Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pleasant stop in NY

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: billcoke
Played: 83  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course in great shape, must have a dedicated team of people that care for the course. I didn't have a map but was easily able to navigate the 18 hole layout my first time today.
I think that the woods holes that start at hole 10 are far tougher and more scenic. I didn't have time to play all the woods holes but 10, 11, & 12b were very interesting. The other holes in the 18 hole layout were enjoyable to play.
Cons: Although the holes as well thought out and present different challenges they do tend to run right up to each other and present the problem of overthrows clipping someone on another tee/basket.
Other Thoughts: I think that this is a great course for a beginner to advanced player but could see a pro not being challenged.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Large Tees
2. Mixture of wooded and open holes
3. Picture perfect landscapes
4. Maps included distance, par, and map
5. Will cause you to throw every disc and throw that you have in your bag
Cons: 1. BUGGY
2. Can be difficult to navigate from hole to hole
3. Baskets when visible were still difficult to spot from the tees.
Other Thoughts: I was only able to play 19 holes of this course because it started to thunderstorm. However with that being said I know that this is definitely a course I want to visit again. Each hole provided a new layout and therefore a new challenge. I was glad to see a map, lost disc trap, trashcans, and a porta-potty at the beginning of the course. These holes are very long and will force you to throw as far as you can. This park appears to be very well maintained. We did have a couple dirt bikers ride by us through the course which was a bit strange. Benches were also available at every hole. Would never play this course again without bug spray. Wooded holes provide just the right amount of space to throw to make it challenging but at the same time not overwhelming. I was chased by all kinds of huge, flying, black, biting bugs. To recap, this is a great course for those that have been playing a while as well as for those who are just starting out. Course provides a good challenge without being too ridiculously difficult. Beautiful landscape. Located in a nice park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo Much Fun!!

2-4    6/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a huge variety not only in holes but also in layouts. You have 28 different holes which can be played in a 27 hole configuration and two different 18 hole loops. There is a great amount of OB used which makes some rather boring holes interesting and some really good holes great. Even though you don't throw over any water it still comes into play on several holes. There are multiple ace runs and several long hyzer bombs. Every tee is marked with good signs denoting what hole it is for each different layout. The plethora of next tee signs also makes navigation a breeze. There is a lot this course has to offer with holes all in the woods, holes that start in the open and finish in the woods, holes that start in the woods and finish on the open, holes that start in the woods play into the open and finish in the woods, and several all open shots.

The woods are nice and clean and the grass is all relatively short. This course is loved by someone! Maps and scorecards are available in a kiosk near the first tee. There are multiple porta potties and they are pretty clean. There is a warm up basket near the pavilion and benches and trash cans rampant throughout. There are also plenty of sports fields and a tennis court on site also.
Cons: There is multiple criss cross of holes that might get you turned around if not paying attention. The walkways in between holes also cross over. There are multiple holes that start or finish very close to the road. The size of the tee pads could be changed to make them wider in most cases and and longer on a few holes. There are also multiple pads that need leveling as rocks and sticks are protruding. With all the information the tee sign can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course to play in New York so far and in my top 5 overall.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

starr of the trip

1    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 112  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2015
10 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played J-park during an 8 course roadtrip of fantastic courses in PA,VT & NY. My method of rating new courses is to rate each hole as I play and write it on the scorecard.
5- are epic holes-well designed, challenging with one or more natural features that make it a memorable hole.
4-excellent-well designed and aesthetically pleasing with a feature that separates it from the pack.
3-solid but nothing extraordinary
2-filler
1-bad
0-really bad
The biggest "pro" of Joralemon is the quailty of the holes. Using this rating system, J-park has an astounding 17 epic (5rated holes) and 10 excellent (4 rated holes). We did not play 12b. The score averaged back to 18 holes is 83.3 which is the highest to date. So, if aethestics and natural beauty is your thing, this course is right at the top.
The run of holes across Starr road (10-18) are simply the best nine holes I could ever hope to play.
Phenomenal.
Cons: You may need to print a map or make a sketch of the one at the kiosk.

10 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: DiscFun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was our first time playing on official course so totally a beginner. We were on vacation in NY. Now I think we are spoiled; what a beautiful course! Very scenic with the rock formations, wooded areas and wide open spaces.

