Cypress, TX 
Oak Meadow Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 302ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/29/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, which contains some dense forest, a large lake, and some more open areas. No other activities are present here, I don't think anything would ever interfere with the disc golf.
- Holes that run through the dense forest are carved out very nicely, the lines are well defined and are more or less the only possible route. Very few backdoors, as the rough will gobble up discs or knock them down. Low ceilings and bushy rough make almost every shot feel like a tunnel. Great variety of lines, with plenty of hyzers and anhyzers to be found. A few spots let you choose which way to go as well, which is great feature. Some trickier lines as well, like #4's S-curve.
- Water holes are all good tests of distance and accuracy, with open hyzer lanes over the lake. Good placement is necessary to avoid large, mature trees in the fairway, and the basket of #8 is guarded on the tee side. Good job of making sure that staying right (closer towards the water) will result in an easier second shot.
- The rest of the course does a good job of being difficult even without many obstacles. The undulating fairway on #6 and the end of #12 rewards shots that stay out of the large, deep ditch, and #11 provides another RHBH hyzer-only route.
- Overall, baskets are protected pretty well and require good accuracy. Usually, going too far past (as well as right and left) will result in some roughage. Water is also a factor, like right of #9 and behind #10. Deep ditch on #6 and #12 can gobble up short shots as well.
- Excellent variety of hole length, a good amount around 300' and 400', and three over 500'. Most of the longer holes are open, but not all.
- Great tee signs, baskets, and teepads (the whites at least). This course is well maintained and is a breeze to navigate, especially with the map.
Cons: - Very little elevation changes throughout the park, it is pretty much dead flat except for the ditch. It is a big factor on #6, and even #12, but that's only two holes. Otherwise, practically nothing.
- Water holes are very good, but are all very similar. Bigger arms may be able to just hyzer these without a second thought, and smaller arms can play it pretty safe.
- Holes in the forest test line shaping very well, but most of the lines are mostly straight, more or less. This can make a few seem very similar to each other, especially with the same type of forestation throughout.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely a solid course that does a few things very, very well. The holes in the forest are all a good test of line shaping and shot placement, with some tough routes to take. Obstacles in the wooded fairways can provide two different lanes to the basket, or create tough obstacles that require some serious accuracy. Open and water holes are top notch as well, with serious length and protected baskets.
- Course is fair enough where casual players should be able to enjoy the challenge without getting too frustrated. Lines are there, it is up to the player to execute. Blue tees should be long enough for the biggest arms out there, on more than one hole.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  One of Houston's Best Courses

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: JRW III
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never crowded; No waiting at 1 to start and rarely get held up by a group in front of you.
- Good variety of holes: open, tight, long, short, and 3 holes (sometimes 5) with water in play.
- Nice concrete tee pads from the whites.
- High quality tee signs.
- Has basic amenities: restrooms, water fountains, trash cans (Beginning of 1; End of 1; Beginning of 4; End of 5; End of 14).
- Generally very well maintained.
- Alcoholic beverages, used responsibly, are allowed. However, no glass bottles.
- Thick brush creates some great risk reward opportunities. Landing deep in the brush can penalize you severely.
Cons: - Like most Houston courses, very little elevation.
- Course was designed with multiple tee pads, but the reds and blues have brick markers only and can be difficult to find for a first time player.
- Course favors RHBH throwers.
- Like many Houston courses, it was built on flood plain land. There are many holes that are swampy after a rain (especially 4&5) and at times, the mosquitoes can be unbearable.
- Poison ivy is on almost every single hole.
- Most baskets are in good to excellent condition. However, they are Mach 2's, which are known for having a higher rate of spit-outs.
Other Thoughts: This course has a unique "private" nature. Oak Meadow Park, which includes the Oak Meadow Disc Golf Course, is owned and operated by the Bridgeland Home Owners Association (HOA). The owner/operator relationship is very similar to the neighborhood pools that are owned by HOA's in Texas. The developer purchased the land, built the park & course and deeded the land to the HOA. Thus, the cost of the land & course was built in to each homeowner's lot price. The HOA dues pay for the maintenance. Similar to most HOA neighborhood pools, access is restricted to residents of the neighborhood. Access to the park is monitored by the HOA.

It can be difficult to navigate your first time out. There are maps, and scorecards with maps available for download on DGCR.

