Coeymans, NY
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #20 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Joralemon park dgc

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played the twenty seven hole layout and really enjoyed my round at this course. The course itself is relatively short and most of the challenge here is because of tight fairways and the need for accurate drives on many of the holes.

Elevation- elevation was used very well on this course. Almost every hole had some elevation change whether it be slight or dramatic. The elevation was mixed well throughout this course. Longer holes had little elevation change with the exception of a few and the shorter holes were tight with larger elevation changes. This made the course very well balanced so that no ingle hole was an "easy birdie" for the average player.

Variety- most holes had tight gaps that forced straight shots, hyzers or anhyzers. Each hole was unique and had a line different from that of any other hole. Most if not all of the discs in my bag were used during the one round i played here. Distance variety came into play here with the shortest hole being ~200 and the longest hole ~500.

Rock outcroppings- these made for some spectacular basket placement as well as added to the natural beauty of the course. The holes were strategically placed to the point where outcroppings came into play on most of the holes on the blue loop accross the street.

Amenities- large pavillion which could play host to a large tournament. Pavillion appeared to be quite large. Concrete pavers, provided great footing on the teepads and are much better than the natural teepads that are mostly found in this area. Tee signs were accurate and displayed distance and hole location nicely as well as showed the direction of the next tee and the preffered routes to the basket. Navigation was relatively easy to follow and small arrows were nailed to trees where navigation could be a problem.

18 hole loop as well as twenty seven hole loop provides a shorter roundif neccessary, im sure it would be possible to find a combination of nine holes to better suite time constraints this could be done by playin 1-4 and then 23-27

Good mix of open and wooded holes- the open holes compliment the wooded holes nicley most of the open holes are long long and open while most of the wooded holes are short and tight with a few exceptions.
Cons: Course became very tight on holes 10-21 these fairways seemed unfair to your average player

A seasoned pro would find this course quite easy and be able to shoot a score well under par.

1 teepad per hole- although this is not a big problem for out of towners the locals might like a little more variety

Repetitive- some of the woods holes lacked variety, 300ft of tight tunnel to an green strewn with boulders.
Other Thoughts: This was a great stop on the way to vt and would love to be back here on future trips. The ourse is enjoyable and i would definately recommend it for all driving towards vermont or albany because it is not too far off the highway

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top notch.

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SZRoll
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park
Not crowded
Clear new signs
Concrete tees
Baskets in great condition
Free
Practice Basket
Enough baskets to have 3 dif. loops
Cons: Not close enough to my house!
Other Thoughts: The lay out is awesome and most of the holes are challenging especially the holes on the NE side of Starr Rd. This really is a world class course, I recommend it to anyone who likes disc golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jore-ah-la-mun... Jor-a-le-mon

1    10/12/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Awesome Pin Positions. I lost count of the number of cool pin positions at Joralemon. There were numerous pins anchored into rock outcroppings which made for some extremely picturesque golf holes and putts.
- Great Golf. Joralemon had some great golf. I loved the course for what it was… an extremely good city park course. The course had a little bit of everything from huge open bombers to extremely tight precise holes that required every kind of shot off the tee-pad - hyzers, annys, straight, sidearm, s-turns, overhands, rollers, etc.
- Open, Wooded, Open, Wooded. I loved how Joralemon started in the open for a few holes, then went into the woods for a few holes, and then back into the open, and then back into the woods over and over again throughout the course.
- Perfect Setting. Joralemon was in a very pretty park with beautiful woods, huge rock outcroppings, a swampy area and a large section of manicured grass.
- Good Club Scene. A few weeks after I played the course, Hurricane Sandy felled a tree, crushing a basket (I believe Hole 6). I saw a thread in the forums discussing the damage, and that the club had the basket replaced within about a week… Way to go Joralemon crew.
Cons:
- Middle 9 is Awkwardly Unfair. Holes 10-20 are somewhat awkward in their fairway shape, or having random trees in the middle of fairway, or in simply being too tight. I'm not sure if they were allowed to cut down any trees on that side of the street or what, because a few of the holes needed a little more chainsaw work. It was still fun golf, with fabulous pin positions and what not… but I was left scratching my head on a lot of the tee-pads.
- Hard to Say. Jor-a-le-mon… Jore-a-le-mun… Jore-ah-la-mun… say it with me: Joralemon. (I'm just kidding, it's not really a con).
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I had a blast a Joralemon. It was a beautiful park with a great 27 hole course that offered a challenging mix of holes ranging from extremely wide and long to extremely tight and short. The rock outcroppings used throughout the course added to the beauty, and made for some much more interesting putting situations. I really enjoyed my round at Joralemon; and I'm sure that if you stopped here on a roadtrip, you would too!
My Score: even Par (86)

