Ada, OH 
Ohio Northern University Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 288ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Can B Wind D

2-4    7/11/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 281  Reviewed: 265  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Ohio Northern has the potential to be a big arm player's dream, with two large, level concrete tees per hole and a good set of DGA baskets. The frequent windy days and the openness of the majority of the course can give you a bit of a thrill, especially if you play with strict tournament OB rules. For instance, the second basket is between two sidewalks and a couple of trees, just in front of the shelter on the west side of the circle drive and the 'Green Monster' walking path. From 477 feet (long) or even from 264 feet (short), your upshot or drive becomes a little bit of a 'Tin Cup' challenge, but without the water to lose a disc.

That's not to say there's no chance of doing that, either. The retention pond on 3, the pond between 5 & 6, and especially the pond on hole 12 give you the chance of plunking one in the wet. Hole 12, especially, is intriguing, playing from 737' (long), and deciding where you need to get to in order to 'go for it': one or two shots before the water carry? Even the short tee there has some trees to define the tee shot, and gives you a gut check to try for over, or bail out.

There are a couple of tight and technical, short woods holes for variety, but mostly, you're playing large & level on this course, especially from the longs. From the shorts, in competition, you'll need to shoot under tourney par to finish well. In all, the course will pose a challenge for Intermediate players, might frustrate newer players, and might not have enough technicality for Open players.
Cons: The lack of elevation means limited variety for a lot of the holes, while standing water after heavy rains can make holes 3 & 4 a real mess. When we played there, even hole 1 had 400' of deep trench water in either direction right beside the green, such that crossing over meant wet feet or a long walk. We played on a relatively calm day, but the local folks there did report serious wind is the norm.

Casual players will likely ignore the OB challenges of the walkways which make the course interesting in tournament play. This course is a long walk to play (about two miles, regardless of which tees you walk to), as it ranges around all the sports fields and onto the central hub of campus, and the flow is a little awkward between 15 and 16, then between 18 and 1. In tournaments, they often add a transition hole between 10 & 11 and another between 11 and 12. New players may want to bring a map because, after holing out on 7, you walk past the 9th basket and the 10 tees to get to short 8.

I'm not sure if they were limited by a 'woods preservation' rule, but the course would have a lot more variety if they'd been able to utilize the woods adjacent to the ponds.
Other Thoughts: The Freedom Flight event was my first experience here, and I played from the short tees. The longs made my arm sore thinking about them! ;)

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 274 courses and written 258 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My "home" course

5+    5/7/2016   5/16/2016
Review By: DoctorC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of water and trees. Two sets of tees on every hole adds some length and variety. Mostly open-ish shots with only two in the woods. I get to play this as often as I want as 18's basket is less than 100 feet from my desk. It's often windy, which makes the course play a little harder than it is. When calm the short tees provide a lot of birdie chances for advanced/open players with a round of 47 or lower easily possible. The "extra" hole in between 11 and 12 passes behind the university president's house and is unmarked. The long tees are a nice bonus.
Cons: Very little elevation change and lack of shot lines which require a variety of throws.

Can be very wet and very windy.
Other Thoughts: Nice university course. Only 15 minutes from I-75 and a nice course in Lima. Well worth your time to play both.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ohio Northern Water Park

1    3/22/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 150  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tees
2) beautiful property
3) water hazards
4) very clean and well kept
5) highlight holes: 2-6
Cons: 1) very little elevation
2) A few holes seemed like filler, or repetitive (holes 1, 8, 13)
3) navigation

Other Thoughts: Scenery: 3.5/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 3.5/5
Tees: 3.75/5
Signage: 3.5/5
Navigation: 2/5
_______________
Total: 3.25/5

This course is set on beautiful property at Ohio Northern University's campus. It is an open style course, with mature trees scattered throughout (except holes 14 and 15 which are wooded). I played from the shorts so my review will be isolated to speaking on the shorts only.

When I stepped up to hole 1, I thought this would be a lame course. I was wrong. Immediately after hole 1, the fun begins. Holes 2-6 have water hazards and make for some exciting and fun play. There are many more holes that have water involved as well. I kept expecting the water hazards to end, but they kept popping up. A unique feature. I haven't played a course with this many water holes since playing the temporary course at the Ohio Amateur Championships.

The property is very well kept and there is little to no trash anywhere on the course. A welcome sight, considering a lot of courses have littering issues.

