Athens, OH 
Ohio University DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoseCafe704 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf in Athens

1    9/20/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Located in the beautiful OU campus, the course provides a quick round for beginners. OU DGC is a good place for beginners to learn. The course is was in good shape, and there was no mud or standing water anywhere. It is set on a beautiful piece of land. I only came across one group when I played, so the course is fairly empty.
Cons: It is just way to easy. That simple. Not much of a challenge here for advanced players. Even though I came across only one disc golfing group, there were a few groups of people wandering around the fairways. The layout is pretty simple to follow, but you can easily get lost because there are no signs directing you to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: OU is a small, beginners course on an excellent campus. I reccomend you skip this one if you are an advanced player.

 Come on OU!!!

1    5/9/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 3dunlap3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: -great course for someone who has never played
-if you don't like long walks then its nice that its short
-plenty of good looking college girls coming out of the rec center right by the course
Cons: -only 9 holes
-holes have no hole maps
-the holes par is wrote on the tee pad
-baskets are so close together hard to figure out what basket your going for if you've never played there
-whole course could fit into a football field very tiny
-holes cross so watch for others playing
Other Thoughts: -was very disappointed that their course wasn't good at all (guess that's what happens when your other sports are more popular)
-the only reason it even got a 1 was because its a great course to introduce someone to disc golf on it
-you might as well drive the extra 15 min to go to Hocking College and play their course that is ten times better
-wont be going back unless to introduce a first time disc golfer

 OU Course

5+    4/10/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to Ohio University, and for awhile back in '01, this was the only course around, so it gets a 1.5 based solely on a sentimental basis. There is good use put to the old river bed that is now a runoff creek for the nearby pond/park. The holes criss-cross through this area for good use in elevation changes. Holes 1 and 4 have always been my favorites and are a couple of the only holes that haven't changed over the years (see cons below for explanation).
Cons: Course has always been an afterthought to the nearby golf course (as can be expected, as ball golf is more popular on campus than disc golf). This being said, the old course had a bit more thought put into it, but when the ball golf course was extended a few years back, something had to give, and it was the disc golf course. There used to be an awesome hole with a long fairway lined with mature pines on the right (behind Ping Center, past current hole 4, headed towards the golf course). This hole was lost in the golf course extension. Many of the holes criss-cross one another, and if you find yourself approaching cages 4,5, or 7 down in the valley, and you're not the only one playing that day, keep your head up as there's bound to be discs flying somewhere over head. Also, the runoff creek can become inundated in the spring time, making most of the course nearly impossible to play.
Other Thoughts: Miss the old course, but with the popularity of disc golf on the constant rise, I can't imagine OU won't respond with a new course...If my opinion meant anything, I'd suggest a massive course (24+ holes) to be implemented up at the Ridges (old mental hospital owned by the university). There's a ton of land up there that can be used and the traffic isn't terribly high. It's perfect and with the right amount of planning and work, I bet a course of the highest caliber in the state could be put in there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  I expect more from hippies!

5+    10/28/2009   2/2/2010
Review By: markit0dude
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, compact course - can be played in like a half hour. Its mowed/maintained by the university. VERY beginner friendly-simple course to play- can see basket from all cept #8.
College campus...some hot chicks are around sometimes..haha

Cons: Such a small course that other golfers are often in the way. Horrible when it is crowded. You must pay a meter to park if you are playing before 3pm-otherwise can park in lot - you may be able to get a golfers pass at the golf center though (which knows nothing about dg). Not really any woods to walk through, cept some bushes/trees to play around. NO SIGNS to direct you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the 1st courses that I ever played, quite often when i was in school. Sort of fun to warm up, but I would never make a special trip just to play this course- however I may include it in as a QUICK activity if I were in the area. As my 1st course, I have only played better and better course since!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OU

2-4    7/9/2007   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful views of nature and coeds.
The baskets are sweet
You could teach kids or first timers easily here.
There are not many pros to this course besides the nice baskets and well maintained terrain.
Cons: Bad tees
Very short and no difficulty
Even the supposed hazrds could have been used in a better way to make the course difficult.
Other Thoughts: For a University that has a very well known party environment and hippy culutre it has an awful DGC.

**If you search online you can make a nice weekend by traveling to some of the local courses nearby that are atleast 3 discs.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Probably the worst course that I ever played. I went to school at OU and tried getting a course in for a few years. Then I heard some guy had made headway and was getting a course installed. He did not want any help in the design. Which is why it ended up so bad!! Bad hole designs, bad tee/pin locations. It could have been good.
Cons: Just about everything
Other Thoughts: Does have nice solar powered baskets. You can play 9 hole in about 15 minutes. If it is still the same layout as in 2000, I have the course record of -9.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 OU next to Ping Center

6/21/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: puppyohio
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not much walking, or hill climbing. Nice open areas. Fun to play. Am a beginner to inter player.
Cons: only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy course for walking. Thought out good, fun to play. Pick up score card at the tennis/golf building.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.