Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #19 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Nice Course!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: DiscFun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was our first time playing on official course so totally a beginner. We were on vacation in NY. Now I think we are spoiled; what a beautiful course! Very scenic with the rock formations, wooded areas and wide open spaces.

Loved that there were benches at everyhole to rest and relax! Nice touch.

Discs were going everywhere but had no problems finding them! Not crowded which was nice also.

Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second round couple days later!
Cons: Couple things; first navigating around was a bit tricky and had to ask next hole location from others playing that were familiar with the course. Especially the hole by the creek, paper sign was about washed away & finally figured out after 25min we needed to go accross the road. That was a bit frustrating. Vinyl signs are not that expensive.

Bring water because there aren't any fountains & it's quite a bit of walking.

Last thing which didn't see anyone else mention is lookout for the huge wasp mound near hole one! These large wasps (alot of them) in holes in the mound itself and are very active!!! Be careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall give this course two thumbs up!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There is a lot of variety throughout the 18 hole loop that I played. There are some opportunities to throw big bombs as well as some tight wooded finesse holes that test your line shaping ability.

There is a nice big field by the first tee that is great for warm-up and practice throws.

Nice proximity to the I-87 makes it easy to get to if you're just passing through (as I was).

Low tech signs at each hole show all the needed information. Shape, obstacles, distance and even clever names are shown at each tee.
Cons: I had a lot of trouble with navigation on this course. The layout is not particularly intuitive and the next tee signage is not particularly helpful. I spent quite a bit of time wandering around trying to figure out where the next hole was. In particular, going from 9 to ten across the road and then 12B to 13 back across was very confusing.

No trash cans on the course. Be prepared to pack it out.

The gravel tee pads seem particularly susceptible to puddling. It rained briefly when I first arrived and a few puddles had already started to form. With more significant rain most would've been muddy with quite a bit of standing water.
Other Thoughts: Note that this review is based only on the 18 hole loop rather than the alternate 27-hole layout. Due to the high heat and humidity when I played, I had to cut my round short.

This is a great road trip stop because of it's proximity to I-87. I had some extra time while driving through the area and was at the course maybe five minutes after getting off the highway.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winner of the "Most Photogenic Course Award"

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Possibly the most aesthetically pleasing course around, the rolling hills and use of mossy rocks made for numerous interesting and attractive holes that could not be duplicated anywhere else.
Great variety in elevation, ceiling height, left and right holes, and distances with many risk vs. reward opportunities.
Long Gravel tee pads with nice colored tee signs as well as signs leading to most of the next baskets to assist with navigation and flow. The people I played with loved the unique signs to guide you to the next hole.
Porto-potties on site.
Benches or large rocks to sit on at nearly every hole.
Playground for the kids and a large picnic area
Kiosk with map on it and a mail box with score card for 18. I like that they have an option to play 18 or 27 (which is not just 1-18)
Practice Basket
Cons: Very few cons. The amount of trees can cause some frustration if you are not on your game.
Only 1 tee pad and basket position, but there are 27 different holes, so you can change up what 18 you play.
Small chance of disc loss on some holes.
Practice basket was labeled #1 and caused confusion
Other Thoughts: This is a solid challenging course with out being insanely frustrating for new players or too easy for advanced players.
The terrain is kind of rough and the holes are a little too challenging for young kids. Do not plan on bringing a wheeled cooler, stroller, or push cart.
There are so many great photo opportunities, if you want to bring a camera. It's hard to justify adding this course to a day trip since it is nearly 30 miles from any other course and basically in the middle of no where, but it is worth the stop if you can make it, you will not be disappointed!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 All I can say is wow

1    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of this course is very nice you can pay it as an 18 hole course or a 27 hole course I must say i played all 27 and it was such a wonderful course. Signs on every hole and every hole has a name too which is a cool little touch that most courses dont do.
Cons: The course is very out of the way of everything altho well worth the trip. A few of the holes are a little hard to find for first time players but for the most very good flow. I had the opportunity to play with someone who has played that course before which make it a little easier.
Other Thoughts: There is a part in this course where you have to go across the street that I would not have known to go to with out some one with me. The back is well worth to play the back part I think it is the best part of the course. The back takes you through the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fulfilling its Destiny

1    7/1/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • 27 holes with a fine balance of open/wooded holes and right/left/straight shots necessitating diversity of throws
• signage at every natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pad
• challenging and thoughtful pin placements
• elevation incorporated ingeniously
• baskets in good condition
• Some creative directional arrows pointing to next tee location
• low disc loss possibility…even on holes with water hazards
• woods holes across the street logically progress in intricacy, length & variety and are some of the most enjoyable I've ever played
• design allows you to 'custom play' so you aren't locked in to playing all 27 holes if you don't want to (for example, there's a 12a hole that allows players to skip the remaining woods holes and continue across the street finishing up with 22-27 for a total of 18 holes)
• beautiful boulder/rock formations throughout the course
• Secluded, quiet, peaceful
• port-a-pots, pavilion w/picnic tables in park
Cons: • Natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pads - some of which can be inconsistent; my lead foot slipped on a couple drives even though I didn't use a run up. I self corrected by being more mindful/careful at certain tees.
• First timers should bring a map! The flow is a little odd at times as some tees/pins are close to each other or are on the way to/between walks to others (for example #2's pin and subsequent walk to #3 is right by 25's pin; walk from #3 pin to #4 tee goes right by 25's tee and 24's pin).
• A few of the holes feel like 'transitions' - however if the parks dept. lets you install 27 holes, you do the best with what you're given.
• No water available so plan well and bring plenty since its 27 holes
Other Thoughts: The front nine are mostly open and either start or finish under tree cover. They're a decent test of power (5 holes over 300ft with the remainder being no less than 255ft) but more importantly require approach accuracy with pins being either tree protected, elevated, near the creek or snuggled within gaps at the woods edge.

