Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee Sign



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Jurassic Joralemon

1    10/19/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a remote location,Joralemon Park, in an out of the way town, Coeymans, NY, and with 28 spread out holes over primarily disc golf territory your not ever gonna have to deal with crowds. This course though, at this writing, lacking in yuppie amenities does not need them as the disc golf here is so strong. The course has open big air shots, tricky approaches, fast greens, low ceiling rollers, short holes, long holes, deep woods holes, flat, rolling, uphill and downhill holes. The front 9 play flat and semi-open but theres a lot to keep you interested. Not a bad hole in this bunch as you play over well mowed lawns, near a stream and below and between beautiful park trees. Holes 4 and 9 provide some big arm fun as well as interesting approaches,#4 to the top of a boulder ridge after a long sweeping drive 460' past some sycamores and #9 a huge 567' couple of drives and then negotiating a tight doorway into the woods with a pretty green with a stream nearby. Then you cross a bridge and go to the other side of Starr Rd. This is where the magic starts. Holes 10-21 are some wonderful pure disc golf holes through a rolling forrest laden with huge boulders and old trees. Fairways not only meander up and down these old woods they are weaving between massive trees and carving immense boulders that form obstacles as well as fairways. The holes start out as clever technicical fun shots and then begin to get longer and more epic as you get closer to finishing with the woods on #21. Old mountain woods so not a lot of thorns or shule to punish you off the fairways. Your score will get hurt but you won't get scratched or frustrated by lost discs too much here. After 21 you cross back over STarr Rd. and back to the more traditional park atmosphere. Hole #22 is a nice breather, open ace run, after the woods. Hole #25 is a lovely fairway with low canopy. #26 enables you to air it out one last time 553' before finishing on the R turning low ceiling #27. There seems to be an active club making gradual upgrades here and the few locals I encountered were friendly helping me to find a disc hiding in some leaves. I can't say enough about the variety here...the perfect tournament course as it is spread out with 11 deep woods holes, a slew of more open holes, a sprinkling of rollers and no L/R advantage. I can't say enough on the premium disc golf here and the enjoyable peaceful atmosphere. The holes on the other side of Starr Rd' elevate this course to amongst the best I have played. Just a beautiful round.
Cons: The basic amenities that many require for perfection are not here. Gravel/natural tees. Attempts are in place to aid navigation but it was still tricky for a first timer and tee signs are not always present. Could use a few more places to sit out in the woods as your really hiking up and down hills out there. In the woods a few of the fairways could be improved if the SMALLER trees/branches were tamed a bit.....nothing drastic just a little pruning or taking out a few to better define greens and/or fairway.....this usually happens as a course matures though so it didn't bother me. There was some local riding his dirtbike all over the place which was a bit weird...but thats part of the character of out of the way America...I only mention it because I see others have remarked on this as well and it might be a pattern. The disc golf and fun play of this course really make up for any of these inconsequential gripes and all of these most likely will be rectified in time I am sure. It's just nice to play a course that was obviously designed by people who play the sport and understand what makes a fun course. Finishing 6 holes are wonderful but seemed really bland after all that fun in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I notice that many of the reviews for this course are set prior to the expansion across Starr Rd. Those 12 holes over there really blew me away so I am sure the rating for this course should be higher. After hole 11 you have a choice to play the more epic woods or finish with the final 6 holes of the course....you just have to decide to play 12A or 12..it is clearly marked but if you don't have the stamina or your with children etc....playing the longer wooded 27 could be a grind as your really out in the woods and not near the lot for the rest of the day.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant and quiet

2-4    9/5/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 28 holes with an option for an 18 hole loop. Great variety and creative pin placements make this course a real pleasure to play. I met some friendly locals that showed me around and were fun to play with. Beautiful natural setting with large boulders and plenty of wildlife as well as rare plants and flowers. Informative signs on most holes. Park has picnic tables, portable restrooms and playground.
Cons: The wooded holes towards the middle of the layout are new and need some clearing. Navigation would be extremely difficult without updated map. Bring lots of water because there is nowhere to fill up a bottle, and no stores for miles.
Other Thoughts: Check out the cave and the old stonework in the woods! This area is rich in history and it shows.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Proud Locals and Rightly So!

