Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Proud Locals and Rightly So!

2-4    9/29/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting for disc golf with a good mix of fields and rocky woods. Pin placements are well devised, often placed with tree protection or on rock outcroppings with steep edges. The locals are very friendly and gave me the full tour (they are quite proud of their course). The signs (though not fancy) on each tee are very helpful with the layout and yardage for each hole. Also, they have placed arrows on many of the trees directing you to the next tee box. This course was quite enjoyable!
Cons: Tee pads are gravel, but you've gotta cut them some slack- they have had to change many things here, of recent. Hopefully they will pour concrete in the future.
Other Thoughts: They recently have changed the course to include another 9 holes - but it's great that you can easily do a shorter 18 hole loop that diverts at 12b and let's you finish with 22-27.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 J-Park Rocks

5+    3/31/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 unique holes that all require different throws. Although a strong arm helps on a few holes (#4,6,7,12), you need a wide variety finesse shots to survive the rest. Fantastic use of the woods and rock outcroppings. Disc golf is new to Albany so the course is usually not crowded. The town does a decent job keeping the fairways mowed and the local club keeps the woods clean. The local club is also dedicated to keeping the tees snow free during the winter months.

I learned to play on this course over the past 3 years. When I travel to other courses, I find them easy because Joralemon has forced me to learn many shots, get creative, and look for clear shots from many angles.

Water: comes into play on holes 5 and the newly designed 15 (April 2009).

Low Ceilings: hole 3, 11 require low long throws. many call this a con- i call it a challenge.

You can see the Pin from every tee box (except 4 and 14).
Cons: Topography: Kevin, Tim and Greg incorporated every possible vertical up and down possible from the land. While there is some vertical, it is not a mountain course.

Length: hole 4 could be considered a par 4; the new hole 12 (April 2009) is apar 4. I would like to see another 1 or 2 par 4's.

Need better next tee signage between hles 2 and 3. #3 tee box is ntext to the road.

First time players confuse Pin #1 for Pin #14. Pin #14 is a hard dogleg right after you come out of the woods.

Location: it is not close enough to my house.

Many ticks that contain Lyme. Check yourself when you get home.
Other Thoughts: A great course supported by a dedicated local club. If you are in the area, you should take the time to stop by. Approximately 15 minutes off I-87 Exit 22.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Field Disadvantage

5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Mike Nuchins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of varied holes, long open fairways to tight wooded shorts where a shanked drive spells doom. Well guarded pins. Benches at most holes. Large Pavilion in the center of the park for meeting up or picnicing. Beautiful layout during all seasons. Friendly, knowledgeable group of local players committed to the upkeep and improvement of the course. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Tee pads are ice magnets in winter, mud puddles in summer, though this is scheduled to change. Dirt Bikes/ATVs/Snowmobiles a constant annoyance. More trash cans would be nice. Port-a-potties removed in winter months.
Other Thoughts: This course beats me every time I play it. As a rookie I've been playing this course for close to a year, as it is the closest to my hometown of Albany, NY. Despite the fact that it gets the best of me quite often, I love this course. Locals have also come up with a "Safari" 9 hole course, all par 4, as follows:
#1) tee 1 to hole 14
#2) tee 2 to hole 11
#3) tee 3 to hole 10
#4) tee 4 to hole 5
#5) tee 6 to hole 9
#6) tee 7 to hole 8
#7) tee 8 to hole 2
#8) tee 12 to hole 13
#9) tee 14 to hole 1

A nice change from the regular 18 hole course, or a good 27 hole day...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Well Rounded Course

5+    1/1/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: walker
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes. Designed well. Good flow. Shared park, but not too much traffic other then DG'ers. Pavilion. Tees are better then most courses. Good signage and trails. The local club continually seeks to improve the course, and add alternate tees and pins.
Cons: Dirtbikers like to tear up the fairways. Out in the boondocks, but still closer to civilization then many courses. Not too much elevation, no real water shots.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned (and still am) to play. Very friendly to beginners, yet still challenging to the seasoned players. The biggest pro here is the varied design. J-park has holes for lefties, righties, hyzer, anhy, rollers, thumbers, s-shots, turbo putts, you name it. Grassy holes, lightly wooded, and heavily wooded. Each hole flows nicely into the next, without 'repeated' holes. I like the DB5's, especially with the inner chains.

Many holes are ace-able, (not easily though) as of now, 6 of them have been.

Cement pads would improve my rating. Given what is there to work with, it is nearly the best course it can be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My eastern favorite !

5+    6/5/2010   1/2/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A 27 hole gem hidden in an area with few courses. You're in for a treat if you play the full course. Everything from open, grassy fairways and narrow wooded ones are here. Two different 18-hole layout are also available is you're pressed for time. Most tees are a fine gravel material and have benches. Porto-johns near the parking area are well mainatined and only taken out for winter.
The DisCap club is responsible for most all upkeep.
Cons: Still a few holes missing tee signs and some extra arrows to find the next tee would help.
Other Thoughts: Local club website is http://discap.net

For the J-West 18 loop, play 1 thru 11 then hang a left down the trail to play the 12b connector hole, then cross the street and play 22 thru 27.
For the J-East 18, play 4, 5 then 9 thru 24.

