Hartford, KY 
Ohio County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: caney44 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Only so-so

1    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: UKfan
Played: 46  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: This course has a nice mix of open and wooded/technical holes. It is nice for a course to have some holes that allow you to reach back and try to throw. My favorite hole on the course is a 600' hole in the open guarded by some relatively short trees near the hole.
Cons: The maintenance of this course was not good. The tree holes on the day I played it had apparently not been mowed in several weeks and the grass was thick and very high. The open holes also had not been mowed in at least a couple weeks. Most of the tree holes were blind shots to Discatcher baskets which were difficult to see anyway while hidden in the woods. The signs were not particularly helpful other than showing whether the basket was right or left. I did not see any snakes but because of the maintenance situation it concerned me. A couple of the "open" holes required long anyhyzer shots with narrow landing areas that were very close to the out of bounds. On one such hole I threw a good shot and was almost at the blind out of bounds on the right side. Better maintenance might result in a slightly higher rating for this course.
Other Thoughts: To be fair, I only played this course one time. I usually do not review a course after only one time, but I will not be returning to this course. If you have any other options I recommend that you take them or that you drive to Bowling Green or other courses in the area.

 Oh ... Ohio County

1    6/17/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 91  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a multiuse rural county park, this course provides a solid challenge for players of varying experience; excellent for beginners and intermediates while advanced players will enjoy plentiful birdie ops. Mostly wooded, the course is easily followed, having accurate signage, large tees and clearly defined fairways. There's a good bit of variety as the holes range from technical straight to left/ right doglegs to moderately open to wide open downhill. The course is mostly flat but a few holes offer elevation, whether in pin placement or off the tee, lending to risk/reward. The winding creek on the front nine and the elevated tees on the back help with the aesthetics.
Cons: Maintenance or the lack thereof, is the most glaring con. A lack of amenities further detracts from it (no benches, trash cans, nearby water source). While not tall the grassy fairways appear unkempt, mowed infrequently. Several tee pads are not level and will likely get worse (cracked or broken) due to erosion if not addressed. There's an abundance of clearing still needed on the front nine and several sign posts on the back laying on the ground. One could perhaps look passed this if it weren't for the run-down impression you get when pulling into the lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course; with some attention and care it could be above average. I enjoyed the challenge it provided but was left with a feeling of having just played a course that few locals play, or even care about. I doubt I'd make the trip to play this course specifically but if in the area again, I'd not hesitate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop if you're passing by and have the time

1    8/18/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: This course has excellent teepads and good signs that indicate which direction to head after completing the hole. Course is secluded and can get very quiet out once you pass the camping and playground on hole three. The front nine provides a technical test of mostly reachable hyzer and anhyzers. These wooded holes are fair but there's still a certain amount of luck required to have a chance at birdie. The back nine gives a variation with a couple wooded holes then mostly long open holes where you can let them rip. The first couple on the back nine have an element of danger in some OB but I didn't find it to come into play.
Cons: Maybe it was just an off week or something but the grass on the wooded fairways was very long and there were downed limbs all over the place. Also I noticed that several of the teepads on slopes were slanted themselves so you weren't throwing off of level ground. This course institutes the "Pack it in, pack it out" mentality as there were almost no trash cans on the course. Also numerous holes had benches but others didn't. I noticed this on the open holes where there wasn't any place to rest after wrangling with a 600 foot holes. The last few holes on the course provided little to no variation only that you throw as far as you can in a wide open field before you lay up and putt.
Other Thoughts: Course is worth the time if you're passing between Bowling Green and Owensboro and you feel like throwing. Only about 30 minutes from Yellow Creek in Owensboro if you feel like combining these courses. Only about 45 minutes from Bowling Green too.

 Nice secluded course

1    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet little secluded course in the middle of nowhere between Owensboro and Bowling Green. Nice layout overall, minus the ending. Requires a lot of different shots, some technical, some "rip and grip." I almost aced #4, and dammit, I'm still searching for that elusive ace. This course is wild, it will treat you with an awesome hole, then beat the crap out of you on the next one.
Cons: The ending of the course. I love rip it and grip it holes just like anyone else, but they tacked too many on at the end, and it was almost if at hole 15 I had warped into a new course altogether. We also played yesterday in the dead summer heat, so after getting hit hard by the summer sun in the woods, coming out to the open field to end it was brutal. So maybe I'm being a tad biased here.
Other Thoughts: I did like the course, and I will be back. Trying to travel around the Evansville area to find good courses, and this is one that was enjoyable enough to get me to say that I will be back again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/3/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This underappreciated course has 18 solid disc golf holes. The course has concrete tees, excellent tee signs, nice baskets, and an effective course map on the kiosk by hole #1. The overall layout and hole design of the course is pretty good. The flow is excellent, short walks to the easy-to-find next tee. The course loops back to the parking area after holes #9 and #18.