2-4    9/29/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting for disc golf with a good mix of fields and rocky woods. Pin placements are well devised, often placed with tree protection or on rock outcroppings with steep edges. The locals are very friendly and gave me the full tour (they are quite proud of their course). The signs (though not fancy) on each tee are very helpful with the layout and yardage for each hole. Also, they have placed arrows on many of the trees directing you to the next tee box. This course was quite enjoyable!
Cons: Tee pads are gravel, but you've gotta cut them some slack- they have had to change many things here, of recent. Hopefully they will pour concrete in the future.
Other Thoughts: They recently have changed the course to include another 9 holes - but it's great that you can easily do a shorter 18 hole loop that diverts at 12b and let's you finish with 22-27.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 J-Park Rocks

5+    3/31/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 unique holes that all require different throws. Although a strong arm helps on a few holes (#4,6,7,12), you need a wide variety finesse shots to survive the rest. Fantastic use of the woods and rock outcroppings. Disc golf is new to Albany so the course is usually not crowded. The town does a decent job keeping the fairways mowed and the local club keeps the woods clean. The local club is also dedicated to keeping the tees snow free during the winter months.

I learned to play on this course over the past 3 years. When I travel to other courses, I find them easy because Joralemon has forced me to learn many shots, get creative, and look for clear shots from many angles.

Water: comes into play on holes 5 and the newly designed 15 (April 2009).

Low Ceilings: hole 3, 11 require low long throws. many call this a con- i call it a challenge.

You can see the Pin from every tee box (except 4 and 14).
Cons: Topography: Kevin, Tim and Greg incorporated every possible vertical up and down possible from the land. While there is some vertical, it is not a mountain course.

Length: hole 4 could be considered a par 4; the new hole 12 (April 2009) is apar 4. I would like to see another 1 or 2 par 4's.

Need better next tee signage between hles 2 and 3. #3 tee box is ntext to the road.

First time players confuse Pin #1 for Pin #14. Pin #14 is a hard dogleg right after you come out of the woods.

Location: it is not close enough to my house.

Many ticks that contain Lyme. Check yourself when you get home.
Other Thoughts: A great course supported by a dedicated local club. If you are in the area, you should take the time to stop by. Approximately 15 minutes off I-87 Exit 22.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Field Disadvantage

5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Mike Nuchins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of varied holes, long open fairways to tight wooded shorts where a shanked drive spells doom. Well guarded pins. Benches at most holes. Large Pavilion in the center of the park for meeting up or picnicing. Beautiful layout during all seasons. Friendly, knowledgeable group of local players committed to the upkeep and improvement of the course. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Tee pads are ice magnets in winter, mud puddles in summer, though this is scheduled to change. Dirt Bikes/ATVs/Snowmobiles a constant annoyance. More trash cans would be nice. Port-a-potties removed in winter months.
Other Thoughts: This course beats me every time I play it. As a rookie I've been playing this course for close to a year, as it is the closest to my hometown of Albany, NY. Despite the fact that it gets the best of me quite often, I love this course. Locals have also come up with a "Safari" 9 hole course, all par 4, as follows:
#1) tee 1 to hole 14
#2) tee 2 to hole 11
#3) tee 3 to hole 10
#4) tee 4 to hole 5
#5) tee 6 to hole 9
#6) tee 7 to hole 8
#7) tee 8 to hole 2
#8) tee 12 to hole 13
#9) tee 14 to hole 1

A nice change from the regular 18 hole course, or a good 27 hole day...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Well Rounded Course

5+    1/1/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: walker
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes. Designed well. Good flow. Shared park, but not too much traffic other then DG'ers. Pavilion. Tees are better then most courses. Good signage and trails. The local club continually seeks to improve the course, and add alternate tees and pins.
Cons: Dirtbikers like to tear up the fairways. Out in the boondocks, but still closer to civilization then many courses. Not too much elevation, no real water shots.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned (and still am) to play. Very friendly to beginners, yet still challenging to the seasoned players. The biggest pro here is the varied design. J-park has holes for lefties, righties, hyzer, anhy, rollers, thumbers, s-shots, turbo putts, you name it. Grassy holes, lightly wooded, and heavily wooded. Each hole flows nicely into the next, without 'repeated' holes. I like the DB5's, especially with the inner chains.

Many holes are ace-able, (not easily though) as of now, 6 of them have been.

Cement pads would improve my rating. Given what is there to work with, it is nearly the best course it can be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My eastern favorite !

