Disc Golf Store
Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Stairyo Hole #12B (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12B Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Jore-ah-la-mun... Jor-a-le-mon

1    10/12/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.1 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Awesome Pin Positions. I lost count of the number of cool pin positions at Joralemon. There were numerous pins anchored into rock outcroppings which made for some extremely picturesque golf holes and putts.
- Great Golf. Joralemon had some great golf. I loved the course for what it was… an extremely good city park course. The course had a little bit of everything from huge open bombers to extremely tight precise holes that required every kind of shot off the tee-pad - hyzers, annys, straight, sidearm, s-turns, overhands, rollers, etc.
- Open, Wooded, Open, Wooded. I loved how Joralemon started in the open for a few holes, then went into the woods for a few holes, and then back into the open, and then back into the woods over and over again throughout the course.
- Perfect Setting. Joralemon was in a very pretty park with beautiful woods, huge rock outcroppings, a swampy area and a large section of manicured grass.
- Good Club Scene. A few weeks after I played the course, Hurricane Sandy felled a tree, crushing a basket (I believe Hole 6). I saw a thread in the forums discussing the damage, and that the club had the basket replaced within about a week… Way to go Joralemon crew.
Cons:
- Middle 9 is Awkwardly Unfair. Holes 10-20 are somewhat awkward in their fairway shape, or having random trees in the middle of fairway, or in simply being too tight. I'm not sure if they were allowed to cut down any trees on that side of the street or what, because a few of the holes needed a little more chainsaw work. It was still fun golf, with fabulous pin positions and what not… but I was left scratching my head on a lot of the tee-pads.
- Hard to Say. Jor-a-le-mon… Jore-a-le-mun… Jore-ah-la-mun… say it with me: Joralemon. (I'm just kidding, it's not really a con).
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I had a blast a Joralemon. It was a beautiful park with a great 27 hole course that offered a challenging mix of holes ranging from extremely wide and long to extremely tight and short. The rock outcroppings used throughout the course added to the beauty, and made for some much more interesting putting situations. I really enjoyed my round at Joralemon; and I'm sure that if you stopped here on a roadtrip, you would too!
My Score: even Par (86)

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Lucky to have J Park!

5+    11/22/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Shreddedcoconut
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course. Excellent Design. Local Club that really cares about maintaining the course. Its got a little bit of everything. Park is mostly just disc golfers so its not busy. There are 28 holes so its got options for 18 and 27. Peaceful and beautiful. Streams and swamps winding throughout. AMAZING rock formations with challenging pin placements. Best of all excellent paver tee boxes!
Cons: Atvs come through occasionally. No trash cans out on the course so pack out all your trash. No dedicated bathroom. ( Porta-potties in the warmer months) Not closer to my house!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Gem at Joralemon

5+    11/12/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that now has concrete pavers on all 28 holes. Great variety of shots
through the park and woods. Nice basket placements make for some putting challenges. Water comes into play on a few holes and some elevation changes and cliffs
puts accuracy at a premium. Signage on all holes and benches are at all holes. The spectacular rock formations make this course phenomenal.
Cons: Porta potties are taken away every November and return in May, no water available.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course. Having 28 holes gives you plenty of options.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Nirvana