Most of the holes are of the shorter and technical style through clear cut fairways in the woods. There are a few longer, more wide open holes with isolated trees, elevation, an OB walking trail, and tricky basket placements to add to the challenge. There are several small creeks that run through the course either as a fairway boundary or a hazard across the fairway. We played just after a solid rain the day before and there was a good amount of flowing water in the creeks. (I especially liked this one hole where the creek crossed multiple times across the fairway.) Overall, there is a good mix of holes and variety of shots required to score well.

The course is easy to find and just right off the Natcher Parkway. If you like to play uncrowded courses, then this is your place. We played on a warm, sunny Saturday morning of a holiday weekend, and we were the only ones on the course.
Cons: The course looks very uninviting as you pull in the gravel parking lot. You see the run-down remains of an old mini-golf course and ball golf driving range. (hole 18 actually plays on part of the old range!) One could view the single port-a-potty as a Pro, but it just added to the dumpy appearance, plus it was locked when we started and locked when we finished but nobody was around (who knows what was on the inside!)

Course maintenance is obviously lacking or non-existent. The wooded holes were fine, but could really use some upkeep as far as clearing limbs and downed trees. The open holes had nice grassy fairways, but the grass was pretty high and thick and it made finding your discs really hard even in the fairway, it would even be possible to lose a disc if you are not watching carefully as to exactly where it landed.

We played after a good rain, and water in the creeks are a plus, but many of the holes were pretty soggy and muddy with standing water in the fairways and around the baskets. It wasn't unplayable, but this course sits in a low drainage area, so it might get pretty bad after a lot of rain.

I wasn't a huge fan of the way the course ended. I always appreciate good finishing holes, but felt the last three holes were the weakest of the 18. These are very wide open, little to no obstacles, and are much longer than and uncharacteristic of the rest of the course. I am not opposed to longer open holes, but I feel courses are better when these are mixed in with the other hole styles instead of just slapping them on at the end. (It actually seems like the designer got to hole 15 and realized they were really far from the parking lot, so they made a U-turn out of the woods and placed 3 baskets in a huge open field in order to try to get back to hole #1.)
Other Thoughts: This course is rather hard to rate- (it has so many pros but also so many cons.) This could be a really nice course if some routine maintenance and upkeep was done. It could be rated higher based on potential, but reality keeps this as a solid, but average, course.

We were playing in Evansville/Owensboro for a couple of days and originally had not planned to play Ohio County, but after reading the reviews of other trusted reviewers we gave it a shot, and I am glad we came, as the the overall design and flow is pretty solid. *Also, the course was in better shape than the pics on this site make it look.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    4/3/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ohio County Park is a well-designed little course that doesn't get a lot of recognition. The tee pads were all in good condition, as were the baskets. The fairways seemed reasonable on most holes.

Variety is the strongest asset of the course. There are some very tightly wooded holes. There are also some open holes requiring decent distance on the back 9.

In short, I was really impressed with the design of the course. There was even one hole that had a creek snaking through the fairway that reminded me of a hole at Idlewild.
Cons: Ohio County Park just needs some TLC. That may sound cliche', but it is the truth. If this course were cleaned up, I wouldn't feel bad about giving it a 4. While it is now playable, it still is showing the scars from the ice storm that previous reviewers have mentioned.

The only restroom we saw was a portbale near the parking lot...and it was locked and said "occupied"...but we were the only ones there. The park itself is not exactly "happenin".

We played after a rain, and you could tell that there were a couple of spots that were going to retain water for the next few weeks.

No benches or other amenities.
Other Thoughts: This was a very difficult course to rate. I settled on a 3 for this reason. The design is worthy of a 4. The condition of the course is worthy of a 2. So I will go with a 3 as those are the two main factors that I base my reviews on. Personally, I really enjoyed the course and wouldn't mind playing it again. In its present state, it is not worth driving out of the way to play. If someone takes the initiative, cleans up the course, and adds some basic amenities then the course would be worthy of a detour.