5+    6/5/2010   1/2/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 86  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 30.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A 27 hole gem hidden in an area with few courses. You're in for a treat if you play the full course. Everything from open, grassy fairways and narrow wooded ones are here. Two different 18-hole layout are also available is you're pressed for time. Most tees are a fine gravel material and have benches. Porto-johns near the parking area are well mainatined and only taken out for winter.
The DisCap club is responsible for most all upkeep.
Cons: Still a few holes missing tee signs and some extra arrows to find the next tee would help.
Other Thoughts: Local club website is http://discap.net

For the J-West 18 loop, play 1 thru 11 then hang a left down the trail to play the 12b connector hole, then cross the street and play 22 thru 27.
For the J-East 18, play 4, 5 then 9 thru 24.

Note to all the review critics...... I gave this a 5-disc rating because it's the best i've played to date IN MY OPINION.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Tough Course

1    10/17/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous setting. Very well marked with benches at most tees and signage at all. Nice tee boxes for most and markers to next tee. A nice mix of open and wooded shots with some unique pin placements on rocky outcrops.
Cons: Couple of holes unclear for first timers even with map. Threw from tee 6 to pin 8, and from tee 14 to pin 1 even with the map (which is very nice). Some dangerous footing because of carpet of leaves in October.
Other Thoughts: This was a fabulous course right off the bat. A possible signature hole at # 3 with slight right down a boulder and tree strwen alley. Another one right away at # 4 - driving across a field to a craggy outcrop of a pin which you will regret if you overshoot. But for me the true signature hole is the downright frightening # 15 through thick woods (but skinny trees) over an outcrop to a varely visible pin. # 8 and # 9 both offer possible birdie attempts. I suspect that his course playes much differently in the spring time and summer than it does in fall and winter - lots of trees. I will try to get here every time i'm in Albany area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

2-4    7/31/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of some open holes and some technical wooded holes. Alot of different shots are required and no holes have a sense of being repeated. I like how some of the holes have the basket elevated and placed atop the rock outcrops which makes the course unique and gives the course its own identity. Pavillion. Good flow from hole to hole and I didn't find it very hard to navigate my first time without a map. The course has a little bit of everything. Excellent pin placements.
Cons: Hole 18 is my nemesis. I get off the fairway and ruin my round every time. I would like to see cement tees. Not much else really without nitpicking, the course is very good.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play and very challenging, i wish i lived closer, i'd be there all the time! Definately worth your time. I haven't been back since they added the new holes, but I'm sure they are just as good as the original 18.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners and pros alike

5+    8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with fantastic mix of technical wooded holes and fun open holes. There are holes here for everybody. Whether your favorite shot is a roller, forehand, backhand, or overhand there are holes at J-Park for you.

Updated Pros: The new 27 hole option raises this course to new stratosphere. In the summer of 2009 Discap learned that they would be loosing holes 14-18 due to environmental concerns. Course founder Kevin Rounds was able to take this news and convert if from (Jora)lemons to (Jora)lemonade by petitioning the town to fund relocation and expansion into the eastern half of the park. The Discap crew has done yeomens work forging the new holes have been rewarded with one of the best courses in the region.
Cons: Only cons are gravel tee-pads, DB-5 baskets, and port-a-jons. None of which detracts from my enjoyment of this course at all. In fact the gravel pads are better then some rubber ones I've played and the DB-5s are in very good shape. When these 3 things are upgraded I will give this course a 5.

Updated Cons: DB-5 baskets have been improved with new inner chains since I my original review. The Frankenstein DB-5 with DGA # plates and added chains are still not ideal but they are a great economical option. The gravel tees on the new holes are still a work in progress. During wet months bugs will be an issue in the new areas, bring some heavy duty spray. With the loss of the old holes flow is not as good as it once was. The course could benefit from the holes being renumbered but this would mean changes to holes 1 and 27 which are great the way they are. It would be great if the town would allow the re-establishment of the old hole 18 as this would be a perfect transition between current holes 1 and 27.
Other Thoughts: This course could not have been done any better with the resources that were available. Its a ton of fun and every time I play it I feel like I have improved my game. I love that bad throws here can really punish your score without causing you to spend a ton of time searching for plastic (or on-line buying new plastic).

My favorite hole is 4. A 460 foot dog leg left with the pin tucked into the woods atop a large rock formation.

Updated favorite hole is 11. The hole plays slightly left to right 350'+ with a algae carpeted swamp to the right. The green is framed beautifully requiring you to throw between or around two massive, compact car sized boulders.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.