Sanford, NC 
O. T. Sloan Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #3
3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Tale of Two Nines(I'm sure I've usd this title before)

1    11/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is typical North Carolina. It's heavily wooded. Tight fairways with punishing rough. Most of them are pretty short, typically under 200 feet. It's a solid course for beginners and novices have the benefit of extra tees that are even shorter. It's a fun course for them to get accustomed to the type of bigger courses that they will find in the area. At the same time better players shouldn't be too bored by the hole design.

The back nine is mostly open and longer. What's great here is that beginning players can get accustomed to both types of holes. While they may not be able to drive the entire distance on these holes, they will have the opportunity to try. For better players, it's nice to have the opportunity to open up a bit in Carolina. 10 and 11 are particularly nice as they feature a few trees, and drives will have to be shaped a bit.
Cons: The front nine is more Anderson Park than Valley Springs. The lines aren't clean, meaning that trees are often in fairways instead of lining them. Additionally these holes are too close together at times, meaning to get from a basket to a tee, you often have to walk across the fairway you just finished. Some tees are also in the firing zones of other tees. for both reasons, it may not be the best course to play when it's busy.

The back nine is fairly simple if you can drive 300 accurately. I also worry slightly about 12 and 13, which parallel a tennis court. The fence is fairly high, but with potential new players, I don't doubt that some lefties have put discs on the court. I'm still more worried about 16 though. I can see a player, a few rounds in to their career and gaining some distance, climbing up to the tee, trying to power one out and watching it fade left, and left, and left, and right into the pool.
Other Thoughts: When you combine the two nines, you get a nice variety that will be a solid learning experience for new players and a fun enough day for everyone else, but nothing special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and wooded

2-4    1/24/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a decent technical style wooded course. You'll have to shape the disc a bit but it's mostly hitting straight tight gaps on most holes.

There are a few longer holes (but no bombers) and a couple with some good elevation change.

There's OB around some baskets and fairways to make it even more challenging, it's short but not an easy course.

Course flows pretty good, no confusing parts. 1-9 is a loop back to the parking lot. The park itself has other facilities.

Atmosphere - In an older park that's still in good shape.

Equipment - Concrete pads. Baskets are older but still in good shape. Hole Distance shown on post. Benches on each hole.
Cons: Layout - Not that much variation throughout the course. Many holes are repeated. Only some of the holes have real elevation change.

There's nothing that makes the course really stand out. You play near the road and other park facilities a bit so that takes away from it.
Some of the next tees are close to baskets.

Atmosphere - Not the best looking park in NC, it's just kind of average. You definitely don't get a remote feeling out there.

Equipment - Some of the pads are short. No real tee signs. Baskets are getting old.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a huge fan of this course, it is what it is. It's a good place to work on your short game and hitting tight gaps but definitely not a course to travel to. It's good for the locals because there isn't much else in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 got what I paid for... and then some

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was not crowded.
There were no water holes.
Back 9 had some challenging holes.
Easy to find next hole.
Not much undergrowth.
Long tee pads (where there are any)
Cons: Several holes close to the road.
Baskets hard to spot; not bright yellow.
On a few holes, there was no good path to the basket.
No concrete pads on "novice" tees; pads on about half of the other tees.
Other Thoughts: It was not an extremely exciting place to play. 2 of the holes ran parallel to the road through a section of woods. Would have been easy to hit a tree and bounce into traffic. 10 is an open hole with the road 30 feet or so beyond the basket. 15 (I think) was my favorite: throw from a hilltop across a field to a basket 300 feet away. My best drive of the day (and I still got a bogie).

This is about what I expect from a dg course. It's in a public park; we don't have to pay to use it; there's very little tax money allocated for this sport. Sometimes I'm pleasantly surprised by a public course. But I'm not really in a position to demand more.

I was excited about going to Fins Furs and Feathers to check out what I hear is a very good selection of dg equipment. But the owner has been rearranging the setup, and the dg stuff was in a locked room. I was outa luck. Then I was hoping to play a good round of dg, but I was outa luck there too. I don't know if this is because of the baskets, or because I wasn't throwing very well today, but a couple of putts seemed to hit the chains perfectly, and kicked back out.

If I'm in the area again, I'll probly play this course again, but I drove about 50 miles to go there, and it wasn't worth that to me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a beginner friendly layout with excellent variety of open and technical holes that makes for a fun course to play. The front nine and 16-18 are short and technical while most of the back nine (10-15) are longer and slightly more open.

Holes 9 and 18 loop back to the parking lot so you can go play a quick nine if you want and you don't have to hike back to your car.

Lost disc risk is very low

Benches on every hole.

Most of the holes have fair and attainable lines and the greens are open enough that you won't find yourself with a wall of trees in front of you 20ft from the basket.

A lot of work is being done on the course to make it even better. There were signs of fresh cutting on 16 and 17 (or maybe a lot of fallin trees)

Concrete Tee-pads have been added on many of the holes (mostly the long ones)
Cons: many of the holes will be easy and short for the better players.

