Ocala, FL 
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 316ft.   3 / 382ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course and hike

1    6/22/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 24  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has excellent signage (yellow poles), tees, and course conditions if you don't mind hiking and some wildlife. There are also trash cans, benches, and a pavilion.
Cons: Some wildlife signs and course information could have been provided at the parking lot, for example one or two route(s) to take back to parking lot if you get caught in a storm. Unless you have a car/bike, public transportation didn't seem like an option to get to course. Some baskets can be hard to see, so the brush makes throwing and disc recovery a concern.
Other Thoughts: The most fun course I have played to date. I loved the hiking, elements, and course conditions. DO NOT go to Marshall Swamp Trail entrance unless you want a long hike there and back to course. Watch out for snakes at Hole #2, and be mindful of where you place your bag because of ants. I played during hot, clear weather, so I am not sure how bad the bugs get when it is muggy. Be careful if you play alone since disc recovery can be a problem if you throw into the brush. The course really surprised me after Hole #5, for example the inclines and declines became nice challenges.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Elevated from the norm

1    1/30/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solidly designed course in quiet, out of the way neighborhood park with paved bike/skate/walk path and picnic areas well away from the course - makes for a peaceful round.
Variety: well balanced between L/R/straight fairways, as well as wooded and semi-open. Good spread of distances from short Ace Runs to long open holes with a few long woodsy holes, too. Offers ample opportunity to whack a ton of trees, while providing several holes with the L-R space certain shots need to work, plus some low canopies and several well-thought out pin placements. Many holes are tough par 3's and I can see how some would say this course has a couple of legit par 4's from the longs. Gives you chances to work all kinds of lines and all kinds of shots.
Elevation: 10-12 holes where elevation comes into play in one way or another (a true rarity for Florida) not just mildly rolling terrain, but substantial uphills, downhills, gulleys, elevated pins, and rollaway greens. Don't expect mountains, but it's legit and nicely used to make the course more challenging, fun and interesting.
Equipment: Tee signs with distance and basic overview of the fairway along with occasional Next Tee signs help you get from hole to hole. Concrete tees were adequate and DGA baskets perform as expected. Everything was in good shape and I don't recall seeing much in the way of vandalism. Short, painted posts near each tee tell you if it's short (orange), long (lime green) or single, combined tee (green/orange). Enough benches and trash cans to not be an issue.
Aesthetics: Ocala's a fairly pleasant course, and while I personally don't find hammocks of scrub, palmetto, oak and pine separated by patches of sand particularly beautiful, it's ubiquitous to central/northern FL. Doesn't enhance the course this reviewer's opinion, but it's certainly not ugly by any stretch and your tastes may differ.
Disc golf dedicated land: you might come across a hiker or two, but there's little other traffic to contend with where the course is.
Memorable holes: I liked the elevated basket on # 8 and the use of timbers to box in the base and make it look nice - well done. There's a splendid hole (#12 maybe ??) that tees off "looking" downhill through some tight, well positioned trees, and plays back uphill and to the left of the low point - I'm not sure the basket is really any lower than the tee, but the hole can play quite down-hill off the tee, and unless you carry the green on your tee shot, you'll be throwing up a substantial incline for your approach. I also have to give props to 6B: one of the longer holes, requiring a good line off the tee and a solid upshot to a nicely sloped and reasonable well-guarded green to set up a putt.
Cons: Navigation: The original 18 was a bit iffy in spots, but not actually all that bad - it's the supplemental holes that impede flow IMHO. Even with the map I had a hard time finding them. I'm sure locals think its fine, but every course feels OK "once you get the hang of it."
Supplemental holes: they don't necessarily suck out loud, but five of the six are meh, and definitely are among the weakest holes on the course. Admittedly, 6B is a very good hole, and given how it routes away from the rest of the course, I suppose 6C makes sense to bring you back (not that I'm typically an advocate of "filler" holes). But when you consider what holes 1-18 offer, I don't see the point in adding less interesting holes, particularly when they screw up the flow on a course that already had couple of navigational rough spots. They make a not so bad situation worse while adding no new or interesting wrinkles to the experience. Even if you concede 6B and 6C, the remaining four (4B, 4C, 9B, 9C) don't add something the course was lacking; more does not necessarily = better. Using those baskets as alt pin locations on some of the more interesting, existing fairways would have been a better choice.
Sandy tees - tees themselves were fine, but Ocala would benefit from brooms more than most courses.
Hard to spot DGA baskets in the woods, especially well-guarded baskets in the shade - a blast of fluorescent paint on the lollipops would work wonders.
For what seemed like a "sleepy, out of the way" park, the small parking lot was quite crowded.
Other Thoughts: Of the ten courses I've played in the state so far, Ocala Greenway is easily one of the best (Magnolia and River City Nature Park being the others in that conversation), and is the only one of those with real topography - a welcome breath of fresh air in FLatland.

