Hartford, KY 
Ohio County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: caney44 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good course

2-4    11/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: gusc2375
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location Every hole has something different to offer.Hole 1 had lost a tree now has a great ace lane.Hole 4 offers a good Birdie chance. 7 is a nice tight anny around a tree. 12 is a difficult par unless you can overhand across to the fair way.16 is the longest 600 ft. but down hill, an honest par 4 here. Front nine has several tight shots While back is more open.
Cons: Needs benches and trash cans. The Rough on the back 9 is getting thick could be a problem for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is really better than you first think, the more I play it the more I like it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course with a Variety of Shots.

5+    10/30/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes with some being long, short, open, wooded, etc. The course has left to rights and right to lefts. So you have to think a little and not just grip it and rip it.
Cons: Course could use some TLC (front nine). The fallen tree's have been removed mostly but there are still some that are not in play that could be cleaned up.
And a few trash cans could be used through out the course.
Update: The Parks Dept. is not keeping this course mowed more less helping in the removal of downed trees. Now I see why alot of the locals don't play much in the warmer months. This is really a shame because the course could really be nice with some TLC.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course so I play it alot. I'm also new to the sport but after playing Yellow Creek in Owensboro, Ohio County Park's course seems to be a little trickier. But don't worry there isn't any "banjo music" lol playing in the woods. As an above poster joked about. But keep in mind this is a rural park and not a country club. And yes do watch out for snakes. Have seen some green snakes and black snakes but nothing poisonous.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Definately worth the side trip.

1    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, technical holes in the woods. As mentioned previously, you had better bring your best stuff or you will get "B" slapped by some of these sinister holes. Even the open holes have some interesting features to them. The 600' hole is a long downhill shot where the basket is guarded by small trees. Neat layout where you survive the front nine (holes 11 & 12 are no day at the park either) and have some fun on the back nine. Overall a really good mix of holes to keep a disc slinger reaching for different discs.
Cons: Some holes may be too much for newer players. There are some 325-375 foot holes in the woods where the dogleg angle is severely acute; so much that you must have otherwordly powers to have any kinda shot at a deuce. Getting a 3 is nothing to be ashamed of. As mentioned earlier, this place is in a flood basin...you will be better served to play in the drier months. The aesthetics are rather rough and bland. There is a rustic campground bordering the first 3 holes...I could have swore I heard banjo music...
Other Thoughts: I played this course shortly after the remnants of Hurricane Ike tore the place up. There were large trees blocking several of the T's and clogging up a few of the fairways. I really agonized over being the 4th person to give this course the exact same 3.5 star rating. I tried to factor out the fallen debris while rating this course as well. The truth is, this course is well worth the 3 minutes it takes to get there from off the parkway if you are playing the BG to Owensboro "Natcher Circuit". However, it simply isn't polished enough to hit the 4 star level where I would consider it a course worth the trip on its own.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: eaglefan05
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Takes a lot of shots on a lot of holes.
Open, wooded, long and short holes. Some but very little elevation changes. Locals are great people to play golf with.
Cons: Teepads are uneven and stick up about 3 to 4 inches off the ground. Not well maintained on some holes during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the snakes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Design/Challenging!

2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 130  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course that is very challenging and you better bring you're "A" game. It has a great mixture of short and long (350+) holes in the woods. Once you get to the back 9 things open up a lot. This is when you better get out your guns and be ready to rip some. Overall a really fine course and well designed.
Cons: I just played this course yesterday (02/24/2008) and it absolutely took forever to play because the entire course was a swamp. I've never seen that much mud and water. It'll have you on the front 9 in the wooded area walking on whatever you can to avoid the mud and water. Maybe there was bad flooding there recently but this will have to lower my rating on this one. If it was perfectly dry and no water or mud this would be rated more like a 4.5 stars.
Other Thoughts: Be warned about the mud and water throughout the entire course. Probably consider going in the summer during a possible drought to hopefully avoid the elements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

5+    10/20/2007   10/26/2007
Review By: wooslekg
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. No two holes alike. Accuracy and finesse needed on the first nine. Several holes to let it rip on the back nine. Well marked and easy to navigate. Never gets old, always challenging.
Cons: Briar's and weeds if you get off course. A few holes get muddy after a hard rain.
Benches would be a good addition.
Other Thoughts: Sunday doubles always a good time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.