Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #21 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Taking the Lemon out of Joralemon

1    8/20/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 28 holes of disc golf at Joralemon Park DGC, I did the 27 hole experience. I guess I should have played 12B for a more complete review, but I have a feeling that hole was as good as any other. The others were good, too. Joralemon Park is vast, and offers the classic wide open grass covered city park style, as well as wooded more natural landscape as well. Both are done well, but I prefer the added challenge and beauty of playing in the woods. The first 9 are the more open variety, and they range just over 250', to over 550' in length. There are enough trees to hide pin locations, and the tees are commonly nestled in clusters of trees as well. The fairway variations kept me from getting that feeling of heavy repetition. I really liked hole 4, a 460' par 4 that hides the basket on a hill in the trees to the left side. The fairway on the Mossy Grotto of 3, and this rocky green on hole 4 gives a small hint of things to come. There is some water in play, like behind the 5th basket, and around the green on hole 9. Hole 10 is across the street, and it introduces you to the wooded middle holes, but 11 brings "Swamp Thing". Giant moss covered boulders, dense woods and moderate elevation changes dominate here through hole 20. I loved this section of Joralemon. Picking favorites isn't easy, 11, 12, 13, 16, 18 and 19 were all great IMHO. It did wreck my scorecard for a run, I was 4 shots over on holes 11-14. I did get a couple shots back with birdies two holes with good nicknames: 16 (Rock and Bowl) and 19 (Heartbreak Ridge). 21 is over 400', along a road leading out of the forrest and back across the street. Hole 22 returns to the park area featuring grass fields and less elevation change. 23 and 24 kind of have elements of park and woods where another pair of boulders rest under a group of thick trees. 23 is called "Pedestal" and the basket is near the giant rocks. 24 is named "Funnel" and the small end is the tee in the trees opening up to the basket in the open end. 25, "the Ceiling" has tree canopy forcing a low, line drive to carry you close to the target. 26 is a nice one that cuts the corner of the tennis courts, and into a pocket in the fringes of the trees. The namesake "Lighthouse" is on the green. 27 is known as "Holy Roller" but I just went with a conventional RHBH drive. I bogeyed, but a roller can't help bad putting. All of the parts on the course were good enough for me. Concrete pavers installed on the tees were level and even. The signs at each one had hole number, distance, map, nickname, and local sponsors. Additional squiggly white arrows pointed transitions from one hole to the next. Another sign gives the directions at the fork in the road, 18 hole loop (using hole 12B), or 27 holes (on to 13).
Cons: Layout might be tough to follow in spots, but printing the map linked to the course page helps a lot. 27 was a nice hole, but it was also home to a bunch of ground bees near the basket. A park staffer was mowing and gave me a heads up. If you see a random tree branch sticking out of the grass, it may be telling you something.
Other Thoughts: There are many good things about the Joralemon Park DGC. Almost any course with holes in addition to the standard 18, is at least a little better. When the extra is added into an area this beautiful, you can't lose. Rating of 4.25 would be my call, but I'll round up to 4.5, because I am bad at math, and 4 seems too low.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

First NY course!

1    8/24/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many of the holes were incorporated into the rocks and the rest of the terrain and made the course both fun and challenging. Baskets were in great shape, course was clean and park looked very well kept. Tee pads were also in great shape and it was not crowded at all for a Saturday morning.

Park was awesome, great greenage and swamps and streams and the bugs werent bad at all, wear bug spray.
Cons: I did have a few cons for this course:

Signage: if a course has poor signage it is a killer for me. I don't want to worry about where to go next, make it easy for me. Worst were between 5 and 6 and 12b-22. 5,6 just put something in the direction of the mulch path, i just assumed to go over the awesome bridge...nope. 12b-22 says go across the road but when you get over there, there is no signs, stick one on the guard rail. Also the squiggly white things on the trees are cool but not helpful. Also hole 4, the tee pad is facing directly out into the wide open field making it seem like the pin is out over the rock wall, but it is way to the left up the rock obstacles and difficult to see. Put a flag on 4 basket to see.

