Cypress, TX 
Oak Meadow Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 369ft.   3 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Oak Meadow DGC

1    9/21/2012   1/9/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Oak Meadow DGC, located in Cypress Texas, is a beautifully manicured 18 hole course that challenges all skill levels. Established in 2006 by Disc Golf Consultants, this course was built in the beautiful neighborhood of Bridgeland on the outskirts Houston. Oak Meadow's layout has disc golfers throwing on fairly flat land that is moderately wooded. Periodically, players will be throwing over and around a large body of water (five holes) which adds to the overall difficulty. Par for the course from the cement pads (white) was 58, with holes ranging anywhere from 264 - 654 feet.

Most of the wooded holes, although they lack distance, have defined fairways that require precision. I often found myself using a buzz because it allowed me to stay out of the rough and gave me a solid shot at a birdie. With the exception of the long wide open holes, there really was no need for a high speed driver in the woods. On the longer holes, a 400 foot drive often times put me in great shape for an accurate upshot and then a birdie putt. There was no hole on the course I felt I couldn't birdie assuming I was able to execute my shots correctly. Of course this is always easier said than done! For my first time playing the course I was able to shoot four under from the whites, which apparently is a great round, so I was very pleased.

Cement tee pads were quite large and in great shape, allowing for big run ups when needed on those open holes. The Mach II baskets were all intact and helped add to the overall quality of the course. There was absolutely no garbage to be found and when I was there I saw work crews mowing, trimming and cleaning up the park which showed how much money went into the upkeep of the course.
Cons:
Again, as mentioned in almost every other review, the fact the course is private is a shame. My cousin lives across from Bridgeland in another beautiful development and warned me about possibly being kicked out but we went for it anyway since it was a weekday (Friday). Fortunately we were still able to play a full round and every time we encountered a local DGer or worker they were very kind. We just made sure we were respectful and left the course cleaner than we found it! Oak Meadow is the perfect candidate for a "Pay to Play" course as it would help alleviate some of the HOA dues that go to the course as well as continue to keep off most of the "Huckers."

As I mentioned in my Texas Army Trail review, being from the Pacific Northwest (Seattle) where we have no poisonous snakes west of the Cascades, it is always a bit alarming to be playing DG in areas with VERY poisonous snakes hanging out near bye. Although most of them stay out of the way, it often made me think twice about my disc selection when throwing through those wooded holes.

Last, the course tends to have a lot of issues with drainage. When the hard rain comes through the area it takes days if not weeks to dry up and can fester, allowing for mosquitoes to take over so make sure you plan accordingly!
Other Thoughts:
Oak Meadow DGC is easily one of the best courses I have played in the state Texas. Even though there are some drawbacks to it being that the course is private, the pros by far outweigh the cons. This area would be ideal for a home course due to its mixture of open and moderately wooded holes. Its proximity to the other courses is a huge bonus as well. This course can be played fairly quickly and with a map, is quite easy to navigate from the white tees. Although I didn't see any marks for the red and blue tees, it is a great addition for the local players and tournament play.

I have wanted to play this course ever since my cousin moved into his home across the way and it didn't disappoint for a second. Although it was Africa hot the day I was there playing, I brought plenty of water and sunscreen and was just fine. The local club and HOA have done a tremendous job with the upkeep and there seems to be a great DG following from what I saw. Hopefully this course is able to stay permanent for years to come as it adds a lot to the local DG scene in Houston and would be missed greatly by all who have played it. I am just thankful I was able to play this course while I had the chance!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty fun, but wet

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: LoPan12
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Long or medium length holes with clearly defined fairways, with small islands of ROUGH to play around. The varied cover limits routes in a good way.
+Use of terrain forces specific lines, but still gives you multiple routes.
Cons: -Like much of texas, its flat, so after a whole day of rain previous, lots of the course was under atleast an inch of water.
-The rain results in pond overflow, which causes a run-off ditch/creek to come up, which precludes use of one of the tee pads (due to excessive long walk to get the normal route's landing area).
-Some of the holes were wide open on the sides, giving you room for error, but as a result, not forcing you to hit a particular line.
Other Thoughts: A great course, it was lots of fun! Despite the long holes, there were lots of Buzzz shots.
Too bad you have to be a development resident to play there, but the guys I met up with were great, and I had a ton of fun. Thanks to JRW III for showing my around! Wish my neighborhood had its own DG course!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bored Soccer Moms