Although the course has many attributes that make it attractive, I did find that some of the holes were repetitive....holes 1, 8, and 13 are all straight ahead open holes with no obstacles. Also, 16 and 17 play around a pond and are very similar. That said, there are plenty of holes here to keep you interested and challenged.

I did find that navigation was difficult at times. For example, I could not find hole 9's small tee, even after downloading the map on my phone. Also, I had a difficult time with verifying 11s small tee v 11s long tee. The map doesn't even show a long tee, but the sign says there is one. Also, on the way from 11 to 12, I saw another basket, but there's no hole marked on the map. I concluded that it must be a connector hole as the walk is fairly long from 11 to 12's tee. Last, there is a painfully long walk from 15 to 16. There are no next tee signs or arrows to lead you to the next hole. Definitely bring a map.

The course is mostly flat. There are few mounds here and there, but nothing outrageous. Luckily, the water challenges make up for the lack of elevation.

I found this course to be very enjoyable to play. The long tees look sick. I can't imagine playing the length of those holes with the constant wind and the water on top of it. I will definitely be back to try it though. I'm giving it a 3.5/5 because there's no quarter point ratings.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 College Course

1    10/30/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and very good baskets.
Nice campus setting with plenty of parking.
Nice varying hole lengths.
Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Some tee pads are too short.
Difficult to find certain tees.
After heavy rain some tees under water, ground very wet and holds water.
Course flow not good, A lot of people traffic.
Very flat (no elevation change) and can be very windy!
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice and scenic college campus course. Can be very busy with traffic from other athletic fields and campus walk ways. The wind can be a challenge. A lot of walking between holes, a little difficult to find the tees the first time there. Overall a nice college course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wedding toss

1    6/21/2009   12/21/2010
Review By: cfair
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained since it is on a college campus.
-Nice area
-Variety of difficulty (long open, long wooded, short open, short woods)
-Water hazards that are avoidable or you can take them to save strokes
- Multiple Tees
Cons: -A lot of straight out there shots, no a lot of annies, or unique hyzers (spike, skip, ect)
-Being on a college campus it can be crowded with some holes having you driving across multiple crosswalks at weird spots.
-Somewhat confusing tee signs (only a couple)
Other Thoughts: I can be super windy in this part of Ohio so you better know how to play it or expect extra strokes even from the short tees. The am and pro tees are noticeably different with the pros sometimes being odd to locate or throw from. The town is cute and the holes are nice but I didn't see sign of a strong DG community...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-very scenic college campus
-lots of nice long open holes for big bombs
-nice baskets and tee pads
-has little elevation changes (common to the area), but makes great use of what they have
Cons: -can be very hard to navigate first time threw
-heavy pedestrian foot traffic during school year
-mostly open so wind can be a big factor
-has some drainage issues with some holes collecting lots of standing water
Other Thoughts: this is a very fun course, but bring your A game...it can be tricky. will be playing this course for years to come

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good on calm and dry days

5+    7/28/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TheBulch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety of shots required
- Never busy
- Very challenging Pro tees
- Physical Plant guys will make fun of you if your disc goes OB
Cons: - Windy, like up to 40 mph windy
- Ada becomes a swamp and adds a fourth lake in the spring. The lake is on top of hole 3.
- The combo of wind and lakes can lead to a lot of lost discs
- Non disc golfers can be seen on the paths. Keep a close eye out for them.
- Long walk from hole 11 to 12. Turn left after the 11th basket, then keep going straight towards the lake. The 12th tee is in a clump of trees to your left.
Other Thoughts: Only 10 minutes from I-75, a good place to stop on a trip through the state

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Windy Course

1    9/30/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: simskc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find at ONU. Holes flow pretty easy and did not get lost. Nice variety of short and long holes. Most on the long side for what I am used to playing but not terrible. Has several ponds that come into play which makes for some exciting shots.
Cons: Very windy in Ada most of the time since it is so flat which makes playing difficult. Can lose discs in ponds if you are not accurate
Other Thoughts: Would reccommend this course to others. Nice view of the campus especially the large football stadium.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bucolic Bliss

5+    7/1/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A variety of distances, including a pro tee that is 700+. A variety of obstacles. Many Doglegs. Get to see most of the campus. Variety of fairways, including tunnels.
Cons: Land is flat for 30 miles in every direction, so when the wind blows - it really blows. Distance between holes and subsequent tees is usually quite far. so expect a lot of walking from hole to tee.
Other Thoughts: Go Polar Bears!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.