Review updates:
- The Summer 2011 drought was hard on Oak Meadow Park. Many trees were lost. Several of the holes have opened up from the original design.
- There are probably over 100 trees that are dead, but have not fallen yet. After a wind storm, the dead branches fall. Maintenance on removal of the dead branches can be slow at times.
- Painted brick markers for the reds and blues have been added.
- New signs have been installled.
- Hole number 9's basket has been replaced.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/6/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: drbeat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -18 very long holes which wonderful trails
-Friendly residents
-Hard course to master
Cons: -Gate guard on the weekends
Other Thoughts: Be sure to watch the water holes. There have been many a disc that has been eaten by the lake.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful, but private course

5+    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the (if not the) nicest course in the Houston area. It has a few wide open holes, but mostly it's tight and long (with only 3 holes under 300 feet). You really have to be on your game to play well here in my opinion.

There's a good mix of right and left holes with quite a few holes having multiple options. Water comes into play on 3 holes (and sometimes holes 6 and 12 if the water is high) and really makes you trust yourself and air it out.

The baskets are all in good shape, with nice big teeboxes to throw from. There is also a good map for each hole, a course map, and painted spokes to help direct you to the next box. (I wish every course painted spokes to point you in the right direction!!)
Cons: As mentioned, it's private. That being said there are plenty of people willing to play with you who have rights to be there. Just ask. :)

After a good rain it will get a little muddy and if it's a heavy rain the creek will cover #2.

If you don't stay on the fairways you need to watch out for the thorn bushes as they will make you pay.

Sometimes it's hard to find the Mach 2s, but trust the maps, they're pretty accurate.

The maps do list 3 boxes, but only the middle box has pads. Good luck trying to find the shorts or longs.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, it might be the best course in the Houston area if you can just find your way onto it without getting in trouble.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Houston's Finest Course

1    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course resides in the very nice suburb of Cypress Texas, just northwest of Houston. It is a well maintained, challenging course with the hole variety disc golf lovers can truly appreciate.

The first thing you will notice is the beautiful park that this course sits on. It has a nice large pond with kayak access something you almost never see in Houston. Once you get past that, you find a nice warm up cage under a large oak tree with adequate shade and varying elevations for good practice opportunities. The tee's have perfect large concrete teepads and exceptional tee signs that accurately depict each hole. When you start hole 1 you can be lulled into thinking that this is your typical Houston course with wide areas to drive and a few trees. Don't be fooled, by hole 3 you will find holes that are lined with dense foliage on both sides and challenging angles of attack. This is definitely a cerebral course where you will need to think 2 shots ahead if you plan on being successful. Once you get to 6 if you're not completely frazzeled you will be treated to a very cool over creek shot for about 500 feet. Where you can vent all your frustrations from the previous holes with a thunderous drive. But beware once that hole is complete it's back into the brambles for more tight shot fun. This is the story of this course, 4 or 5 tight wooded holes then 2 or three large open holes with water hazards. They combine to create the most balanced yet challenging course in the Houston area IMO.
Cons: As the previous reviewers have stated, this course is closed to the public. Until this gets rectified that only way to play it is if you live in the neighborhood or have a buddy that does or like I did in a tournament. I agree that something needs to be done and if it has to be pay to play so be it. The day I played there it was still wet from a deluge of rain we had gotten a week before. There were large swampy areas and mosquito's for days. Bring bug spray you will need it. As I mentioned there are quite a few open holes and shade is at a premium so make sure to wear that sunblock. Finally, this course is hard, if you are new to disc golf, be prepared to struggle here. Think of it like this, if you're used to getting 2's and 3's at other Houston courses prepare to get 4's and 5's here. Its just the way it is. Like a previous reviewer stated Par on this course is a great round.
Other Thoughts: This course humbled me. See before I played this course, I thought I was pretty decent. I'd see other guys at courses and think hey I'm pretty good, I can do pretty well anywhere. Man was I wrong, until I played here my worst score ever was +14 and that was my first time playing. To put that in perspective I shot +21 and +25 respectively here in two rounds. With that being said I am so glad I played it. It told me I have a lot to learn and isn't that what makes disc golf great. I only hope I am lucky enough to play it again and maybe that time I will repay the beating this course laid on me with one of my own.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Houston Course

5+    1/17/2010   1/27/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well laid out course that brings many environmental challenges into play. The course plays long, has many water hazards, and the non-water holes usually play low and tight with trees and thick brush on either side.

The regular tees are well marked and holes have alternate boxes for juniors and pros (although alt tees aren't marked well.) Each of the water hole pro tees are extremely challenging.