5+    2/11/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is big, well maintained, has a nice layout, tee pads are excellent. The park is beautiful with lots of trees and a couple lakes.
Cons: Some soccer Moms with nothing better to do have taken it upon themselves police the course and find out if you are a resident of Bridgeland or not. I believe that the more people that play a course, the better that course becomes. This course is mostly flat and the distances are too long to be a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Soccer Moms should start to fill some of their vast time with playing disc golf so that they will stop chasing off peaceful players.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/29/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, which contains some dense forest, a large lake, and some more open areas. No other activities are present here, I don't think anything would ever interfere with the disc golf.
- Holes that run through the dense forest are carved out very nicely, the lines are well defined and are more or less the only possible route. Very few backdoors, as the rough will gobble up discs or knock them down. Low ceilings and bushy rough make almost every shot feel like a tunnel. Great variety of lines, with plenty of hyzers and anhyzers to be found. A few spots let you choose which way to go as well, which is great feature. Some trickier lines as well, like #4's S-curve.
- Water holes are all good tests of distance and accuracy, with open hyzer lanes over the lake. Good placement is necessary to avoid large, mature trees in the fairway, and the basket of #8 is guarded on the tee side. Good job of making sure that staying right (closer towards the water) will result in an easier second shot.
- The rest of the course does a good job of being difficult even without many obstacles. The undulating fairway on #6 and the end of #12 rewards shots that stay out of the large, deep ditch, and #11 provides another RHBH hyzer-only route.
- Overall, baskets are protected pretty well and require good accuracy. Usually, going too far past (as well as right and left) will result in some roughage. Water is also a factor, like right of #9 and behind #10. Deep ditch on #6 and #12 can gobble up short shots as well.
- Excellent variety of hole length, a good amount around 300' and 400', and three over 500'. Most of the longer holes are open, but not all.
- Great tee signs, baskets, and teepads (the whites at least). This course is well maintained and is a breeze to navigate, especially with the map.
Cons: - Very little elevation changes throughout the park, it is pretty much dead flat except for the ditch. It is a big factor on #6, and even #12, but that's only two holes. Otherwise, practically nothing.
- Water holes are very good, but are all very similar. Bigger arms may be able to just hyzer these without a second thought, and smaller arms can play it pretty safe.
- Holes in the forest test line shaping very well, but most of the lines are mostly straight, more or less. This can make a few seem very similar to each other, especially with the same type of forestation throughout.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely a solid course that does a few things very, very well. The holes in the forest are all a good test of line shaping and shot placement, with some tough routes to take. Obstacles in the wooded fairways can provide two different lanes to the basket, or create tough obstacles that require some serious accuracy. Open and water holes are top notch as well, with serious length and protected baskets.
- Course is fair enough where casual players should be able to enjoy the challenge without getting too frustrated. Lines are there, it is up to the player to execute. Blue tees should be long enough for the biggest arms out there, on more than one hole.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  One of Houston's Best Courses

5+    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: JRW III
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never crowded; No waiting at 1 to start and rarely get held up by a group in front of you.
- Good variety of holes: open, tight, long, short, and 3 holes (sometimes 5) with water in play.
- Nice concrete tee pads from the whites.
- High quality tee signs.
- Has basic amenities: restrooms, water fountains, trash cans (Beginning of 1; End of 1; Beginning of 4; End of 5; End of 14).
- Generally very well maintained.
- Alcoholic beverages, used responsibly, are allowed. However, no glass bottles.
- Thick brush creates some great risk reward opportunities. Landing deep in the brush can penalize you severely.
Cons: - Like most Houston courses, very little elevation.
- Course was designed with multiple tee pads, but the reds and blues have brick markers only and can be difficult to find for a first time player.
- Course favors RHBH throwers.
- Like many Houston courses, it was built on flood plain land. There are many holes that are swampy after a rain (especially 4&5) and at times, the mosquitoes can be unbearable.
- Poison ivy is on almost every single hole.
- Most baskets are in good to excellent condition. However, they are Mach 2's, which are known for having a higher rate of spit-outs.
Other Thoughts: This course has a unique "private" nature. Oak Meadow Park, which includes the Oak Meadow Disc Golf Course, is owned and operated by the Bridgeland Home Owners Association (HOA). The owner/operator relationship is very similar to the neighborhood pools that are owned by HOA's in Texas. The developer purchased the land, built the park & course and deeded the land to the HOA. Thus, the cost of the land & course was built in to each homeowner's lot price. The HOA dues pay for the maintenance. Similar to most HOA neighborhood pools, access is restricted to residents of the neighborhood. Access to the park is monitored by the HOA.

It can be difficult to navigate your first time out. There are maps, and scorecards with maps available for download on DGCR.