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

It rocked me!

1    9/17/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 hole course set in an out of the way park. Each hole has a very nice, grippy, paving stone tee pad and excellent basket. Signs at each hole show line, obstacles and distance.

Navigation is aided throughout with arrows and carved wooden objects on many of the trees. Different colors are used, and catch the eye well. I had no problems finding my way around even without a map.

Excellent variety. There are not only many different types of shots needed here, there is several different landscapes and hole designs. The first 9 holes play in a typical park setting. You throw through open fields and mature trees, usually ending at a basket position tucked into the woods, or lodged on a rocky outcropping. Nothing too fancy, just good disc golf shots. When you cross the road to hole 10 you enter a totally different world. There you get tight wooded lines, some ups and downs, and tons of baskets perched on or between very cool rock formations and boulders. When you get to hole 22 you re-enter the nice park setting and leave the heavily wooded, rocky alternate universe. There is also an option of playing simply an 18 hole loop and skipping some of the heavily wooded holes. Blasphemy I say!!

Throughout the course there are open 500' plus holes and tight wooded ace runs around 200'. There are sweeping hyzer lines, and butt puckering tight tunnels. And always there are baskets placed near trees or rocks. Greens are all very fair, but there is constant risk reward shots on drives that can reach the basket, or approaches. This is simply a fun course to play. Not overly punishing, but enough challenge to test anyone.
Cons: A few holes have some pretty tight bordering on unfair ways. If heavily wooded fairways bother you consider playing the 18 hole loop to avoid some trees.

Basket visibility is difficult. Most are tucked in woods or near rocks, and they blend in pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Damn, I enjoyed this course a lot. During the first 9 holes I was wondering why people get so excited about it. And after playing the middle section I simply wanted more, more, more. The last few holes were a little bit of a let down for me. I really enjoy the woods, rocks and abuse the middle section dishes out. It is reminiscent of Devens, Hyzer Creek, Sugaree or Fox Chase if you've played any of them.

This course has a lot to offer. If you enjoy open air golf 1-9 and 22-27 will keep you happy. If you like tight lines, some small hills and lots of rock-laden basket positions then 10-21 will put a smile on your face. The only things this course really lacks are extreme elevation changes, and tough water carries. Everything else is here to enjoy.

Parts of the middle section play in some low-lying areas. Nice bridges and walk ways are in place, but during high water it looks like it could get buggy and swampy. Last year when I tried to play here it was flooded pretty bad, and I had to play elsewhere. Try to check conditions if you are heading here in Spring or during a really wet year. Right now it is about perfect.

Play here. It is definitely worth a stop. And it is definitely one of the top courses in New York.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Treasure

5+    6/30/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Jlatter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very Well maintained, not crowded, pavers on every hole but one, benches on every hole, Very Scenic in the woods.
Cons: Bugs
Other Thoughts: Love this course I can't wait to play it in fall and winter, I am sure it has a totally different feel.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: DiscFun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was our first time playing on official course so totally a beginner. We were on vacation in NY. Now I think we are spoiled; what a beautiful course! Very scenic with the rock formations, wooded areas and wide open spaces.

