Disc Golf Store
Northwood, IA 
Northwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: dsmeyer Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
-- / --   3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Near Hole #7 Basket shot across river to holes #8 and #9



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/1/2013   1/14/2014
Review By: bils247
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In a nicely kept city park
Not much for park traffic most days
Secluded from town
A nice variety of shots are required
Cons: Navigation in the wooded area can be tricky
No latitudinal changes to speak of
Some shots require throwing near people or autos
Other Thoughts: I will be back to play again soon, right in my buddies back yard......worth a stop if you are in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 hometown course

5+    5/16/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: I have a soft spot for this course since its my hometown course. A couple of my buddies and i helped design the first 9 hole course. I like most of the new 9 holes. Especially holes 7 and 10 im still close with the guys who remodled it and the grass is growing in nicely on those holes. A very nice park with a lot of stuff to do. The disc golf course fits in very nicely here
Cons: I would have given this course a lot better rating. But living down by des moines i get to play a lot of world class courses so this course is good not great. Very flat. A lot of the holes are pretty short. The shell rock has been known to eat up a lot of discs. I know cement tee pads are the way next year i think. Im spoiled by cement pads and the dirt - grass tee pads can be kind of annoying especially after it rains. Because there is a lot of stuff down there. It can get kind of crouded with civilians. Might have to skip some holes because cars are parked right in front of tee pads. Hole 8 is annoying as well needs to be reworked a bit
Other Thoughts: Mark, alan, mitchell and others that have helped with the renovations. You have done a great job making this course one of the best in the area.

 Technical Fun

2-4    1/14/2011   1/14/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Located in a park with playground, horseshoe pits, picnic shelter, a Pool/Waterslide is on the grounds, bathrooms and baseball fields, and a large parking area.

Baskets. All 18 holes had Chainstar baskets, all of them were in good shape, no alternate pin positions, though many local tournaments utilize several safari holes.

Signage. Marked with a plastic 4x4 post with a map of the hole, distance, next tee, and hole #.

Technical Variety. The course starts out (1-4) with relatively open holes with well placed mature trees, requiring relatively easy lines. Then the course dives into the woods (5-12) for several short (150'-250') tightly wooded technical holes that require accuracy and some simple line shaping. Then it finishes off with a few more relatively open holes (13-18).

Cons: Only one set of tees, natural tees are rough in several spots, this course could benefit from something more stable.

Navigation. Relatively intuitive, but easy to get turned around, even after playing it a couple of times. After hole 4, walk past the baseball fields upstream to the bridge, hole 5 tee is behind hole 14 tee in the woods across the river. Hole 7 is back out into the open area, but remember the tee immediately to the right of 6 basket as that's 8 tee. After hole 14, cross the bridge.

Short. Holes top out at maybe 350' (just a guess), there could be room for some longer holes.

Use of water. The course plays along the beautiful Shellrock River, but it never really comes into play (A shanked shot on hole 1 would be about the only concern), I would have liked to see some holes play across or nearer to the river as an added challenge.

Many of the holes are brand new and could use a bit of brushing to clear stumps and undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful, fun, short, challenging course, definitely worth a play if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Northwood DGC review.

1    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: xharkx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has nice baskets. A few different ways to get into the park.
Cons: First off I am pretty sure this park has suffered extensive flood damage, so I am not going to harp on it for that.

I found it very hard to find holes. Walk from 1 basket to 2 is around 100 yards with no sign or arrow pointing you in the right direction. This becomes an ongoing problem throughout the course. We couldn't even find hole number 8? Maybe it got taken away in a flood?

Teepads are ankle breakers. I threw from the sides of them.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential, however it REALLY needs some arrows at the end of holes telling you which way to walk. Or maybe a course map on the first hole so you can see which ways to go.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.