Cypress, TX 
Oak Meadow Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 352ft.   4 / 537ft.   4 / 713ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Houston's Finest Course

1    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course resides in the very nice suburb of Cypress Texas, just northwest of Houston. It is a well maintained, challenging course with the hole variety disc golf lovers can truly appreciate.

The first thing you will notice is the beautiful park that this course sits on. It has a nice large pond with kayak access something you almost never see in Houston. Once you get past that, you find a nice warm up cage under a large oak tree with adequate shade and varying elevations for good practice opportunities. The tee's have perfect large concrete teepads and exceptional tee signs that accurately depict each hole. When you start hole 1 you can be lulled into thinking that this is your typical Houston course with wide areas to drive and a few trees. Don't be fooled, by hole 3 you will find holes that are lined with dense foliage on both sides and challenging angles of attack. This is definitely a cerebral course where you will need to think 2 shots ahead if you plan on being successful. Once you get to 6 if you're not completely frazzeled you will be treated to a very cool over creek shot for about 500 feet. Where you can vent all your frustrations from the previous holes with a thunderous drive. But beware once that hole is complete it's back into the brambles for more tight shot fun. This is the story of this course, 4 or 5 tight wooded holes then 2 or three large open holes with water hazards. They combine to create the most balanced yet challenging course in the Houston area IMO.
Cons: As the previous reviewers have stated, this course is closed to the public. Until this gets rectified that only way to play it is if you live in the neighborhood or have a buddy that does or like I did in a tournament. I agree that something needs to be done and if it has to be pay to play so be it. The day I played there it was still wet from a deluge of rain we had gotten a week before. There were large swampy areas and mosquito's for days. Bring bug spray you will need it. As I mentioned there are quite a few open holes and shade is at a premium so make sure to wear that sunblock. Finally, this course is hard, if you are new to disc golf, be prepared to struggle here. Think of it like this, if you're used to getting 2's and 3's at other Houston courses prepare to get 4's and 5's here. Its just the way it is. Like a previous reviewer stated Par on this course is a great round.
Other Thoughts: This course humbled me. See before I played this course, I thought I was pretty decent. I'd see other guys at courses and think hey I'm pretty good, I can do pretty well anywhere. Man was I wrong, until I played here my worst score ever was +14 and that was my first time playing. To put that in perspective I shot +21 and +25 respectively here in two rounds. With that being said I am so glad I played it. It told me I have a lot to learn and isn't that what makes disc golf great. I only hope I am lucky enough to play it again and maybe that time I will repay the beating this course laid on me with one of my own.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Houston Course

5+    1/17/2010   1/27/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well laid out course that brings many environmental challenges into play. The course plays long, has many water hazards, and the non-water holes usually play low and tight with trees and thick brush on either side.

The regular tees are well marked and holes have alternate boxes for juniors and pros (although alt tees aren't marked well.) Each of the water hole pro tees are extremely challenging.

All main tee boxes are 6'(front) 9'(back) x 12'(long) concrete slabs, with high quality signs showing all three tees with yardage. The baskets are solid, but already showing some wear. Eleven pin seems to be installed too low.

BEST HOLE/S: #10; #13
Cons: After it rains, prepare to get soggy - the non-water holes after a rain are like playing in a swamp, which makes the mosquitoes bad and your shots worse. (The dams and bridges have improved though)

I have had separate run-ins with snakes on this course (one with a Water Moccasin while looking for a drowned disc on 10), so watch where you walk.

There is no real elevation to speak of, and beginners may get frustrated and want to quit playing after the mix of tight holes and windy over-the-water shots. I've lost count with how many discs I thrown into the water on 10 - the wind seems to carry in the open, and the discs drift right if you're not careful.

The biggest issue is the community who believes this should be a private course, and the cop will stop you if your not a resident. Some people, who weren't even disc golfers were caught having sex. I was also told they didn't like people swimming for discs and claim many golfers bring beer and pot, so they closed the course to the public.

My advice is play on a weekday, because I was told the cop basically is just on weekends when golf traffic picks up. I just finished a Friday afternoon round and didn't see the cop once.

WORST HOLES: #1
Other Thoughts: Truth is most experienced disc golfers would probably say this is one of the top three Houston area courses, and in the top tier for best courses in the state. Basically, if you've shot around par - then you've had a good round.

Overall it's a beautiful course in the right weather, and a fantastic challenge for any disc golfer no matter their experience level. The people actually in charge of the course and neighborhood are nice people, but I don't agree with their decision to closed it to the public. At least make it a pay to play or something, (which could happen in the future, since the management in charge mentioned that, but the HOA is stubborn and they have to work together).

