Disc Golf Store
Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Taking the Lemon out of Joralemon

1    8/20/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 28 holes of disc golf at Joralemon Park DGC, I did the 27 hole experience. I guess I should have played 12B for a more complete review, but I have a feeling that hole was as good as any other. The others were good, too. Joralemon Park is vast, and offers the classic wide open grass covered city park style, as well as wooded more natural landscape as well. Both are done well, but I prefer the added challenge and beauty of playing in the woods. The first 9 are the more open variety, and they range just over 250', to over 550' in length. There are enough trees to hide pin locations, and the tees are commonly nestled in clusters of trees as well. The fairway variations kept me from getting that feeling of heavy repetition. I really liked hole 4, a 460' par 4 that hides the basket on a hill in the trees to the left side. The fairway on the Mossy Grotto of 3, and this rocky green on hole 4 gives a small hint of things to come. There is some water in play, like behind the 5th basket, and around the green on hole 9. Hole 10 is across the street, and it introduces you to the wooded middle holes, but 11 brings "Swamp Thing". Giant moss covered boulders, dense woods and moderate elevation changes dominate here through hole 20. I loved this section of Joralemon. Picking favorites isn't easy, 11, 12, 13, 16, 18 and 19 were all great IMHO. It did wreck my scorecard for a run, I was 4 shots over on holes 11-14. I did get a couple shots back with birdies two holes with good nicknames: 16 (Rock and Bowl) and 19 (Heartbreak Ridge). 21 is over 400', along a road leading out of the forrest and back across the street. Hole 22 returns to the park area featuring grass fields and less elevation change. 23 and 24 kind of have elements of park and woods where another pair of boulders rest under a group of thick trees. 23 is called "Pedestal" and the basket is near the giant rocks. 24 is named "Funnel" and the small end is the tee in the trees opening up to the basket in the open end. 25, "the Ceiling" has tree canopy forcing a low, line drive to carry you close to the target. 26 is a nice one that cuts the corner of the tennis courts, and into a pocket in the fringes of the trees. The namesake "Lighthouse" is on the green. 27 is known as "Holy Roller" but I just went with a conventional RHBH drive. I bogeyed, but a roller can't help bad putting. All of the parts on the course were good enough for me. Concrete pavers installed on the tees were level and even. The signs at each one had hole number, distance, map, nickname, and local sponsors. Additional squiggly white arrows pointed transitions from one hole to the next. Another sign gives the directions at the fork in the road, 18 hole loop (using hole 12B), or 27 holes (on to 13).
Cons: Layout might be tough to follow in spots, but printing the map linked to the course page helps a lot. 27 was a nice hole, but it was also home to a bunch of ground bees near the basket. A park staffer was mowing and gave me a heads up. If you see a random tree branch sticking out of the grass, it may be telling you something.
Other Thoughts: There are many good things about the Joralemon Park DGC. Almost any course with holes in addition to the standard 18, is at least a little better. When the extra is added into an area this beautiful, you can't lose. Rating of 4.25 would be my call, but I'll round up to 4.5, because I am bad at math, and 4 seems too low.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

our "home" course

5+    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes of everything, open long shots and plenty of tricky in the woods, hole 16 is my favourie
Cons: nothing really, make sure you check for ticks, if you have played in summer the holes in the woods
Other Thoughts: we live in Saratoga, but the drive is always worth

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Northeast Disc Golf

5+    9/15/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: chainsseeker
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variation of holes. Lots of technical shots. Water hazards, fields, rocky terrain, thin/thick woods.
Easily navigated, signs, nice long concrete pads.
Great use of elevation through the woods.
Cons: Fairways arent very well defined for the most part.
Walking to hole 3 from the 2nd basket (around 25th basket) is kind of strange and confusing.

Hole 2 and Hole 26 have potential for the playground and tennis courts coming into play, particularly with new players/ on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: Never crowded when I have been (usually weekends). Great park, great design, great disc golf!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course!

1    12/31/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Requires ever shot in your bag. Big bomber holes, tight line holes through the trees. Finesse shots are needed and shot placement is at a premium on most holes. Beautiful surrounding and awesome new tee pads. Baskets are solid and reliable. Great use of the elevation available on the holes on the "other side" of the road. If I lived in the area, this would be an absolute go to. Can't wait to go back in the summer and play all 27 holes.
Cons: Would've loved to play the other 9 holes but the snow was just too deep. Some of the shots threw the trees may require more luck than skill. Hard to complain though and these might change with further play throughs.
Other Thoughts: The locals really take care of this place. Being from AZ it was a first time for me playing in 10 inches of snow but after meeting up with some folks they really helped out quite a bit. Also a big thank you to whoever placed the GPS coordinates as it made this course easy to find for the out of towner.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky to have J Park!