My advice to anyone who reads this review is to wait and see what future reviewers say. This could become a really good course.

The front is mostly wooded, requiring a number of different shot-shapes. The back is more open and requires the ability to rip a few distance drives. There are too many courses around that offer one of these types or the other, exclusively. Ohio County Park cannot be described as wooded and it cannot be described as being open. This is a good course, and well worth a stop if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

50/50

5+    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: caney44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a real scenic course, and it is close to home. And for a newb like myself it is challange.
Cons: The front nine was in bad condition. But someone has cleaned it up and they are in excellent shape now. A lot of the high grass has been cut down an it is still a nice tech course. Only thing that I see wrong with it now is someone has busted some of the tees an some of the signs has been knocked over with the mowers. But other then that I love the course again!!
Other Thoughts: Its a real nice course for the local's, but I don't think it would be worth a trip for anyone else that lives over 35 miles out to bother even coming to it

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Ohio County DG Course is a scenic little course with a great layout and good variation among the holes. Each hole has a nice sized concrete tee pad and accurate tee sign. The course uses Chainstar baskets that are all in excellent shape. The course is laid out very well and easy to navigate. A sign with a course map is located near the first tee. Tee signs point you to the next hole as necessary, but for the most part, the next tee pad is visible from the previous basket. There are two 9-hole loops that both return to the parking area. The course flows great as you traverse the well-defined fairways.

Ohio County DGC has a nice variety of open and technical holes. The front nine is relatively flat with a mostly technical layout, offering some very challenging tee shots that can challenge players of all skill levels. The back nine is a bit more open with some moderate elevation changes that are utilized very well in the course design, with several opportunities to really launch a big drive. There is nice variety in distance with holes ranging between 230ft-600ft. Overall, the course has a great visual appeal and the layout is both fun and challenging.
Cons: I've played this course twice now, and each time, the maintenance seemed to be somewhat lacking. The fairways are well-defined, but there is quite a bit of tall grass in the fairways, and plenty of brush and briars off of the fairways. All of the tee pads are in great condition, but several of them are unlevel, making for a slightly awkward tee shot. Location is a bit obscure and not much around the local area. The other courses are 30min plus from its location. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, the course is real bad about retaining water, so keep this in mind and check the weather conditions if planning to play the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a great little course. If you are in or near area, it will be worth the time to check it out. The course is located at the fairgrounds in Ohio County and offers camping, mini-golf and various other activities. As a note, the ice storm that came through in early 2009 caused a lot of damage to the trees on the course. All holes are playable except for Hole2. The fairway at Hole2 is completely covered by trees with no path to get through. Everything else is in decent shape, but still many trees uprooted and limbs down. Most of the damage will not directly affect play on the course, but it is slightly more difficult to walk through the woods in some areas.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I liked

2-4    11/28/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, awesome layout in my opinion, front 9 is in the woods.. wide fairways make it fair, a lot of legit par 4 type of holes that require positioning on the first shot and then a nice upshot to save par. Back 9 is more open but still a few woods shots, I like the distance throughout the course as well, I think it flows well.
Cons: Some trees down but that will happen when a strong wind storm blows through, if anyone complains then maybe they should get out there and move the downed trees. It takes a lot of work, and I could see how it would be wet in the spring/summer months, thats generally why these are considered the wetter months. Disc golf courses generally aren't placed on pristine lands and golf courses, if they are I am sure you are paying green fees.
Other Thoughts: Managed to catch a local doubles league with the locals, a good time.. too bad I didn't throw that good during that round, 3 rounds there will put you down.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem of a course

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little course in the middle of nowhere. They have nice signs, concrete pads and nice baskets. The front nine is in the woods and has some short holes and long holes. The woods are pretty thick but the fairways are large enough and very fair. The back nine opens up with some long holes that give you a chance to really rip some drives. There is still trees and OB to make you pay for arrent drives on the back nine. This course really flows well and offers a lot of different looks and shots. Several holes give you different options of getting to the hole. The course is not terribly hard but offers a few really tough holes that will challenge anyone.
Cons: Needs some work on the poison ivy on the front and benches and garbage cans. Several of the teepads are also sloped on a side hill which makes teeing off a little awkward.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that will offer some holes that everyone will enjoy. If you like woods, it's got plenty, if you like open, it's got some of that too. Short, long, open, woods, left, right, this course really has some of everything. If you are in the area I highly recommend it. Very fun to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.