Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #24 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Joralemon park dgc

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played the twenty seven hole layout and really enjoyed my round at this course. The course itself is relatively short and most of the challenge here is because of tight fairways and the need for accurate drives on many of the holes.

Elevation- elevation was used very well on this course. Almost every hole had some elevation change whether it be slight or dramatic. The elevation was mixed well throughout this course. Longer holes had little elevation change with the exception of a few and the shorter holes were tight with larger elevation changes. This made the course very well balanced so that no ingle hole was an "easy birdie" for the average player.

Variety- most holes had tight gaps that forced straight shots, hyzers or anhyzers. Each hole was unique and had a line different from that of any other hole. Most if not all of the discs in my bag were used during the one round i played here. Distance variety came into play here with the shortest hole being ~200 and the longest hole ~500.

Rock outcroppings- these made for some spectacular basket placement as well as added to the natural beauty of the course. The holes were strategically placed to the point where outcroppings came into play on most of the holes on the blue loop accross the street.

Amenities- large pavillion which could play host to a large tournament. Pavillion appeared to be quite large. Concrete pavers, provided great footing on the teepads and are much better than the natural teepads that are mostly found in this area. Tee signs were accurate and displayed distance and hole location nicely as well as showed the direction of the next tee and the preffered routes to the basket. Navigation was relatively easy to follow and small arrows were nailed to trees where navigation could be a problem.

18 hole loop as well as twenty seven hole loop provides a shorter roundif neccessary, im sure it would be possible to find a combination of nine holes to better suite time constraints this could be done by playin 1-4 and then 23-27

Good mix of open and wooded holes- the open holes compliment the wooded holes nicley most of the open holes are long long and open while most of the wooded holes are short and tight with a few exceptions.
Cons: Course became very tight on holes 10-21 these fairways seemed unfair to your average player

A seasoned pro would find this course quite easy and be able to shoot a score well under par.

1 teepad per hole- although this is not a big problem for out of towners the locals might like a little more variety

Repetitive- some of the woods holes lacked variety, 300ft of tight tunnel to an green strewn with boulders.
Other Thoughts: This was a great stop on the way to vt and would love to be back here on future trips. The ourse is enjoyable and i would definately recommend it for all driving towards vermont or albany because it is not too far off the highway

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Boulder Course

2-4    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 107  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Decent mix of wooded and open holes ,Although if you are playing all 27 holes it seems you spend a long time in the woods
- There are tee pads and descriptive signs at every hole
- The holes are linked together in separate loops which allows for different ways to play 18 holes if you do not want to play all 28 holes
- Rocky terrain provides some fun climbing opportunities
- Baskets are nicely placed between boulders
- The park seems well used by picnicers but the course stays out of the way of all the non disc golf users
- This is a heavily wooded course that requires a lot of control. If you can control your disc you can do well even if you cant throw very far.
Cons: - Some more advanced players may not find this course very challenging because there are not any real monster holes. It is more about control.
- There seemed to be a lot of repetitive holes through the woods (In many of the wooded holes the basket is in between two boulders) and none of the holes really stood out to me
- The terrain is awfully rocky and rough and It seems you could sprain an ankle of fall pretty easily if you aren't prepared
Other Thoughts: The main theme of this course seems to be really big boulders which are nice for a few holes but after a while it gets repetitive. I found it pretty exhaustive playing 27 holes so if you live close by and can play this course frequently I would suggest playing different combinations of eighteen holes. The course might not seem so repetitive in that case as well. In all this is a very solid course but there is not enough here to make it one of my favorites.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

All around great course

2-4    5/15/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: BgGrls Dont Cry
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Starts out with a handful of forgiving open field holes. Then into the woods. Birdies are possible if you hit the right lines in the woods, but you are not punished too badly if you hit trees. Great use of the natural rocky terrain in the woods. A number of baskets are protected by house sized boulders. Tee signs, pads, benches at every hole. Some well placed arrows marking the way to the next hole at a few of the confusing sections.
Other Thoughts: If you're playing all 27 holes be sure to bring all the water/snacks you need, as the course does not loop back to the parking area until hole 25.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch.