Loved that there were benches at everyhole to rest and relax! Nice touch.

Discs were going everywhere but had no problems finding them! Not crowded which was nice also.

Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second round couple days later!
Cons: Couple things; first navigating around was a bit tricky and had to ask next hole location from others playing that were familiar with the course. Especially the hole by the creek, paper sign was about washed away & finally figured out after 25min we needed to go accross the road. That was a bit frustrating. Vinyl signs are not that expensive.

Bring water because there aren't any fountains & it's quite a bit of walking.

Last thing which didn't see anyone else mention is lookout for the huge wasp mound near hole one! These large wasps (alot of them) in holes in the mound itself and are very active!!! Be careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall give this course two thumbs up!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All I can say is wow

1    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 27  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of this course is very nice you can pay it as an 18 hole course or a 27 hole course I must say i played all 27 and it was such a wonderful course. Signs on every hole and every hole has a name too which is a cool little touch that most courses dont do.
Cons: The course is very out of the way of everything altho well worth the trip. A few of the holes are a little hard to find for first time players but for the most very good flow. I had the opportunity to play with someone who has played that course before which make it a little easier.
Other Thoughts: There is a part in this course where you have to go across the street that I would not have known to go to with out some one with me. The back is well worth to play the back part I think it is the best part of the course. The back takes you through the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fulfilling its Destiny

1    7/1/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • 27 holes with a fine balance of open/wooded holes and right/left/straight shots necessitating diversity of throws
• signage at every natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pad
• challenging and thoughtful pin placements
• elevation incorporated ingeniously
• baskets in good condition
• Some creative directional arrows pointing to next tee location
• low disc loss possibility…even on holes with water hazards
• woods holes across the street logically progress in intricacy, length & variety and are some of the most enjoyable I've ever played
• design allows you to 'custom play' so you aren't locked in to playing all 27 holes if you don't want to (for example, there's a 12a hole that allows players to skip the remaining woods holes and continue across the street finishing up with 22-27 for a total of 18 holes)
• beautiful boulder/rock formations throughout the course
• Secluded, quiet, peaceful
• port-a-pots, pavilion w/picnic tables in park
Cons: • Natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pads - some of which can be inconsistent; my lead foot slipped on a couple drives even though I didn't use a run up. I self corrected by being more mindful/careful at certain tees.
• First timers should bring a map! The flow is a little odd at times as some tees/pins are close to each other or are on the way to/between walks to others (for example #2's pin and subsequent walk to #3 is right by 25's pin; walk from #3 pin to #4 tee goes right by 25's tee and 24's pin).
• A few of the holes feel like 'transitions' - however if the parks dept. lets you install 27 holes, you do the best with what you're given.
• No water available so plan well and bring plenty since its 27 holes
Other Thoughts: The front nine are mostly open and either start or finish under tree cover. They're a decent test of power (5 holes over 300ft with the remainder being no less than 255ft) but more importantly require approach accuracy with pins being either tree protected, elevated, near the creek or snuggled within gaps at the woods edge.

The wooded holes across the street (#10-21) are simply amazing - not only from an enjoyment & design perspective but aesthetically. It's as if the thousands of years of evolution it took to create this place has fulfilled its destiny as a disc golf course (I'm actually surprised the parks dept. let them use such a pristine area). These are some well conceived technical holes with plentiful elevation changes, mature tree-lined fairways, boulders/rocks as obstacles and some fantastic pin placements utilizing the surrounding terrain resourcefully.

The final holes (22-27) are a return to the general area where the front 9 are located and have similar characteristics. Not surprisingly, these holes don't quite have the 'wow' factor as the woods holes and pretty much end the round gently as if the wind was let out of the sail.

