Coeymans, NY 
Joralemon Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 J-Park

5+    1/10/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Albany area does not have a variety of courses to choose from. However, they are very lucky to have this 28 hole gem at Joralemon Park. The course has so many different types of holes to challenge all golfers. The 1st hole will test your rolling skills, if you have them, or you will have to throw a low laser because of all the branches which creates a ceiling like effect. The 4th hole has a cool elevated pin placement on large rocks which will create some challenging puts. The 9th hole with its wide open fairway will give you the opportunity to show off your power and then with its tricky pin placement next to fast moving creek you need to be very accurate with your second shot. The first 9 holes are mostly open fairway (besides 3) that will test your power and accuracy. Starting at hole 10 it almost turns into a different course when you enter the woods. If you do not like wooded holes play hole 12b which will take you back out to the mostly open fairways. You will skip the mostly wooded area but still be able to play 18 holes. If you want to play 27 holes play hole 12a and hope you can keep your drives straight on your live to avoid all of the trees. I have never played a course with such a large number of quality holes. Hats off to Kevin and all the Disc Cappers who made this course possible.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a spot where scores cards were available. The layout is not a problem for me because of the amount of times I have played this course but I can see how it would be confusing for first time players. This is also a challenging course which is great for "good" players but when I bring people out for the first time they get discouraged very quickly. A different set of tee boxes or pin placements would help make it friendlier for newbies. The signage is not bad but there is definitely some room for improvement. It is hard to say too many cons because they are still working on finalizing the new holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course that should challenge even the best golfers. The land and layout is great. Some of the little things like signs and tee pads will constantly get better as there is an extremely dedicate group of disc golfers that maintain and update this course. If you are looking for more information about Joralemon Park you can view the forums where you can find info about tourneys, doubles, or anything else you could possibly want to know about J-Park. http://www.hyzercreek.com/for...forum.php?f=6

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 dum de dum de... WOW!!

2-4    11/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well laid-out, with lots of thought to pin placements. It makes fantastic use of natural features and terrain. It almost feels like this park is built for disc golf, with the tennis court and kid's playground an afterthought. Some of the holes - especially on the new woods holes across the street - are truly amazing; you can't believe that they got the hole in there, but they did - and it's marvelous.
Cons: There are no amenities at all - bathroom, water, etc. The signage, while there, tends to be small. Unobtrusive, is a good word. Without a map, a first-timer would undoubtedly get lost a couple of times (I did). While there is a kiosk with some information - including a large map of the old layout - there is no information on the new layout except online. Some new course maps with scorecards would be great.

The course plays around some great, well-groomed fairways that are very likely busy with families during prime times; when I went it was empty, but still something to consider. Signage warning non-golfers that they were in/near a disc golf course would be an excellent idea; holes #2, #4, and #17/26 all go very close to areas that are likely multi-use. A spotter would be an excellent idea when other people were around.
Other Thoughts: My first thoughts as I played this course were along the lines of "okay, this is pretty nice. Nothing fancy, but pretty nice."

Then, you get to hole #3 - which uses two big rock outcroppings as a natural dogleg fairway... hole #4, with the basket up on a big rock... hole #9 - a big D hole with a teeny, tiny gap to shoot at the end... "Okay, this is pretty f#ckin' cool. Good mix, some big D, real mix of shots required... Really nice."

Then, the course crosses the street and goes into the woods.

Two words: Holy Crap.

If you only have time or stamina for 18 holes, you're totally missing out. The woods holes are super technical, with truly imaginative pin placements; only a couple big D holes, the woods section requires finesse and really picking a line. It's new, so getting around is iffy in spots; however, there are signs and arrows and the trails between holes are bedding in. Even thought it was my first time through, I had very little problem with finding my way.

Back onto the park side, you get a break with a couple of nice ace opportunities, then the course winds around with a chance for some big air just before the end.

Cons aside, this course is on my favorites and will remain there. The woods section really impressed me, and gives this course 4.5 stars even with no amenities. With a bathroom, a water station, and some better signage it would truly be five-star.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

1    10/17/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My cell phone does not work there! Seriously this course is very beautiful. So much variety. long open holes, lots of woods, elevation. 27 holes to play. The 12 holes on "the other side of the road" are amazing with the huge rocks and elevation changes.
Cons: The woods hols are still a work in progress, but they are very playable.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Jurassic Joralemon

