Disc Golf Store
Traverse City, MI 
Northwestern Michigan College Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #2 (Taken 7/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
bridget the midget

1    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--plays across a portion of a small college campus, many paths and non-traditional obstacles come into play. Area is not dg exclusive so be careful.

Teepads--short but there really is no need for a run up of any length.

Baskets--old mach 3s in decent repair but the numbers on top do not match the actual hole number.

Cons: Routing and navigation--would be an absolute nightmare without the map. Seriously, there is no Freakin way you'd figure this one out. I still have no clue where hole 3s teepad is.

Safety--during busy times this course could be seriously dangerous as you cross many paths and walkways.

Challenge-- do not, I repeat, do not bring more than a putter and a midrange to this course, you will just look silly out there wif yo big o bag of drivers. Serious pitch and putt, ace run course to the nth degree.
Other Thoughts: Nice for what it is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fuggetaboutit

5+    9/17/2004   6/4/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It only takes 30 or so minutes to play.



Cons: As it is right on campus, close to a high school, there is far too much non-DG traffic in tight spots, most of whom are working, not recreating.

Bland holes.

Inconvenient parking.

A complete waste of time.
Other Thoughts: I only played this course before/after class when I attended NMC, or before my DJ shift at WNMC. I have since, on many, many occasions, driven past this course with 30 minutes to kill and kept right on driving.

This is a beautiful little campus, and while their intentions were good, there simply is not enough room here, not even for 9 holes. Holes have been moved, removed, and moved again over time, to no avail.

Nothing they can do will make this a worthy 9 holes. They would have been better off creating four decent holes with three tees.

Save your time, and play Mt Holiday twice instead.

If you are looking for a community college to attend that is a great school in a great town, then definitely come here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course Change

5+    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to town.

Good Parking.

Easy to follow course.

Good beginner course.
Cons: Parking at Elm Parking lot during the school year w/o an NMC parking permit will land you a $15.00 ticket even if the lot is totally empty.

Flat.... painfully flat.

Came to the tee east of the manhole and there was a sign that the tee was moved further east to the other side of the main campus drive. The "flow" of the tees isn't good.

A lot of people walking through campus can make chucking discs hazardous.

Other Thoughts: I was taught to play here. Within a week I was bored out of my gourd. I like to swing through if I need a quick 15 minute fix... but otherwise I'd rather hit Hickory or Mt Holiday.

**********UPDATE Aug 23th, 2010**************
The first basket (playing from the north) now has a big ole gravel parking lot with full drainage ditch/retention pond next to it. WTF NMC? Between this and the Tee after the manhole freebee shot being relocate this site has gone downhill in a hurry. I get no joy playing this once mildly fun course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great for Dorm students

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: bigdaveberg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Im a student here and my first time discing. I have to say I like the layout. Very fun to play before class if you have time. Not to long of course. Have to tomahawk a hole. A couple holes can be aced. And a few can be bombed.
Cons: None at this time
Other Thoughts: Going to play Hickory Hills and buy a disc from Tilly's today.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    6/27/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -near to lots of TC attractions and multiple beaches to hang out at after a round
-you can get a full round in in 20 minutes
-new concrete tees
-about half the baskets are brand new
-very short and beginner friendly
Cons: -a little hard to follow if you've never been here before because there are no signs
-the closest parking lot to tee one is now permanently closed during the summer because of local teens trashing it and doing drugs/drinking there, so you now have to walk a hundred yards form your car to get to tee one and this can be troubling to figure out without signs
-no challenge for the experience player (only hole 1 is over 300ft, and that's wide open), and most holes have few obstacles
Other Thoughts: -the original 7 hole layout was the best, but NMC did the best the could with the space that they had to work with.
-adding cement pads was a very nice, unexpected touch
-new hole 2 is pointless. Old 2 was a great hole and provided some challenge, but the pin position was too close to the music building and people would hit the building/windows with discs, hence the change.
-it just seems like the new holes (2, 3, 4, 6) were forced into the layout to make it 9, and they don't provide much challenge
-its fun, but don't go out of your way to play it if you're just passing through quickly

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not good

5/15/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's something to play, I guess.
Cons: I played here with a friend a few years ago, and it was almost impossible to figure out where the holes were. It's inside of the main courtyard of a small college campus, so unless you go during the off-hours, be prepared to dodge students walking through.
Other Thoughts: If you're in this area, go for Hickory Hills, or Mt. Holiday - both are much better than this.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Do It to Yourself

7/10/2006   12/10/2007
Review By: riecker2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's not an awful lot to like. If you're from town, it's a fun course to take new players to but there is an awful lot of vandalism. The last time I played, someone had stolen one of the holes. In the summer, they set up a softball field that takes a couple of holes away. It's hard to find your way around. They may have changed some things but, with Hickory Hills so close, there's no reason to go here. If you're new and are looking for a few baskets to throw at, it's okay. Holes are very short, longest hole is 300'.
Cons: The high school is right next door and there is a pretty big crowd sometimes. Again, I'd really recommend some other course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.