The wooded holes across the street (#10-21) are simply amazing - not only from an enjoyment & design perspective but aesthetically. It's as if the thousands of years of evolution it took to create this place has fulfilled its destiny as a disc golf course (I'm actually surprised the parks dept. let them use such a pristine area). These are some well conceived technical holes with plentiful elevation changes, mature tree-lined fairways, boulders/rocks as obstacles and some fantastic pin placements utilizing the surrounding terrain resourcefully.

The final holes (22-27) are a return to the general area where the front 9 are located and have similar characteristics. Not surprisingly, these holes don't quite have the 'wow' factor as the woods holes and pretty much end the round gently as if the wind was let out of the sail.

This is a pleasant place to play offering sufficient challenge for experienced players but providing enough flexibility and diversity to attract those who aren't as skilled. Definitely a must play if in or around the greater region.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 J-Park

5+    1/10/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Albany area does not have a variety of courses to choose from. However, they are very lucky to have this 28 hole gem at Joralemon Park. The course has so many different types of holes to challenge all golfers. The 1st hole will test your rolling skills, if you have them, or you will have to throw a low laser because of all the branches which creates a ceiling like effect. The 4th hole has a cool elevated pin placement on large rocks which will create some challenging puts. The 9th hole with its wide open fairway will give you the opportunity to show off your power and then with its tricky pin placement next to fast moving creek you need to be very accurate with your second shot. The first 9 holes are mostly open fairway (besides 3) that will test your power and accuracy. Starting at hole 10 it almost turns into a different course when you enter the woods. If you do not like wooded holes play hole 12b which will take you back out to the mostly open fairways. You will skip the mostly wooded area but still be able to play 18 holes. If you want to play 27 holes play hole 12a and hope you can keep your drives straight on your live to avoid all of the trees. I have never played a course with such a large number of quality holes. Hats off to Kevin and all the Disc Cappers who made this course possible.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a spot where scores cards were available. The layout is not a problem for me because of the amount of times I have played this course but I can see how it would be confusing for first time players. This is also a challenging course which is great for "good" players but when I bring people out for the first time they get discouraged very quickly. A different set of tee boxes or pin placements would help make it friendlier for newbies. The signage is not bad but there is definitely some room for improvement. It is hard to say too many cons because they are still working on finalizing the new holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course that should challenge even the best golfers. The land and layout is great. Some of the little things like signs and tee pads will constantly get better as there is an extremely dedicate group of disc golfers that maintain and update this course. If you are looking for more information about Joralemon Park you can view the forums where you can find info about tourneys, doubles, or anything else you could possibly want to know about J-Park. http://www.hyzercreek.com/for...forum.php?f=6

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 dum de dum de... WOW!!

2-4    11/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well laid-out, with lots of thought to pin placements. It makes fantastic use of natural features and terrain. It almost feels like this park is built for disc golf, with the tennis court and kid's playground an afterthought. Some of the holes - especially on the new woods holes across the street - are truly amazing; you can't believe that they got the hole in there, but they did - and it's marvelous.
Cons: There are no amenities at all - bathroom, water, etc. The signage, while there, tends to be small. Unobtrusive, is a good word. Without a map, a first-timer would undoubtedly get lost a couple of times (I did). While there is a kiosk with some information - including a large map of the old layout - there is no information on the new layout except online. Some new course maps with scorecards would be great.

The course plays around some great, well-groomed fairways that are very likely busy with families during prime times; when I went it was empty, but still something to consider. Signage warning non-golfers that they were in/near a disc golf course would be an excellent idea; holes #2, #4, and #17/26 all go very close to areas that are likely multi-use. A spotter would be an excellent idea when other people were around.
Other Thoughts: My first thoughts as I played this course were along the lines of "okay, this is pretty nice. Nothing fancy, but pretty nice."

Then, you get to hole #3 - which uses two big rock outcroppings as a natural dogleg fairway... hole #4, with the basket up on a big rock... hole #9 - a big D hole with a teeny, tiny gap to shoot at the end... "Okay, this is pretty f#ckin' cool. Good mix, some big D, real mix of shots required... Really nice."

Then, the course crosses the street and goes into the woods.

Two words: Holy Crap.

