Coeymans, NY
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wooded Nirvana

5+    8/18/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 28 hole course that plays through the open and wooded sections of a fairly quiet town park.
- Disc golf nirvana - on most days, you show up and all you have to contend with is your discs, the course and your own thoughts - rarely used for anything but golf
- Ample room for parking right near a practice basket and hole #1
- Large kiosk with course map, flyers/info, L&F box and scorecards
- Great variety of settings - Holes 1-9 are mainly in the grassy, open section of the park, but there are some wooded tunnels and well-used trees for obstacles, protection, etc. - holes 10-21 (plus connector hole 12b) are back in a wooded section that is much more technical and provides a challenge mix of length and finesse, all surrounded by huge moss-covered boulders - holes 22-27 are back in the grassy park, but have a few in wooded groves, tunnels and nooks
- Layout variety - play the 27 hole loop or either of the two 18 hole loops (J-west has mostly the open holes and J-east has mostly the wooded holes) - hole 12b acts as a connector for J-west to bring you back to the open area before getting beat up by the woods
- Hole variety:
- the grassy area gives you some chances for open bombs (#4 is a big hyzer bomb, #8 is a long anny, #9 is a straight driving range with a tight tunnel at the end, #26 makes you work around a small patch of trees out in the main landing area) and guarded ace runs (#3 isn't long but has a nice set of trees guarding the pin, #7 is in range, but long grass in front and low-hanging trees make it tough, #22 is fairly open but the pin is tucked in a fairly tight cutout in the treeline)
- the wooded section really forces you to shape your shots through the tight fairways (#10 you need a perfect RHBH anny to get close, #11 needs a smooth flex shot to avoid the trees, boulders and swamp, #13 has a tight window across a valley, #14 needs a precise right-to-left downhill to avoid the swamp, #18 is a tight tunnel with a big, congested, uphill approach awaiting if you make it through, #19 needs a high RHFH to stay pin-high or risk putting from the bottom of a 10-15 foot rock wall)
- Tee signs are new and excellent with details and lengths from the main course designer, who is a certified land surveyor - unique "hole names" add to the charm and personaility of this course
- Tees are new 2'x2' pavers (were not yet installed for many of the previous reviews) that provide a nice solid, even runup and base - they generally allow you equal-elevation room to the side and behind if you have a bigger runup - surrounded by wooden boards and supported by gravel/fine/sand base that has been locked in with water to minimize movement
- Water and/or swamp comes into play as potential OB on maybe 4 holes, but the course itself (trees and natural design) create plenty of places for bad shots to be punished
- Very challenging, which makes a good shot or good round extremely rewarding
- Already mentioned the wooded holes, but the moss-covered boulders create for some visually stunning looks - pin #4 is perched up atop a tiered rock outcrop, like a memorial to the DG gods, pin #11 is perched on a ledge above the swamp, hole #16 is probably my favorite looking hole with the pin peering out from between 2 of the big boulders, hole #20 lets you look from atop the rocks down into a tree-smattered valley with the pin in a litte alcove at the end
- Sign after hole #11 is very clear about where to go to continue with the 27 hole loop or where to go to hit hole #12b and get back to the main park for an 18 hole loop
- The grassy section is regularly mowed by the town parks department
- Wooden planks/boards allow for good footing through the sometimes muddy portions of the woods holes
- Benches/seats at all holes (I think)
- No trash, as the locals take pride in carry-in/carry-out, or just plain carry-out whatever you come across
Cons: Not much, but a few things worth mentioning:
- I'm partial to Innova baskets with the highly visible band - many baskets, including here, that are set in wooded areas are hard to see
- if you have the course map with you, you should be fine, but navigation from one hole to the next isn't 100% clear in a few spots - many holes have "next tee signs", but a few don't - while there isn't really anywhere else to go, there's no real clear indication that you need to cross the road to get from 9 to 10
- While the open holes are fun, a couple of them really don't punish you for bad shots (admittedly, I'm biased towards wooded courses/holes) - holes #8 and 9 come to mind where you could be 100' left of your target and still have clean, easy approach to the basket
- On the few occasions where DG isn't the only thing going on, the most frequent visitors are from dirt bikes/ATVs that can be loud/distracting and can get in your way on holes, 1, 4, 5 and 6
- Comes with the territory, but some parts of the wooded area can get muddy, but luckily it's mostly on the walk between holes and not in fairways/greens - the planeks/boards mentioned above help combat this
- To me (and maybe I just haven't yet found a consistent option), hole #17 is kind of a crapshoot - your drive heads right for the wall of trees and you just hope you miss them (or most of them)
Other Thoughts: - Pavillion at hole #1 for tourney central, weather protection, etc.
- Check yourself for ticks when you get home
- Only 1 official tee position, but some locals have installed/played unofficial short tees (marked by hard-to-find bricks in the ground) that may become more used/official later

