Fort Wayne, IN 
Shoaff Park Share
Uploaded By: KGB84 Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 301ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tale of Two Courses

1    5/3/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: Front 9 are interesting and fun. Nice elevation changes, challenging and fun trees/lines.

Nice park for family/others to enjoy
Cons: Front 9 had a lot of people to watch out for.
Back 9 are boring. Flat, wide open, few trees.
Very close to a road, dangerous.
Signs are in bad shape.
Hard to navigate. Had to go back to the beginning at one point to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: It was very windy when I played, not sure if that is common or just a bad day.

Fun course

1    8/30/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: smoothie
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Very well maintained
Along a beautiful golf course
Easy to navigate
Concrete Tee Boxes
Cons: No trash cans
Hole Signs need redone - very hard to read
Lots of people and car traffic around course
Not real difficult, few mature trees

Fun wide open course

1    7/31/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Musicphan
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was the first course I've played in a many years. It was good for me because I didn't have my own discs and it was realistically my first time out. The course was wide open so no harm spraying the disc a bit. Fairly flat layout and I don't recall it being terribly long.
Cons: OK condition... no real complaints but it looked like the course could use a little refresh. It was hard at times to figure out which hole was next. Not a lot of signage so we followed some locals in front of us. I don't believe the bathrooms were open either.
Other Thoughts: Fun community course at a fairly nice park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open Spaces

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. The grass isn't too tall. The course makes use of what it has very well. The lines of trees cover baskets and create interesting shots. A few holes have mandos which are a nice addition. The baskets are old, but do not show much wear outside of the faded numbers on top of the baskets.
Cons: Very popular park for non-disc golfers. We had a few dog walkers interrupt our game. There is also a steady stream of cars along the left side of a couple of holes. Be mindful. The course doesn't flow very well either. The tee pads are highly visible and marked, but knowing where to go next is tricky. The biggest problem to a person first playing this course is that hole one starts in the center of the park. The person I played with says he usually starts at #15 so he finishes by the parking lot. The signs do not lead to the closest lot.
Other Thoughts: I finished this course with a local. He told me that all of the trees with an orange dot will soon be removed. When this happens, they may have to move some hole locations to keep it interesting. There were a couple holes where the only tree that was in play is going to be removed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Run of the mill

1    11/30/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: KGB84
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Practice basket
-Club announcement board
-Course maps on board
-Score cards available
-Very spacious tee pads
-Good baskets
-Easy to navigate
-Front and Back loops
-Alt natural tees
-Bathrooms/water fountain at Conklin pavillion
-Food nearby
-Large, mature trees
Cons: -Very open back 9
-Even with mature trees; front is still pretty open
-No forced shots
-Only 1 trashcan
-Very popular with beginning disc golfers
-Lots of foot traffic from other park users
-Large playground/splash pad by #6 can be very distracting
-Picnics in the fairways( due to tables being moved to where ever wanted)
Other Thoughts: This is the oldest course in town. It sets in a large, well maintained, mutli-use public park. There are baseball fields, soccer fields, a playground, splashpad, fishing pond, ball golf course, boat ramp for river access, and tennis courts. So, look out for fellow park users.

The course itself is not what I would call exciting, by any means. It is a straight forward round. I refer to it as a longer "Pitch & Putt". Throw your drive 100' left of the fairway and you still have a wide open shot to the basket. There is now rough to really speak of. The only OB on the course are roads and Mandotories. Which are on #5 and #13, both to the left of the marked tree.

I played here a lot when I was a "Noob". Now a days I like more of a challenge and will bypass Shoaff and go to The 2 courses at Swinney. If you want a fun, easy day of golf where you wont lose a disc. Then Shoaff Is the course for you.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good options

5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: yoshi_jockey
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of lengths, especially with the new recently installed alternate tees.

The cement tees offer a pretty standard course, which is good for beginners to learn on.

The front 9 is slightly wooded, and offers some shots that require accuracy

The alternate course definitely adds some challenge for more serious disc golfers
Cons: The cement tees in the back 9 are basically wide open shots, which can be too daunting to new players (because of the length) and too boring for advanced players (because of the lack of obstacles to avoid).