Loved that there were benches at everyhole to rest and relax! Nice touch.

Discs were going everywhere but had no problems finding them! Not crowded which was nice also.

Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second round couple days later!
Cons: Couple things; first navigating around was a bit tricky and had to ask next hole location from others playing that were familiar with the course. Especially the hole by the creek, paper sign was about washed away & finally figured out after 25min we needed to go accross the road. That was a bit frustrating. Vinyl signs are not that expensive.

Bring water because there aren't any fountains & it's quite a bit of walking.

Last thing which didn't see anyone else mention is lookout for the huge wasp mound near hole one! These large wasps (alot of them) in holes in the mound itself and are very active!!! Be careful!
Other Thoughts: Overall give this course two thumbs up!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There is a lot of variety throughout the 18 hole loop that I played. There are some opportunities to throw big bombs as well as some tight wooded finesse holes that test your line shaping ability.

There is a nice big field by the first tee that is great for warm-up and practice throws.

Nice proximity to the I-87 makes it easy to get to if you're just passing through (as I was).

Low tech signs at each hole show all the needed information. Shape, obstacles, distance and even clever names are shown at each tee.
Cons: I had a lot of trouble with navigation on this course. The layout is not particularly intuitive and the next tee signage is not particularly helpful. I spent quite a bit of time wandering around trying to figure out where the next hole was. In particular, going from 9 to ten across the road and then 12B to 13 back across was very confusing.

No trash cans on the course. Be prepared to pack it out.

The gravel tee pads seem particularly susceptible to puddling. It rained briefly when I first arrived and a few puddles had already started to form. With more significant rain most would've been muddy with quite a bit of standing water.
Other Thoughts: Note that this review is based only on the 18 hole loop rather than the alternate 27-hole layout. Due to the high heat and humidity when I played, I had to cut my round short.

This is a great road trip stop because of it's proximity to I-87. I had some extra time while driving through the area and was at the course maybe five minutes after getting off the highway.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winner of the "Most Photogenic Course Award"

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 238  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 8.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Possibly the most aesthetically pleasing course around, the rolling hills and use of mossy rocks made for numerous interesting and attractive holes that could not be duplicated anywhere else.
Great variety in elevation, ceiling height, left and right holes, and distances with many risk vs. reward opportunities.
Long Gravel tee pads with nice colored tee signs as well as signs leading to most of the next baskets to assist with navigation and flow. The people I played with loved the unique signs to guide you to the next hole.
Porto-potties on site.
Benches or large rocks to sit on at nearly every hole.
Playground for the kids and a large picnic area
Kiosk with map on it and a mail box with score card for 18. I like that they have an option to play 18 or 27 (which is not just 1-18)
Practice Basket
Cons: Very few cons. The amount of trees can cause some frustration if you are not on your game.
Only 1 tee pad and basket position, but there are 27 different holes, so you can change up what 18 you play.
Small chance of disc loss on some holes.
Practice basket was labeled #1 and caused confusion
Other Thoughts: This is a solid challenging course with out being insanely frustrating for new players or too easy for advanced players.
The terrain is kind of rough and the holes are a little too challenging for young kids. Do not plan on bringing a wheeled cooler, stroller, or push cart.
There are so many great photo opportunities, if you want to bring a camera. It's hard to justify adding this course to a day trip since it is nearly 30 miles from any other course and basically in the middle of no where, but it is worth the stop if you can make it, you will not be disappointed!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 All I can say is wow

1    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of this course is very nice you can pay it as an 18 hole course or a 27 hole course I must say i played all 27 and it was such a wonderful course. Signs on every hole and every hole has a name too which is a cool little touch that most courses dont do.
Cons: The course is very out of the way of everything altho well worth the trip. A few of the holes are a little hard to find for first time players but for the most very good flow. I had the opportunity to play with someone who has played that course before which make it a little easier.
Other Thoughts: There is a part in this course where you have to go across the street that I would not have known to go to with out some one with me. The back is well worth to play the back part I think it is the best part of the course. The back takes you through the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fulfilling its Destiny