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SZRoll
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park
Not crowded
Clear new signs
Concrete tees
Baskets in great condition
Free
Practice Basket
Enough baskets to have 3 dif. loops
Cons: Not close enough to my house!
Other Thoughts: The lay out is awesome and most of the holes are challenging especially the holes on the NE side of Starr Rd. This really is a world class course, I recommend it to anyone who likes disc golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

1    12/31/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Requires ever shot in your bag. Big bomber holes, tight line holes through the trees. Finesse shots are needed and shot placement is at a premium on most holes. Beautiful surrounding and awesome new tee pads. Baskets are solid and reliable. Great use of the elevation available on the holes on the "other side" of the road. If I lived in the area, this would be an absolute go to. Can't wait to go back in the summer and play all 27 holes.
Cons: Would've loved to play the other 9 holes but the snow was just too deep. Some of the shots threw the trees may require more luck than skill. Hard to complain though and these might change with further play throughs.
Other Thoughts: The locals really take care of this place. Being from AZ it was a first time for me playing in 10 inches of snow but after meeting up with some folks they really helped out quite a bit. Also a big thank you to whoever placed the GPS coordinates as it made this course easy to find for the out of towner.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jore-ah-la-mun... Jor-a-le-mon

1    10/12/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 358  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.9 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Awesome Pin Positions. I lost count of the number of cool pin positions at Joralemon. There were numerous pins anchored into rock outcroppings which made for some extremely picturesque golf holes and putts.
- Great Golf. Joralemon had some great golf. I loved the course for what it was... an extremely good city park course. The course had a little bit of everything from huge open bombers to extremely tight precise holes that required every kind of shot off the tee-pad - hyzers, annys, straight, sidearm, s-turns, overhands, rollers, etc.
- Open, Wooded, Open, Wooded. I loved how Joralemon started in the open for a few holes, then went into the woods for a few holes, and then back into the open, and then back into the woods over and over again throughout the course.
- Perfect Setting. Joralemon was in a very pretty park with beautiful woods, huge rock outcroppings, a swampy area and a large section of manicured grass.
- Good Club Scene. A few weeks after I played the course, Hurricane Sandy felled a tree, crushing a basket (I believe Hole 6). I saw a thread in the forums discussing the damage, and that the club had the basket replaced within about a week... Way to go Joralemon crew.
Cons:
- Middle 9 is Awkwardly Unfair. Holes 10-20 are somewhat awkward in their fairway shape, or having random trees in the middle of fairway, or in simply being too tight. I'm not sure if they were allowed to cut down any trees on that side of the street or what, because a few of the holes needed a little more chainsaw work. It was still fun golf, with fabulous pin positions and what not... but I was left scratching my head on a lot of the tee-pads.
- Hard to Say. Jor-a-le-mon... Jore-a-le-mun... Jore-ah-la-mun... say it with me: Joralemon. (I'm just kidding, it's not really a con).
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I had a blast a Joralemon. It was a beautiful park with a great 27 hole course that offered a challenging mix of holes ranging from extremely wide and long to extremely tight and short. The rock outcroppings used throughout the course added to the beauty, and made for some much more interesting putting situations. I really enjoyed my round at Joralemon; and I'm sure that if you stopped here on a roadtrip, you would too!
My Score: even Par (86)

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky to have J Park!

5+    11/22/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Shreddedcoconut
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course. Excellent Design. Local Club that really cares about maintaining the course. Its got a little bit of everything. Park is mostly just disc golfers so its not busy. There are 28 holes so its got options for 18 and 27. Peaceful and beautiful. Streams and swamps winding throughout. AMAZING rock formations with challenging pin placements. Best of all excellent paver tee boxes!
Cons: Atvs come through occasionally. No trash cans out on the course so pack out all your trash. No dedicated bathroom. ( Porta-potties in the warmer months) Not closer to my house!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Gem at Joralemon

