Ocala, FL 
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fantastic course

2-4    4/20/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everytime I go back to Florida I stop by this course simply because it is half a block from my dads house. Location for me is a huge pro but the course speaks for it's self.

DG exclusive. Hole layout can be a bit tricky the first time through but with DGCR maps it was easy. Great mix of short and long holes with plenty for left and right handers. Some very slight evlevation in play but well placed to add course quality. The baskets were nice and not rusty and the course was well mantained. Plenty to offer for ace runs and big bombs. I am really a big fan of the fact that this course plays all the elevation in the area to its best potential.
Cons: Some minor teepad issues need to be resolved if they haven't already. I would love to see running water.
Other Thoughts: A perfect hidden gem to play a round at and always feel good about the way I shot. It's no DeLa but it's just right.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid FL Course

1    1/20/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ocala Greenway is a great semi-wild course located near a small off the main drag community. The course itself has tons of variety in terms of both distances and lines off the tee. Several holes allow you to pick and choose what approach you want to take while others have tree-lined fairways to shape your shot. Several greens up on hillsides also add a little bit of extra challenge for the short game. Although not grueling in terms of par 4 and 5 holes, several of the long par three holes would be an achievement for anyone to birdie and nearly all holes seemed like they had enough teeth to really bite back if you threw a poor drive or approach. Even after playing a bunch of rounds at this course, I bet it retains a lot of its charm.


On a side note, this course really reminded me quite a bit of the North Star course in Idaho - The shots and feel of the layout are very similar even though they are separated by thousands of miles.
Cons: While not an incredibly challenging course, I wouldn't recommend bringing a newer player out here because of the rough and length of many of the corridor holes.

A small sign to indicate exactly which direction hole 1 is in would have been helpful, we walked down to 17 before finding out we went the wrong direction. Other than that, navigation was not terribly difficult for a couple of first-timers. As other reviewers stated, once you are on the course you will have very limited opportunity to restock on water or hit the bathroom so just a heads-up!
Other Thoughts: We met several neighbors walking through the course who had not ever heard of disc golf which I thought was a bit strange being that the course was installed in 2003. My best guess is that people aren't usually hitting up Ocala early on a weekday like we did. Everyone seems friendly here and interested in the game.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded course

1    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Hitman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Secluded. Played in the middle of the day during the week & I was the only one out there.
2) Saw plenty of wildlife, none to dangerous.
3) Great use of elevation chage.
4) Each hole has it's own character. Nothing boring here.
5) Extra holes
6) Post markers at the tees
7) Not every hole is a par 3. 4 & 5 par holes makes for a good birdie oppurtunity for new players without a long throw.
8) Benches & trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: 1) Hole 9 does not finish up front. Sometimes you need that mid-game potty break.
2) Got lost going to 6c took 30 min to get back on track. Find a local if possible for your first round.
3) Took a little searching to find the first hole. Not to bad, found it first try, just wasn't sure I was going the right way until I ran into it.
4) Some tee signs missing.
Other Thoughts: Great overall course. The play itself was a blast, will be going back soon with the wife & daughter. The course could use some more signage to help newcomers navigate the holes, including getting to the first hole. Bring plenty of water & hit the porta potty before you go out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great secluded course

