Sanford, NC 
O. T. Sloan Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #11
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Local Course

1    9/24/2015   5/19/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: Baskets are in good shape. Benches on most of the holes.
Fairly quick play, due to the shorter holes on the front 9.
Several holes on the back 9 are open, allowing you to let some drives fly.
Fun, downhill tee shot on #15. Just don't hyzer one into the pool.
Shorter, gravel tees on most holes.
Cons: Several of the holes on the front 9 are close together and almost overlapping.
A couple on the front nine also play close to the entrance road, a busy road, and parallel another park entrance.
The majority of the holes on the front 9 had tight lines, they are short holes, but tight lines you have to hit.
Only facilities available are the seasonal swimming pool.
Other Thoughts: I felt this would be a good everyday course. With no other course within 15 miles, this is a good course for this small town. It looked like the local club is pretty active here.
After all the thick woods on the front 9, #10 and #11 play through a semi-wooded area, there are trees but they are sparse. (More on these twins later.)
#12 is starts open, next to the tennis courts, but then you have to go up an embankment to a basket in the woods.
#14 has a wide open tee shot, then the woods funnel you down to a narrow green.
#15 plays from an elevated tee down to the basket 300 feet away. Since the pool borders the left side of the fairway, they had moved the basket (permanently ?) to the edge of the woods on the right, at the top of a ridge. Not nearly as interesting.
#18 takes you back to the parking lot, then you drive back into the woods.
When I played several months ago, there were signs all over 10 and 11 saying that area was to become the dog park. Not sure if that has been done, but if these two are replaced with two more heavily wooded holes, this rating drops a half disc.
As I said, I see this as a fun everyday course, tight, wooded holes that can be birdied and more open, rip it holes later.

Tight woods w/ a few surprises

2-4    1/10/2016   1/15/2016
Review By: DNap4
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight wooded technical challenge if you like that kind of course. The designers of the course tried to make it interesting by placing baskets behind tree obstacles and in places that would be interesting to throw to (Ex: #12 over a small drainage pond and up a small hill and into the trees in a narrow lane to the basket. #15 Aceable shot that makes you shoot from inside to outside the trees on an elevated hill, and into the trees on the right, and a few others). There is elevation present throughout the course, though it is very subtle (Ex: #17 down a small decline through the trees, #2 straight up a hill through a wide corridor, #4 down a small decline to the left, #12 increased elevation at the end of the drive up to the basket).
Cons: Signage is minimal to non-existant on some holes making it difficult to find where you are supposed to tee off at next and also adds to the difficulty of navigating the course due to its very compacted nature which will take you into the driving lanes of other holes if you just wander about (especially in the first 9 holes #1-#9 and the back 3 #16-#18).

Some of the holes are lined next to the roadway with a good stream of traffic even on the weekends (#6 is parallel to the road, #5/#7/#8 /#9 all shoot near or towards the vehicle path to the tennis courts).

There is a water drainage area with no relief on holes #12 and #13 which can get extremely muddy for throwers whose discs land in the standing water.

The teepads are extremely worn out and dug in. What this means is that if it rains, the recessed area that is the teepad will fill with water and mud, which makes them almost unusable. Everyone I've seen on this course uses the far ends of the teepad to throw.
Other Thoughts: I believe ratings and reviews are highly subjective. My review reflects my experience playing the course over the course of a year and with an intermediate level of playing experience. I understand that others may have a different view and different opinions. My review will attempt to be as unbiased as possible. Other thoughts that are neither a pro or a con as they are subjective to the player and their preference on what they feel a disc golf course should be:

This course is compact, but the designers worked with what they had. I also don't blame the designers for removing baskets #10 and #11 because the parks system put a dog park right on it. There is a lot of potential for growth in the trees behind the dog park and next to/behind #12/#13 to expand. This course does however need signage markers for the majority of the course, new teepads (gravel fill in would work temporarily because of the backup drainage of mud and water into the current teepads), and warning markers next to the baskets that play along the roadways. Errant throws by novices on #5/#6 could easily bounce and land either on the high-traffic roadway, or in the worst case hit a car (I played here in a tournament where I saw someone throw, bounce a disc off a tree on #6 and skimmed across the roadway.. luckily a car didn't get hit by a flying disc). Road signs for vehicles to be aware of flying discs, and also for the players to be cognizant of vehicular traffic on the roadways next to those baskets would prevent/reduce any future accidents.