I like my courses "greener" than this and freely admit the indigenous landscape isn't my idea of a beautiful course, but the disc play here is damned good, and that's why we throw, right? Fun, challenging, and makes you think. In my mind, it isn't quite on par with some of the other 4.0 courses I've played, so I really wanted to call it a 3.5 but honestly think that has more to do with my personal taste in course aesthetics than it does with disc play. Putting that bias aside, I genuinely think the disc play here is closer to excellent than very good.

Tenting it? Santos Campground (state run) is 7 miles away. Nice campground with clean facilities.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great day of Golf

1    12/6/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: WholeLottaWampum
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a wide variety of shots! There are several wide open throws that allow you to let the disc rip, but there are also shots that require a little more strategy. The tee pads are all concrete and the course is well maintained. It is a very well shaded course that is consistently wooded. Great for players of all skill level!
Cons: The signage for the next hole is difficult to locate at times. There will be a brown sign posted high up on a tree pointing to the next tee pad. These are sometimes blocked by other trees. Other than that I had absolutely no problems with the course!
Other Thoughts: There are a few extra holes to be played that are just as fun as the rest! Make sure to bring water and bug spray for a fun and enjoyable day!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A very nice surprise

2-4    9/7/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: icandisc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course flow once you know the layout
Several nice holes for lefties or forehand drivers
Elevation changes
Difficult holes still felt rewarding
Wonderful scenery, the walk is worth it even if you are not playing the course :-)
Cons: Annoying to get to (coming from the highway or anywhere else in florida, it's tucked back in an out of the way place next to the Nat'l Forest)
Extra holes can be confusing the first few times
Inconsistent amateur pads
No water
Other Thoughts: Overall this course exceeded my expectations, and is worth the hour drive to play it. The locals were friendly, and overall the course made me "think" about my throws more than other area courses. It was a challenge, but in a good way. There is much more you can do to add challenge besides just lengthening the hole, or making a tiny fairway and this course seems to get it right.

The course itself is a mix of florida scrub, a couple meadows, some pine woods and live oaks. There is plenty of elevation changes, but despite the trees, the course plays fairly open. The trees are mature and if you stay close to the fairway undergrowth is generally not an issue. Benches are scattered throughout, and shade is plenty to be had. However, the course is kind of in a bowl and wind can be lacking (thus feeling hotter despite the shade at times -- sticky florida summer humidity). Some sandspurs can be found on holes 14 through 18, in sandspur season (sept - feb?).

Playing this course feels like a hike in the woods, and I find it much more relaxing than something more urban. You aren't likely to run into anyone, barring your fellow disc golfers. The course is big enough that you aren't necessarily going to even notice others playing, except at the few crossing points in the middle. Courses that can deliver that experience rank more highly in my book (this might be the only course in this area that is solely dedicated to disc golf -- Northside Park being similar, with 90% of the park being solely for disc golf). If you want a little time with the trees and your discs, this is the course to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    2/12/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! What a great course. This course is a journey through some atypical Florida terrain. This place runs from flat to ridiculously hilly (by Florida standards). It is not very often in Florida that you have uphill and downhill holes. That was a thrill! This course is in some pretty thick woods. The fairways are still very clear and well defined. It would be had to lose a disc here because there are enough trees to challenge your game and make you shape your shot without punishing you ridiculously with lost discs due to out of control rough. There were some "next tee" signs that were sometimes helpful. Teepads were generous. Holes were in good condition. Hole length was pretty challenging, especially if you play all par 3's. No water...that is a plus for me when playing a course for the first time. I hate losing a disc to some water I didn't know was there. Now, from a longer term perspective (if I was going to play this course regularly), the lack of water might be more of a negative.
Cons: The only real con is navigation. Holes 6-9 get very tricky and we walked all over the place on those holes trying to find them all (and we even had a map). I wish they would either add more "next tee" arrows or else take some of the ones off the obvious holes and put them from 6-9. Other than that, no complaints here!
Other Thoughts: I will be playing this course again whenever I had the chance. My wife came along to walk this round with me, which she hasn't done in years. She loved the course and the beauty of the woods. People were friendly and the course was in great shape. Some great locals who take great care of this course. Maybe needs more trash cans and some day updated tee signs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

great course

2-4    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: pimpski03
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a mix of everything. Very clean! I liked how you can play the entire course and not see a single car or road or person walking across your fairway. The course is deep in the woods and provides some great scenery. Fairways are not easy, but are not too chalenging to where you cant throw with out hitting trees.
Cons: 1st time playing can be a little difficult navigating hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Will definately come back to this course. It is worth the drive and would be a good day trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Time