1    10/19/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a remote location,Joralemon Park, in an out of the way town, Coeymans, NY, and with 28 spread out holes over primarily disc golf territory your not ever gonna have to deal with crowds. This course though, at this writing, lacking in yuppie amenities does not need them as the disc golf here is so strong. The course has open big air shots, tricky approaches, fast greens, low ceiling rollers, short holes, long holes, deep woods holes, flat, rolling, uphill and downhill holes. The front 9 play flat and semi-open but theres a lot to keep you interested. Not a bad hole in this bunch as you play over well mowed lawns, near a stream and below and between beautiful park trees. Holes 4 and 9 provide some big arm fun as well as interesting approaches,#4 to the top of a boulder ridge after a long sweeping drive 460' past some sycamores and #9 a huge 567' couple of drives and then negotiating a tight doorway into the woods with a pretty green with a stream nearby. Then you cross a bridge and go to the other side of Starr Rd. This is where the magic starts. Holes 10-21 are some wonderful pure disc golf holes through a rolling forrest laden with huge boulders and old trees. Fairways not only meander up and down these old woods they are weaving between massive trees and carving immense boulders that form obstacles as well as fairways. The holes start out as clever technicical fun shots and then begin to get longer and more epic as you get closer to finishing with the woods on #21. Old mountain woods so not a lot of thorns or shule to punish you off the fairways. Your score will get hurt but you won't get scratched or frustrated by lost discs too much here. After 21 you cross back over STarr Rd. and back to the more traditional park atmosphere. Hole #22 is a nice breather, open ace run, after the woods. Hole #25 is a lovely fairway with low canopy. #26 enables you to air it out one last time 553' before finishing on the R turning low ceiling #27. There seems to be an active club making gradual upgrades here and the few locals I encountered were friendly helping me to find a disc hiding in some leaves. I can't say enough about the variety here...the perfect tournament course as it is spread out with 11 deep woods holes, a slew of more open holes, a sprinkling of rollers and no L/R advantage. I can't say enough on the premium disc golf here and the enjoyable peaceful atmosphere. The holes on the other side of Starr Rd' elevate this course to amongst the best I have played. Just a beautiful round.
Cons: The basic amenities that many require for perfection are not here. Gravel/natural tees. Attempts are in place to aid navigation but it was still tricky for a first timer and tee signs are not always present. Could use a few more places to sit out in the woods as your really hiking up and down hills out there. In the woods a few of the fairways could be improved if the SMALLER trees/branches were tamed a bit.....nothing drastic just a little pruning or taking out a few to better define greens and/or fairway.....this usually happens as a course matures though so it didn't bother me. There was some local riding his dirtbike all over the place which was a bit weird...but thats part of the character of out of the way America...I only mention it because I see others have remarked on this as well and it might be a pattern. The disc golf and fun play of this course really make up for any of these inconsequential gripes and all of these most likely will be rectified in time I am sure. It's just nice to play a course that was obviously designed by people who play the sport and understand what makes a fun course. Finishing 6 holes are wonderful but seemed really bland after all that fun in the woods.
Other Thoughts: I notice that many of the reviews for this course are set prior to the expansion across Starr Rd. Those 12 holes over there really blew me away so I am sure the rating for this course should be higher. After hole 11 you have a choice to play the more epic woods or finish with the final 6 holes of the course....you just have to decide to play 12A or 12..it is clearly marked but if you don't have the stamina or your with children etc....playing the longer wooded 27 could be a grind as your really out in the woods and not near the lot for the rest of the day.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant and quiet

2-4    9/5/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 95  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 28 holes with an option for an 18 hole loop. Great variety and creative pin placements make this course a real pleasure to play. I met some friendly locals that showed me around and were fun to play with. Beautiful natural setting with large boulders and plenty of wildlife as well as rare plants and flowers. Informative signs on most holes. Park has picnic tables, portable restrooms and playground.
Cons: The wooded holes towards the middle of the layout are new and need some clearing. Navigation would be extremely difficult without updated map. Bring lots of water because there is nowhere to fill up a bottle, and no stores for miles.
Other Thoughts: Check out the cave and the old stonework in the woods! This area is rich in history and it shows.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Proud Locals and Rightly So!

2-4    9/29/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting for disc golf with a good mix of fields and rocky woods. Pin placements are well devised, often placed with tree protection or on rock outcroppings with steep edges. The locals are very friendly and gave me the full tour (they are quite proud of their course). The signs (though not fancy) on each tee are very helpful with the layout and yardage for each hole. Also, they have placed arrows on many of the trees directing you to the next tee box. This course was quite enjoyable!
Cons: Tee pads are gravel, but you've gotta cut them some slack- they have had to change many things here, of recent. Hopefully they will pour concrete in the future.
Other Thoughts: They recently have changed the course to include another 9 holes - but it's great that you can easily do a shorter 18 hole loop that diverts at 12b and let's you finish with 22-27.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 J-Park Rocks

5+    3/31/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 unique holes that all require different throws. Although a strong arm helps on a few holes (#4,6,7,12), you need a wide variety finesse shots to survive the rest. Fantastic use of the woods and rock outcroppings. Disc golf is new to Albany so the course is usually not crowded. The town does a decent job keeping the fairways mowed and the local club keeps the woods clean. The local club is also dedicated to keeping the tees snow free during the winter months.