1    7/1/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 138  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 18 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes with a fine balance of open/wooded holes and right/left/straight shots necessitating diversity of throws
signage at every natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pad
challenging and thoughtful pin placements
elevation incorporated ingeniously
baskets in good condition
Some creative directional arrows pointing to next tee location
low disc loss possibility...even on holes with water hazards
woods holes across the street logically progress in intricacy, length & variety and are some of the most enjoyable I've ever played
design allows you to 'custom play' so you aren't locked in to playing all 27 holes if you don't want to (for example, there's a 12a hole that allows players to skip the remaining woods holes and continue across the street finishing up with 22-27 for a total of 18 holes)
beautiful boulder/rock formations throughout the course
Secluded, quiet, peaceful
port-a-pots, pavilion w/picnic tables in park
Cons: Natural/gravel/crushed stone tee pads - some of which can be inconsistent; my lead foot slipped on a couple drives even though I didn't use a run up. I self corrected by being more mindful/careful at certain tees.
First timers should bring a map! The flow is a little odd at times as some tees/pins are close to each other or are on the way to/between walks to others (for example #2's pin and subsequent walk to #3 is right by 25's pin; walk from #3 pin to #4 tee goes right by 25's tee and 24's pin).
A few of the holes feel like 'transitions' - however if the parks dept. lets you install 27 holes, you do the best with what you're given.
No water available so plan well and bring plenty since its 27 holes
Other Thoughts: The front nine are mostly open and either start or finish under tree cover. They're a decent test of power (5 holes over 300ft with the remainder being no less than 255ft) but more importantly require approach accuracy with pins being either tree protected, elevated, near the creek or snuggled within gaps at the woods edge.

The wooded holes across the street (#10-21) are simply amazing - not only from an enjoyment & design perspective but aesthetically. It's as if the thousands of years of evolution it took to create this place has fulfilled its destiny as a disc golf course (I'm actually surprised the parks dept. let them use such a pristine area). These are some well conceived technical holes with plentiful elevation changes, mature tree-lined fairways, boulders/rocks as obstacles and some fantastic pin placements utilizing the surrounding terrain resourcefully.

The final holes (22-27) are a return to the general area where the front 9 are located and have similar characteristics. Not surprisingly, these holes don't quite have the 'wow' factor as the woods holes and pretty much end the round gently as if the wind was let out of the sail.

This is a pleasant place to play offering sufficient challenge for experienced players but providing enough flexibility and diversity to attract those who aren't as skilled. Definitely a must play if in or around the greater region.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 J-Park

5+    1/10/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Albany area does not have a variety of courses to choose from. However, they are very lucky to have this 28 hole gem at Joralemon Park. The course has so many different types of holes to challenge all golfers. The 1st hole will test your rolling skills, if you have them, or you will have to throw a low laser because of all the branches which creates a ceiling like effect. The 4th hole has a cool elevated pin placement on large rocks which will create some challenging puts. The 9th hole with its wide open fairway will give you the opportunity to show off your power and then with its tricky pin placement next to fast moving creek you need to be very accurate with your second shot. The first 9 holes are mostly open fairway (besides 3) that will test your power and accuracy. Starting at hole 10 it almost turns into a different course when you enter the woods. If you do not like wooded holes play hole 12b which will take you back out to the mostly open fairways. You will skip the mostly wooded area but still be able to play 18 holes. If you want to play 27 holes play hole 12a and hope you can keep your drives straight on your live to avoid all of the trees. I have never played a course with such a large number of quality holes. Hats off to Kevin and all the Disc Cappers who made this course possible.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a spot where scores cards were available. The layout is not a problem for me because of the amount of times I have played this course but I can see how it would be confusing for first time players. This is also a challenging course which is great for "good" players but when I bring people out for the first time they get discouraged very quickly. A different set of tee boxes or pin placements would help make it friendlier for newbies. The signage is not bad but there is definitely some room for improvement. It is hard to say too many cons because they are still working on finalizing the new holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course that should challenge even the best golfers. The land and layout is great. Some of the little things like signs and tee pads will constantly get better as there is an extremely dedicate group of disc golfers that maintain and update this course. If you are looking for more information about Joralemon Park you can view the forums where you can find info about tourneys, doubles, or anything else you could possibly want to know about J-Park. http://www.hyzercreek.com/for...forum.php?f=6

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.