Sanford, NC 
O. T. Sloan Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #5
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A Tale of Two Nines(I'm sure I've usd this title before)

1    11/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 196  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is typical North Carolina. It's heavily wooded. Tight fairways with punishing rough. Most of them are pretty short, typically under 200 feet. It's a solid course for beginners and novices have the benefit of extra tees that are even shorter. It's a fun course for them to get accustomed to the type of bigger courses that they will find in the area. At the same time better players shouldn't be too bored by the hole design.

The back nine is mostly open and longer. What's great here is that beginning players can get accustomed to both types of holes. While they may not be able to drive the entire distance on these holes, they will have the opportunity to try. For better players, it's nice to have the opportunity to open up a bit in Carolina. 10 and 11 are particularly nice as they feature a few trees, and drives will have to be shaped a bit.
Cons: The front nine is more Anderson Park than Valley Springs. The lines aren't clean, meaning that trees are often in fairways instead of lining them. Additionally these holes are too close together at times, meaning to get from a basket to a tee, you often have to walk across the fairway you just finished. Some tees are also in the firing zones of other tees. for both reasons, it may not be the best course to play when it's busy.

The back nine is fairly simple if you can drive 300 accurately. I also worry slightly about 12 and 13, which parallel a tennis court. The fence is fairly high, but with potential new players, I don't doubt that some lefties have put discs on the court. I'm still more worried about 16 though. I can see a player, a few rounds in to their career and gaining some distance, climbing up to the tee, trying to power one out and watching it fade left, and left, and left, and right into the pool.
Other Thoughts: When you combine the two nines, you get a nice variety that will be a solid learning experience for new players and a fun enough day for everyone else, but nothing special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and wooded

2-4    1/24/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a decent technical style wooded course. You'll have to shape the disc a bit but it's mostly hitting straight tight gaps on most holes.

There are a few longer holes (but no bombers) and a couple with some good elevation change.

There's OB around some baskets and fairways to make it even more challenging, it's short but not an easy course.

Course flows pretty good, no confusing parts. 1-9 is a loop back to the parking lot. The park itself has other facilities.

Atmosphere - In an older park that's still in good shape.

Equipment - Concrete pads. Baskets are older but still in good shape. Hole Distance shown on post. Benches on each hole.
Cons: Layout - Not that much variation throughout the course. Many holes are repeated. Only some of the holes have real elevation change.

There's nothing that makes the course really stand out. You play near the road and other park facilities a bit so that takes away from it.
Some of the next tees are close to baskets.

Atmosphere - Not the best looking park in NC, it's just kind of average. You definitely don't get a remote feeling out there.

Equipment - Some of the pads are short. No real tee signs. Baskets are getting old.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a huge fan of this course, it is what it is. It's a good place to work on your short game and hitting tight gaps but definitely not a course to travel to. It's good for the locals because there isn't much else in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course was easy to find.
-Signage was better than expected. And the course is CLEAN and well maintained.
-The BEST part about this course is that you can play 18 holes pretty quick.
-The front 9 are shorter more controlled type of shots.
Hole 1: Straight shot, semi-tight alley way.
Hole 2: Uphill shot, a little over 250', you can fade left into the wood line and still be alright.
Hole 3: Dog leg left, it's farther away than you think mainly because of the trees blocking the basket
Hole 4: Dog leg left, it's a little bit of a downhill shot, it cuts pretty hard the the left.
Hole 5: Straight shot maybe 175' possible ACE!
Hole 6: You can attack this hole three ways, straight, left, or right. There are some trees in the way, I'm guessing this makes up for Hole 5.
Hole 7: Straight shot, TIGHT alley, but doable. Very possible birdie if you keep it straight.
Hole 8: Slight dog leg right.
Hole 9: Straight shot, another TIGHT alley, but you can throw the right of the basket and have it arch back in.
Hole 10: Straight shot, I'd recommend throwing RH forehand on this hole and use the line through the trees.
Hole 11: Straight shot, it's tricky because you've got the road to your right which I assume is OB, and the basket is tucked between several trees.
Hole 12: Another straight shot, there's a tennis court to your right and a small "puddle" you have to carry.
Hole 13: Another straight shot, again tennis courts to your right.
Hole 14: Another straight shot, it's longer than the previous two and you can use a driver because the fairway is wide enough. It bottle necks as you get closer to the basket.
Hole 15: Probably the BEST hole on the course. Throwing from the top of the hill with the pool to your left. It's 300+ but it a possible ACE if you can control your shot.
Hole 16: Through the woods and up the hill. Several lines you can take, it's not a tight fairway, just awkwardly crowded with trees.
Hole 17: Slightly downhill dog leg left. You can end up way left and still be alright.
Hole 18: Straight shot, starts out open but becomes a very tight alley way once you get within 100' of the hole.
-Lots of birdie opportunities, but most of the holes are just straight shots. Front 9 short/easy, Back 9 had a little difficulty in terms of obstacles and multiple ways of playing each hole.
-Hole 15 is a lot of fun, glad they moved the basket back.
-The park wasn't crowded, and this is a good course to work on your short game, accuracy and control.