This course really is top-notch. I've only been playing for a couple years and have played a relatively small # of course (20 at this time), but I've made sure I play top-rated ones and J-Park stands up to them all. I'm proud to have assisted in the installation of the new tees at this amazing course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

It rocked me!

1    9/17/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 hole course set in an out of the way park. Each hole has a very nice, grippy, paving stone tee pad and excellent basket. Signs at each hole show line, obstacles and distance.

Navigation is aided throughout with arrows and carved wooden objects on many of the trees. Different colors are used, and catch the eye well. I had no problems finding my way around even without a map.

Excellent variety. There are not only many different types of shots needed here, there is several different landscapes and hole designs. The first 9 holes play in a typical park setting. You throw through open fields and mature trees, usually ending at a basket position tucked into the woods, or lodged on a rocky outcropping. Nothing too fancy, just good disc golf shots. When you cross the road to hole 10 you enter a totally different world. There you get tight wooded lines, some ups and downs, and tons of baskets perched on or between very cool rock formations and boulders. When you get to hole 22 you re-enter the nice park setting and leave the heavily wooded, rocky alternate universe. There is also an option of playing simply an 18 hole loop and skipping some of the heavily wooded holes. Blasphemy I say!!

Throughout the course there are open 500' plus holes and tight wooded ace runs around 200'. There are sweeping hyzer lines, and butt puckering tight tunnels. And always there are baskets placed near trees or rocks. Greens are all very fair, but there is constant risk reward shots on drives that can reach the basket, or approaches. This is simply a fun course to play. Not overly punishing, but enough challenge to test anyone.
Cons: A few holes have some pretty tight bordering on unfair ways. If heavily wooded fairways bother you consider playing the 18 hole loop to avoid some trees.

Basket visibility is difficult. Most are tucked in woods or near rocks, and they blend in pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Damn, I enjoyed this course a lot. During the first 9 holes I was wondering why people get so excited about it. And after playing the middle section I simply wanted more, more, more. The last few holes were a little bit of a let down for me. I really enjoy the woods, rocks and abuse the middle section dishes out. It is reminiscent of Devens, Hyzer Creek, Sugaree or Fox Chase if you've played any of them.

This course has a lot to offer. If you enjoy open air golf 1-9 and 22-27 will keep you happy. If you like tight lines, some small hills and lots of rock-laden basket positions then 10-21 will put a smile on your face. The only things this course really lacks are extreme elevation changes, and tough water carries. Everything else is here to enjoy.

Parts of the middle section play in some low-lying areas. Nice bridges and walk ways are in place, but during high water it looks like it could get buggy and swampy. Last year when I tried to play here it was flooded pretty bad, and I had to play elsewhere. Try to check conditions if you are heading here in Spring or during a really wet year. Right now it is about perfect.

