Ocala, FL 
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 292ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Go with someone who has been there

1    10/17/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting if you like central Florida flora (which I do).

Concrete T-pads.

Good signs at T-Pads.

Great information on score card. I loved the average score and handicap.

Fair variety of distances. Nothing under 200; nothing over 500. This is both a Pro and a Con. I like a couple of ace runs for players who don't throw far, as well as a couple of chances to really air one out for the people with big arms.
Cons: Poor signage. There was a large set of arrows at the parking lot pointing to the #1 T-Pad. Following the trail led to a couple of forks with no signage as to which way to go.

Once a hole was finished it was anyones guess as to where to go next. The course map might point you in the right direction but not accurately enough to find the next T-Pad.

The hole numbering system (4, 4b, 4c, 5) leaves a lot to be desired if using a cell phone app to keep score since the app only numbers thing in sequence. So when you cell phone tells you you should be playing 21, you are actually playing the hole labeled 15 on the T-Pad sign.

Too many blind shots. I walked the fairways quite often to find out where the basket was. The T-Pad sign would give you a general idea but it was still hard to know which set of trees to hook around and how far past them the Basket was.
Other Thoughts: A previous reviewer referred to the hills. I would definitely not call this a course with hills, although there were a few berms and ditches. Nothing like the 30 ft. elevation changes you may find elsewhere in the country. Of course there is nothing that can be done about this. After all, it is Florida.

This is a very enjoyable course if you are with someone who knows there way around. If you are and out of towner you will probably not have much fun as you will spend most of your time trying to figure out where to go.

This course has the potential to be a 4 or 4.5 with awesome signage. I play disc golf to throw disc not to try and figure out where the next T-Pad is or where the Basket is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course and hike

1    6/22/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 24  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has excellent signage (yellow poles), tees, and course conditions if you don't mind hiking and some wildlife. There are also trash cans, benches, and a pavilion.
Cons: Some wildlife signs and course information could have been provided at the parking lot, for example one or two route(s) to take back to parking lot if you get caught in a storm. Unless you have a car/bike, public transportation didn't seem like an option to get to course. Some baskets can be hard to see, so the brush makes throwing and disc recovery a concern.
Other Thoughts: The most fun course I have played to date. I loved the hiking, elements, and course conditions. DO NOT go to Marshall Swamp Trail entrance unless you want a long hike there and back to course. Watch out for snakes at Hole #2, and be mindful of where you place your bag because of ants. I played during hot, clear weather, so I am not sure how bad the bugs get when it is muggy. Be careful if you play alone since disc recovery can be a problem if you throw into the brush. The course really surprised me after Hole #5, for example the inclines and declines became nice challenges.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Greenway