1    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Secluded - No outside "noise interference" (i.e. NO: kids on jungle-gyms, roadways, barking dogs, etc.)
* Multiple Tee-pads - Gives you variety whether you want a longer tougher challenge or a shorter game if you happen to bring someone new to the sport
* Concrete Tee-pads on the Pro Tees
* Tee-signs - The tee-signs were accurate and gave you a good idea of where to drive on a blind hole
* DGA baskets - Double-chained baskets make for a more confident putt in my opinion (i.e. less "spit-outs")
* 24 holes! - It was great getting to play those extra holes, it sure beats just 18
* Benches at most holes, including a couple of picnic tables throughout the course
* Trashcans - They are scattered throughout the course
* Good use of elevation - Florida can be known for being relatively flat but the designer has made great use of the somewhat moderate elevation in this area.
* Port-o-potty at the beginning of the course (but this is also a con)
* Great shot variety - Every hole out on this course was a new experience. Definitely not a "monotonous" course.
* Locals! - Everyone I ran into out there had a great attitude and was very kind (Including the TD that happened to be there while a tourney was going on: He mentioned he was from NC as well and gave us a couple of beers from his cooler he had on the back of his golf-cart! Thanks guy!)
* Wildlife abounds here - We saw lots of diverse wildlife here including a large gopher tortoise that was poking his head out of a large hole in the ground. Saw a beautiful Kite-tailed Hawk flying overhead as well as some interesting "Big Headed" ants. Numerous cool lizards as well.... (Thankfully we didnt run into any rattlers that have been known to be on the course!)
Cons: * Navigation - I had to contact a DGCR member to guide me through the course before coming to play this one.... I suggest you do the same. If it hadnt been for a course guide, I dont think I would have been able to find the first tee, let alone navigate through the course.
* The port-o-potty - I had to use it (twice) before starting the round and lets just say I should have brought some nose-plugs or at least stopped by a store to use the restroom before coming to play.
* No multiple pin placements - this could be an erosion/wear problem for this course in the future.
* Sand - It started to get a little annoying after my shoes were filled with sand after only about 4 holes. I used to live in the panhandle of Florida and I feel that sand only belongs on the beach, but its just a minor gripe. It gets all over your discs. The sand on the ground did help keep the disc from rolling away after a missed putt though so in that case it could be seen as a "pro".
* Lack of defined fairways on some of the holes
* The shorter/alternate tee-pads were not concrete
* This course could use a little more TLC/clean-up on some of the fairways
Other Thoughts: I contacted I3ooI3oo before coming down to Ocala and he met up with me at the course. He was fun to play with and an all around great guy. If you plan on playing this course it would be wise to contact him before coming down due to the navigation issues. He will be able to show you all of the added/extra holes as well.

Every local I talked to was just as nice as can be. That really makes the course experience that much more enjoyable.

It was very hot there on the day that we played, and I would suggest applying some sunscreen before starting your round (if you play it in the summertime like we did!). Also: BE SURE to bring extra water.... You'll need it.

A few of the reviews before me had mentioned paint-ballers but there were none to be found there that day.... good thing.

I know this course has gotten 4.5 disc ratings in the past but after playing a course like Bracketts Bluff, I had to give OGDGC a 3.5 rating. If there was an option, I would have given this course a 3.75 disc rating but I feel a 3.5 is fair. OGDGC is a great course and I will definitely be coming back down through to play it again.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The almighty Greenway!

5+    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: stewbeck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My home course, love it! Challenging even after close to 50 rounds played on it this year. Chainstar baskets (no "chastity belt"). I could keep going but just come out and play this course!
Cons: Only 24 holes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Florida

1    1/1/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big sign at the parking lot includes disc golf on the sign.

2) Portopotty at the parking lot which is good, but one in the middle of the course may also be appropriate, but I suppose there is no access.

3) Picnic tables and garbage are located under a massive tree near the first hole. This is a wonderful thing to have especially if there are tournaments played here. There also are plenty of garbage cans and benches scattered through the course. This would be helpful when behind a slow group or in tournament play.

4)Information on the tee signs is good including hole #, par, distance, and shot shape.

5) There is some incredible diversity on this course. The plant material ranges from palmettos (although trained very well and kept in good control for the most part), palm trees, massive pines and even some hardwoods.

6) How a large sandpile has turned into such a cool property is beyond me, but the erosion and massive rains have clearly played an integral role in making this course as good as it is. You can see washouts all over the place and they seem to use those areas for basket placements on more than one occassion. There are plenty of holes that have a good amount of elevation change. The majority of the holes have some elevation change, but the first few and last few have only moderate changes. Regardless this course uses the terrain effectively to create an awesome feel.

7) This course challenges you on almost every hole. The first few give you a little warmup for the arm and are relatively open, but then you work back into the rolling sandy terrain with the massive diversity in plant material. You have to shape your shots on most holes to avoid the trouble, but unlike Jack McLean where I had played earlier that day it was a little bit more forgiving of a slightly errant shot. Less luck was needed to play well on this course and it showed in my score. This ever present challenge is what takes a good course and makes it great.

