Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #12 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Space to Grip & Rip

5+    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 82  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very large park & course with room to let it rip. Mostly open holes with large trees to shape shots around or between. Elevation: The most elevation found in the tri county area.
1 & 2 play uphill to blind pin locations. 3 plays downhill in a cross wind. 4 & 5 play across water with 5 being the longer of all water carries here. 9 & 11 play back up another slope with 10 & 12 going back down. 14 is another tough water carry or a choice to lay up and then over.
Signature holes: 5 is a long water carry to a basket under a very large tree. 11 is a long down hill bomb into a stand of pines trees with the potential of a skip off the pine needles to the basket. 2 restrooms along course route. Red, White and Blue tees welcome all skill levels. Cement pads plus signs at the white tees. Recently added signs give distance, hole number, par, define o/b and drop zones. The signs also give distance to clear the over water shots.
Cons: Rather old Discatcher baskets will rebuff all but the truest putts. Always seems to be park users on #6 fairway, an open shot with a very inviting grass field. Popular spot for sitting or soccer.
Other Thoughts: This was very hard to rate. I gave a 3.5 for years to put it just a notch over the Ft. Lauderdale courses I have reviewed due to the elevation which is very rare for the area. With the addition of the tee pads and signs I have now gone with a 4. I like this course the best of all courses from West Palm down to Miami.

Shared use park with rest room by dog park (tee 10) and by tee 5. Shared use park can get busy on weekends & some fairways are popular picnic spots. Plays best weekdays or early weekends. Wind off lake is usually a factor. Bring your heavy stable discs! Want to see a good video of the park? Check out 2014 South Florida Open on YouTube. Ignore old reviews that say navigation is a problem since all signs are now in and there are also next tee arrows on all baskets.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee Challenge

5+    4/24/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of pin positions, cement tees, challenging holes include water, trees and elevation, inside a great park. Clean bathrooms at the dog park.
Cons: lack of signage (should be added soon), would be nice to have some benches.
Other Thoughts: Every time I play here I think the baskets are in a different position. From the blues this is a very long and demanding course. From the reds, its a fun more technical course. Water comes into play on several holes. May be intimidating for newer players, especially holes 4 and 14. Lots of elevation changes, throwing uphill and downhill. Several holes have enough trees to make you consider your lines. Not a "wooded course", this is a long mostly open course with some great challenges and surprises. 11 and 18 are very long, 12's basket is in the middle of a tiny forest, and there are plenty of holes to challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    12/8/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting holes, elevation, nice use of water hazards, beautiful Florida park in West Palm Beach.
Cons: Definitely a challenge to find the next hole, but not terrible and the map is online. Some holes are a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty wide open for someone who has played wooded holes up north. This could be a pro when playing with new players, but might get old if you're experienced. Free courses in community parks really make me happy.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee: good mix of water, large bombs and short technical shots.

5+    11/30/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: mdjohnson14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of everything. Challenging water holes, trees, hills and wind. The new tee pads are incredible.
Cons: Some water holes can be a bit unforgiving and lots of plastic gets lost. Bathrooms near 5 are rarely open. Lots of pedestrians to play around on a nice weekend day.
Other Thoughts: Great for big arms and those who aren't afraid of throwing over water. The wind often changes your game completely.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hills in South Florida!
Plenty of room to air it out.
Water holes, great use of trees, clever design, what's not like?
Cons: The lack of concrete tees is not the issue I thought it would be. I would rather play on this than many of the short, ankle breaker tees I have seen on some courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, potential to be GREAT!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with stunning views of the lake. Palm Trees and Sunshine.

I did not notice any trash cans around, and potentially bathrooms could have been in one of the 2 buildings near the course. The park itself is unbelievable. I can not put into words what it is like simply driving into the park... of course, that feeling soon leaves when you never see a sign saying "Disc Golf Course" and realize you have to follow signs to the "Pooch" Park makes it a little insulting for Disc Golf players.

There are brand new baskets and older baskets, that even confuse locals. I had drawn a map off of this page with the 18 holes, and a local asked if I had a map, he had not played sine they moved to 18, so it is new to everyone how it is set up now I assume.

The course really does not get heavily wooded, but do not let that fool you, the Course Designer did a great job hiding the baskets behind the trees.

1 - straight shot in, natural for RHBH fade.
2 - easy to confuse the 2 basket with the 9 basket, the 2 basket is up the hill, follow the path of the trees and you will be ok.
3 - straight downhill to basket.
4 - *Tee is Walkway - straight uphill to basket, which is right of the tall tree on the hill.
5 - My favorite hole of the course. Do not let the trees fool you, they were planted in rows, and there are paths to throw in them.
6 - straight and open hole.
7 - Over creek, beware the wildlife.
8 - Difficult hole even though it is just straight ahead. Stay to the right if possible.
9 - Shorter hole, well hid basket.
10 - straight ahead hole.
11 - left to right hole
12 - right to left hole
13 - uphill straight away hole
14 - Downhill and short. my putter (Wizard) was almost too much
15 - Throwing over lake, tougher hole.
16 - Throw over lake again, I could not reach over the lake, was against the wind. Goodbye dx Eagle.
17 - straight away hole
18 - Lake to the right, but doesn't come into play, unless the wind was blowing really hard.
Cons: NO SIGNS - Get the map off of this site, or you will be lost.

NATURAL TEES - Always a negative to me, need cement pads.

FRONT 9 quite a bit easier than the back 9, could have been designed like that for purpose. Still, a great course, but not super challenging.
*edit - When I said not "super challenging" it was before I saw the current scorecards, it was my understanding that there were a number of par 4's from the blue, but now I realize they are all par 3's, and that is "super tough."
Other Thoughts: A great park, beautiful place. With some work I definitely see a solid 4, just 3 issues, 1 - Signs, 2 - Cement Pads, 3 - Garbage around course. One person with the ambition of a few hours a week could keep the park clean, could do it while playing a round, just carry a bag. Tees and Pads, and I would say a solid 4 course, and I am rating it on it's potential.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.