Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #7 (Taken 12/2011)
-- / --   3 / 320ft.   3 / 340ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Okeeheelee Park DGC

1    12/26/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The beautiful Okeeheelee Park offers a very challenging course located in Greenacres, Florida. It's a sprawling design winding its way through a mostly open layout. Most of the course is very clean with nicely maintained grass. There's very little of that Florida scrubby undergrowth littering the fairways except maybe on just a few outlying areas. Scattered pines, palms, and smaller ornamental trees offer the obstacles, shape the fairways, and help define the greens. Several lake shots will have you throwing over its unforgiving waters. From the longs, a couple of the shots will have you looking on with your favorite disc in hand and thinking to yourself, "I know I can throw this across yet I'm not quite sure enough if it's worth possibly losing my favorite disc." Inevitably you'll probably put your favorite disc away and grab your backup. If you make it, it's pure joy. If not you'll thank yourself for not losing your go to disc. Very fun and challenging shots for sure! Besides the lake, there are plenty of other opportunities to go OB as well. Roads, sidewalks, and even the fenced in dog park come into play. The moderate elevation changes were a nice surprise for a Florida course and the designer did a pretty good job incorporating some uphill and downhill shots into the layout. Thoughtful basket placements throughout the course utilize all the above mentioned elements and added a good amount of variety. Lengthy holes allow those with bigger arms to air it out and they will certainly have an advantage over the weaker throwers. The wind, which is evidently common here, adds one more element of difficulty and helps round out this well-balanced course.

Dual tee pads, although natural, do the job nicely. Although they're not the preferred concrete pads most of us would like to see, most of them are in satisfactory shape. They are marked by painted domes that reminded me of half buried bowling balls. They're painted white for shorts and blue for the longs and in most cases have the hole numbers and distances marked on them. Mixtures of newer and older Innova DISCatchers are in good shape and of course they're easy to spot from the tee.

The park offers plenty of parking convenient to the course. Clean restrooms and a water fountain are close as well.
Cons: As everyone has already mentioned, the lack of signage can make navigation a struggle. Thankfully printing a map and some common disc golf intuition can get you through. Unfortunately I didn't have a map and my worst challenge was finding the first hole. After I found it, it wasn't terribly difficult to make my way around the course from then on. There are just a few tricky spots that'll have you looking around.

For those who dislike natural pads the concrete is sure to be missed. This is especially true on the longer holes where a big run up may be necessary. You'll find the lake holes, especially the lily pad pond, make it difficult to retrieve your discs from the water, even if you're pretty close to the shore.

The course is missing some of the amenities that most of us like to see, signage, benches, trashcans, etc.

Lastly there are a couple of minor safety issues where other park users, namely walkers, will find their way in the flight path of thrown discs. Consequently you'll probably have to wait a time of two for the coast to clear before you throw. I imagine on particularly nice days this could be a pronounced problem. Just be courteous and especially cautious.
Other Thoughts: This is a great multiple use park and a really nice course. The elevation changes and the longer open holes coupled with that steady wind offer a bit of a change from the Florida courses I've played in the past. As others have mentioned, a few bells and whistles would jack the rating up a bit but overall the course speaks for itself. While not necessarily a destination course, I think it's worth a decent drive without too much regret.



6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tight Lines - Elevation Changes

1    7/14/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course that forces the player to throw good lines and hit tight spots at times.
-Nice Elevation changes that are sometimes down hill and sometimes up.
-Baskets are in good condition
-Great use of park with mature trees and water
-Most baskets are protected by trees and require a thoughtful or lucky shot.
Cons: -Windy area
-sandy natural tee pads
-not the type of water you want to dive for disc in

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

2-4    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes. Up hill, down hill, side hills.
You must practice putting level, up, down, side hill too.
Cons: No signs
No Tee Pads
Lots of weeds instead of grass, your shoes and socks will get filled with "stickies"
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the park.
Not dense trees, so that was nice.
Nice way to protect the baskets, their either nestled inside a "tree circle", or small landing area.
I would've given it a 4 or 4.5, but there are no tee pads, no signs to direct you to the next hole, and I spent an hour cleaning my shoes and socks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First timer at course

1    3/15/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: try122583
Played: 98  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good usage of trees. Nothing really dense out there, but the trees they do have are a factor.
- Enjoyed the water holes. Adds more of a challenge.
- Very nice and beautiful park with lots of activities. Despite that, none of them seem to interfere with disc golfing. Throw a round and then walk a trail!
-
Cons: - SIGNAGE! I feel this is one of the easiest things to take care of when making a course. Tell the players were to go, especially if it isn't easy to follow. First timers like me will struggle to follow all 18 holes. It is very frustrating when you are in a rhythm and all of a sudden you have to stop because you don't know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: Course has some nice elevation change and a few holes where you will need a good arm to throw over water. This is also a great course to practice on if you want to figure out wind. A lot of holes are over 300, but an advanced player will still have a chance for some birdies. If you know your way around you will enjoy this course. I would have rated it a bit higher if the signage were better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

2-4    3/4/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Elevation actually comes into play at this course, a variable not a lot of us in South Florida get to experience often.

• Nice distance for all holes, only 2 under 300'

• I personally think it's a nicely designed course, with a variety of holes requiring accuracy & precision

• Totally free on the weekends
Cons: • No signage whatsoever, if it's your first time here, PRINT THE MAP - it'll prove invaluable.

• No tee pads, just dirt, and on tee 12 no tee markers either, it's just up the hill near the dog park fence from hole 11, look for the matted down dirt.

