Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #4 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Space to Grip & Rip

5+    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very large park & course with room to let it rip. Mostly open holes with large trees to shape shots around or between. Elevation: The most elevation found in the tri county area.
1 & 2 play uphill to blind pin locations. 3 plays downhill in a cross wind. 4 & 5 play across water with 5 being the longer of all water carries here. 9 & 11 play back up another slope with 10 & 12 going back down. 14 is another tough water carry or a choice to lay up and then over.
Signature holes: 5 is a long water carry to a basket under a very large tree. 11 is a long down hill bomb into a stand of pines trees with the potential of a skip off the pine needles to the basket. 2 restrooms along course route. Red, White and Blue tees welcome all skill levels. Cement pads at the white tees.
Cons: Rather old Discatcher baskets will rebuff all but the truest putts. Always seems to be park users on #6 fairway, an open shot with a very inviting grass field. Popular spot for sitting or soccer.
Other Thoughts: This was very hard to rate. I gave a 3.5 to put it just a notch over the Ft. Lauderdale courses I have reviewed due to the elevation which is very rare for the area. Shared use park with rest room by dog park and by tee 5. Shared use park can get busy on weekends & some fairways are popular picnic spots. Plays best weekdays or early weekends. Wind off lake is usually a factor. Bring your heavy stable discs! Want to see a good video of the park? Check out 2014 South Florida Open on YouTube.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee Challenge

5+    4/24/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of pin positions, cement tees, challenging holes include water, trees and elevation, inside a great park. Clean bathrooms at the dog park.
Cons: lack of signage (should be added soon), would be nice to have some benches.
Other Thoughts: Every time I play here I think the baskets are in a different position. From the blues this is a very long and demanding course. From the reds, its a fun more technical course. Water comes into play on several holes. May be intimidating for newer players, especially holes 4 and 14. Lots of elevation changes, throwing uphill and downhill. Several holes have enough trees to make you consider your lines. Not a "wooded course", this is a long mostly open course with some great challenges and surprises. 11 and 18 are very long, 12's basket is in the middle of a tiny forest, and there are plenty of holes to challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    12/8/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting holes, elevation, nice use of water hazards, beautiful Florida park in West Palm Beach.
Cons: Definitely a challenge to find the next hole, but not terrible and the map is online. Some holes are a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty wide open for someone who has played wooded holes up north. This could be a pro when playing with new players, but might get old if you're experienced. Free courses in community parks really make me happy.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee: good mix of water, large bombs and short technical shots.

5+    11/30/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: mdjohnson14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of everything. Challenging water holes, trees, hills and wind. The new tee pads are incredible.
Cons: Some water holes can be a bit unforgiving and lots of plastic gets lost. Bathrooms near 5 are rarely open. Lots of pedestrians to play around on a nice weekend day.
Other Thoughts: Great for big arms and those who aren't afraid of throwing over water. The wind often changes your game completely.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Park / Disc Golf Average

2-4    7/3/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great park! Bathrooms nearby, parking, nice baskets. Long shots even from shorts. Elevation in an area where there normally isn't any. Nice water challenges. Tee markers for each hole.
Cons: As mentioned above, long shots. Normally long shots aren't a con, but in this case it gets old. Long can be good, but long for the sake of being long, is not a good thing. No real tough natural obstacles, other than the water and some sparse palm trees, so the designers figure long makes up for lack of trees. This can work on a few holes but gets dull for entire 18.

Very hard to navigate as a first time visitor. Even with a printed map it was hard to follow the flow from basket to next tee. I have played many courses that use some technique to point you in the right direction. Not here. Look for spray painted spokes on baskets pointing you toward the next tee, but still very hard to locate the next tee and follow any type of flow.

Horrible drainage issues. I played a day after some rain and was ankle deep on some holes. No drainage help at all in an area where it rains a lot. Played a few days later and it was better.

