Layout Extinct

Mount Pleasant (Oakland Mills), IA 
Riverview DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / --   3 / 372ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Too Bad.

2-4    5/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: ClarkFTW
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete Tee pads
Nice signs that are easy to understand
Easy to find your way around the course
Have a couple holes you can just launch on Hole #5
Cons: Pretty open course not too challenging.
Only 9 holes.
Kinda aways from town

Other Thoughts: I didn't know exactly what type of course I was going to be playing at. I was not disappointed. It had hole 5 which i just want to play over and over again. Hole 8 where you have a small opening to put your disc. Water hole on 6 is fun and pretty challenging throw. Overall i will be making a trip back hopefully soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If your in the area

1    7/10/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Camping, fishing, restaurant, on or near grounds. Shelter house (I hear they sell custom discs for the course in there) and soda machine up by hole 1. Nice view towards the river. Polite and friendly locals.

Concrete tee pads. Nice signs with good information. Nice defined fairways. Water hole on 6, as there is a very small creek crossing, but depending on rains and river level, could be much wider during those times. A few blind pins. 8 is a tight, almost "U" shaped hole, wish I had a boomerang in my bag. Beginner friendly course.
Cons: Only 9 holes. No real elevation to mention, maybe a couple of small hills and the land generally slopes towards the river; it's not flat per say, but nothing to be concerned with. Prone to flooding, especially near 5 towards the pin, and on 6. First time I went to play the course, I could only see half of the chains on hole 6. The catching part of the baskets were a little weird, they were too tall and covered a lot of the chains. They looked like normal baskets but squished a little, just a bit odd.
Other Thoughts: I really wasn't sure what to expect upon entering park, but I wasn't disappointed. Unfortunately, there was some recent flooding taking away some of the beauty of the course, as most of the grass was gone and just dirt and mud remained (as noted above).

A couple of holes that I really liked. #2 was really fun for me, a tree standing mid fairway for you to choose your path, left or right, then just before the pin, was a row of trees and rough, with a small opening you had to sneak through (approx 6' wide). In a few years, that tree in the middle is only going to make the hole more difficult as it spans out. #4 is a nicely defined hole with younger pine trees lining each side, the hole starts open but closes towards the basket, almost point you in the direction. Again, in a few years, when those trees are bigger, you may choose to throw differently (or in my case, get punished for a bad grip lock).

There is a lot of long prairie grass lining the fairways that is used for the rough on the more open holes, luckily when I was there it looked like it was just growing back after a burn, so it wasn't too bad.

For a small course, it does have a pretty good mix of holes, which surprised me. I would definitely play again, but only if I am in the area or driving by, but I don't think I will regularly drive 45 minutes to hit the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This 9 holer may surprise you

5+    9/13/2010   9/12/2009
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have just returned to play this course again, and therefore updating my review. This is a very nice, exceptionally well manicured 9 hole course. 2 holes are decent challenge. As well as a 515ft Par 5 distance shots. One challenge is over a ravine/water hazard with an angled approach, the other is a dogleg through the woods. The teeboxes are concrete and the fairways are well defined and open. Excellent signs, Bag hooks on sign posts and good pin placement. The people that take care of this course, definitely keep it nice. There are soda machines and bathrooms on site. Excellent for beginners and makes an excellent quick stop on a trip.
FWIW: There is also a fantastic restaurant near the course. You'll see it from the basket on hole #6. Fantastic Tenderloins! Highly Recommended Food! It's called Butch's.

In case you are interested, there is an area for playing horseshoes and bocce ball. ...for what it's worth.
Cons: The first thing about this course is that it is small, and the majority of the course is an open field. Most of the greens are straight distance shots, not much variation. I like the defined fairways, but the rough will swallow your disc. Especially on Hole 3, It's a blind dogleg, it helps to have a spotter, because you can't see where the disc will land.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice little small town course along the river. It's not a course I would drive out of my way for, but it's a nice course for the Town of Mount Pleasant. Now if I was traveling across 34 in South Eastern Iowa I'd stop and play. It's just around the corner from my parents, I can take in a quick game when ever I come to visit, . If you are going to be in the area, then it's a nice place to take in a quick round or two. I really enjoyed throwing for distance on the 5th hole! Somebody put the time and effort to make this a really nice and clean 9 hole disc golf course.

Address for your GPS:

Intersection Co Hwy W55 & Oakland Mills Rd Mount Pleasant, Iowa
from this intersection, Turn down Oakland Mills Road, it'll be about a half mile down the road on the right. The course is on the Mount Pleasant side of the river. Look for the Old thrasher wheels sign at the entrance. The address puts people South of the River, the course is on the North side of the River.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Riding the Ridiculous Rough

1    6/23/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very small and short little 9-hole course. It has one neat little hole that you shoot through an opening about 200 feet away (window like) inside a tree line right over a small pond. The pond part of this hole may actually just be a creek that has been recently flooded. At any rate, it was a unique shot and does have a bridge to cross over to get to the other side. There are tee signs, cement pads, a port-a-potty, a nice map and sign, and what looked like a club house (but was closed while I was there so early in the morning). It was cool to see the river along side the course. Talking to the people mowing the course, they take great pride in how much work they do to maintain it.
Cons: This is one of those Iowa courses with 3 to 5 feet high roughs and narrow fairways. I am not a fan of a course where the design slows down play and does not improve the course's design. Many of the holes are crammed in along side each other. As mentioned in an earlier review, the tee signs are displayed as North instead of pin at the top. This was confusing until you figure this out.
Other Thoughts: Fun factor at this place was almost non-existent. Seeing the river flowing next to the course was cool and the one hole was unique, but sadly, that was about it for me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not very fun

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: About the only pros is that it's pretty well kept and the markings are good. There is one hole that I found to be unique or fun.
Cons: I think 7 out of the 9 holes take place in the same open field, with fairways running right next to each other. There probably only should have been 1 possibly 2 holes in that field.

Most people that go there complain about the baskets, they are abnormally tall and if you are used to the normal baskets can make you bonk them off much more.
Other Thoughts: I almost played this twice, I was coming back from a tournament and he asked if we should hit this course on the way back. We stopped in the parking lot and after playing dankwardt and rodeo, we said screw it and just went home. It was hot out, and even the awesomeness of disc golf wasn't going to have us endure the heat for that course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Riverview

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a real surprise for a course. The fairways were well defined, good info on the tee signs and a fun course to play. There is a little diner just North of the pin for hole 6 that you can stop in and get a bite if you're hungry and the shelter house has a soda machine. Bill McDowell designed this course and, so far, I've liked every course he's designed.
Cons: The images on the tee signs are a little confusing because they show the hole with north to the top of the sign, instead of the pin at the top, but this is easily overlooked. There are little in the way of trees on this course (to some this could be a good thing) and the fairways are side by side on some holes.
Other Thoughts: When looking for this course, look for the sign that says Riverview Disc Golf Park on Jefferson Street. Oakland Mills Park is across the Skunk River and that is where we first looked for the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.