All main tee boxes are 6'(front) 9'(back) x 12'(long) concrete slabs, with high quality signs showing all three tees with yardage. The baskets are solid, but already showing some wear. Eleven pin seems to be installed too low.

BEST HOLE/S: #10; #13
Cons: After it rains, prepare to get soggy - the non-water holes after a rain are like playing in a swamp, which makes the mosquitoes bad and your shots worse. (The dams and bridges have improved though)

I have had separate run-ins with snakes on this course (one with a Water Moccasin while looking for a drowned disc on 10), so watch where you walk.

There is no real elevation to speak of, and beginners may get frustrated and want to quit playing after the mix of tight holes and windy over-the-water shots. I've lost count with how many discs I thrown into the water on 10 - the wind seems to carry in the open, and the discs drift right if you're not careful.

The biggest issue is the community who believes this should be a private course, and the cop will stop you if your not a resident. Some people, who weren't even disc golfers were caught having sex. I was also told they didn't like people swimming for discs and claim many golfers bring beer and pot, so they closed the course to the public.

My advice is play on a weekday, because I was told the cop basically is just on weekends when golf traffic picks up. I just finished a Friday afternoon round and didn't see the cop once.

WORST HOLES: #1
Other Thoughts: Truth is most experienced disc golfers would probably say this is one of the top three Houston area courses, and in the top tier for best courses in the state. Basically, if you've shot around par - then you've had a good round.

Overall it's a beautiful course in the right weather, and a fantastic challenge for any disc golfer no matter their experience level. The people actually in charge of the course and neighborhood are nice people, but I don't agree with their decision to closed it to the public. At least make it a pay to play or something, (which could happen in the future, since the management in charge mentioned that, but the HOA is stubborn and they have to work together).

Given that fact - if you are in the area, are willing to dodge or deal with the cop (or hide your car) and you love to disc golf - you owe it to yourself to play this course. If it became a public course again and drainage were slightly better - it would receive a 4.5. No real elevation changes, poor judgment of what is par, and the lack of that "wow I'll remember that one hole" factor prevents a 5 in my book.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Closed... for now.

5+    9/7/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Oak Meadow is a beautiful course in a mostly clean and well manicured park. The white tees have ample sized concrete tee pads and are marked with high quality tee signs. The posted distances are pretty accurate. DGA double chain baskets are in good condition. There are a few holes on which water comes into play. Three holes play along the lake and all favor RHBH throwers with no major hazard from the red or white tees. A couple more holes play along a lake overflow creek which was dry when I played. If water were present it would add reasonable OB challenges (and walking) to those holes. There's a good mix of wooded fairways and open holes to make both style of players happy. The fairways are nice and grassy. Parking is ample and close to the first & last holes. There is a course map and restrooms by the parking lot. There is very little lacking on this course from a disc golf perspective.
Cons:
The short (red) and long (blue) tees are completely unmarked other than the picture on the tee sign. There a very few bridges crossing the lake overflow creek. If there's water in the creek you can expect to walk far out of the way to cross the creek. This is a multi-use park so beware of walkers, joggers, etc. though most holes are off the paths enough to not be a major concern. A couple holes had downed tree limbs which were obviously there for a while without being cleared. The baskets are numbered with small neon orange bands around the pole which are hard to read from a distance; this is really minor since there is very little confusion as to which basket is in play.
Other Thoughts:
Currently, the biggest issue with Oak Meadow is that the local residents have convinced the Home Owners' Association to close this park to the public. The park is patroled and guarded such that only Bridgeland residents are allowed into the park. The cause for the closure was debated on the HFDS message board, but the end result is non-resident disc golfers are being blamed for trash and possible drug use to which residents don't want to be exposed. HFDS is working with the HOA towards a possible compromise.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/23/2008   8/31/2008
Review By: modestmusic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout, perfect landscape for DG, some tight holes through woods, others wide open...beautiful park all around.
Cons: private course so therefore you cannot play it when the marshalls are there...good luck.
Other Thoughts: they should open this course up to the public. even if they charged money....it is a great course and would be worth a small fee to play...

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bridgeland

3/23/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course in Houston area IMO. Well balanced course in beautiful setting with lots of different shots required. Trees, water, distance, tunnels all come into play. Punishing rough at times makes accuracy in the woods key. Challenging course rewards the well rounded player. Concrete tee pads, excellent signs marking holes.
Cons: Left handed friend of mine thinks it favors righties a bit...but I'm not complaining! Like all Houston courses can get swampy if the weather has been wet.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.