Sanford, NC 
O. T. Sloan Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #18
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tight woods w/ a few surprises

2-4    1/10/2016   1/15/2016
Review By: DNap4
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight wooded technical challenge if you like that kind of course. The designers of the course tried to make it interesting by placing baskets behind tree obstacles and in places that would be interesting to throw to (Ex: #12 over a small drainage pond and up a small hill and into the trees in a narrow lane to the basket. #15 Aceable shot that makes you shoot from inside to outside the trees on an elevated hill, and into the trees on the right, and a few others). There is elevation present throughout the course, though it is very subtle (Ex: #17 down a small decline through the trees, #2 straight up a hill through a wide corridor, #4 down a small decline to the left, #12 increased elevation at the end of the drive up to the basket).
Cons: Signage is minimal to non-existant on some holes making it difficult to find where you are supposed to tee off at next and also adds to the difficulty of navigating the course due to its very compacted nature which will take you into the driving lanes of other holes if you just wander about (especially in the first 9 holes #1-#9 and the back 3 #16-#18).

Some of the holes are lined next to the roadway with a good stream of traffic even on the weekends (#6 is parallel to the road, #5/#7/#8 /#9 all shoot near or towards the vehicle path to the tennis courts).

There is a water drainage area with no relief on holes #12 and #13 which can get extremely muddy for throwers whose discs land in the standing water.

The teepads are extremely worn out and dug in. What this means is that if it rains, the recessed area that is the teepad will fill with water and mud, which makes them almost unusable. Everyone I've seen on this course uses the far ends of the teepad to throw.
Other Thoughts: I believe ratings and reviews are highly subjective. My review reflects my experience playing the course over the course of a year and with an intermediate level of playing experience. I understand that others may have a different view and different opinions. My review will attempt to be as unbiased as possible. Other thoughts that are neither a pro or a con as they are subjective to the player and their preference on what they feel a disc golf course should be:

This course is compact, but the designers worked with what they had. I also don't blame the designers for removing baskets #10 and #11 because the parks system put a dog park right on it. There is a lot of potential for growth in the trees behind the dog park and next to/behind #12/#13 to expand. This course does however need signage markers for the majority of the course, new teepads (gravel fill in would work temporarily because of the backup drainage of mud and water into the current teepads), and warning markers next to the baskets that play along the roadways. Errant throws by novices on #5/#6 could easily bounce and land either on the high-traffic roadway, or in the worst case hit a car (I played here in a tournament where I saw someone throw, bounce a disc off a tree on #6 and skimmed across the roadway.. luckily a car didn't get hit by a flying disc). Road signs for vehicles to be aware of flying discs, and also for the players to be cognizant of vehicular traffic on the roadways next to those baskets would prevent/reduce any future accidents.

This course is a good course for players that love a technical challenge as it puts you inbetween trees and through the trees in interesting basket positions. As the majority of this course is sub 300ft, with half the baskets at <200ft, it is a fairly short course that is best for players who are getting used to throwing between the trees and new players that may not have the arm strength to drive very far. Novices and Recreational players will appreciate the challenge to their game playing here as it has various obstacles that will further improve their skill and force them to think about shot selection (elevation up/down, technical dog legs, open drives within tight corridors, etc.). Intermediate to Advanced players will find this to be a typical course that may not challenge them to their abilities on all holes. Though that may be the case, this course does have a few interesting basket placements that will interest most higher level players, even if the majority of the course does not. Whatever your skill level, this course will have something that will interest you. If you are in the area try it out. If you live over 30mins away, this may not be the course for you unless it's the only course nearby. Anyways, try it out and see if you like it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slightly memorably wooded course.