5+    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that now has concrete pavers on all 28 holes. Great variety of shots
through the park and woods. Nice basket placements make for some putting challenges. Water comes into play on a few holes and some elevation changes and cliffs
puts accuracy at a premium. Signage on all holes and benches are at all holes. The spectacular rock formations make this course phenomenal.
Cons: Porta potties are taken away every November and return in May, no water available.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course. Having 28 holes gives you plenty of options.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Nirvana

5+    8/18/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 28 hole course that plays through the open and wooded sections of a fairly quiet town park.
- Disc golf nirvana - on most days, you show up and all you have to contend with is your discs, the course and your own thoughts - rarely used for anything but golf
- Ample room for parking right near a practice basket and hole #1
- Large kiosk with course map, flyers/info, L&F box and scorecards
- Great variety of settings - Holes 1-9 are mainly in the grassy, open section of the park, but there are some wooded tunnels and well-used trees for obstacles, protection, etc. - holes 10-21 (plus connector hole 12b) are back in a wooded section that is much more technical and provides a challenge mix of length and finesse, all surrounded by huge moss-covered boulders - holes 22-27 are back in the grassy park, but have a few in wooded groves, tunnels and nooks
- Layout variety - play the 27 hole loop or either of the two 18 hole loops (J-west has mostly the open holes and J-east has mostly the wooded holes) - hole 12b acts as a connector for J-west to bring you back to the open area before getting beat up by the woods
- Hole variety:
- the grassy area gives you some chances for open bombs (#4 is a big hyzer bomb, #8 is a long anny, #9 is a straight driving range with a tight tunnel at the end, #26 makes you work around a small patch of trees out in the main landing area) and guarded ace runs (#3 isn't long but has a nice set of trees guarding the pin, #7 is in range, but long grass in front and low-hanging trees make it tough, #22 is fairly open but the pin is tucked in a fairly tight cutout in the treeline)
- the wooded section really forces you to shape your shots through the tight fairways (#10 you need a perfect RHBH anny to get close, #11 needs a smooth flex shot to avoid the trees, boulders and swamp, #13 has a tight window across a valley, #14 needs a precise right-to-left downhill to avoid the swamp, #18 is a tight tunnel with a big, congested, uphill approach awaiting if you make it through, #19 needs a high RHFH to stay pin-high or risk putting from the bottom of a 10-15 foot rock wall)
- Tee signs are new and excellent with details and lengths from the main course designer, who is a certified land surveyor - unique "hole names" add to the charm and personaility of this course
- Tees are new 2'x2' pavers (were not yet installed for many of the previous reviews) that provide a nice solid, even runup and base - they generally allow you equal-elevation room to the side and behind if you have a bigger runup - surrounded by wooden boards and supported by gravel/fine/sand base that has been locked in with water to minimize movement
- Water and/or swamp comes into play as potential OB on maybe 4 holes, but the course itself (trees and natural design) create plenty of places for bad shots to be punished
- Very challenging, which makes a good shot or good round extremely rewarding
- Already mentioned the wooded holes, but the moss-covered boulders create for some visually stunning looks - pin #4 is perched up atop a tiered rock outcrop, like a memorial to the DG gods, pin #11 is perched on a ledge above the swamp, hole #16 is probably my favorite looking hole with the pin peering out from between 2 of the big boulders, hole #20 lets you look from atop the rocks down into a tree-smattered valley with the pin in a litte alcove at the end
- Sign after hole #11 is very clear about where to go to continue with the 27 hole loop or where to go to hit hole #12b and get back to the main park for an 18 hole loop
- The grassy section is regularly mowed by the town parks department
- Wooden planks/boards allow for good footing through the sometimes muddy portions of the woods holes
- Benches/seats at all holes (I think)
- No trash, as the locals take pride in carry-in/carry-out, or just plain carry-out whatever you come across
Cons: Not much, but a few things worth mentioning:
- I'm partial to Innova baskets with the highly visible band - many baskets, including here, that are set in wooded areas are hard to see
- if you have the course map with you, you should be fine, but navigation from one hole to the next isn't 100% clear in a few spots - many holes have "next tee signs", but a few don't - while there isn't really anywhere else to go, there's no real clear indication that you need to cross the road to get from 9 to 10
- While the open holes are fun, a couple of them really don't punish you for bad shots (admittedly, I'm biased towards wooded courses/holes) - holes #8 and 9 come to mind where you could be 100' left of your target and still have clean, easy approach to the basket
- On the few occasions where DG isn't the only thing going on, the most frequent visitors are from dirt bikes/ATVs that can be loud/distracting and can get in your way on holes, 1, 4, 5 and 6
- Comes with the territory, but some parts of the wooded area can get muddy, but luckily it's mostly on the walk between holes and not in fairways/greens - the planeks/boards mentioned above help combat this
- To me (and maybe I just haven't yet found a consistent option), hole #17 is kind of a crapshoot - your drive heads right for the wall of trees and you just hope you miss them (or most of them)
Other Thoughts: - Pavillion at hole #1 for tourney central, weather protection, etc.
- Check yourself for ticks when you get home
- Only 1 official tee position, but some locals have installed/played unofficial short tees (marked by hard-to-find bricks in the ground) that may become more used/official later

