Hartford, KY 
Ohio County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: caney44 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 285ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth the stop if you're passing by and have the time

1    8/18/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: This course has excellent teepads and good signs that indicate which direction to head after completing the hole. Course is secluded and can get very quiet out once you pass the camping and playground on hole three. The front nine provides a technical test of mostly reachable hyzer and anhyzers. These wooded holes are fair but there's still a certain amount of luck required to have a chance at birdie. The back nine gives a variation with a couple wooded holes then mostly long open holes where you can let them rip. The first couple on the back nine have an element of danger in some OB but I didn't find it to come into play.
Cons: Maybe it was just an off week or something but the grass on the wooded fairways was very long and there were downed limbs all over the place. Also I noticed that several of the teepads on slopes were slanted themselves so you weren't throwing off of level ground. This course institutes the "Pack it in, pack it out" mentality as there were almost no trash cans on the course. Also numerous holes had benches but others didn't. I noticed this on the open holes where there wasn't any place to rest after wrangling with a 600 foot holes. The last few holes on the course provided little to no variation only that you throw as far as you can in a wide open field before you lay up and putt.
Other Thoughts: Course is worth the time if you're passing between Bowling Green and Owensboro and you feel like throwing. Only about 30 minutes from Yellow Creek in Owensboro if you feel like combining these courses. Only about 45 minutes from Bowling Green too.

 Nice secluded course

1    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet little secluded course in the middle of nowhere between Owensboro and Bowling Green. Nice layout overall, minus the ending. Requires a lot of different shots, some technical, some "rip and grip." I almost aced #4, and dammit, I'm still searching for that elusive ace. This course is wild, it will treat you with an awesome hole, then beat the crap out of you on the next one.
Cons: The ending of the course. I love rip it and grip it holes just like anyone else, but they tacked too many on at the end, and it was almost if at hole 15 I had warped into a new course altogether. We also played yesterday in the dead summer heat, so after getting hit hard by the summer sun in the woods, coming out to the open field to end it was brutal. So maybe I'm being a tad biased here.
Other Thoughts: I did like the course, and I will be back. Trying to travel around the Evansville area to find good courses, and this is one that was enjoyable enough to get me to say that I will be back again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/3/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This underappreciated course has 18 solid disc golf holes. The course has concrete tees, excellent tee signs, nice baskets, and an effective course map on the kiosk by hole #1. The overall layout and hole design of the course is pretty good. The flow is excellent, short walks to the easy-to-find next tee. The course loops back to the parking area after holes #9 and #18.

Most of the holes are of the shorter and technical style through clear cut fairways in the woods. There are a few longer, more wide open holes with isolated trees, elevation, an OB walking trail, and tricky basket placements to add to the challenge. There are several small creeks that run through the course either as a fairway boundary or a hazard across the fairway. We played just after a solid rain the day before and there was a good amount of flowing water in the creeks. (I especially liked this one hole where the creek crossed multiple times across the fairway.) Overall, there is a good mix of holes and variety of shots required to score well.

The course is easy to find and just right off the Natcher Parkway. If you like to play uncrowded courses, then this is your place. We played on a warm, sunny Saturday morning of a holiday weekend, and we were the only ones on the course.
Cons: The course looks very uninviting as you pull in the gravel parking lot. You see the run-down remains of an old mini-golf course and ball golf driving range. (hole 18 actually plays on part of the old range!) One could view the single port-a-potty as a Pro, but it just added to the dumpy appearance, plus it was locked when we started and locked when we finished but nobody was around (who knows what was on the inside!)

Course maintenance is obviously lacking or non-existent. The wooded holes were fine, but could really use some upkeep as far as clearing limbs and downed trees. The open holes had nice grassy fairways, but the grass was pretty high and thick and it made finding your discs really hard even in the fairway, it would even be possible to lose a disc if you are not watching carefully as to exactly where it landed.

