Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #16 (Taken 12/2011)
-- / --   3 / 365ft.   3 / 460ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Okeeheelee Challenge

5+    4/24/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of pin positions, cement tees, challenging holes include water, trees and elevation, inside a great park. Clean bathrooms at the dog park.
Cons: lack of signage (should be added soon), would be nice to have some benches.
Other Thoughts: Every time I play here I think the baskets are in a different position. From the blues this is a very long and demanding course. From the reds, its a fun more technical course. Water comes into play on several holes. May be intimidating for newer players, especially holes 4 and 14. Lots of elevation changes, throwing uphill and downhill. Several holes have enough trees to make you consider your lines. Not a "wooded course", this is a long mostly open course with some great challenges and surprises. 11 and 18 are very long, 12's basket is in the middle of a tiny forest, and there are plenty of holes to challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    12/8/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting holes, elevation, nice use of water hazards, beautiful Florida park in West Palm Beach.
Cons: Definitely a challenge to find the next hole, but not terrible and the map is online. Some holes are a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty wide open for someone who has played wooded holes up north. This could be a pro when playing with new players, but might get old if you're experienced. Free courses in community parks really make me happy.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee: good mix of water, large bombs and short technical shots.

5+    11/30/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: mdjohnson14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of everything. Challenging water holes, trees, hills and wind. The new tee pads are incredible.
Cons: Some water holes can be a bit unforgiving and lots of plastic gets lost. Bathrooms near 5 are rarely open. Lots of pedestrians to play around on a nice weekend day.
Other Thoughts: Great for big arms and those who aren't afraid of throwing over water. The wind often changes your game completely.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hills in South Florida!
Plenty of room to air it out.
Water holes, great use of trees, clever design, what's not like?
Cons: The lack of concrete tees is not the issue I thought it would be. I would rather play on this than many of the short, ankle breaker tees I have seen on some courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, potential to be GREAT!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with stunning views of the lake. Palm Trees and Sunshine.

I did not notice any trash cans around, and potentially bathrooms could have been in one of the 2 buildings near the course. The park itself is unbelievable. I can not put into words what it is like simply driving into the park... of course, that feeling soon leaves when you never see a sign saying "Disc Golf Course" and realize you have to follow signs to the "Pooch" Park makes it a little insulting for Disc Golf players.

There are brand new baskets and older baskets, that even confuse locals. I had drawn a map off of this page with the 18 holes, and a local asked if I had a map, he had not played sine they moved to 18, so it is new to everyone how it is set up now I assume.

The course really does not get heavily wooded, but do not let that fool you, the Course Designer did a great job hiding the baskets behind the trees.

1 - straight shot in, natural for RHBH fade.
2 - easy to confuse the 2 basket with the 9 basket, the 2 basket is up the hill, follow the path of the trees and you will be ok.
3 - straight downhill to basket.
4 - *Tee is Walkway - straight uphill to basket, which is right of the tall tree on the hill.
5 - My favorite hole of the course. Do not let the trees fool you, they were planted in rows, and there are paths to throw in them.
6 - straight and open hole.
7 - Over creek, beware the wildlife.
8 - Difficult hole even though it is just straight ahead. Stay to the right if possible.
9 - Shorter hole, well hid basket.
10 - straight ahead hole.
11 - left to right hole
12 - right to left hole
13 - uphill straight away hole
14 - Downhill and short. my putter (Wizard) was almost too much
15 - Throwing over lake, tougher hole.
16 - Throw over lake again, I could not reach over the lake, was against the wind. Goodbye dx Eagle.
17 - straight away hole
18 - Lake to the right, but doesn't come into play, unless the wind was blowing really hard.
Cons: NO SIGNS - Get the map off of this site, or you will be lost.

NATURAL TEES - Always a negative to me, need cement pads.

FRONT 9 quite a bit easier than the back 9, could have been designed like that for purpose. Still, a great course, but not super challenging.
*edit - When I said not "super challenging" it was before I saw the current scorecards, it was my understanding that there were a number of par 4's from the blue, but now I realize they are all par 3's, and that is "super tough."
Other Thoughts: A great park, beautiful place. With some work I definitely see a solid 4, just 3 issues, 1 - Signs, 2 - Cement Pads, 3 - Garbage around course. One person with the ambition of a few hours a week could keep the park clean, could do it while playing a round, just carry a bag. Tees and Pads, and I would say a solid 4 course, and I am rating it on it's potential.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center