The front 9 is also built along a pavilion, which often houses gigantic parties, allowing children to run wildly through the course without parental supervision. This is especially bad on holes 5-9, which are also by a playground and splash pad. It can be very frustrating trying to play a round when someone has dragged a picnic table into the fairway, or when there are a group of teenagers randomly sitting right where you need to throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoy this course because it is easy enough to play regardless of skill level, especially since the alt tees have been put in that lead to the same baskets. Therefore, I can play from the regular tees, and my husband can play from the alts, but we still end up at the same spot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty easy

1    10/9/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has two very different sections. The front 9 plays through nice mature trees with rolling hills. Many of the holes take advantage of the elevation changes with some fun downhill shots and a couple interesting holes back up the hill. The back nine is much flatter and more open, with longer holes and wide open shots on many holes. Stands of trees are used to protect several of the pins on the back, making it a little more challenging. There is a nice variety of hole lengths, especially with the alternate tees. The front 9 calls for some different shot shapes, and offers multiple lines through the mature trees on many holes.

There are good concrete tees, with plenty of space and a decent texture. The baskets show some age, but are in good shape and catch well. The grounds were nicely mowed, and there wasn't too much trash or vandalism. There were some good hole maps available at the beginning of the course that were really helpful in navigating the course.
Cons: This course doesn't really test a better disc golfer at all. The front 9 is pretty short, and offers plenty of generous lines. The back 9 is longer, but is wide open so it's not hard to drive the pin on nearly every hole. There isn't any punishment for missing your line, and the course doesn't at all push players to throw very many different lines. The back 9 feels a little repetitive, most of the holes are flat, open, and straight ahead with a little protection around some of the baskets.

The signage is pretty poor, it doesn't show hole layout, and many of the distances seemed off. There are often multiple baskets in view, and the navigation is a little weird in spots, so without a map or guide it could get a little frustrating. The alternate tees looked like they changed up the course on the map, but they were not marked at all, and were difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice beginner course, not too much trouble, and plenty of shorter holes for newer players. More experienced throwers won't find too many challenges or really much variety to keep them coming back. It's a good warm up for the Swinney courses, but not really worth much of a trip out of your way all on it's own.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  two thumbs up!

5+    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: mello d
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1st course played & have a jolly good time every time i play...talk about viva variety?!?!? 1st 9 are trees & shade...whilst the back 9 is open & sunshiney! aesthetically pleasing to the eye & easy to learn the layout after a couple o' rounds.
Cons: poor hole markings on the signage...though a mysterious someone has recently updated...<thank u whoever you are>
Other Thoughts: quite a bit of glass and aluminum debris out on the course...which really takes away from the natural beauty of the place ...a couple of recycling bins strategically placed would cure this problem :) until then mates PLEASE pick up after yourselves!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly

5+    7/2/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Mixilpidilstick
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shoaff park is an excellent course to introduce new players to the exciting world of disc golf. This course has few OB and no water hazards. The front 9 is well shaded with mature growth trees and makes use of this park's small rolling hills. Over the past few years, several of the baskets have been relocated to provide more challenge.
Cons: In the middle of the day during the summer months, the back 9 is almost unplayable due to lack of shade. With a lot of rainfall, some of the shaded areas can stay swampy and muddy for weeks. This course can be busy. There are a lot of non-players in the vicinity.
Other Thoughts: This course could use some TLC. Most of the signs are broken or unreadable. Some of the sign didn't seem to have been updated after the last time they moved the baskets. The grounds are well kept, which makes locating your discs very easy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/20/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course set in a large park with big mature trees. The front nine plays up and down some rolling hills and has more trees to deal with, while the back nine is more open. There's a great variety of hole length here and the shot selection is good given what there is to work with.
Cons: Navigation is fairly easy once you get started. Hole 1 is a long walk from the parking lot and after hole 9, you walk past 1's tee to get to 10. Hole 18 finishes even further away from the parking lot.

Holes 5-7 are semi-close to a large playground area. When I played here on a busy Sunday there were tons of people here but we didn't have a problem with any of them being in the way.

Risk/reward is almost non-existent here. Since the course is filled with mature trees and no rough, bad shots are rarely punished.

Tee signs are pretty old and only tell you the hole number and distance. But to be fair, this is a pretty old course so the signs do have some nostalgia about them.

The back nine is mostly open without much shade so bring water if you play in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course that I enjoyed playing. It's great for newer players to work on their game without the risk of losing a disc like at Swinney east & west, but more advanced players won't find a challenge here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.