1    10/19/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short and woodsy, so definitely an accuracy course. Nice pads and baskets. Signage was in good shape.
Cons: A little repetitive, since there are only really 3 holes that are open-ish. Could use a bit of limb maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course through the woods that had a bit more variety to make it memorable. The tee box of 18 would make an awesome hole position for #15!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course was easy to find.
-Signage was better than expected. And the course is CLEAN and well maintained.
-The BEST part about this course is that you can play 18 holes pretty quick.
-The front 9 are shorter more controlled type of shots.
Hole 1: Straight shot, semi-tight alley way.
Hole 2: Uphill shot, a little over 250', you can fade left into the wood line and still be alright.
Hole 3: Dog leg left, it's farther away than you think mainly because of the trees blocking the basket
Hole 4: Dog leg left, it's a little bit of a downhill shot, it cuts pretty hard the the left.
Hole 5: Straight shot maybe 175' possible ACE!
Hole 6: You can attack this hole three ways, straight, left, or right. There are some trees in the way, I'm guessing this makes up for Hole 5.
Hole 7: Straight shot, TIGHT alley, but doable. Very possible birdie if you keep it straight.
Hole 8: Slight dog leg right.
Hole 9: Straight shot, another TIGHT alley, but you can throw the right of the basket and have it arch back in.
Hole 10: Straight shot, I'd recommend throwing RH forehand on this hole and use the line through the trees.
Hole 11: Straight shot, it's tricky because you've got the road to your right which I assume is OB, and the basket is tucked between several trees.
Hole 12: Another straight shot, there's a tennis court to your right and a small "puddle" you have to carry.
Hole 13: Another straight shot, again tennis courts to your right.
Hole 14: Another straight shot, it's longer than the previous two and you can use a driver because the fairway is wide enough. It bottle necks as you get closer to the basket.
Hole 15: Probably the BEST hole on the course. Throwing from the top of the hill with the pool to your left. It's 300+ but it a possible ACE if you can control your shot.
Hole 16: Through the woods and up the hill. Several lines you can take, it's not a tight fairway, just awkwardly crowded with trees.
Hole 17: Slightly downhill dog leg left. You can end up way left and still be alright.
Hole 18: Straight shot, starts out open but becomes a very tight alley way once you get within 100' of the hole.
-Lots of birdie opportunities, but most of the holes are just straight shots. Front 9 short/easy, Back 9 had a little difficulty in terms of obstacles and multiple ways of playing each hole.
-Hole 15 is a lot of fun, glad they moved the basket back.
-The park wasn't crowded, and this is a good course to work on your short game, accuracy and control.

Cons: A lot of the holes are straight shots. You might have some trees in the way on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think the course is beginner friendly. Every hole is an easy three, several shorter holes are long 2's.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: uncjibble
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to this course for the first time expected a somewhat rundown course that was poorly designed. I was surprised as it was neither. The holes were fun to play, a birdie is possible on all yet its challenging enough that some trees cost me too many bogeys. The course is well maintained, I ran into the club playing doubles, I wish I had know about it!
Cons: Holes are short. The course uses elevation and trees to make it more challenging, but theres a lot of short holes. It would be nice to see some cement tees. As noted in other reviews theres a hole way too close to the road. I had a drive get away from me and I missed the road by a few feet.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Kentwood in Raleigh. Short holes, but enough chances for you to screw up that it still has some challenge to it. The missing basket has been replaced!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 42  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signs at every tee to indicate hole number and distance. Fairly easy to navigate, especially once you've played it once or twice. Good use of OB makes a fairly easy course more challenging. Despite what a previous reviewer stated, there is a well defined fairway on every hole, some of them are just very narrow as is typical of NC courses. Decent variety of shot types, and multiple "fairways" on many holes. I gave this course an extra .5 on my rating due to the very cool signature hole #15. As previously stated, Fins Firs and Feathers just up the road has great selection. Novice tee indicators. Very friendly and active locals.
Cons: Still majority natural tees, I believe. Scenery is not great as it is in the middle of town, but it is convenient to grab a quick lunch and play a second round. Only one layout, so I could see it getting boring. Hole 13 basket was stolen, but they brought another for the monthly I just played.
Other Thoughts: Saw a 5+ foot black snake near the basket of hole #2, so if you are scared of snakes pay attention. The duck flies at midnight. Go see Chuckster up at Fins Furs and Feathers right up the road, and have him show you the Spike Hyzer Cooler Competition Bag!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just 3 discs