Layout: you throw the same shot frequently. Wide open fair way into a guarded basket. There is SO much land at this park and across the street, make longer, different and unique holes. Also going from 3-4 you have to walk right next to 25? basket. You have a great chance of getting in the way. Like i said so much land that shouldn't be possible.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here and would encourage people to go there and play. There is SO much land for there to be an awesome 18 holes instead of a repetitive 27 or even an awesome 27, the use of the land could be better.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Phish golf weekend

2-4    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of those courses that you will be glad that you played. When you get to Hole 3, you will most likely smile at the beauty of the hole and really begin to enjoy your round. You'll soon be climbing over some rock outcroppings, wandering through some beautiful fields, pass a nice little creek, and most likely will be enjoying your time out here at Joralemon.

It's a great course with lots of variety, with emphasis on being able to throw the various 250-350 foot shots that top golfers should be able to throw. It's one of those courses where you can birdie a lot of the holes, but you will have to be able to execute good shots to do so.

The landscape is phenomenal, the tee pads are great, direction signs are cool, and the holes are enjoyable.
Cons: Being the middle of summer, the biggest issues I saw were a couple of trees that needed some pole-saw work done. Hole 7 I believe in particular?? But at the same time, it was fine as-is.

Hole 8, it would be nice to see the bush near the basket removed, as it is only 5 feet away and covered in poison ivy. Either move the pin 35 feet, or just clear out that cluster of crap and the hole becomes 100 times more enjoyable as it is a beautiful hole that requires a great shot to get your 2.

Mosquitoes in the wooded holes, but not unbearable. I could see them bothering some people.

Other Thoughts: I was in town for the Phish shows and am very glad that I came here to play. I really enjoyed my time here. I ended up playing 54 holes for the weekend, and had a great time.

All of the locals were very friendly. The park was beautiful, and I had a great time. Great course that you guys should be proud of.

Coming from PIttsburgh, 90% of the time, playing a new course can be somewhat dissapointing, but Joralemon did not disappoint. One of those courses that you will remember playing 20 years from now.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

our "home" course

5+    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes of everything, open long shots and plenty of tricky in the woods, hole 16 is my favourie
Cons: nothing really, make sure you check for ticks, if you have played in summer the holes in the woods
Other Thoughts: we live in Saratoga, but the drive is always worth

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Northeast Disc Golf

5+    9/15/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: chainsseeker
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variation of holes. Lots of technical shots. Water hazards, fields, rocky terrain, thin/thick woods.
Easily navigated, signs, nice long concrete pads.
Great use of elevation through the woods.
Cons: Fairways arent very well defined for the most part.
Walking to hole 3 from the 2nd basket (around 25th basket) is kind of strange and confusing.

Hole 2 and Hole 26 have potential for the playground and tennis courts coming into play, particularly with new players/ on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: Never crowded when I have been (usually weekends). Great park, great design, great disc golf!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Joralemon park dgc

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played the twenty seven hole layout and really enjoyed my round at this course. The course itself is relatively short and most of the challenge here is because of tight fairways and the need for accurate drives on many of the holes.

Elevation- elevation was used very well on this course. Almost every hole had some elevation change whether it be slight or dramatic. The elevation was mixed well throughout this course. Longer holes had little elevation change with the exception of a few and the shorter holes were tight with larger elevation changes. This made the course very well balanced so that no ingle hole was an "easy birdie" for the average player.

Variety- most holes had tight gaps that forced straight shots, hyzers or anhyzers. Each hole was unique and had a line different from that of any other hole. Most if not all of the discs in my bag were used during the one round i played here. Distance variety came into play here with the shortest hole being ~200 and the longest hole ~500.

Rock outcroppings- these made for some spectacular basket placement as well as added to the natural beauty of the course. The holes were strategically placed to the point where outcroppings came into play on most of the holes on the blue loop accross the street.

Amenities- large pavillion which could play host to a large tournament. Pavillion appeared to be quite large. Concrete pavers, provided great footing on the teepads and are much better than the natural teepads that are mostly found in this area. Tee signs were accurate and displayed distance and hole location nicely as well as showed the direction of the next tee and the preffered routes to the basket. Navigation was relatively easy to follow and small arrows were nailed to trees where navigation could be a problem.