Cons: A lot of the holes are straight shots. You might have some trees in the way on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think the course is beginner friendly. Every hole is an easy three, several shorter holes are long 2's.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course!

1    8/9/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good layout especially for the available terrain! Excellent variety of technical & open holes with a few elevation changes! You'll definitely have to play every shot in your bag! #10 & #11 are monster par 3's & #15 is one of the COOLEST holes you'll ever play!
Cons: Some of the natural tee pads are short with roots exposed! The course is in a public park so those who don't play tend to trash it up some times! The park employees do the best they can!
Other Thoughts: Over all a very challenging course! Short but Sweet! Would like to see some of the 30+ sponsors put a little more money & time into the course! (TeePads) It has the potential to be top notch! #15 has a summer basket placement! Considerably shorter but well protected by massive trees on a hill! Got my first ACE on this one!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home field

5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its the first course I played on, and its not bad for beginners.It has a well rounded mix of terrain and elevation changes. The front 9 is short, but requires acturately placed shots. The back 9 is open and a little more forgiving.
Cons: There are some holes that are missing tee pads; 3, 14, & 17 really need them. Its a public park with the local ymca neighboring it, so you have non-players coming through and leaving trash everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Myself and a few friends are trying to talk our bosses into sponsoring the course and hopefully getting some new tee pads and maybe a weekly cleaning crew, although i don't know how much that will help.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dennieangel
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -great lay out
-great for people who just started playing
-great local community
-play it at least 4 times a week ..and it never gets old
Cons: -tee pads needs some work (they are fixing them)
-wish they had better signs

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 got what I paid for... and then some

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was not crowded.
There were no water holes.
Back 9 had some challenging holes.
Easy to find next hole.
Not much undergrowth.
Long tee pads (where there are any)
Cons: Several holes close to the road.
Baskets hard to spot; not bright yellow.
On a few holes, there was no good path to the basket.
No concrete pads on "novice" tees; pads on about half of the other tees.
Other Thoughts: It was not an extremely exciting place to play. 2 of the holes ran parallel to the road through a section of woods. Would have been easy to hit a tree and bounce into traffic. 10 is an open hole with the road 30 feet or so beyond the basket. 15 (I think) was my favorite: throw from a hilltop across a field to a basket 300 feet away. My best drive of the day (and I still got a bogie).

This is about what I expect from a dg course. It's in a public park; we don't have to pay to use it; there's very little tax money allocated for this sport. Sometimes I'm pleasantly surprised by a public course. But I'm not really in a position to demand more.

I was excited about going to Fins Furs and Feathers to check out what I hear is a very good selection of dg equipment. But the owner has been rearranging the setup, and the dg stuff was in a locked room. I was outa luck. Then I was hoping to play a good round of dg, but I was outa luck there too. I don't know if this is because of the baskets, or because I wasn't throwing very well today, but a couple of putts seemed to hit the chains perfectly, and kicked back out.