If you only have time or stamina for 18 holes, you're totally missing out. The woods holes are super technical, with truly imaginative pin placements; only a couple big D holes, the woods section requires finesse and really picking a line. It's new, so getting around is iffy in spots; however, there are signs and arrows and the trails between holes are bedding in. Even thought it was my first time through, I had very little problem with finding my way.

Back onto the park side, you get a break with a couple of nice ace opportunities, then the course winds around with a chance for some big air just before the end.

Cons aside, this course is on my favorites and will remain there. The woods section really impressed me, and gives this course 4.5 stars even with no amenities. With a bathroom, a water station, and some better signage it would truly be five-star.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

1    10/17/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My cell phone does not work there! Seriously this course is very beautiful. So much variety. long open holes, lots of woods, elevation. 27 holes to play. The 12 holes on "the other side of the road" are amazing with the huge rocks and elevation changes.
Cons: The woods hols are still a work in progress, but they are very playable.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Jurassic Joralemon

1    10/19/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a remote location,Joralemon Park, in an out of the way town, Coeymans, NY, and with 28 spread out holes over primarily disc golf territory your not ever gonna have to deal with crowds. This course though, at this writing, lacking in yuppie amenities does not need them as the disc golf here is so strong. The course has open big air shots, tricky approaches, fast greens, low ceiling rollers, short holes, long holes, deep woods holes, flat, rolling, uphill and downhill holes. The front 9 play flat and semi-open but theres a lot to keep you interested. Not a bad hole in this bunch as you play over well mowed lawns, near a stream and below and between beautiful park trees. Holes 4 and 9 provide some big arm fun as well as interesting approaches,#4 to the top of a boulder ridge after a long sweeping drive 460' past some sycamores and #9 a huge 567' couple of drives and then negotiating a tight doorway into the woods with a pretty green with a stream nearby. Then you cross a bridge and go to the other side of Starr Rd. This is where the magic starts. Holes 10-21 are some wonderful pure disc golf holes through a rolling forrest laden with huge boulders and old trees. Fairways not only meander up and down these old woods they are weaving between massive trees and carving immense boulders that form obstacles as well as fairways. The holes start out as clever technicical fun shots and then begin to get longer and more epic as you get closer to finishing with the woods on #21. Old mountain woods so not a lot of thorns or shule to punish you off the fairways. Your score will get hurt but you won't get scratched or frustrated by lost discs too much here. After 21 you cross back over STarr Rd. and back to the more traditional park atmosphere. Hole #22 is a nice breather, open ace run, after the woods. Hole #25 is a lovely fairway with low canopy. #26 enables you to air it out one last time 553' before finishing on the R turning low ceiling #27. There seems to be an active club making gradual upgrades here and the few locals I encountered were friendly helping me to find a disc hiding in some leaves. I can't say enough about the variety here...the perfect tournament course as it is spread out with 11 deep woods holes, a slew of more open holes, a sprinkling of rollers and no L/R advantage. I can't say enough on the premium disc golf here and the enjoyable peaceful atmosphere. The holes on the other side of Starr Rd' elevate this course to amongst the best I have played. Just a beautiful round.
Cons: The basic amenities that many require for perfection are not here. Gravel/natural tees. Attempts are in place to aid navigation but it was still tricky for a first timer and tee signs are not always present. Could use a few more places to sit out in the woods as your really hiking up and down hills out there. In the woods a few of the fairways could be improved if the SMALLER trees/branches were tamed a bit.....nothing drastic just a little pruning or taking out a few to better define greens and/or fairway.....this usually happens as a course matures though so it didn't bother me. There was some local riding his dirtbike all over the place which was a bit weird...but thats part of the character of out of the way America...I only mention it because I see others have remarked on this as well and it might be a pattern. The disc golf and fun play of this course really make up for any of these inconsequential gripes and all of these most likely will be rectified in time I am sure. It's just nice to play a course that was obviously designed by people who play the sport and understand what makes a fun course. Finishing 6 holes are wonderful but seemed really bland after all that fun in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I notice that many of the reviews for this course are set prior to the expansion across Starr Rd. Those 12 holes over there really blew me away so I am sure the rating for this course should be higher. After hole 11 you have a choice to play the more epic woods or finish with the final 6 holes of the course....you just have to decide to play 12A or 12..it is clearly marked but if you don't have the stamina or your with children etc....playing the longer wooded 27 could be a grind as your really out in the woods and not near the lot for the rest of the day.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant and quiet

2-4    9/5/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 28 holes with an option for an 18 hole loop. Great variety and creative pin placements make this course a real pleasure to play. I met some friendly locals that showed me around and were fun to play with. Beautiful natural setting with large boulders and plenty of wildlife as well as rare plants and flowers. Informative signs on most holes. Park has picnic tables, portable restrooms and playground.
Cons: The wooded holes towards the middle of the layout are new and need some clearing. Navigation would be extremely difficult without updated map. Bring lots of water because there is nowhere to fill up a bottle, and no stores for miles.
Other Thoughts: Check out the cave and the old stonework in the woods! This area is rich in history and it shows.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center