This course really is top-notch. I've only been playing for a couple years and have played a relatively small # of course (20 at this time), but I've made sure I play top-rated ones and J-Park stands up to them all. I'm proud to have assisted in the installation of the new tees at this amazing course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 It rocked me!

1    9/17/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 hole course set in an out of the way park. Each hole has a very nice, grippy, paving stone tee pad and excellent basket. Signs at each hole show line, obstacles and distance.

Navigation is aided throughout with arrows and carved wooden objects on many of the trees. Different colors are used, and catch the eye well. I had no problems finding my way around even without a map.

Excellent variety. There are not only many different types of shots needed here, there is several different landscapes and hole designs. The first 9 holes play in a typical park setting. You throw through open fields and mature trees, usually ending at a basket position tucked into the woods, or lodged on a rocky outcropping. Nothing too fancy, just good disc golf shots. When you cross the road to hole 10 you enter a totally different world. There you get tight wooded lines, some ups and downs, and tons of baskets perched on or between very cool rock formations and boulders. When you get to hole 22 you re-enter the nice park setting and leave the heavily wooded, rocky alternate universe. There is also an option of playing simply an 18 hole loop and skipping some of the heavily wooded holes. Blasphemy I say!!

Throughout the course there are open 500' plus holes and tight wooded ace runs around 200'. There are sweeping hyzer lines, and butt puckering tight tunnels. And always there are baskets placed near trees or rocks. Greens are all very fair, but there is constant risk reward shots on drives that can reach the basket, or approaches. This is simply a fun course to play. Not overly punishing, but enough challenge to test anyone.
Cons: A few holes have some pretty tight bordering on unfair ways. If heavily wooded fairways bother you consider playing the 18 hole loop to avoid some trees.

Basket visibility is difficult. Most are tucked in woods or near rocks, and they blend in pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Damn, I enjoyed this course a lot. During the first 9 holes I was wondering why people get so excited about it. And after playing the middle section I simply wanted more, more, more. The last few holes were a little bit of a let down for me. I really enjoy the woods, rocks and abuse the middle section dishes out. It is reminiscent of Devens, Hyzer Creek, Sugaree or Fox Chase if you've played any of them.

This course has a lot to offer. If you enjoy open air golf 1-9 and 22-27 will keep you happy. If you like tight lines, some small hills and lots of rock-laden basket positions then 10-21 will put a smile on your face. The only things this course really lacks are extreme elevation changes, and tough water carries. Everything else is here to enjoy.

Parts of the middle section play in some low-lying areas. Nice bridges and walk ways are in place, but during high water it looks like it could get buggy and swampy. Last year when I tried to play here it was flooded pretty bad, and I had to play elsewhere. Try to check conditions if you are heading here in Spring or during a really wet year. Right now it is about perfect.

Play here. It is definitely worth a stop. And it is definitely one of the top courses in New York.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.