This is a pleasant place to play offering sufficient challenge for experienced players but providing enough flexibility and diversity to attract those who aren't as skilled. Definitely a must play if in or around the greater region.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

1    10/17/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My cell phone does not work there! Seriously this course is very beautiful. So much variety. long open holes, lots of woods, elevation. 27 holes to play. The 12 holes on "the other side of the road" are amazing with the huge rocks and elevation changes.
Cons: The woods hols are still a work in progress, but they are very playable.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Jurassic Joralemon

1    10/19/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a remote location,Joralemon Park, in an out of the way town, Coeymans, NY, and with 28 spread out holes over primarily disc golf territory your not ever gonna have to deal with crowds. This course though, at this writing, lacking in yuppie amenities does not need them as the disc golf here is so strong. The course has open big air shots, tricky approaches, fast greens, low ceiling rollers, short holes, long holes, deep woods holes, flat, rolling, uphill and downhill holes. The front 9 play flat and semi-open but theres a lot to keep you interested. Not a bad hole in this bunch as you play over well mowed lawns, near a stream and below and between beautiful park trees. Holes 4 and 9 provide some big arm fun as well as interesting approaches,#4 to the top of a boulder ridge after a long sweeping drive 460' past some sycamores and #9 a huge 567' couple of drives and then negotiating a tight doorway into the woods with a pretty green with a stream nearby. Then you cross a bridge and go to the other side of Starr Rd. This is where the magic starts. Holes 10-21 are some wonderful pure disc golf holes through a rolling forrest laden with huge boulders and old trees. Fairways not only meander up and down these old woods they are weaving between massive trees and carving immense boulders that form obstacles as well as fairways. The holes start out as clever technicical fun shots and then begin to get longer and more epic as you get closer to finishing with the woods on #21. Old mountain woods so not a lot of thorns or shule to punish you off the fairways. Your score will get hurt but you won't get scratched or frustrated by lost discs too much here. After 21 you cross back over STarr Rd. and back to the more traditional park atmosphere. Hole #22 is a nice breather, open ace run, after the woods. Hole #25 is a lovely fairway with low canopy. #26 enables you to air it out one last time 553' before finishing on the R turning low ceiling #27. There seems to be an active club making gradual upgrades here and the few locals I encountered were friendly helping me to find a disc hiding in some leaves. I can't say enough about the variety here...the perfect tournament course as it is spread out with 11 deep woods holes, a slew of more open holes, a sprinkling of rollers and no L/R advantage. I can't say enough on the premium disc golf here and the enjoyable peaceful atmosphere. The holes on the other side of Starr Rd' elevate this course to amongst the best I have played. Just a beautiful round.
Cons: The basic amenities that many require for perfection are not here. Gravel/natural tees. Attempts are in place to aid navigation but it was still tricky for a first timer and tee signs are not always present. Could use a few more places to sit out in the woods as your really hiking up and down hills out there. In the woods a few of the fairways could be improved if the SMALLER trees/branches were tamed a bit.....nothing drastic just a little pruning or taking out a few to better define greens and/or fairway.....this usually happens as a course matures though so it didn't bother me. There was some local riding his dirtbike all over the place which was a bit weird...but thats part of the character of out of the way America...I only mention it because I see others have remarked on this as well and it might be a pattern. The disc golf and fun play of this course really make up for any of these inconsequential gripes and all of these most likely will be rectified in time I am sure. It's just nice to play a course that was obviously designed by people who play the sport and understand what makes a fun course. Finishing 6 holes are wonderful but seemed really bland after all that fun in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I notice that many of the reviews for this course are set prior to the expansion across Starr Rd. Those 12 holes over there really blew me away so I am sure the rating for this course should be higher. After hole 11 you have a choice to play the more epic woods or finish with the final 6 holes of the course....you just have to decide to play 12A or 12..it is clearly marked but if you don't have the stamina or your with children etc....playing the longer wooded 27 could be a grind as your really out in the woods and not near the lot for the rest of the day.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.