5+    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite thing is that I can play this course with 3 discs and shoot well. A great place to work on driving your putter, throwing thumbers/tomahawks and working on your short game. Short course that is easy to play and find your way around. I have never seen it crowded. Mostly wooded with a few WTF holes that are real tight. Enough variety to keep you from getting bored.
Cons: Natural tee pads. Can get muddy and lumpy. No great holes. A few holes are just straight and dull. 13 stands out as a hole that just kind of got thrown in where it could be fit. 12 and 14 aren't much better. They are just tucked a few feet in the woods to make it look interesting from a distance. Not real challenging though. Simple par, and a good shot at a 2 if you can throw around 225' with a little accuracy. Tee on 18 is on a little island in parking lot. I have had some pedestrian traffic cutting across fairway from parking lot. And they have no clue you are about to throw fast moving plastic at them.
Other Thoughts: Good change of pace if you don't want to play the challenging Buckhorn up the road 20 minutes. Good place to shoot for your ace. There are probably 5 or 6 holes where you have a legitimate chance at an ace.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Technical but easy

2-4    4/27/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 112  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded, some tight fairways, well maintained, very clean, easy to follow for the most part, not gorgeous but still a nice, pretty park. This is a very finesse oriented course, good for boning up on your mids and putters. Leave your drivers at home. Minimal underbrush so losing discs is null. Never really noticed anything resembling a crowd. Holes 16 and 17 are the only real non pitch-and-putt holes, tightly wooded with decent length.
Cons: Very short, you could easily boost your ace count here. Most holes are fairly straight and not super imaginative. Big arms who have trouble scaling down the power might not like it. Holes 6 and 7 run right beside a fairly busy road. Dirt tees. Course doesn't particularly flow well, from hole to hole. For example, you have to cross the fairway of 11 to get to 10.
Other Thoughts: I do not remember there being concrete tees the first time I played but now there are 2 of them (one on 3, the other on 11) so I guess they're phasing them in. I've been playing for almost 2 years so I'm no pro but this course was pretty easy by my standards, I used only an Impact, a Wizard, and a Warlock and I finished +2. Hole 6 was tricky to find, hang a right towards the road (Bragg St), the tee for 18 is at the end of the parking lot in a little island near the swimming pool building. A local tried to return a XD to me but it wasn't mine so I told him to keep it. Still, a nice gesture I didn't want to go unnoticed. Really good beginner course and the Fins, Furs and Feathers store down the road on US 421 has the best disc selection I've ever seen at darn good prices. My buddy got a CFR Star Monarch for $16 there. I boosted this up to a 3 rating just for that fact and that it was one of the cleanest courses I've played. Latinos like to mingle on the benches a bit it seemed, I felt like I was in a telenovela. Kinda cool.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

2-4    2/17/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jleonar18
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy to follow layout. Good course for beginners and still somewhat challanging for more expeirenced players. course seems to be maintained fairly well.
Cons: Hole 17 is a down hill shot with pools to the left and a few wholes are close to the street.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1/13/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I honestly thought I remembered concrete tee pads at this course (contrary to the course description), but I'll have to double check next time. Either way, the tees are marked with signs and distances at each hole. The course is easy to navigate. The course is in pretty good shape and is seldom crowded. The front nine is entirely wooded and fairly short, while the back nine features fewer trees and longer holes. Elevation change comes into play on some holes. Some of the tighter holes may prove frustrating, but you'll generally have a positive experience here.
Cons: Some holes are deep in the woods and don't have much of a fairway to speak of. The park's tennis courts (#12 and #13) and swimming pool (#15) come into play if your throw is off-line. The course also ventures fairly close to the main road leading to the park (Bragg Street). It's unlikely that your disc will end up on the road, but it's not out of the question.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an average course with its share of strengths and weaknesses. If you live in the area, it's a solid home course. If you don't live in the area, there's really no need to visit the course more than once.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.