5+    11/22/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Shreddedcoconut
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course. Excellent Design. Local Club that really cares about maintaining the course. Its got a little bit of everything. Park is mostly just disc golfers so its not busy. There are 28 holes so its got options for 18 and 27. Peaceful and beautiful. Streams and swamps winding throughout. AMAZING rock formations with challenging pin placements. Best of all excellent paver tee boxes!
Cons: Atvs come through occasionally. No trash cans out on the course so pack out all your trash. No dedicated bathroom. ( Porta-potties in the warmer months) Not closer to my house!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Gem at Joralemon

5+    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that now has concrete pavers on all 28 holes. Great variety of shots
through the park and woods. Nice basket placements make for some putting challenges. Water comes into play on a few holes and some elevation changes and cliffs
puts accuracy at a premium. Signage on all holes and benches are at all holes. The spectacular rock formations make this course phenomenal.
Cons: Porta potties are taken away every November and return in May, no water available.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course. Having 28 holes gives you plenty of options.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Nirvana

5+    8/18/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 28 hole course that plays through the open and wooded sections of a fairly quiet town park.
- Disc golf nirvana - on most days, you show up and all you have to contend with is your discs, the course and your own thoughts - rarely used for anything but golf
- Ample room for parking right near a practice basket and hole #1
- Large kiosk with course map, flyers/info, L&F box and scorecards
- Great variety of settings - Holes 1-9 are mainly in the grassy, open section of the park, but there are some wooded tunnels and well-used trees for obstacles, protection, etc. - holes 10-21 (plus connector hole 12b) are back in a wooded section that is much more technical and provides a challenge mix of length and finesse, all surrounded by huge moss-covered boulders - holes 22-27 are back in the grassy park, but have a few in wooded groves, tunnels and nooks
- Layout variety - play the 27 hole loop or either of the two 18 hole loops (J-west has mostly the open holes and J-east has mostly the wooded holes) - hole 12b acts as a connector for J-west to bring you back to the open area before getting beat up by the woods
- Hole variety:
- the grassy area gives you some chances for open bombs (#4 is a big hyzer bomb, #8 is a long anny, #9 is a straight driving range with a tight tunnel at the end, #26 makes you work around a small patch of trees out in the main landing area) and guarded ace runs (#3 isn't long but has a nice set of trees guarding the pin, #7 is in range, but long grass in front and low-hanging trees make it tough, #22 is fairly open but the pin is tucked in a fairly tight cutout in the treeline)
- the wooded section really forces you to shape your shots through the tight fairways (#10 you need a perfect RHBH anny to get close, #11 needs a smooth flex shot to avoid the trees, boulders and swamp, #13 has a tight window across a valley, #14 needs a precise right-to-left downhill to avoid the swamp, #18 is a tight tunnel with a big, congested, uphill approach awaiting if you make it through, #19 needs a high RHFH to stay pin-high or risk putting from the bottom of a 10-15 foot rock wall)
- Tee signs are new and excellent with details and lengths from the main course designer, who is a certified land surveyor - unique "hole names" add to the charm and personaility of this course
- Tees are new 2'x2' pavers (were not yet installed for many of the previous reviews) that provide a nice solid, even runup and base - they generally allow you equal-elevation room to the side and behind if you have a bigger runup - surrounded by wooden boards and supported by gravel/fine/sand base that has been locked in with water to minimize movement
- Water and/or swamp comes into play as potential OB on maybe 4 holes, but the course itself (trees and natural design) create plenty of places for bad shots to be punished
- Very challenging, which makes a good shot or good round extremely rewarding
- Already mentioned the wooded holes, but the moss-covered boulders create for some visually stunning looks - pin #4 is perched up atop a tiered rock outcrop, like a memorial to the DG gods, pin #11 is perched on a ledge above the swamp, hole #16 is probably my favorite looking hole with the pin peering out from between 2 of the big boulders, hole #20 lets you look from atop the rocks down into a tree-smattered valley with the pin in a litte alcove at the end
- Sign after hole #11 is very clear about where to go to continue with the 27 hole loop or where to go to hit hole #12b and get back to the main park for an 18 hole loop
- The grassy section is regularly mowed by the town parks department
- Wooden planks/boards allow for good footing through the sometimes muddy portions of the woods holes
- Benches/seats at all holes (I think)
- No trash, as the locals take pride in carry-in/carry-out, or just plain carry-out whatever you come across
Cons: Not much, but a few things worth mentioning:
- I'm partial to Innova baskets with the highly visible band - many baskets, including here, that are set in wooded areas are hard to see
- if you have the course map with you, you should be fine, but navigation from one hole to the next isn't 100% clear in a few spots - many holes have "next tee signs", but a few don't - while there isn't really anywhere else to go, there's no real clear indication that you need to cross the road to get from 9 to 10
- While the open holes are fun, a couple of them really don't punish you for bad shots (admittedly, I'm biased towards wooded courses/holes) - holes #8 and 9 come to mind where you could be 100' left of your target and still have clean, easy approach to the basket
- On the few occasions where DG isn't the only thing going on, the most frequent visitors are from dirt bikes/ATVs that can be loud/distracting and can get in your way on holes, 1, 4, 5 and 6
- Comes with the territory, but some parts of the wooded area can get muddy, but luckily it's mostly on the walk between holes and not in fairways/greens - the planeks/boards mentioned above help combat this
- To me (and maybe I just haven't yet found a consistent option), hole #17 is kind of a crapshoot - your drive heads right for the wall of trees and you just hope you miss them (or most of them)
Other Thoughts: - Pavillion at hole #1 for tourney central, weather protection, etc.
- Check yourself for ticks when you get home
- Only 1 official tee position, but some locals have installed/played unofficial short tees (marked by hard-to-find bricks in the ground) that may become more used/official later