8) Baskets are all in great shape and although the original 18 are different than the alternate holes they are all fine.

9) Green posts mark the pro tees and yellow posts mark the forward tees. This is very helpful in navigating because it is consistant the whole way through.

10) There is a shelter in the middle of the course and is easily accessible from about 5-6 holes.

11) Next tee signs are generally easily visible and helpful to the first timer (such as myself). Some are missing which contributed to me missing a couple holes.

12) The course is isolated from any other activity, in fac you never even get close enough to the paved walking trail to see it but I know it is there because you can see it in the parking lot.

13) The humor of a local was apparent when I saw a couple christmas ornaments in trees. It made me laugh when I saw it. I am a fan of a random gnome placement on a course (much like The Sinks in Chattanooga, TN). Not as funny as a gnome, but still something out of place on a disc golf course.
Cons: 1) Not all tees are concrete, some rubber was used on forward tees, but at least they have used something and not just given you a sandy worn out spot.

2) While the course generally challenges you at every turn, there are a couple simple plain holes. This may be by design to give you a warmup before hitting the elevation and more difficult part of the course, but I would rather have played a few more holes back in the wooded tougher area. It looks like they have more land that could have been used too.

3) Paintballers were present when I played but they were not on the course. I have no problem sharing the area with other people but they were loud and yelling and distracting to the peaceful natural setting. I can't imagine the paintballs are appreciated by the environmentalists but I suppose that would be happening there with or without the disc golf course. I do have to say if I liked paintball this would be an awesome place to play. I also would have to say I would thoroughly enjoy a dirt bike ride through this area too, so hopeful nobody gets any ideas!

4) Some of the next tee signs are missing. I got turned around a couple times because I was relying on the signs to help me through the course. I am thankful the ones are there, but it would be nice if the missing ones could reappear.

5) The layout was a little strange and I would guess it is because of the additional holes. Walking past baskets and tees to get to the next hole is always a little odd, but if it helped to make it a better course I can't be to hard on it.

6) I could imagine the course would get very hot sticky and buggy in summer, fortunately YOU WILL NEVER SEE ME IN FLORIDA IN THE SUMMER! This would be a negative for the locals, but at least the course is somewhat shaded throughout. There are always going to be shady areas to sit down and drink some water.

7) There are other plants that create a little havoc on this course and they generally are thorny. Not sure what they are but I don't like them. Fortunately there aren't any areas that are overgrown in my opinion, unless you are way off course.
Other Thoughts: Walking in to this course made me think I was in for it because of how tightly canopied the trees were. I had to look up the definition of the word hammock to complete this review so who says DGCR isn't helping us all become smarter. The area you walk through is certainly a hammock. Dense vegetation with trees, shrubs and vines creating cover over an area. It gave me a cool feeling (no not below the belt), it just created atmosphere to the course in my opinion. It feels like you are throwing on a wind swept sand dune with a large amount of foliage and plant material.

I have to agree with Roller Coasters who has said he think Ocala Greenway is the best course in Florida. I know Florida is a different kind of disc golf area, but this course doesn't play like many of the other Florida courses but I think that may be why it is the best in Florida. Most Florida courses are overgrown with Plamettos and other plant material, and this course is virtually devoid of those plants and the issues they bring to a course. This course is unique and it is also very enjoyable. You are locked away in nature on a sandy rolling terrain in a state that has almost no elevation change. It simply put is an awesome course and a wonderful property. Get here if you can, it is well worth the 15 minute drive from the interstate.

I have to give this course a 4.5 as I would play it as often as I do Silver Creek, Winter Park, Bud Hill, Bryant Lake, Kaposia, and Charlie Vettiner if all things were the same.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Hippy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I am new to the game!! Only playing for about 3months. But I can throw over 300ft. Been told by others that I am good. But I suck!!

