Glencoe, MN
Oak Leaf Park Share
Uploaded By: andyman Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/10/2011   5/13/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
Pros: Lot of sentimental value being a home town course for many years. Course is marked well, and park is well maintained. Lots of opportunities for aces, and an overall good confidence booster.
Cons: 3 or 4 holes play through the park, and when crowded can become almost unplayable. very short, flat, and overall not very challenging. Baskets commit roadside robbery on a regular basis, as it is a homemade prototype.
Other Thoughts: As far as nice disc golf courses go, this one doesn't make the list, but it is still fun for what it is, and is responsible for getting a lot of folks in nearby surrounding towns into disc golfing.

Worth Practice Or If Desperate

5+    3/2/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is decent. I actually prefer dirt boxes like this. I always seem to know what kind of footing i will get on them with minimal slip unless it recently rained.
-minimal other courses in the area, allowing anyone who likes disc but doesnt travel much a chance to get out and learn the sport.
-short holes and many ace run opportunities.
Cons: The baskets are just ridiculous. They say they catch just fine, but i disagree, having several puts bouncing off the hard/rusty chains.
-The park in general is too small and includes a playground and several picnic tables right in the path of your disc. Any laser shots to avoid trees also must avoid these tables.
-leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Local beginners to this course hopefully wont judge what the sport has to offer based on their experience here. Its good to learn how to play but if i lived in Glencoe would likely never play it unless my car broke down. Gets the job done for a fix, thats about it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Small Town, Small Course

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 186  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signage, distance, hole number and mini map on each hole.
2) Hole 7 offers a nice challenge compared to the rest of the course. With the river and tall grass playing along the right side you have to make a tough decision, do you throw to the river and hope for a left fade or play the road and hope for the best?
Cons: 1) Homemade baskets, look bad, catch ok.
2) The whole course (but especially holes 2, 3, and 9) smells like manure and/or sewage.
3) Tees are dirt and they are worn down to tree roots that you may trip over while trying to tee off.
4) Hole 9 ends all the way across the park from where the course starts. Long walk back.
Other Thoughts: For an area without many courses, this is decent, if there was another course 15-20 mins away, I'd just skip this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 Hole Course W/Funky Homemade Baskets!

1    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oakleaf Park is a small little playground set between some ballfields and river. The course does play very close to a playground at times so caution is urged. It's flat and easy, simple to navigate. It has these funky, homemade baskets that are slightly longer than normal. They're just kinda funny looking but catch well enough. The teepads are dirt but very smooth. The signs are black/white pictures imbedded in molded fiberglass resin. This is a different look for signs from anywhere I've seen before. The course plays 6 holes out and the last three coming back in.
# 6 is an interesting thread the needle shot.
Cons: #7 coming back has the river and tall grass on the right. I'm not sure if the risk/reward is worth it for a simple Pitch & Putt course like this. Seems a little extreme for this little course to me.
# 's 4 and 5 play dangerously close to the playground. Use some extreme caution if there are small children playing here including skipping these holes if neccessary.
Other Thoughts: ****Look for the # 8 sign on the side of the small building**** It's kind of hard to locate.

This course has it's quirkiness with it's funky old baskets and it's unique tee-signs but basically it's just a little playground Pitch & Putt. Enjoy it for what it is. Unless you're out on a course-bagging mission, you could probably pass on this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/28/2009   8/6/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: is a great starter course (where I started 12 years ago)
nicely kept park
bathrooms and shelters on site
hole 6 is unique
Cons: the reason I stopped playing this course on a regular basis is because of people traffic within the park. its just a dumb idea to design a course that plays through picnic areas and a playground. also people always seem to park their vehicles on the grass right on the course! dumb course design and dumb people who park on the course pretty much ruined it for me (couldnt tell you how many cars/trucks/suvs that we've hit accidentally with discs)
Other Thoughts: stop and check it out if you're in the area but dont by any means go out of you're way for it....but if you do play it, play it in winter

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Servicable Course

2-4    4/11/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice park with lots of other possible entertainment. There are baseball fields, playgrounds,and camping (I think).

The course itself is about average length for a 9 hole course. A mostly flat and lightly wooded course makes it fairly easy for most intermediate to advanced players but will challenge most new players and some intermediate players.



Cons: Some holes are very close to the playgrounds so you have to be careful with your drives. It's very flat, not particularly long and the hole setup does not require a variety of shots. If you are an intermediate player with a good backhand, you'll dominate this course.

Lots of long grass along some holes means a pretty good chance of losing discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, worth playing if you live in the area or happen to be out this way but not worth a special trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

...

2-4    6/7/2012   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow.
-Trees and river make decent hazzards
-Near playground, picnic area, ball fields and water park
-A few interesting tee shots
-Interesting signage and baskets
Cons: -Bugs every time i've played it
-Good chance to lose discs
-Poor tee boxes
-Too close to playgrounds for comfort
-Fairly flat
Other Thoughts: If your in the area play it but don't make the trip just for the course. It is alright and services the area fine. I think this course will look to at least improve in the next couple years with new young leadership rising here.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.