This course is a good course for players that love a technical challenge as it puts you inbetween trees and through the trees in interesting basket positions. As the majority of this course is sub 300ft, with half the baskets at <200ft, it is a fairly short course that is best for players who are getting used to throwing between the trees and new players that may not have the arm strength to drive very far. Novices and Recreational players will appreciate the challenge to their game playing here as it has various obstacles that will further improve their skill and force them to think about shot selection (elevation up/down, technical dog legs, open drives within tight corridors, etc.). Intermediate to Advanced players will find this to be a typical course that may not challenge them to their abilities on all holes. Though that may be the case, this course does have a few interesting basket placements that will interest most higher level players, even if the majority of the course does not. Whatever your skill level, this course will have something that will interest you. If you are in the area try it out. If you live over 30mins away, this may not be the course for you unless it's the only course nearby. Anyways, try it out and see if you like it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly memorably wooded course.

1    10/19/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short and woodsy, so definitely an accuracy course. Nice pads and baskets. Signage was in good shape.
Cons: A little repetitive, since there are only really 3 holes that are open-ish. Could use a bit of limb maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course through the woods that had a bit more variety to make it memorable. The tee box of 18 would make an awesome hole position for #15!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Nines(I'm sure I've usd this title before)

1    11/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is typical North Carolina. It's heavily wooded. Tight fairways with punishing rough. Most of them are pretty short, typically under 200 feet. It's a solid course for beginners and novices have the benefit of extra tees that are even shorter. It's a fun course for them to get accustomed to the type of bigger courses that they will find in the area. At the same time better players shouldn't be too bored by the hole design.

The back nine is mostly open and longer. What's great here is that beginning players can get accustomed to both types of holes. While they may not be able to drive the entire distance on these holes, they will have the opportunity to try. For better players, it's nice to have the opportunity to open up a bit in Carolina. 10 and 11 are particularly nice as they feature a few trees, and drives will have to be shaped a bit.
Cons: The front nine is more Anderson Park than Valley Springs. The lines aren't clean, meaning that trees are often in fairways instead of lining them. Additionally these holes are too close together at times, meaning to get from a basket to a tee, you often have to walk across the fairway you just finished. Some tees are also in the firing zones of other tees. for both reasons, it may not be the best course to play when it's busy.

The back nine is fairly simple if you can drive 300 accurately. I also worry slightly about 12 and 13, which parallel a tennis court. The fence is fairly high, but with potential new players, I don't doubt that some lefties have put discs on the court. I'm still more worried about 16 though. I can see a player, a few rounds in to their career and gaining some distance, climbing up to the tee, trying to power one out and watching it fade left, and left, and left, and right into the pool.
Other Thoughts: When you combine the two nines, you get a nice variety that will be a solid learning experience for new players and a fun enough day for everyone else, but nothing special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and wooded

2-4    1/24/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a decent technical style wooded course. You'll have to shape the disc a bit but it's mostly hitting straight tight gaps on most holes.

There are a few longer holes (but no bombers) and a couple with some good elevation change.

There's OB around some baskets and fairways to make it even more challenging, it's short but not an easy course.

Course flows pretty good, no confusing parts. 1-9 is a loop back to the parking lot. The park itself has other facilities.

Atmosphere - In an older park that's still in good shape.

Equipment - Concrete pads. Baskets are older but still in good shape. Hole Distance shown on post. Benches on each hole.
Cons: Layout - Not that much variation throughout the course. Many holes are repeated. Only some of the holes have real elevation change.

There's nothing that makes the course really stand out. You play near the road and other park facilities a bit so that takes away from it.
Some of the next tees are close to baskets.

Atmosphere - Not the best looking park in NC, it's just kind of average. You definitely don't get a remote feeling out there.