Given that fact - if you are in the area, are willing to dodge or deal with the cop (or hide your car) and you love to disc golf - you owe it to yourself to play this course. If it became a public course again and drainage were slightly better - it would receive a 4.5. No real elevation changes, poor judgment of what is par, and the lack of that "wow I'll remember that one hole" factor prevents a 5 in my book.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Closed... for now.

5+    9/7/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Oak Meadow is a beautiful course in a mostly clean and well manicured park. The white tees have ample sized concrete tee pads and are marked with high quality tee signs. The posted distances are pretty accurate. DGA double chain baskets are in good condition. There are a few holes on which water comes into play. Three holes play along the lake and all favor RHBH throwers with no major hazard from the red or white tees. A couple more holes play along a lake overflow creek which was dry when I played. If water were present it would add reasonable OB challenges (and walking) to those holes. There's a good mix of wooded fairways and open holes to make both style of players happy. The fairways are nice and grassy. Parking is ample and close to the first & last holes. There is a course map and restrooms by the parking lot. There is very little lacking on this course from a disc golf perspective.
Cons:
The short (red) and long (blue) tees are completely unmarked other than the picture on the tee sign. There a very few bridges crossing the lake overflow creek. If there's water in the creek you can expect to walk far out of the way to cross the creek. This is a multi-use park so beware of walkers, joggers, etc. though most holes are off the paths enough to not be a major concern. A couple holes had downed tree limbs which were obviously there for a while without being cleared. The baskets are numbered with small neon orange bands around the pole which are hard to read from a distance; this is really minor since there is very little confusion as to which basket is in play.
Other Thoughts:
Currently, the biggest issue with Oak Meadow is that the local residents have convinced the Home Owners' Association to close this park to the public. The park is patroled and guarded such that only Bridgeland residents are allowed into the park. The cause for the closure was debated on the HFDS message board, but the end result is non-resident disc golfers are being blamed for trash and possible drug use to which residents don't want to be exposed. HFDS is working with the HOA towards a possible compromise.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/23/2008   8/31/2008
Review By: modestmusic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout, perfect landscape for DG, some tight holes through woods, others wide open...beautiful park all around.
Cons: private course so therefore you cannot play it when the marshalls are there...good luck.
Other Thoughts: they should open this course up to the public. even if they charged money....it is a great course and would be worth a small fee to play...

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One NICE course

2-4    3/15/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course with tons of variety. Nice mix of open fields, tunnel tree shots, water hazards both from 2 rivers including a small waterfall and the large lake. Even some elevation changes from holes that cross the river, or follow the lakeshore (do not overshoot that pin, yikes!). Thus, this course brings a variety of interesting hazards into play, and has considerable elevation for a Houston course.

This technical course will provide a challenge for golfers with a bit of experience under their belt. It's a beginner's worst nightmare. Pars from the long tees are well earned, and many holes have a very unique feel to them, especially the way the water hazards are utilized. This is one of the Houston area's premier DG courses.
Cons: As mentioned above, shot placement is key. If you land your disc in the rough (ie wooded patches) you will pay, both in added strokes and from the thorn bushes your disc ALWAYS seems to land in.

Beware the lake, it enjoys eating discs when you shoot parallel to the shoreline. There is always a wind blowing down the shore incline onto the lake, which has a nasty habit of bending even hyzer shots (RHBH) hard anny to the right to be swallowed by the deep. Also will need to cross the river several times. Walking down to the lone bridge gets old fast.

On rainy days, the front nine quickly turns into a giant puddle, so unless its dry, be ready to shoot through ankle-deep water on several holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring shoes you don't mind getting wet (maybe even swimsuit) since there is only one bridge over the river, and several holes where you have to cross over it (its only a foot deep, but a little to wide to jump easily)

Overall, a fun, pretty technical course, very frustrating at times, like anytime you end up in the rough on the front nine. (or when you lose a pink wraith on an open hole with three trees and no water in play). But a solid course with more variety of challenges than any of the other courses I have played in the Houston area

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bridgeland

3/23/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course in Houston area IMO. Well balanced course in beautiful setting with lots of different shots required. Trees, water, distance, tunnels all come into play. Punishing rough at times makes accuracy in the woods key. Challenging course rewards the well rounded player. Concrete tee pads, excellent signs marking holes.
Cons: Left handed friend of mine thinks it favors righties a bit...but I'm not complaining! Like all Houston courses can get swampy if the weather has been wet.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.