2-4    6/15/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing in summer here I expeceted a very green and rough course. What I got was very unexpected. At a time of year that most wooded courses are very dense, this one was very managable. Course is in great shape. Rough is present. However, not growing into the fairway like most wooded courses in summer. This being said there is still plenty of challenge and things to bite you. There are shots with slight up hill with low branches to force you to stay low, but not too low or you are in the ground. 24 total holes. Signature holes such as #8, The Lighthouse that plays a little up hill to a slightly elevated basket with roll away potential on a missed upshot or putt. Another early highlight was #3 that plays slightly uphill to a cluster of spooky large oak trees. Signature bonus hole 6c plays on a hogback with basket under another spooky oak tree.
Elevation on a number of holes, more than most any course in Florida. Built on abandoned barge canal property, evidence of the dig is still very visable and creates a lot of fun slopes and gullies. Another highlight was 11 a slight uphill shot to a basket under a large tree with roots exposed by erosion reminiscent of DeLaveaga Park in CA. The roots are in just the right spot to protect short up shots from skipping to the basket or also may push you into a tricky but fun gully along side of fairway. Hyzer shot on 12 has a key hole trimmed through the trees to view the basket, saving a long recon walk. Trees on other holes are trimmed so perfectly to give tight yet very defined fair lines. Hit the line, not chuck & luck. This is a Disc golf sancturay. The course is dedicated to disc golf with no paved walking trails, no car noize, no playground with screaming kids or other actavities to bring other park users into the area. The short walk to hole 1 brings you into the woods to where you cannot see any signs of civilization making for a very zen round. Concrete tees and baskets are in great shape. Great signage by all long tees give info for long & short tees and direction of next tee. Also some next tee signs after baskets show direction to next tee or next bonus hole. Never got lost looking for next tee and we did play all 24.
Cons: Sand on most greens and on the tees. Sand can stick to your disc on wet days & get inside your bag.
Large red ants everywhere. Bring your stool, not to sit on but to place your bag on or there will be ants on your bag, then one you.
Could not find my way back to the car for more water after what would be 9 or 12 holes and I do not think you come back to parking area until hole 18. No rest room for the ladies. Just a port-a-potty. However, it was clean with no smell on this day. Did not see a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Looks like every tree out there was hand planted to make you think before you throw. This was only the fourth time I played Greenway and it is now my favorite course in Florida! I have never given a 5 star review. However, as for 51 courses I have played in my home state of Florida, this one is the best of the best.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Just Perfect

5+    5/4/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 22 Holes of beautiful D Golf.
Single use park..No tennis, no walkers, just golf.
Great mix of shots, lots of elevation for FL. Very scenic. Some good bird opps if you hit ur lines
Nice signage, multiple tee boxes
Cons: I wish it were closer to Orlando.
Maybe if there were one Par 5 like a 800+ foot hole.
Other Thoughts: I played the Selah Ranch courses in TX, the two highest rated on this site, and I think Greenway is right up there with them. Maybe better

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun In The Florida Woods

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short to moderate length technical course set in a wooded, hilly park, seemingly dedicated to disc golfing.

Two sets of concrete tees, with decent sinage at the long ones, show the hole layout and distance.

Very nice benches, some with small covered pavillions over them, make for nice resting spots.

The park is very clean, and well maintained.



Cons: Porta potty style restroom.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, and fun to play. I would be happy if it were my home course and would enjoy playing it regularly, if it were close by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Elevated from the norm