Play here. It is definitely worth a stop. And it is definitely one of the top courses in New York.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Treasure

5+    6/30/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Jlatter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very Well maintained, not crowded, pavers on every hole but one, benches on every hole, Very Scenic in the woods.
Cons: Bugs
Other Thoughts: Love this course I can't wait to play it in fall and winter, I am sure it has a totally different feel.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant stop in NY

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: billcoke
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course in great shape, must have a dedicated team of people that care for the course. I didn't have a map but was easily able to navigate the 18 hole layout my first time today.
I think that the woods holes that start at hole 10 are far tougher and more scenic. I didn't have time to play all the woods holes but 10, 11, & 12b were very interesting. The other holes in the 18 hole layout were enjoyable to play.
Cons: Although the holes as well thought out and present different challenges they do tend to run right up to each other and present the problem of overthrows clipping someone on another tee/basket.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a great course for a beginner to advanced player but could see a pro not being challenged.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 33  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Large Tees
2. Mixture of wooded and open holes
3. Picture perfect landscapes
4. Maps included distance, par, and map
5. Will cause you to throw every disc and throw that you have in your bag
Cons: 1. BUGGY
2. Can be difficult to navigate from hole to hole
3. Baskets when visible were still difficult to spot from the tees.
Other Thoughts: I was only able to play 19 holes of this course because it started to thunderstorm. However with that being said I know that this is definitely a course I want to visit again. Each hole provided a new layout and therefore a new challenge. I was glad to see a map, lost disc trap, trashcans, and a porta-potty at the beginning of the course. These holes are very long and will force you to throw as far as you can. This park appears to be very well maintained. We did have a couple dirt bikers ride by us through the course which was a bit strange. Benches were also available at every hole. Would never play this course again without bug spray. Wooded holes provide just the right amount of space to throw to make it challenging but at the same time not overwhelming. I was chased by all kinds of huge, flying, black, biting bugs. To recap, this is a great course for those that have been playing a while as well as for those who are just starting out. Course provides a good challenge without being too ridiculously difficult. Beautiful landscape. Located in a nice park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo Much Fun!!

2-4    6/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a huge variety not only in holes but also in layouts. You have 28 different holes which can be played in a 27 hole configuration and two different 18 hole loops. There is a great amount of OB used which makes some rather boring holes interesting and some really good holes great. Even though you don't throw over any water it still comes into play on several holes. There are multiple ace runs and several long hyzer bombs. Every tee is marked with good signs denoting what hole it is for each different layout. The plethora of next tee signs also makes navigation a breeze. There is a lot this course has to offer with holes all in the woods, holes that start in the open and finish in the woods, holes that start in the woods and finish on the open, holes that start in the woods play into the open and finish in the woods, and several all open shots.

The woods are nice and clean and the grass is all relatively short. This course is loved by someone! Maps and scorecards are available in a kiosk near the first tee. There are multiple porta potties and they are pretty clean. There is a warm up basket near the pavilion and benches and trash cans rampant throughout. There are also plenty of sports fields and a tennis court on site also.
Cons: There is multiple criss cross of holes that might get you turned around if not paying attention. The walkways in between holes also cross over. There are multiple holes that start or finish very close to the road. The size of the tee pads could be changed to make them wider in most cases and and longer on a few holes. There are also multiple pads that need leveling as rocks and sticks are protruding. With all the information the tee sign can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course to play in New York so far and in my top 5 overall.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

starr of the trip

1    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
10 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played J-park during an 8 course roadtrip of fantastic courses in PA,VT & NY. My method of rating new courses is to rate each hole as I play and write it on the scorecard.
5- are epic holes-well designed, challenging with one or more natural features that make it a memorable hole.
4-excellent-well designed and aesthetically pleasing with a feature that separates it from the pack.
3-solid but nothing extraordinary
2-filler
1-bad
0-really bad
The biggest "pro" of Joralemon is the quailty of the holes. Using this rating system, J-park has an astounding 17 epic (5rated holes) and 10 excellent (4 rated holes). We did not play 12b. The score averaged back to 18 holes is 83.3 which is the highest to date. So, if aethestics and natural beauty is your thing, this course is right at the top.
The run of holes across Starr road (10-18) are simply the best nine holes I could ever hope to play.
Phenomenal.
Cons: You may need to print a map or make a sketch of the one at the kiosk.