5+    8/18/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 28 hole course that plays through the open and wooded sections of a fairly quiet town park.
- Disc golf nirvana - on most days, you show up and all you have to contend with is your discs, the course and your own thoughts - rarely used for anything but golf
- Ample room for parking right near a practice basket and hole #1
- Large kiosk with course map, flyers/info, L&F box and scorecards
- Great variety of settings - Holes 1-9 are mainly in the grassy, open section of the park, but there are some wooded tunnels and well-used trees for obstacles, protection, etc. - holes 10-21 (plus connector hole 12b) are back in a wooded section that is much more technical and provides a challenge mix of length and finesse, all surrounded by huge moss-covered boulders - holes 22-27 are back in the grassy park, but have a few in wooded groves, tunnels and nooks
- Layout variety - play the 27 hole loop or either of the two 18 hole loops (J-west has mostly the open holes and J-east has mostly the wooded holes) - hole 12b acts as a connector for J-west to bring you back to the open area before getting beat up by the woods
- Hole variety:
- the grassy area gives you some chances for open bombs (#4 is a big hyzer bomb, #8 is a long anny, #9 is a straight driving range with a tight tunnel at the end, #26 makes you work around a small patch of trees out in the main landing area) and guarded ace runs (#3 isn't long but has a nice set of trees guarding the pin, #7 is in range, but long grass in front and low-hanging trees make it tough, #22 is fairly open but the pin is tucked in a fairly tight cutout in the treeline)
- the wooded section really forces you to shape your shots through the tight fairways (#10 you need a perfect RHBH anny to get close, #11 needs a smooth flex shot to avoid the trees, boulders and swamp, #13 has a tight window across a valley, #14 needs a precise right-to-left downhill to avoid the swamp, #18 is a tight tunnel with a big, congested, uphill approach awaiting if you make it through, #19 needs a high RHFH to stay pin-high or risk putting from the bottom of a 10-15 foot rock wall)
- Tee signs are new and excellent with details and lengths from the main course designer, who is a certified land surveyor - unique "hole names" add to the charm and personaility of this course
- Tees are new 2'x2' pavers (were not yet installed for many of the previous reviews) that provide a nice solid, even runup and base - they generally allow you equal-elevation room to the side and behind if you have a bigger runup - surrounded by wooden boards and supported by gravel/fine/sand base that has been locked in with water to minimize movement
- Water and/or swamp comes into play as potential OB on maybe 4 holes, but the course itself (trees and natural design) create plenty of places for bad shots to be punished
- Very challenging, which makes a good shot or good round extremely rewarding
- Already mentioned the wooded holes, but the moss-covered boulders create for some visually stunning looks - pin #4 is perched up atop a tiered rock outcrop, like a memorial to the DG gods, pin #11 is perched on a ledge above the swamp, hole #16 is probably my favorite looking hole with the pin peering out from between 2 of the big boulders, hole #20 lets you look from atop the rocks down into a tree-smattered valley with the pin in a litte alcove at the end
- Sign after hole #11 is very clear about where to go to continue with the 27 hole loop or where to go to hit hole #12b and get back to the main park for an 18 hole loop
- The grassy section is regularly mowed by the town parks department
- Wooden planks/boards allow for good footing through the sometimes muddy portions of the woods holes
- Benches/seats at all holes (I think)
- No trash, as the locals take pride in carry-in/carry-out, or just plain carry-out whatever you come across
Cons: Not much, but a few things worth mentioning:
- I'm partial to Innova baskets with the highly visible band - many baskets, including here, that are set in wooded areas are hard to see
- if you have the course map with you, you should be fine, but navigation from one hole to the next isn't 100% clear in a few spots - many holes have "next tee signs", but a few don't - while there isn't really anywhere else to go, there's no real clear indication that you need to cross the road to get from 9 to 10
- While the open holes are fun, a couple of them really don't punish you for bad shots (admittedly, I'm biased towards wooded courses/holes) - holes #8 and 9 come to mind where you could be 100' left of your target and still have clean, easy approach to the basket
- On the few occasions where DG isn't the only thing going on, the most frequent visitors are from dirt bikes/ATVs that can be loud/distracting and can get in your way on holes, 1, 4, 5 and 6
- Comes with the territory, but some parts of the wooded area can get muddy, but luckily it's mostly on the walk between holes and not in fairways/greens - the planeks/boards mentioned above help combat this
- To me (and maybe I just haven't yet found a consistent option), hole #17 is kind of a crapshoot - your drive heads right for the wall of trees and you just hope you miss them (or most of them)
Other Thoughts: - Pavillion at hole #1 for tourney central, weather protection, etc.
- Check yourself for ticks when you get home
- Only 1 official tee position, but some locals have installed/played unofficial short tees (marked by hard-to-find bricks in the ground) that may become more used/official later

This course really is top-notch. I've only been playing for a couple years and have played a relatively small # of course (20 at this time), but I've made sure I play top-rated ones and J-Park stands up to them all. I'm proud to have assisted in the installation of the new tees at this amazing course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 It rocked me!

1    9/17/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 hole course set in an out of the way park. Each hole has a very nice, grippy, paving stone tee pad and excellent basket. Signs at each hole show line, obstacles and distance.

Navigation is aided throughout with arrows and carved wooden objects on many of the trees. Different colors are used, and catch the eye well. I had no problems finding my way around even without a map.

Excellent variety. There are not only many different types of shots needed here, there is several different landscapes and hole designs. The first 9 holes play in a typical park setting. You throw through open fields and mature trees, usually ending at a basket position tucked into the woods, or lodged on a rocky outcropping. Nothing too fancy, just good disc golf shots. When you cross the road to hole 10 you enter a totally different world. There you get tight wooded lines, some ups and downs, and tons of baskets perched on or between very cool rock formations and boulders. When you get to hole 22 you re-enter the nice park setting and leave the heavily wooded, rocky alternate universe. There is also an option of playing simply an 18 hole loop and skipping some of the heavily wooded holes. Blasphemy I say!!

Throughout the course there are open 500' plus holes and tight wooded ace runs around 200'. There are sweeping hyzer lines, and butt puckering tight tunnels. And always there are baskets placed near trees or rocks. Greens are all very fair, but there is constant risk reward shots on drives that can reach the basket, or approaches. This is simply a fun course to play. Not overly punishing, but enough challenge to test anyone.
Cons: A few holes have some pretty tight bordering on unfair ways. If heavily wooded fairways bother you consider playing the 18 hole loop to avoid some trees.

Basket visibility is difficult. Most are tucked in woods or near rocks, and they blend in pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Damn, I enjoyed this course a lot. During the first 9 holes I was wondering why people get so excited about it. And after playing the middle section I simply wanted more, more, more. The last few holes were a little bit of a let down for me. I really enjoy the woods, rocks and abuse the middle section dishes out. It is reminiscent of Devens, Hyzer Creek, Sugaree or Fox Chase if you've played any of them.