This course really is top-notch. I've only been playing for a couple years and have played a relatively small # of course (20 at this time), but I've made sure I play top-rated ones and J-Park stands up to them all. I'm proud to have assisted in the installation of the new tees at this amazing course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Large Tees
2. Mixture of wooded and open holes
3. Picture perfect landscapes
4. Maps included distance, par, and map
5. Will cause you to throw every disc and throw that you have in your bag
Cons: 1. BUGGY
2. Can be difficult to navigate from hole to hole
3. Baskets when visible were still difficult to spot from the tees.
Other Thoughts: I was only able to play 19 holes of this course because it started to thunderstorm. However with that being said I know that this is definitely a course I want to visit again. Each hole provided a new layout and therefore a new challenge. I was glad to see a map, lost disc trap, trashcans, and a porta-potty at the beginning of the course. These holes are very long and will force you to throw as far as you can. This park appears to be very well maintained. We did have a couple dirt bikers ride by us through the course which was a bit strange. Benches were also available at every hole. Would never play this course again without bug spray. Wooded holes provide just the right amount of space to throw to make it challenging but at the same time not overwhelming. I was chased by all kinds of huge, flying, black, biting bugs. To recap, this is a great course for those that have been playing a while as well as for those who are just starting out. Course provides a good challenge without being too ridiculously difficult. Beautiful landscape. Located in a nice park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo Much Fun!!

2-4    6/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a huge variety not only in holes but also in layouts. You have 28 different holes which can be played in a 27 hole configuration and two different 18 hole loops. There is a great amount of OB used which makes some rather boring holes interesting and some really good holes great. Even though you don't throw over any water it still comes into play on several holes. There are multiple ace runs and several long hyzer bombs. Every tee is marked with good signs denoting what hole it is for each different layout. The plethora of next tee signs also makes navigation a breeze. There is a lot this course has to offer with holes all in the woods, holes that start in the open and finish in the woods, holes that start in the woods and finish on the open, holes that start in the woods play into the open and finish in the woods, and several all open shots.

The woods are nice and clean and the grass is all relatively short. This course is loved by someone! Maps and scorecards are available in a kiosk near the first tee. There are multiple porta potties and they are pretty clean. There is a warm up basket near the pavilion and benches and trash cans rampant throughout. There are also plenty of sports fields and a tennis court on site also.
Cons: There is multiple criss cross of holes that might get you turned around if not paying attention. The walkways in between holes also cross over. There are multiple holes that start or finish very close to the road. The size of the tee pads could be changed to make them wider in most cases and and longer on a few holes. There are also multiple pads that need leveling as rocks and sticks are protruding. With all the information the tee sign can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course to play in New York so far and in my top 5 overall.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

starr of the trip

1    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
10 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played J-park during an 8 course roadtrip of fantastic courses in PA,VT & NY. My method of rating new courses is to rate each hole as I play and write it on the scorecard.
5- are epic holes-well designed, challenging with one or more natural features that make it a memorable hole.
4-excellent-well designed and aesthetically pleasing with a feature that separates it from the pack.
3-solid but nothing extraordinary
2-filler
1-bad
0-really bad
The biggest "pro" of Joralemon is the quailty of the holes. Using this rating system, J-park has an astounding 17 epic (5rated holes) and 10 excellent (4 rated holes). We did not play 12b. The score averaged back to 18 holes is 83.3 which is the highest to date. So, if aethestics and natural beauty is your thing, this course is right at the top.
The run of holes across Starr road (10-18) are simply the best nine holes I could ever hope to play.
Phenomenal.
Cons: You may need to print a map or make a sketch of the one at the kiosk.

10 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.