18 hole loop as well as twenty seven hole loop provides a shorter roundif neccessary, im sure it would be possible to find a combination of nine holes to better suite time constraints this could be done by playin 1-4 and then 23-27

Good mix of open and wooded holes- the open holes compliment the wooded holes nicley most of the open holes are long long and open while most of the wooded holes are short and tight with a few exceptions.
Cons: Course became very tight on holes 10-21 these fairways seemed unfair to your average player

A seasoned pro would find this course quite easy and be able to shoot a score well under par.

1 teepad per hole- although this is not a big problem for out of towners the locals might like a little more variety

Repetitive- some of the woods holes lacked variety, 300ft of tight tunnel to an green strewn with boulders.
Other Thoughts: This was a great stop on the way to vt and would love to be back here on future trips. The ourse is enjoyable and i would definately recommend it for all driving towards vermont or albany because it is not too far off the highway

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Boulder Course

2-4    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Decent mix of wooded and open holes ,Although if you are playing all 27 holes it seems you spend a long time in the woods
- There are tee pads and descriptive signs at every hole
- The holes are linked together in separate loops which allows for different ways to play 18 holes if you do not want to play all 28 holes
- Rocky terrain provides some fun climbing opportunities
- Baskets are nicely placed between boulders
- The park seems well used by picnicers but the course stays out of the way of all the non disc golf users
- This is a heavily wooded course that requires a lot of control. If you can control your disc you can do well even if you cant throw very far.
Cons: - Some more advanced players may not find this course very challenging because there are not any real monster holes. It is more about control.
- There seemed to be a lot of repetitive holes through the woods (In many of the wooded holes the basket is in between two boulders) and none of the holes really stood out to me
- The terrain is awfully rocky and rough and It seems you could sprain an ankle of fall pretty easily if you aren't prepared
Other Thoughts: The main theme of this course seems to be really big boulders which are nice for a few holes but after a while it gets repetitive. I found it pretty exhaustive playing 27 holes so if you live close by and can play this course frequently I would suggest playing different combinations of eighteen holes. The course might not seem so repetitive in that case as well. In all this is a very solid course but there is not enough here to make it one of my favorites.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

All around great course

2-4    5/15/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: BgGrls Dont Cry
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Starts out with a handful of forgiving open field holes. Then into the woods. Birdies are possible if you hit the right lines in the woods, but you are not punished too badly if you hit trees. Great use of the natural rocky terrain in the woods. A number of baskets are protected by house sized boulders. Tee signs, pads, benches at every hole. Some well placed arrows marking the way to the next hole at a few of the confusing sections.
Other Thoughts: If you're playing all 27 holes be sure to bring all the water/snacks you need, as the course does not loop back to the parking area until hole 25.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top notch.

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SZRoll
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park
Not crowded
Clear new signs
Concrete tees
Baskets in great condition
Free
Practice Basket
Enough baskets to have 3 dif. loops
Cons: Not close enough to my house!
Other Thoughts: The lay out is awesome and most of the holes are challenging especially the holes on the NE side of Starr Rd. This really is a world class course, I recommend it to anyone who likes disc golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course!

1    12/31/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Requires ever shot in your bag. Big bomber holes, tight line holes through the trees. Finesse shots are needed and shot placement is at a premium on most holes. Beautiful surrounding and awesome new tee pads. Baskets are solid and reliable. Great use of the elevation available on the holes on the "other side" of the road. If I lived in the area, this would be an absolute go to. Can't wait to go back in the summer and play all 27 holes.
Cons: Would've loved to play the other 9 holes but the snow was just too deep. Some of the shots threw the trees may require more luck than skill. Hard to complain though and these might change with further play throughs.
Other Thoughts: The locals really take care of this place. Being from AZ it was a first time for me playing in 10 inches of snow but after meeting up with some folks they really helped out quite a bit. Also a big thank you to whoever placed the GPS coordinates as it made this course easy to find for the out of towner.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.