Equipment - Some of the pads are short. No real tee signs. Baskets are getting old.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a huge fan of this course, it is what it is. It's a good place to work on your short game and hitting tight gaps but definitely not a course to travel to. It's good for the locals because there isn't much else in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course was easy to find.
-Signage was better than expected. And the course is CLEAN and well maintained.
-The BEST part about this course is that you can play 18 holes pretty quick.
-The front 9 are shorter more controlled type of shots.
Hole 1: Straight shot, semi-tight alley way.
Hole 2: Uphill shot, a little over 250', you can fade left into the wood line and still be alright.
Hole 3: Dog leg left, it's farther away than you think mainly because of the trees blocking the basket
Hole 4: Dog leg left, it's a little bit of a downhill shot, it cuts pretty hard the the left.
Hole 5: Straight shot maybe 175' possible ACE!
Hole 6: You can attack this hole three ways, straight, left, or right. There are some trees in the way, I'm guessing this makes up for Hole 5.
Hole 7: Straight shot, TIGHT alley, but doable. Very possible birdie if you keep it straight.
Hole 8: Slight dog leg right.
Hole 9: Straight shot, another TIGHT alley, but you can throw the right of the basket and have it arch back in.
Hole 10: Straight shot, I'd recommend throwing RH forehand on this hole and use the line through the trees.
Hole 11: Straight shot, it's tricky because you've got the road to your right which I assume is OB, and the basket is tucked between several trees.
Hole 12: Another straight shot, there's a tennis court to your right and a small "puddle" you have to carry.
Hole 13: Another straight shot, again tennis courts to your right.
Hole 14: Another straight shot, it's longer than the previous two and you can use a driver because the fairway is wide enough. It bottle necks as you get closer to the basket.
Hole 15: Probably the BEST hole on the course. Throwing from the top of the hill with the pool to your left. It's 300+ but it a possible ACE if you can control your shot.
Hole 16: Through the woods and up the hill. Several lines you can take, it's not a tight fairway, just awkwardly crowded with trees.
Hole 17: Slightly downhill dog leg left. You can end up way left and still be alright.
Hole 18: Straight shot, starts out open but becomes a very tight alley way once you get within 100' of the hole.
-Lots of birdie opportunities, but most of the holes are just straight shots. Front 9 short/easy, Back 9 had a little difficulty in terms of obstacles and multiple ways of playing each hole.
-Hole 15 is a lot of fun, glad they moved the basket back.
-The park wasn't crowded, and this is a good course to work on your short game, accuracy and control.

Cons: A lot of the holes are straight shots. You might have some trees in the way on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think the course is beginner friendly. Every hole is an easy three, several shorter holes are long 2's.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course!

1    8/9/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good layout especially for the available terrain! Excellent variety of technical & open holes with a few elevation changes! You'll definitely have to play every shot in your bag! #10 & #11 are monster par 3's & #15 is one of the COOLEST holes you'll ever play!
Cons: Some of the natural tee pads are short with roots exposed! The course is in a public park so those who don't play tend to trash it up some times! The park employees do the best they can!
Other Thoughts: Over all a very challenging course! Short but Sweet! Would like to see some of the 30+ sponsors put a little more money & time into the course! (TeePads) It has the potential to be top notch! #15 has a summer basket placement! Considerably shorter but well protected by massive trees on a hill! Got my first ACE on this one!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home field

5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its the first course I played on, and its not bad for beginners.It has a well rounded mix of terrain and elevation changes. The front 9 is short, but requires acturately placed shots. The back 9 is open and a little more forgiving.
Cons: There are some holes that are missing tee pads; 3, 14, & 17 really need them. Its a public park with the local ymca neighboring it, so you have non-players coming through and leaving trash everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Myself and a few friends are trying to talk our bosses into sponsoring the course and hopefully getting some new tee pads and maybe a weekly cleaning crew, although i don't know how much that will help.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dennieangel
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -great lay out
-great for people who just started playing
-great local community
-play it at least 4 times a week ..and it never gets old
Cons: -tee pads needs some work (they are fixing them)
-wish they had better signs

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 got what I paid for... and then some

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was not crowded.
There were no water holes.
Back 9 had some challenging holes.
Easy to find next hole.
Not much undergrowth.
Long tee pads (where there are any)
Cons: Several holes close to the road.
Baskets hard to spot; not bright yellow.
On a few holes, there was no good path to the basket.
No concrete pads on "novice" tees; pads on about half of the other tees.
Other Thoughts: It was not an extremely exciting place to play. 2 of the holes ran parallel to the road through a section of woods. Would have been easy to hit a tree and bounce into traffic. 10 is an open hole with the road 30 feet or so beyond the basket. 15 (I think) was my favorite: throw from a hilltop across a field to a basket 300 feet away. My best drive of the day (and I still got a bogie).

This is about what I expect from a dg course. It's in a public park; we don't have to pay to use it; there's very little tax money allocated for this sport. Sometimes I'm pleasantly surprised by a public course. But I'm not really in a position to demand more.

I was excited about going to Fins Furs and Feathers to check out what I hear is a very good selection of dg equipment. But the owner has been rearranging the setup, and the dg stuff was in a locked room. I was outa luck. Then I was hoping to play a good round of dg, but I was outa luck there too. I don't know if this is because of the baskets, or because I wasn't throwing very well today, but a couple of putts seemed to hit the chains perfectly, and kicked back out.

If I'm in the area again, I'll probly play this course again, but I drove about 50 miles to go there, and it wasn't worth that to me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.