We played after a good rain, and water in the creeks are a plus, but many of the holes were pretty soggy and muddy with standing water in the fairways and around the baskets. It wasn't unplayable, but this course sits in a low drainage area, so it might get pretty bad after a lot of rain.

I wasn't a huge fan of the way the course ended. I always appreciate good finishing holes, but felt the last three holes were the weakest of the 18. These are very wide open, little to no obstacles, and are much longer than and uncharacteristic of the rest of the course. I am not opposed to longer open holes, but I feel courses are better when these are mixed in with the other hole styles instead of just slapping them on at the end. (It actually seems like the designer got to hole 15 and realized they were really far from the parking lot, so they made a U-turn out of the woods and placed 3 baskets in a huge open field in order to try to get back to hole #1.)
Other Thoughts: This course is rather hard to rate- (it has so many pros but also so many cons.) This could be a really nice course if some routine maintenance and upkeep was done. It could be rated higher based on potential, but reality keeps this as a solid, but average, course.

We were playing in Evansville/Owensboro for a couple of days and originally had not planned to play Ohio County, but after reading the reviews of other trusted reviewers we gave it a shot, and I am glad we came, as the the overall design and flow is pretty solid. *Also, the course was in better shape than the pics on this site make it look.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    4/3/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ohio County Park is a well-designed little course that doesn't get a lot of recognition. The tee pads were all in good condition, as were the baskets. The fairways seemed reasonable on most holes.

Variety is the strongest asset of the course. There are some very tightly wooded holes. There are also some open holes requiring decent distance on the back 9.

In short, I was really impressed with the design of the course. There was even one hole that had a creek snaking through the fairway that reminded me of a hole at Idlewild.
Cons: Ohio County Park just needs some TLC. That may sound cliche', but it is the truth. If this course were cleaned up, I wouldn't feel bad about giving it a 4. While it is now playable, it still is showing the scars from the ice storm that previous reviewers have mentioned.

The only restroom we saw was a portbale near the parking lot...and it was locked and said "occupied"...but we were the only ones there. The park itself is not exactly "happenin".

We played after a rain, and you could tell that there were a couple of spots that were going to retain water for the next few weeks.

No benches or other amenities.
Other Thoughts: This was a very difficult course to rate. I settled on a 3 for this reason. The design is worthy of a 4. The condition of the course is worthy of a 2. So I will go with a 3 as those are the two main factors that I base my reviews on. Personally, I really enjoyed the course and wouldn't mind playing it again. In its present state, it is not worth driving out of the way to play. If someone takes the initiative, cleans up the course, and adds some basic amenities then the course would be worthy of a detour.

My advice to anyone who reads this review is to wait and see what future reviewers say. This could become a really good course.

The front is mostly wooded, requiring a number of different shot-shapes. The back is more open and requires the ability to rip a few distance drives. There are too many courses around that offer one of these types or the other, exclusively. Ohio County Park cannot be described as wooded and it cannot be described as being open. This is a good course, and well worth a stop if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course with a Variety of Shots.

5+    10/30/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes with some being long, short, open, wooded, etc. The course has left to rights and right to lefts. So you have to think a little and not just grip it and rip it.
Cons: Course could use some TLC (front nine). The fallen tree's have been removed mostly but there are still some that are not in play that could be cleaned up.
And a few trash cans could be used through out the course.
Update: The Parks Dept. is not keeping this course mowed more less helping in the removal of downed trees. Now I see why alot of the locals don't play much in the warmer months. This is really a shame because the course could really be nice with some TLC.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course so I play it alot. I'm also new to the sport but after playing Yellow Creek in Owensboro, Ohio County Park's course seems to be a little trickier. But don't worry there isn't any "banjo music" lol playing in the woods. As an above poster joked about. But keep in mind this is a rural park and not a country club. And yes do watch out for snakes. Have seen some green snakes and black snakes but nothing poisonous.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.