprise! Accurate directions on the course info page lead us to a beautifully tended and spotlessly clean little park with easy access to the first tee, and the course loops you right back to the parking lot on #18. Generously sized cement tee pads with really nice texturing created sure footing with plenty of space for a run up on the blue tees (a buddy of ours commented numerous times how much he loved the massive size of the tee pads). The alternate red tees with shorter distances, but often more difficult shots, had well packed and even dirt pads for almost equally secure footing. I LOVE that the red tees offer shorter distances while preserving, and even adding to, the unique character and difficulty of each hole.

The entire course was well marked with tee markers containing tee color, footage and target direction, and with directional signs to both tee pads.

Given the compact nature of the course, every hole was very well thought out and challenging, making great use of all the rolling terrain and vegetation changes. This course seems to reward distance and accuracy in even measures, depending on the hole. There's a fairly even mix of mostly open/slightly wooded and heavily wooded holes and plenty of doglegs with a preponderance of rights, including the massively evil uphill right turn on #5 that leads to an elevated basket. A bad drive here will leave you in deep woods while a bad approach or putt may have your disc rolling all the way back down the hill!

A really cool bottle cap walkway has been created between holes #16 and #17 - make sure you check it out!

Holes #4 and #17 are on an elevated area of the park making them the picturesque spots on the course. I particularly liked putting into the sunset on #17. Sigh.
Cons: The road comes into play on hole #1, and errant shots on the front 5 could easily strike players on neighboring holes or bikers/walkers on the bike path that cruises through near #4.

A course board with an empty scorecard box was situated between holes #6 and #7. Hmmmm....(scratching head).

Even with the shorter red tees, the technical difficulty of this course could leave some beginners a little frustrated.
Other Thoughts: This course is quickly becoming one of my favorites for its ability to maximize fun and challenge without any heavy climbing or long hikes. Plus, the dual tee pads allow for playing 2 rounds with very different feels!

*** Update 7/9/11 ***
Holes 17 and 18 have been moved, eliminating having to cross at 4 to get to 18. It also eliminates the possibility that overshots at the 17 basket could hit someone teeing off on 4. #17 now has all new tee pads going the opposite direction it used to, still utilizing the big terrain dip as before. #18 utilizes the old #17 tees and shoots toward where the old 17 basket was, but then the fairway shoots left into the open field to an elevated basket at the edge of a drop off. A short hike down the drop off and a scuttle across the entrance road brings you right back to your car.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Northend Riverside

1    3/26/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: tarynla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nicely put together course. Has some challenging holes back in the woods.
Cons: Not a very good course for begginers. To much stuff to worry about when throwing in the woods. Seeing how 14 out of 18 holes are in the woods. Almost every hole is a dog leg / "L" shaped hole. Not very diverse.
Other Thoughts: There isn't any worries for losing your disc because there is no water factor on this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, tight, tight!

1    10/2/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well kept and very well marked. Nice baskets and tee boxes. Some well protected baskets and elevated tees & greens. Most holes strictly reward well thrown discs and severely penalize wayward shots.
Cons: An awful lot of very similar holes. A handful of holes require as much luck as skill off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Great to see trash cans on the course and most of them seem to be being used. Although this is a deep woods course, the ground cover is thin enough that you should not lose discs.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.