Best course I have played. Like the layout.Like the elavation change. Tough to find in Florida! PLayed from the pro pads and used amutaer scores!!
Cons: NO faciltys!!! Other than that!! No complaints!! As stated before bring drinks!!!! Think some of the pars should be changed.
Other Thoughts: One of the one's to be played for sure!!!!!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 #1 Course

5+    7/29/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful use of nature! I always see Deer tracks but haven't seen one yet. Often see turtles though! Great layout, only one time on two side holes (4b,4c) are the holes laid out to where you could possibly throw into the oncoming fairway. This course is quite wooded but not overly. Trees either leave you praying for luck or make you fine tune your shots. Uphill (That's right - in FL) and downhill shots! Short and long holes along with most where you can see the basket others leave you with just a main direction. Mostly concrete tees. Benches at most holes for those waiting. (A few with covers to hold you through those daily FL rains). Signs at every hole describing the best route(s) to throw. (Hint, hole 9 for RHBH throwers, hyzer to the right of the big tree directly in front of the tee, don't follow the obvious path) 24 holes! We love the game, why stop at 18??!
Cons: Not very populated, I wish more people would play!

Not all concrete tees.

Mosquitos are plentiful especially in the warmer times (Welcome to FL).

There could be a porta-potty or two throughout the course (Only 1 at the beginning) as it is a long course.

The signs at the holes are getting faded and some "Next Tee" signs are gone making newcomers unable to navigate properly.

Mowing during the summer doesn't keep up with the seed pods and grass height in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Although there are some things that could be improved upon (Mostly the care of the course) This course is by far my favorite to play! This course tests my abilities every time I play and I love it!

Bring all of your discs and Water! Especially in the summer!

Extra holes are as follows: 4b/4c - after getting your discs out of 4's basket, turn to tee # 5 and walk straight past it. Two paths are visible, the right one takes you out and the left one brings you back. 6b/6c - after taking your discs out of the basket go down the path that is to your left as you were approaching the basket. 6b is long and when done with that go up the hill to the left and make your way back towards 6. 6c is quite short with a green tee. 9b/9c - 9b is right in line with the main course (I couldn't imagine the course without 9b). After you take your disc out of 9b - continue straight and pass up hole 10 to your left. 9c is around the bunch of trees on your right.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

2-4    3/30/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on one of the most beautiful tracts of land that I seen. You definitely get the sense of becoming one with nature while out on this course. This course is very well marked and makes great use of the land. It has a great mix of short and long holes with varying pars. It does play a natural 18 holes.
Cons: None that I could mention.
Other Thoughts: I loved every minute that I was on this course. I played two consecutive 18s. I met up with 3 locals during my second round. I asked if they played it as a 24 or an 18. They all said they play 18. I was looking and the only extra holes I saw were 9B and 9C. The layout and signage has good flow for holes 1-18. It was a bit tricky to find the 9th tee, (walk past the hole and then take the path down the hill to the right) but everything else was really easy to navigate. This course should be a must stop for anyone traveling south on I-75. Ocala is before the Turnpike heads east toward Orlando, so no matter what your Florida destination is, you will pass through Ocala. Do yourself a favor and take a long enough break to enjoy a truly great disc golf course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Best course I have ever played.

5+    2/18/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: Manofaction
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I live less then 1 mile away, it is great. I play there every day. There is no water or bathrooms besides the one in the parking lot, but if you have played it before you know that. If not next time you will bring all of your gear. I play with 1 disc on this course. 174g Innova Gator mid range control disc. I am a local but everyone else I have played with here are very friendly and very inviting. The paintballers are 4 kids that live around the area. they dont have any other place that is close by that is free. I talked to them today and asked them if they would stick to the area away from the tees and baskets and they agreed. So in the next few weeks or so there should be no more paintballs on the course. Almost every hole has some form of blockage, tree, bushes, or some kind pf plant. Hole number 5 sponsered by Butch Zimmerman is my favorite hole. Long range par 5 and its just a great hole.
Cons: Only con is that there are alot of places to lose a disc. A bathroom and some water at tee #9 would be great.
Other Thoughts: Bring something to drink. And have alot of fun.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.