Note to all the review critics...... I gave this a 5-disc rating because it's the best i've played to date IN MY OPINION.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Tough Course

1    10/17/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous setting. Very well marked with benches at most tees and signage at all. Nice tee boxes for most and markers to next tee. A nice mix of open and wooded shots with some unique pin placements on rocky outcrops.
Cons: Couple of holes unclear for first timers even with map. Threw from tee 6 to pin 8, and from tee 14 to pin 1 even with the map (which is very nice). Some dangerous footing because of carpet of leaves in October.
Other Thoughts: This was a fabulous course right off the bat. A possible signature hole at # 3 with slight right down a boulder and tree strwen alley. Another one right away at # 4 - driving across a field to a craggy outcrop of a pin which you will regret if you overshoot. But for me the true signature hole is the downright frightening # 15 through thick woods (but skinny trees) over an outcrop to a varely visible pin. # 8 and # 9 both offer possible birdie attempts. I suspect that his course playes much differently in the spring time and summer than it does in fall and winter - lots of trees. I will try to get here every time i'm in Albany area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

2-4    7/31/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of some open holes and some technical wooded holes. Alot of different shots are required and no holes have a sense of being repeated. I like how some of the holes have the basket elevated and placed atop the rock outcrops which makes the course unique and gives the course its own identity. Pavillion. Good flow from hole to hole and I didn't find it very hard to navigate my first time without a map. The course has a little bit of everything. Excellent pin placements.
Cons: Hole 18 is my nemesis. I get off the fairway and ruin my round every time. I would like to see cement tees. Not much else really without nitpicking, the course is very good.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play and very challenging, i wish i lived closer, i'd be there all the time! Definately worth your time. I haven't been back since they added the new holes, but I'm sure they are just as good as the original 18.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners and pros alike

5+    8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with fantastic mix of technical wooded holes and fun open holes. There are holes here for everybody. Whether your favorite shot is a roller, forehand, backhand, or overhand there are holes at J-Park for you.

Updated Pros: The new 27 hole option raises this course to new stratosphere. In the summer of 2009 Discap learned that they would be loosing holes 14-18 due to environmental concerns. Course founder Kevin Rounds was able to take this news and convert if from (Jora)lemons to (Jora)lemonade by petitioning the town to fund relocation and expansion into the eastern half of the park. The Discap crew has done yeomens work forging the new holes have been rewarded with one of the best courses in the region.
Cons: Only cons are gravel tee-pads, DB-5 baskets, and port-a-jons. None of which detracts from my enjoyment of this course at all. In fact the gravel pads are better then some rubber ones I've played and the DB-5s are in very good shape. When these 3 things are upgraded I will give this course a 5.

Updated Cons: DB-5 baskets have been improved with new inner chains since I my original review. The Frankenstein DB-5 with DGA # plates and added chains are still not ideal but they are a great economical option. The gravel tees on the new holes are still a work in progress. During wet months bugs will be an issue in the new areas, bring some heavy duty spray. With the loss of the old holes flow is not as good as it once was. The course could benefit from the holes being renumbered but this would mean changes to holes 1 and 27 which are great the way they are. It would be great if the town would allow the re-establishment of the old hole 18 as this would be a perfect transition between current holes 1 and 27.
Other Thoughts: This course could not have been done any better with the resources that were available. Its a ton of fun and every time I play it I feel like I have improved my game. I love that bad throws here can really punish your score without causing you to spend a ton of time searching for plastic (or on-line buying new plastic).

My favorite hole is 4. A 460 foot dog leg left with the pin tucked into the woods atop a large rock formation.

Updated favorite hole is 11. The hole plays slightly left to right 350'+ with a algae carpeted swamp to the right. The green is framed beautifully requiring you to throw between or around two massive, compact car sized boulders.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

3/21/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: bizzydizzle13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is challenging in the right ways! It doesn't take a super strong arm to perform well here. Although, there are holes where a long drive can be very rewarding. Well placed shots are invaluable at Joralemon.
Cons: Because the course is located at a public park, it can't be groomed like some players (myself mostly) would like it to be. There seems to be a number of low hanging branches that could further open up the fairways and allow for even more spectacular shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is maticulously maintained. It is protected by the shade of the woods. Each hole has a look and character to it that make it unique.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Even fun in the snow

1    12/23/2007   12/23/2007
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just the right length for me. Lots of 250-310 foot holes. Great use of the rocks. Many holes have alternate paths and tricky decisions. Good mix of open and wooded. Signs are excellent.
Cons: Last four holes are too similar. Hole 13 seems unfair with no clear path to basket. Tee boxes not finished, could use more benches, etc.
**** The final holes that I was complaining about have been removed, and the course is now 27 holes. Can't wait to play it again soon!!! ****
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to come back in the spring. The final holes might be tougher with more foliage.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.