1    1/30/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solidly designed course in quiet, out of the way neighborhood park with paved bike/skate/walk path and picnic areas well away from the course - makes for a peaceful round.
Variety: well balanced between L/R/straight fairways, as well as wooded and semi-open. Good spread of distances from short Ace Runs to long open holes with a few long woodsy holes, too. Offers ample opportunity to whack a ton of trees, while providing several holes with the L-R space certain shots need to work, plus some low canopies and several well-thought out pin placements. Many holes are tough par 3's and I can see how some would say this course has a couple of legit par 4's from the longs. Gives you chances to work all kinds of lines and all kinds of shots.
Elevation: 10-12 holes where elevation comes into play in one way or another (a true rarity for Florida) not just mildly rolling terrain, but substantial uphills, downhills, gulleys, elevated pins, and rollaway greens. Don't expect mountains, but it's legit and nicely used to make the course more challenging, fun and interesting.
Equipment: Tee signs with distance and basic overview of the fairway along with occasional Next Tee signs help you get from hole to hole. Concrete tees were adequate and DGA baskets perform as expected. Everything was in good shape and I don't recall seeing much in the way of vandalism. Short, painted posts near each tee tell you if it's short (orange), long (lime green) or single, combined tee (green/orange). Enough benches and trash cans to not be an issue.
Aesthetics: Ocala's a fairly pleasant course, and while I personally don't find hammocks of scrub, palmetto, oak and pine separated by patches of sand particularly beautiful, it's ubiquitous to central/northern FL. Doesn't enhance the course this reviewer's opinion, but it's certainly not ugly by any stretch and your tastes may differ.
Disc golf dedicated land: you might come across a hiker or two, but there's little other traffic to contend with where the course is.
Memorable holes: I liked the elevated basket on # 8 and the use of timbers to box in the base and make it look nice - well done. There's a splendid hole (#12 maybe ??) that tees off "looking" downhill through some tight, well positioned trees, and plays back uphill and to the left of the low point - I'm not sure the basket is really any lower than the tee, but the hole can play quite down-hill off the tee, and unless you carry the green on your tee shot, you'll be throwing up a substantial incline for your approach. I also have to give props to 6B: one of the longer holes, requiring a good line off the tee and a solid upshot to a nicely sloped and reasonable well-guarded green to set up a putt.
Cons: Navigation: The original 18 was a bit iffy in spots, but not actually all that bad - it's the supplemental holes that impede flow IMHO. Even with the map I had a hard time finding them. I'm sure locals think its fine, but every course feels OK "once you get the hang of it."
Supplemental holes: they don't necessarily suck out loud, but five of the six are meh, and definitely are among the weakest holes on the course. Admittedly, 6B is a very good hole, and given how it routes away from the rest of the course, I suppose 6C makes sense to bring you back (not that I'm typically an advocate of "filler" holes). But when you consider what holes 1-18 offer, I don't see the point in adding less interesting holes, particularly when they screw up the flow on a course that already had couple of navigational rough spots. They make a not so bad situation worse while adding no new or interesting wrinkles to the experience. Even if you concede 6B and 6C, the remaining four (4B, 4C, 9B, 9C) don't add something the course was lacking; more does not necessarily = better. Using those baskets as alt pin locations on some of the more interesting, existing fairways would have been a better choice.
Sandy tees - tees themselves were fine, but Ocala would benefit from brooms more than most courses.
Hard to spot DGA baskets in the woods, especially well-guarded baskets in the shade - a blast of fluorescent paint on the lollipops would work wonders.
For what seemed like a "sleepy, out of the way" park, the small parking lot was quite crowded.
Other Thoughts: Of the ten or socourses I've played in the state so far, Ocala Greenway is easily one of the best (Magnolia and River City Nature Park being the others in that conversation), and is the only one of those with real topography - a welcome breath of fresh air in FLatland.

I like my courses "greener" than this and freely admit the indigenous landscape isn't my idea of a beautiful course, but the disc play here is damned good, and that's why we throw, right? Fun, challenging, and makes you think. Trying to put my personal tastes aside, Greenway it isn't quite on par with some of the other 4.0 courses I've played... upon revaluation, I've dropped it down to 3.5, but I'd actually describe it as a 3.75... falls just a bit short of being a truly excellent course.

Tenting it? Santos Campground (state run) is 7 miles away. Nice campground with clean facilities.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings

1    12/22/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 2 very nice concrete teepads for almost every hole.

- A very nice mix of straight, hyzer and anhyzer shots.

- Tee Signs for every hole.

- Most holes are very straight forward and easy to figure out where the hole is.
Cons: - Tiny Parking Lot

- There is a sign that points to where the course is from the parking lot to point you in the right direction but onceyou go down the path there are a couple ways that it splits from there. I walked down 2 incorrect paths before choosing the correct one and finding the first hole.

- The flow from hole to hole is not the greatest. I had a heck of a timefinding a lot of the holes and missed 2 of the the alterante holes becasue I didnt know there were even there.

- There seems to be a lot of room on this course the is underutilized and could easily have 2 more pin positions for every hole.
Other Thoughts: - Overall I was a little let down by this course. I came in expecting a 4 star course and it came close but didnt live up to its rating for me.

- I liked the ammount of diffeent shots I had to use to complete this course, but its not my style of course.