Review updates:
- The Summer 2011 drought was hard on Oak Meadow Park. Many trees were lost. Several of the holes have opened up from the original design.
- There are probably over 100 trees that are dead, but have not fallen yet. After a wind storm, the dead branches fall. Maintenance on removal of the dead branches can be slow at times.
- Painted brick markers for the reds and blues have been added.
- New signs have been installled.
- Hole number 9's basket has been replaced.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/6/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: drbeat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -18 very long holes which wonderful trails
-Friendly residents
-Hard course to master
Cons: -Gate guard on the weekends
Other Thoughts: Be sure to watch the water holes. There have been many a disc that has been eaten by the lake.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 championship caliber course

1    1/31/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained, semi private course with water fountains, bathrooms, big trapezoidal concrete pads and nice signs
-Some great holes here that require smart play because of the length and the rough, lay ups abound on some of the holes to get the 3. This is especially apparant on the front nine (3,4,5) as it is longer, a bit more open, but with pockets of rough to avoid.
-No real elevation "changes" here, but some cool elevation play around the spillway holes. 6 for instance has a cool lay up spot over the spillway, or risk it and go big to get across the spillway on the basket side.
-Nice use of the lake to mess with the mental part of your game. You don't actually throw over it, except on hole 8, but if your disc gets flippy, it's in trouble.
-The baskets by the lake are very well placed on the edge of the slope down to the lake, good, safe upshots are paramount.
-Back nine rounds out the course by being shorter and very tight on some holes. Add to that the thickness of the rough, and it is very risk-reward.
Cons: -A couple throw away holes here namely 1 which is just kind f long with one tree in the way and 12 which is long and flat, no trees with the spill way in play on the upshot.
-The water holes are all rhbh friendly from the whites. It's hard to change that up, but I think it could have been done.
-Multiple teepads were not able to be found.
-Course is flat as a board
Other Thoughts: -Overall this is a very good course, I like the fact that it is private. It keeps the riffraff off the course, and allows it to be underused and therefore really nice looking. I do think it could benefit from being a pay to play which would essentially do the same thing as keeping it private but allow for it to be more utilized. JRWIII was a great guide for this course as well as being a nice guy. Overall the group consensus was that this was the second best course we played on the Houston trip, just a bit above Links, and below Shawshank, although JB CH will be a better course than Oak when it's done.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful, but private course

5+    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the (if not the) nicest course in the Houston area. It has a few wide open holes, but mostly it's tight and long (with only 3 holes under 300 feet). You really have to be on your game to play well here in my opinion.

There's a good mix of right and left holes with quite a few holes having multiple options. Water comes into play on 3 holes (and sometimes holes 6 and 12 if the water is high) and really makes you trust yourself and air it out.

The baskets are all in good shape, with nice big teeboxes to throw from. There is also a good map for each hole, a course map, and painted spokes to help direct you to the next box. (I wish every course painted spokes to point you in the right direction!!)
Cons: As mentioned, it's private. That being said there are plenty of people willing to play with you who have rights to be there. Just ask. :)

After a good rain it will get a little muddy and if it's a heavy rain the creek will cover #2.

If you don't stay on the fairways you need to watch out for the thorn bushes as they will make you pay.

Sometimes it's hard to find the Mach 2s, but trust the maps, they're pretty accurate.

The maps do list 3 boxes, but only the middle box has pads. Good luck trying to find the shorts or longs.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, it might be the best course in the Houston area if you can just find your way onto it without getting in trouble.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Better courses

5+    7/30/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: bluenadas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of skill needed throughout the course. Some holes are long, some short. Some head left other to the right. A few nice water hazards that make you really think through your play.
Cons: The park's main intent is water overflow during the notorious Houston rains. So if there is a decent amount of rain you can plan on having some soggy ground and possible running water on the course (Hole 6 has the lake overflow ditches running through it. If the rains make the lake to high then water will be running to Cypress Creek through these). Nature is out there so bring your bug spray and be on the lookout for snakes. Not really a Con but you make spook a deer or other creature from time to time as well.
Other Thoughts: While it seems the disc golfers feel they are being unfairly punished, I'd just like to say that the reason the park was closed was not due to Disc Golfers. As was mentioned before, the park is a multi-use park and others ruined it for the Disc Golfers by going out there and making fools of themselves. The unfortunate side-effect of that is that those just trying to play a round responsibly have to suffer as well.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be too long for me to fully enjoy

1    9/10/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B- (overall pretty open without much punishment for bad decisions or execution)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B (Too many holes that were just out of my reach to be able to make birdie. This added a little boredom for me.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+ (Several really good holes, but the majority were ho-hum. No terrain for the designer to work with)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (The water adds a very nice touch)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C (Not much strategy added - just length.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.