Ocala, FL
Ocala Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 my home

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: steujr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: my home course play every sat. at ten lots of trees for you to shoot around more of a low, long shots. no water but lots of shrubs and thornes to capture your disc.
Cons: very hot so bring lots of water.............did i mention BRING LOTS OF WATER. long course (24 holes)
Other Thoughts: to play 9 holes, play 1,2,3,4,4b,4c,5,6,6b
or play holes, 1,2,3,4,then cross over 4b to 14,15,16,17,18

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A very good course that could be great

5+    6/6/2004   6/6/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is situated in a gorgeous greenway. The only other park users are found on the bike/blade path that doesn't come into play on the disc golf course.

Decent elevation changes and beautiful big pines contribute to a wonderful walk through the secluded woods.

The course favors a strong arm, but also tests technical skills. There is a good variety of hole looks and shots required. The challenge factor is higher than many courses, but not the absolute toughest.

Excellent tee signs and benches, ease of navigation, and low schule factor also contribute to this being a very enjoyable/ challenging walk through the woods.
Cons: This property is one of the best in Florida. It's a shame that an amazing course doesn't live there.

The course doesn't route back to the parking lot after nine holes, which can make for a tiring round lugging around extra food and water.

There's plenty of room to have an amazing 18 hole par 60+ layout instead of the 24. A few of the holes are throw-aways.

Some of the baskets are strategically placed on sand mounds, which are beginning to create erosion problems. These could be fine if the sand hills were reinforced or if the baskets had alternate placements which were rotated. Unfortunately, all the baskets have been welded into the sleeves, precluding the addition of alternate locations.
Other Thoughts: A couple quick notes that pertain to all my course reviews:

I don't use a numerical "system" for coming up with a final rating, such as 20% for aesthetics, 20% for challenge, 30% for safety, and 50% for amenities, or the like, except for the fact that I automatically deduct .5 for all 9-hole courses. I've established a base "criteria" based on the fact that more courses will receive a 3 than any other rating. I've created my number standards by grouping "like calibre" courses together and then comparing them to other groups of courses.

A few things that do weigh heavily in my mind are ease of course navigation, degree of nasty schule, likelihood of losing discs, degree of on-course crime, property aesthetics, hole variety, and good score distribution for a standardized gold, blue, white, or red skill level.

Using the 1-5 scale with a "normal" distribution in mind, most courses will fall in the 2.5-3.5 range and nearly all courses will fall in the 2-4 range. I believe that we've yet to create a "5" disc golf course. With that in mind, my highest rating rating given thus far is a 4.5, given to Idlewild. I'll never give an "all par 3's" course higher than a 4 rating.

My reviews are not meant to hurt the feelings of any designers and/or clubs, but I honestly believe that some of our courses do more harm for the sport than good. These courses have received ratings in the 0-1 range.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Florida Course

6/4/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: overdose
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It is great to see a course in Florida that has hills. With this only being my 4th course I have played it was great to play on something new.
Smelled great, I love the pine tree smell.
Cons: Wow, it was hot. It had some shade but still Florida is way too hot to play in the summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging

4/18/2008   4/21/2008
Review By: shadehunter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 holes, concrete tees on main 18. Nice variety of wooded/open holes. Elevation on most holes is nice for Florida. Dont be mislead by previous review - there are 24 holes, 24 baskets, no baskets are shared.
Cons: I have never even looked at the tee pad signs here so i can not comment on their accuracy, but the course is easy to figure out.
Other Thoughts: This is a wooded Florida course...bring 100% DEET bug repellent and tons of water. If you dont mind the heat and bugs then be ready for a great playing course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course but not well marked.

10/19/2007   1/3/2008
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course with a good mix of wooded and open shots. Some elevation changes make this course even more challenging. Most of the holes were fairly challenging.
Cons: The holes aren't marked as clearly as they should, the distances seem to be off as well. Also a few of the baskets serve multiple holes and this isn't marked very well either.
Other Thoughts: Bring the bug spray and stay away from this one in the summer.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Winter Course

12/25/2007   1/1/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and woods shots in a great pine-scented atmosphere. Nice concrete tee pads so you're not driving from the sand. Tee markers in good shape and signs to next tee (you have to pay attention) at most baskets.
Cons: Some tee markers are misleading, with sharper degrees on the course than indicated on the marker. Some of the pars seem to be off also (notably a 300' par 3 that none of us made next to a 280 par 4 that 2 of us birdied)
Other Thoughts: Can't imagine playing this in the summer. I was sweating on Christmas day. Being a northerner it is tough to know how some of the vegitation will affect your discs. Some stuff that looked like pretty flimsy leaves stopped my disc cold when it hit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.