- I would still recommend playing this course if you are in the area but I prefer the longer bomber course that is Pine Oaks.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great day of Golf

1    12/6/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: WholeLottaWampum
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a wide variety of shots! There are several wide open throws that allow you to let the disc rip, but there are also shots that require a little more strategy. The tee pads are all concrete and the course is well maintained. It is a very well shaded course that is consistently wooded. Great for players of all skill level!
Cons: The signage for the next hole is difficult to locate at times. There will be a brown sign posted high up on a tree pointing to the next tee pad. These are sometimes blocked by other trees. Other than that I had absolutely no problems with the course!
Other Thoughts: There are a few extra holes to be played that are just as fun as the rest! Make sure to bring water and bug spray for a fun and enjoyable day!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A very nice surprise

2-4    9/7/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: icandisc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course flow once you know the layout
Several nice holes for lefties or forehand drivers
Elevation changes
Difficult holes still felt rewarding
Wonderful scenery, the walk is worth it even if you are not playing the course :-)
Cons: Annoying to get to (coming from the highway or anywhere else in florida, it's tucked back in an out of the way place next to the Nat'l Forest)
Extra holes can be confusing the first few times
Inconsistent amateur pads
No water
Other Thoughts: Overall this course exceeded my expectations, and is worth the hour drive to play it. The locals were friendly, and overall the course made me "think" about my throws more than other area courses. It was a challenge, but in a good way. There is much more you can do to add challenge besides just lengthening the hole, or making a tiny fairway and this course seems to get it right.

The course itself is a mix of florida scrub, a couple meadows, some pine woods and live oaks. There is plenty of elevation changes, but despite the trees, the course plays fairly open. The trees are mature and if you stay close to the fairway undergrowth is generally not an issue. Benches are scattered throughout, and shade is plenty to be had. However, the course is kind of in a bowl and wind can be lacking (thus feeling hotter despite the shade at times -- sticky florida summer humidity). Some sandspurs can be found on holes 14 through 18, in sandspur season (sept - feb?).

Playing this course feels like a hike in the woods, and I find it much more relaxing than something more urban. You aren't likely to run into anyone, barring your fellow disc golfers. The course is big enough that you aren't necessarily going to even notice others playing, except at the few crossing points in the middle. Courses that can deliver that experience rank more highly in my book (this might be the only course in this area that is solely dedicated to disc golf -- Northside Park being similar, with 90% of the park being solely for disc golf). If you want a little time with the trees and your discs, this is the course to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Out There

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ocala Greenway may not actually be far from civilization. You drive through a neighborhood to reach the entrance, after all. But it feels as if it is a world away from anything. Part of that is the long drive that it takes to get to Ocala from, well, anywhere. But mostly, it is due to the raw, almost primordial landscape on the course itself. We saw one other player out there, a solitary gent who we let play through.

The terrain is best described as light woods, with a mix of sand and soil supporting a multitude of trees with little underbrush. By trees i mean big beefy trunks with thick branches covered in surprisingly solid leaves just waiting to knock a disc down. Considering that this is Florida it's mostly flat but the natural escarpments are used well to create a few elevation changes. (Typically, there will be a sharp rise at one point in the fairway, after which its flat again to the pin.)

The Greenway also features some of the nicest benches I've seen on a course. They aren't on every hole but they all feature a small roof for shade. This makes a ton of sense because A: it gets hot out there, and B: its extremely likely that you will wait out a short downpour at some point. Very thoughtful. They really did think a lot about the needed amenities here.
Cons: That said, this course needs next tee signs badly. There are a multitude of trails out there, which I assume are used for dirtbiking or hiking perhaps. Some of the greens have several trails leading away that could go to a tee. Frequently had to split up and yell back and forth when the next hole was found.

Other Thoughts: I would love for this to be my local course. Great mix of shots that I could play again and again. But it falls into a bit of a grey area for me. Not awesome enough to be a destination. Not close enough to anything to be a regular course. If I regularly traveled I75, this would be a frequent stop and if there was a 3.75 option, this would be the ideal candidate for it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.