This course has a lot to offer. If you enjoy open air golf 1-9 and 22-27 will keep you happy. If you like tight lines, some small hills and lots of rock-laden basket positions then 10-21 will put a smile on your face. The only things this course really lacks are extreme elevation changes, and tough water carries. Everything else is here to enjoy.

Parts of the middle section play in some low-lying areas. Nice bridges and walk ways are in place, but during high water it looks like it could get buggy and swampy. Last year when I tried to play here it was flooded pretty bad, and I had to play elsewhere. Try to check conditions if you are heading here in Spring or during a really wet year. Right now it is about perfect.

Play here. It is definitely worth a stop. And it is definitely one of the top courses in New York.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Treasure

5+    6/30/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Jlatter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very Well maintained, not crowded, pavers on every hole but one, benches on every hole, Very Scenic in the woods.
Cons: Bugs
Other Thoughts: Love this course I can't wait to play it in fall and winter, I am sure it has a totally different feel.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant stop in NY

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: billcoke
Played: 56  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course in great shape, must have a dedicated team of people that care for the course. I didn't have a map but was easily able to navigate the 18 hole layout my first time today.
I think that the woods holes that start at hole 10 are far tougher and more scenic. I didn't have time to play all the woods holes but 10, 11, & 12b were very interesting. The other holes in the 18 hole layout were enjoyable to play.
Cons: Although the holes as well thought out and present different challenges they do tend to run right up to each other and present the problem of overthrows clipping someone on another tee/basket.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a great course for a beginner to advanced player but could see a pro not being challenged.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Large Tees
2. Mixture of wooded and open holes
3. Picture perfect landscapes
4. Maps included distance, par, and map
5. Will cause you to throw every disc and throw that you have in your bag
Cons: 1. BUGGY
2. Can be difficult to navigate from hole to hole
3. Baskets when visible were still difficult to spot from the tees.
Other Thoughts: I was only able to play 19 holes of this course because it started to thunderstorm. However with that being said I know that this is definitely a course I want to visit again. Each hole provided a new layout and therefore a new challenge. I was glad to see a map, lost disc trap, trashcans, and a porta-potty at the beginning of the course. These holes are very long and will force you to throw as far as you can. This park appears to be very well maintained. We did have a couple dirt bikers ride by us through the course which was a bit strange. Benches were also available at every hole. Would never play this course again without bug spray. Wooded holes provide just the right amount of space to throw to make it challenging but at the same time not overwhelming. I was chased by all kinds of huge, flying, black, biting bugs. To recap, this is a great course for those that have been playing a while as well as for those who are just starting out. Course provides a good challenge without being too ridiculously difficult. Beautiful landscape. Located in a nice park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo Much Fun!!

2-4    6/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a huge variety not only in holes but also in layouts. You have 28 different holes which can be played in a 27 hole configuration and two different 18 hole loops. There is a great amount of OB used which makes some rather boring holes interesting and some really good holes great. Even though you don't throw over any water it still comes into play on several holes. There are multiple ace runs and several long hyzer bombs. Every tee is marked with good signs denoting what hole it is for each different layout. The plethora of next tee signs also makes navigation a breeze. There is a lot this course has to offer with holes all in the woods, holes that start in the open and finish in the woods, holes that start in the woods and finish on the open, holes that start in the woods play into the open and finish in the woods, and several all open shots.

The woods are nice and clean and the grass is all relatively short. This course is loved by someone! Maps and scorecards are available in a kiosk near the first tee. There are multiple porta potties and they are pretty clean. There is a warm up basket near the pavilion and benches and trash cans rampant throughout. There are also plenty of sports fields and a tennis court on site also.
Cons: There is multiple criss cross of holes that might get you turned around if not paying attention. The walkways in between holes also cross over. There are multiple holes that start or finish very close to the road. The size of the tee pads could be changed to make them wider in most cases and and longer on a few holes. There are also multiple pads that need leveling as rocks and sticks are protruding. With all the information the tee sign can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course to play in New York so far and in my top 5 overall.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

starr of the trip

1    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
10 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played J-park during an 8 course roadtrip of fantastic courses in PA,VT & NY. My method of rating new courses is to rate each hole as I play and write it on the scorecard.
5- are epic holes-well designed, challenging with one or more natural features that make it a memorable hole.
4-excellent-well designed and aesthetically pleasing with a feature that separates it from the pack.
3-solid but nothing extraordinary
2-filler
1-bad
0-really bad
The biggest "pro" of Joralemon is the quailty of the holes. Using this rating system, J-park has an astounding 17 epic (5rated holes) and 10 excellent (4 rated holes). We did not play 12b. The score averaged back to 18 holes is 83.3 which is the highest to date. So, if aethestics and natural beauty is your thing, this course is right at the top.
The run of holes across Starr road (10-18) are simply the best nine holes I could ever hope to play.
Phenomenal.
Cons: You may need to print a map or make a sketch of the one at the kiosk.

10 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.