While there are concrete pads being put in not all of the holes have them (Doesn't affect my view on the course but some don't like natural pads) also some of the concrete pads are short and awkward.
Even though these are mostly on shorter holes there should still be more room

A few holes come very close to a busy road which could be a problem or danger if someone throws an errant shot.

Some of the tee pads are very close to the previous basket and someone could easily be hit.

I also don't remember seeing many trashcans if any on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a very fun course to play and was relatively well kept. Nothing fancy and not your championship caliber course but it is defiantly worth a stop if you're in the area

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

1    9/20/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course layout is fairly intuitive - even with no map, you can pretty easily find the right hole.
- Distances on the
- Am teeboxes as well for beginners.
- Decent variation of tight, wooded, typical NC course for front nine and more open, air-out for the back nine (over the whole course, but somewhat repetitive - see below).
- Even though it was wooded, there is minimal underbrush, so there is minimal risk for losing a disk.
- 15 is a very cool hole - as mentioned in other reviews.
Cons: - Tee pad variations - the dirt was fine, some were under construction - I am somewhat concerned with how the paver blocks they were installing will wear over time (will they stay level?).
- Some of the front nine are a little repetitive - just another tight shots through trees.....
- Two holes (6 & 7 I think) throw parallel and within 50' of the busy street that you just drove on - bad news for an errant RHBH throw. I really don't like them
- The course is tight, and several of the teeboxes are very close to, or you backtrack back down the fairway to throw for the next holes, so it definitely would slow down heavy traffic (although it was empty when I played).
Other Thoughts: - one of the weirdest vibes I have gotten - I went mid-day mid-week, and there was a ton of traffic through the parking lotto the YMCA and a lot of "loitering cars" - people were just watching you. There was nobody on the course, which I like just fine, just concerned that if I "went missing", nobody 'cept the folks who done it would notice.
- The course has a "worn" feeling. All the baskets are there, some are missing the number. Would be nice to have signage with hole layout, or course map at the beginning instead of the old school sponsor's list.
- The course had some trees/branches down (holes 16 and 17) from either the spring tornadoes or Irene, but it was in decent shape considering the damage that was done in other parts of Sanford.
- Decent course - I wouldn't recommend just coming the the Triangle to play that course, but if you're here, you may as well!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Little Course

1    10/10/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: All Back Hand
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A few ace runs but require a tight line, quiet and never crowded, 15 is a beautiful hole and worth bragging to friends about, good variety of throws
Cons: Not very many holes that challenge you distance wise, not much change in elevation other then 2 and 15
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the back 9 more then the front 9. Woods make you throw your line and make the lack of distance a littel more challenging, a nice course but only worth the trip out from Raleigh/Cary if you stop and play Swinging DBs or Buckhorn on way back.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, but.....

1    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: rjmimagery1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, concise, & *basically* to the point, course. With the exception of holes 10 & 11, I don't believe there's anything over 280 feet. Great course to work on short/medium range accuracy. Also, as previously stated, hole 15 is quite fun!
Cons: Quite a few: hole 13 is missing (as of 4/3/10), 4-lane road within 30 feet of a fairway, and again a 4-lane road within 30-40 feet of a hole, overall course layout (I haven't played that many courses, but I can still say that this is WAYYY too clustered. As a previous reviewer said, it would be rather hard to play the front nine with someone one hole ahead of you, without hitting them in the head.... Holes 1 through 9 all seem very repetitive. And, I believe it's hole #9 that has ABSOLUTELY no fairway, what-so-ever. If you don't over-hand it & hope for the best, I can't say you'll be anywhere near the vicinity of a decent putt.
Other Thoughts: I'm certainly appreciative of whomever made this course possible, as it is a disc golf course, where there aren't many others...however....the layout could have been drawn up a bit better. Hole 18 is very awkward, hole 15 is REALLY fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and bad

2-4    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are very fun. Each indvidual hole has at the park is good. Especially on the back nine. You can practice your upshot accuracy here because there are many short, tight holes. The back nine has some good elevation change as well.
Cons: The front nine holes are too close together. The tees/pins/fairways are on top of each other and it would make for a very dangerous round if there were many people playing at the same time. Another problem is that a couple of the holes run very close to a busy 4 lane road. Errant drives can easily get out to the road. Tee's are marked with a raised sign in the front left corner of the tee pad. The sign is as high as 2 feet on some of the holes. It's terrible positioning for a tee sign. The back 9 tee pads are really bad. They're rutted very badly and need to be made of something other than sand and gravel. The other general bad is that the course is in a multi use park and some of the holes are laid out close to other common areas. In the summer you would have to be careful of people entering and leaving the pool area when throwing hole 15.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with but there are some problems that overshadow the goods a little bit. The front and back 9 are completely different. The front is all very tight and short. You will definitely be playing pinball here if you drives are off by a little bit. 16 of the 18 holes are deuceable but getting them is another story.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.