10 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: DiscFun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was our first time playing on official course so totally a beginner. We were on vacation in NY. Now I think we are spoiled; what a beautiful course! Very scenic with the rock formations, wooded areas and wide open spaces.

Loved that there were benches at everyhole to rest and relax! Nice touch.

Discs were going everywhere but had no problems finding them! Not crowded which was nice also.

Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second round couple days later!
Cons: Couple things; first navigating around was a bit tricky and had to ask next hole location from others playing that were familiar with the course. Especially the hole by the creek, paper sign was about washed away & finally figured out after 25min we needed to go accross the road. That was a bit frustrating. Vinyl signs are not that expensive.

Bring water because there aren't any fountains & it's quite a bit of walking.

Last thing which didn't see anyone else mention is lookout for the huge wasp mound near hole one! These large wasps (alot of them) in holes in the mound itself and are very active!!! Be careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall give this course two thumbs up!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There is a lot of variety throughout the 18 hole loop that I played. There are some opportunities to throw big bombs as well as some tight wooded finesse holes that test your line shaping ability.

There is a nice big field by the first tee that is great for warm-up and practice throws.

Nice proximity to the I-87 makes it easy to get to if you're just passing through (as I was).

Low tech signs at each hole show all the needed information. Shape, obstacles, distance and even clever names are shown at each tee.
Cons: I had a lot of trouble with navigation on this course. The layout is not particularly intuitive and the next tee signage is not particularly helpful. I spent quite a bit of time wandering around trying to figure out where the next hole was. In particular, going from 9 to ten across the road and then 12B to 13 back across was very confusing.

No trash cans on the course. Be prepared to pack it out.

The gravel tee pads seem particularly susceptible to puddling. It rained briefly when I first arrived and a few puddles had already started to form. With more significant rain most would've been muddy with quite a bit of standing water.
Other Thoughts: Note that this review is based only on the 18 hole loop rather than the alternate 27-hole layout. Due to the high heat and humidity when I played, I had to cut my round short.

This is a great road trip stop because of it's proximity to I-87. I had some extra time while driving through the area and was at the course maybe five minutes after getting off the highway.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winner of the "Most Photogenic Course Award"

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Possibly the most aesthetically pleasing course around, the rolling hills and use of mossy rocks made for numerous interesting and attractive holes that could not be duplicated anywhere else.
Great variety in elevation, ceiling height, left and right holes, and distances with many risk vs. reward opportunities.
Long Gravel tee pads with nice colored tee signs as well as signs leading to most of the next baskets to assist with navigation and flow. The people I played with loved the unique signs to guide you to the next hole.
Porto-potties on site.
Benches or large rocks to sit on at nearly every hole.
Playground for the kids and a large picnic area
Kiosk with map on it and a mail box with score card for 18. I like that they have an option to play 18 or 27 (which is not just 1-18)
Practice Basket
Cons: Very few cons. The amount of trees can cause some frustration if you are not on your game.
Only 1 tee pad and basket position, but there are 27 different holes, so you can change up what 18 you play.
Small chance of disc loss on some holes.
Practice basket was labeled #1 and caused confusion
Other Thoughts: This is a solid challenging course with out being insanely frustrating for new players or too easy for advanced players.
The terrain is kind of rough and the holes are a little too challenging for young kids. Do not plan on bringing a wheeled cooler, stroller, or push cart.
There are so many great photo opportunities, if you want to bring a camera. It's hard to justify adding this course to a day trip since it is nearly 30 miles from any other course and basically in the middle of no where, but it is worth the stop if you can make it, you will not be disappointed!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.