I learned to play on this course over the past 3 years. When I travel to other courses, I find them easy because Joralemon has forced me to learn many shots, get creative, and look for clear shots from many angles.

Water: comes into play on holes 5 and the newly designed 15 (April 2009).

Low Ceilings: hole 3, 11 require low long throws. many call this a con- i call it a challenge.

You can see the Pin from every tee box (except 4 and 14).
Cons: Topography: Kevin, Tim and Greg incorporated every possible vertical up and down possible from the land. While there is some vertical, it is not a mountain course.

Length: hole 4 could be considered a par 4; the new hole 12 (April 2009) is apar 4. I would like to see another 1 or 2 par 4's.

Need better next tee signage between hles 2 and 3. #3 tee box is ntext to the road.

First time players confuse Pin #1 for Pin #14. Pin #14 is a hard dogleg right after you come out of the woods.

Location: it is not close enough to my house.

Many ticks that contain Lyme. Check yourself when you get home.
Other Thoughts: A great course supported by a dedicated local club. If you are in the area, you should take the time to stop by. Approximately 15 minutes off I-87 Exit 22.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Field Disadvantage

5+    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Mike Nuchins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of varied holes, long open fairways to tight wooded shorts where a shanked drive spells doom. Well guarded pins. Benches at most holes. Large Pavilion in the center of the park for meeting up or picnicing. Beautiful layout during all seasons. Friendly, knowledgeable group of local players committed to the upkeep and improvement of the course. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Tee pads are ice magnets in winter, mud puddles in summer, though this is scheduled to change. Dirt Bikes/ATVs/Snowmobiles a constant annoyance. More trash cans would be nice. Port-a-potties removed in winter months.
Other Thoughts: This course beats me every time I play it. As a rookie I've been playing this course for close to a year, as it is the closest to my hometown of Albany, NY. Despite the fact that it gets the best of me quite often, I love this course. Locals have also come up with a "Safari" 9 hole course, all par 4, as follows:
#1) tee 1 to hole 14
#2) tee 2 to hole 11
#3) tee 3 to hole 10
#4) tee 4 to hole 5
#5) tee 6 to hole 9
#6) tee 7 to hole 8
#7) tee 8 to hole 2
#8) tee 12 to hole 13
#9) tee 14 to hole 1

A nice change from the regular 18 hole course, or a good 27 hole day...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Well Rounded Course

5+    1/1/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: walker
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes. Designed well. Good flow. Shared park, but not too much traffic other then DG'ers. Pavilion. Tees are better then most courses. Good signage and trails. The local club continually seeks to improve the course, and add alternate tees and pins.
Cons: Dirtbikers like to tear up the fairways. Out in the boondocks, but still closer to civilization then many courses. Not too much elevation, no real water shots.
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned (and still am) to play. Very friendly to beginners, yet still challenging to the seasoned players. The biggest pro here is the varied design. J-park has holes for lefties, righties, hyzer, anhy, rollers, thumbers, s-shots, turbo putts, you name it. Grassy holes, lightly wooded, and heavily wooded. Each hole flows nicely into the next, without 'repeated' holes. I like the DB5's, especially with the inner chains.

Many holes are ace-able, (not easily though) as of now, 6 of them have been.

Cement pads would improve my rating. Given what is there to work with, it is nearly the best course it can be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My eastern favorite !

5+    6/5/2010   1/2/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 91  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 31.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A 27 hole gem hidden in an area with few courses. You're in for a treat if you play the full course. Everything from open, grassy fairways and narrow wooded ones are here. Two different 18-hole layout are also available is you're pressed for time. Most tees are a fine gravel material and have benches. Porto-johns near the parking area are well mainatined and only taken out for winter.
The DisCap club is responsible for most all upkeep.
Cons: Still a few holes missing tee signs and some extra arrows to find the next tee would help.
Other Thoughts: Local club website is http://discap.net

For the J-West 18 loop, play 1 thru 11 then hang a left down the trail to play the 12b connector hole, then cross the street and play 22 thru 27.
For the J-East 18, play 4, 5 then 9 thru 24.

Note to all the review critics...... I gave this a 5-disc rating because it's the best i've played to date IN MY OPINION.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.