• Just to be nit-picky, there are few garbage cans nearby it seems, which isn't a problem for me personally, but apparently others take that as a sign that the ground is the garbage can, and come on, it's not.
Other Thoughts: My first time here was fun, although my game suffered from the steady 25 mph winds we were having. Also, the "Dread 7" is a doozy of a hole, especially with that wind - had to find a sapling to help me fish my dragon out of the pond. If you're a rank amateur like me, it requires real accuracy and nerve going from the tee - a good, challenging hole.

The use of elevation here really makes it fun if you're used to say, Easterlin or Tradewinds Park - holes 5 & 14 especially. I understand the course is funded pretty much by local players, which is cool, but it'd still be nice to have signage & tee pads. That's the only thing keeping me from rating the course higher.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good course - where there aren't many

1    12/29/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Open design allows for numerous lines to the basket.
• Pretty good shot variety.
• Makes excellent use of natural elements; trees, ponds, elevation.
• Dual pads: blues add extra distance, and more often than not, a slightly tougher window through trees, and even the shorts have decent length (11 holes 300-349, with another 5 holes 350+ from the short tees).
• Many well-guarded baskets.
• Water holes that are appealing and challenging - well done!
• A few sloped greens; should you go for it or lay up?
• Virtually no nasty underbrush.
• Course is pretty much circular and laid-out around a section with several parking areas so you can easily start on several different holes.
• Located in a large, pleasant multi-use park with no entry fee.
• Starts and finishes near restrooms.
Cons: • Too much non-disc golf traffic: plays around a dog park, a bike/walking path and near park roads. You have to be mindful of what's going on around you. Often had to wait for other park users to pass before teeing off (can take a while on some holes), ruins rhythm and flow.
• Many holes play near asphalt =murder on discs.
• Natural pads are just sand in some spots, just a matter of time before all of them are dirt.
• While I appreciate the curbstone markers, even simple tee posts would aide in navigation. Lay-out from hole to hole makes sense, but 1st timers should really print the map.

Other Thoughts: Open design and large expanse means prevailing winds are unimpeded - even light breezes get to work on your disc pretty much from tee to green, and you have to account for this… quite different from wooded courses where wind plays differently on certain sections of a hole.

Personal favorites were:
7 - It takes a brave sole to go for it from the tee; short and you're in the drink, long and you might lose it in the brushy growth behind the basket, but there is a fair landing area.
14 - Tee off from a hilltop for a downhill Ace Run. Yes, it's disgustingly easy to par, but fun to run, and the challenge here is for deuce.
16 - Sort of a basket on a peninsula - signature hole IMO.
I liked hole 5 from the tee, but the trees surrounding the basket are essentially a pinball machine. Yes, there are paths to the basket, but none of them seem like natural routes to me.

Apparently, this course is the undertaking of local players (rather than a line item on the city or county Parks & Rec budget). Hence, the only money available for pads and tee markers is what the locals can raise through their own efforts. Since there aren't many courses in the area, I doubt there's a large population of DGer's, and it's probably hard to get businesses to sponsor holes and such if they simply don't see it as being that popular in the immediate locality. I give them credit for being able to put a quality course in. If they can scrape together the $$ for pads, it'll be a nice touch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Now 18 permanent holes!

2-4    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - gorgeous park with plenty of amnenties

- lots of elevation changes, water hazards and challenging winds

- multiple natural tees marked with colored stones.

- great group of locals putting a lot of TLC into this course.

- plenty of room for more holes in the future!
Cons: - a lot of unaware pedestrian & bicycle traffic throughout certain sections of the course.

- not much signage yet but I know this is a work in progress.

- hole 14 is a really cool downhill shot that uses a small strip of grass between the road and parking area as an "island green" which makes for a neat challenge.. that is until an unaware park visitor decides to actually use the parking spaces that are about 15 feet in front of the basket. I had to skip this hole on my 2nd time around the course to avoid possibly bouncing my drive off a parked vehicle. A great solution would be to make the island green a temporary occassional basket placement (for tourneys and league rounds) and add another placement in front of the parking area and move the tees back a little bit to compensate.
Other Thoughts: - good layout for various skill levels. The wind seems to dictate the overall difficulty level on a day by day basis.

- parking area for DG has restrooms, water fountain, practice basket and is in close proximity to holes 16, 17, 18, & 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GETS BETTER EVERY YEAR

5+    11/5/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Nice, safe, and scenic park
- now has 18 permanent baskets
- nice elevation changes
- new practice basket area
-
Cons: - no concrete tees
- no signs
- not enough technical holes
- several holes to close to pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: Course is very challenging when the wind starts to blow.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Good

2-4    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: stryker7me
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice Park
- Easy to find Okee Park
- 3 Tee markers Red ,White, Blue
- Friendly groups playing the course, met some nice people
- Free
- Lots of parking
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- Hard to find the course within the park (unmarked)
- No tee pads
- Zero signage
- No course layout documentation
Other Thoughts: - Signage would be nice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Temp Baskets

2-4    10/4/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Osotogari
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of shots, long and short with water hazards. Elevation changes are nice, especially in Florida.
Cons: Park offices and the park's Ball golf course claims not to know much about this course, which makes it hard to find.
NO permanent baskets! (Hard to play unless you know when the locals play)
Hole three plays across/over hole sixteen's basket.
Hole eight's basket looks like it should be hole sevens'.
Other Thoughts: This course will be a very nice course once permanent baskets and signs are installed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.