If I'm in the area again, I'll probly play this course again, but I drove about 50 miles to go there, and it wasn't worth that to me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MEHHHH

2-4    11/25/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: pkbeast
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Not a bad little course, and old school as heck. Lots of tight technical turns and places to splash OB. pretty good overall layout, tee pads are pretty well done.
If you like throwing thumbers through tight woods this course is for you. Any decent thrower can score in the -'s on this course without much effort. It is a nice little course for putting around and practicing midrangs/utility shots.
Cons: Putt Putt course. Front nine had no holes over 200feet it seemed and the majority (90%) were just straight shots at the basket with little to no turns. Very bland. If you can throw it straight 200 feet you can -5 or -6 this course
very easily. THICK leaves. friends lost 3 discs in 4 holes, all 100% covered with 3-4 foot deep dead leaves. next to no maintenance and the holes are ON TOP of each other in some cases people driving almost over you going the opposite direction. A little confusing on the layout when you switch to the back nine as well. some signage would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Its an OG course, I understand. It needs a facelift, bad. It cant compare to any other course Ive played, even just 9 hole courses are more fun to play twice than this in most cases.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a beginner friendly layout with excellent variety of open and technical holes that makes for a fun course to play. The front nine and 16-18 are short and technical while most of the back nine (10-15) are longer and slightly more open.

Holes 9 and 18 loop back to the parking lot so you can go play a quick nine if you want and you don't have to hike back to your car.

Lost disc risk is very low

Benches on every hole.

Most of the holes have fair and attainable lines and the greens are open enough that you won't find yourself with a wall of trees in front of you 20ft from the basket.

A lot of work is being done on the course to make it even better. There were signs of fresh cutting on 16 and 17 (or maybe a lot of fallin trees)

Concrete Tee-pads have been added on many of the holes (mostly the long ones)
Cons: many of the holes will be easy and short for the better players.

While there are concrete pads being put in not all of the holes have them (Doesn't affect my view on the course but some don't like natural pads) also some of the concrete pads are short and awkward.
Even though these are mostly on shorter holes there should still be more room

A few holes come very close to a busy road which could be a problem or danger if someone throws an errant shot.

Some of the tee pads are very close to the previous basket and someone could easily be hit.

I also don't remember seeing many trashcans if any on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a very fun course to play and was relatively well kept. Nothing fancy and not your championship caliber course but it is defiantly worth a stop if you're in the area

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

1    9/20/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course layout is fairly intuitive - even with no map, you can pretty easily find the right hole.
- Distances on the
- Am teeboxes as well for beginners.
- Decent variation of tight, wooded, typical NC course for front nine and more open, air-out for the back nine (over the whole course, but somewhat repetitive - see below).
- Even though it was wooded, there is minimal underbrush, so there is minimal risk for losing a disk.
- 15 is a very cool hole - as mentioned in other reviews.
Cons: - Tee pad variations - the dirt was fine, some were under construction - I am somewhat concerned with how the paver blocks they were installing will wear over time (will they stay level?).
- Some of the front nine are a little repetitive - just another tight shots through trees.....
- Two holes (6 & 7 I think) throw parallel and within 50' of the busy street that you just drove on - bad news for an errant RHBH throw. I really don't like them
- The course is tight, and several of the teeboxes are very close to, or you backtrack back down the fairway to throw for the next holes, so it definitely would slow down heavy traffic (although it was empty when I played).
Other Thoughts: - one of the weirdest vibes I have gotten - I went mid-day mid-week, and there was a ton of traffic through the parking lotto the YMCA and a lot of "loitering cars" - people were just watching you. There was nobody on the course, which I like just fine, just concerned that if I "went missing", nobody 'cept the folks who done it would notice.
- The course has a "worn" feeling. All the baskets are there, some are missing the number. Would be nice to have signage with hole layout, or course map at the beginning instead of the old school sponsor's list.
- The course had some trees/branches down (holes 16 and 17) from either the spring tornadoes or Irene, but it was in decent shape considering the damage that was done in other parts of Sanford.
- Decent course - I wouldn't recommend just coming the the Triangle to play that course, but if you're here, you may as well!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.