1    12/31/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: 1978
Played: 155  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course on my way to Venice Beach from Charlotte, NC and I really enjoyed it. There is a wide variety of hole types here straight, left and right. It seems as though (while limited) every possible use of elevation was utilized. Longer (350'+) holes weren't just bombs. You still had to shape shots through corridors of small leaf oaks and palms. It would be difficult to lose a disc here and the sandy landing areas were easy on discs, flairs, and roll aways from raised basket locations. The course was clean and complete with benches, tee signs, 24 holes, 12' pads (in most cases) trash cans and a port-a-john. Layout was fun and I found no boring holes. Birdies are numerous out here (if you can putt) but 4's are easy to come by too.
Cons: I rated this a course a 4 so... my Con's aren't really reasons to skip this course, just things that keep it from a 5.

Some of the 6 alt holes have shorter tee pads. The normal hole pads are so nice, the shorter ones really stand out. A few holes require you to walk back down the fairway of the hole you just played. 1 loop of the alt holes has you cross back across the course to continue on to the next set of holes. In some areas trees need some trimming around the basket to make a good 30' circle for putting. A few holes could stand to be slightly more fair and lose the poke and pray aspects. Play dictates that all holes are par 3's, but there are some tweeners there that could easily be par 4's. The tee signs have a very different par structure (400' par 5's) A few holes are guarded by trees with very low canopies. This really makes it tough to make the right shot. A few holes would benefit from better next tee signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a must stop if traveling I75 through Florida. I met the course designer, builder, and league TD. He was a really good guy and we need more people like him in Disc Golf. Take some time out of your trip to Florida and Play Ocala Greenway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    10/1/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This has got to be one of the best courses in all of Florida and now one of my top 10 courses ever. The course has a great varity of holes, and several with elevation. Florida is mostly flat but not this course.
Cons: No water, porta johns
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Ocala area this Is a must play course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Greenway Great

1    8/3/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ocala's Greenway DGC winds through lots of trees and up and down hilly ridges. Very fun lines changing directions and varying distance over 24 holes. More change of elevation than I have seen at any other Florida course. Not that there are long runs up and down large hills, but enough to add another dimension and a lot of fun. The tee signs have maps and length of each hole. Almost all of the boxes are concrete and good sized. Many of the holes have short tees as well. Others playing the course were helpful and friendly. I didn't see anyone around the course not playing golf. Good course if you like to bring your dog with you.
Cons: I can only complain about the fact that I didn't bring a course map. I missed the supplemental holes after hole four and hole six. Backtracking to find them in the afternoon heat was not much fun.
Other Thoughts: Ocala Greenway DGC is a great mix of fun and challenging, and I would include it among my favorite courses in Florida or anywhere. I am glad I was able to include the course on my vacation, and recommend a visit to any disc golfer who visits or lives in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid FL Course

1    1/20/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ocala Greenway is a great semi-wild course located near a small off the main drag community. The course itself has tons of variety in terms of both distances and lines off the tee. Several holes allow you to pick and choose what approach you want to take while others have tree-lined fairways to shape your shot. Several greens up on hillsides also add a little bit of extra challenge for the short game. Although not grueling in terms of par 4 and 5 holes, several of the long par three holes would be an achievement for anyone to birdie and nearly all holes seemed like they had enough teeth to really bite back if you threw a poor drive or approach. Even after playing a bunch of rounds at this course, I bet it retains a lot of its charm.


On a side note, this course really reminded me quite a bit of the North Star course in Idaho - The shots and feel of the layout are very similar even though they are separated by thousands of miles.
Cons: While not an incredibly challenging course, I wouldn't recommend bringing a newer player out here because of the rough and length of many of the corridor holes.

A small sign to indicate exactly which direction hole 1 is in would have been helpful, we walked down to 17 before finding out we went the wrong direction. Other than that, navigation was not terribly difficult for a couple of first-timers. As other reviewers stated, once you are on the course you will have very limited opportunity to restock on water or hit the bathroom so just a heads-up!
Other Thoughts: We met several neighbors walking through the course who had not ever heard of disc golf which I thought was a bit strange being that the course was installed in 2003. My best guess is that people aren't usually hitting up Ocala early on a weekday like we did. Everyone seems friendly here and interested in the game.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center