Again, the length of each hole can make even finding your target (if you are lucky enough to find the tee box) a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Okeeheelee is a fantastic park in the middle of Palm Beach, FL. So much to do for a family day out. I am always impressed when great parks include Disc Golf as Okeeheelee has. That alone makes me want to rate it higher, but as a DG course it is just dull and navigation/drainage issues can make it frustrating.

Yes, it is a full 18 holes in the middle of a Florida city, which is great, but surrounded by so many other amazing activities (A running/bike path, dog park, ect) I am sure on a busy day congestion can be an issue. Combine that with the dull nature of the course I am forced to rate it a half below three. That being said, if I lived in the city it would be the place to play, but its not worth traveling far to play.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly designed course

2-4    6/6/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: chriss.2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Standard disc catchers
Cons: No signage whatsoever. Terrible drainage after rain. Confusing layout. Unreasonable "par 3s" for every hole. Course designer forces tee offs over large water hazards for all players. Unpaved tees. Holes surrounded by too many trees - sinking a putt is more luck than skill.
Other Thoughts: I'm not coming back here, even when paved tees are implemented.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

great challenging course !

5+    4/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: discjocky
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: some big hills to rip off drives off . amazing scenery open all the time (even holidays) and its always free.concrete pads are in .
Cons: the terrain can be rough if your not use to steep inclines also minimum shade are some holes .
Other Thoughts: prepare for this course with plenty of food and water .good sneaks and a cart is helpful .

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Meh

2-4    2/2/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's located in a beautiful park with rolling hills, unlike most other Florida courses, which are usually flat.

It's well groomed, with short grass, wide fairways, and smartly-spaced trees.
Cons: It has dirt tee pads (with a single exception - positioned on a sidewalk). The pads are pretty worn down, making it easy to slip in the sand, even on dry days.

All the holes are long, even from the white tee pads, so if you don't have a big arm, you aren't going to enjoy this course as much as more experienced players.

It has three brutal water holes. The short pads should be located in positions that mitigate the water, with more challenging shots from the long pads, but whether you throw from the short pads or the long pads, it's far too easy to throw your discs in the water.
Other Thoughts: The concrete markers that mark the tee pads should be relocated every once in a while so the pads don't too worn down and slippery. If this course ever gets concrete tee pads, I'll have to reevaluate it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee Park DGC

1    12/26/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The beautiful Okeeheelee Park offers a very challenging course located in Greenacres, Florida. It's a sprawling design winding its way through a mostly open layout. Most of the course is very clean with nicely maintained grass. There's very little of that Florida scrubby undergrowth littering the fairways except maybe on just a few outlying areas. Scattered pines, palms, and smaller ornamental trees offer the obstacles, shape the fairways, and help define the greens. Several lake shots will have you throwing over its unforgiving waters. From the longs, a couple of the shots will have you looking on with your favorite disc in hand and thinking to yourself, "I know I can throw this across yet I'm not quite sure enough if it's worth possibly losing my favorite disc." Inevitably you'll probably put your favorite disc away and grab your backup. If you make it, it's pure joy. If not you'll thank yourself for not losing your go to disc. Very fun and challenging shots for sure! Besides the lake, there are plenty of other opportunities to go OB as well. Roads, sidewalks, and even the fenced in dog park come into play. The moderate elevation changes were a nice surprise for a Florida course and the designer did a pretty good job incorporating some uphill and downhill shots into the layout. Thoughtful basket placements throughout the course utilize all the above mentioned elements and added a good amount of variety. Lengthy holes allow those with bigger arms to air it out and they will certainly have an advantage over the weaker throwers. The wind, which is evidently common here, adds one more element of difficulty and helps round out this well-balanced course.

Dual tee pads, although natural, do the job nicely. Although they're not the preferred concrete pads most of us would like to see, most of them are in satisfactory shape. They are marked by painted domes that reminded me of half buried bowling balls. They're painted white for shorts and blue for the longs and in most cases have the hole numbers and distances marked on them. Mixtures of newer and older Innova DISCatchers are in good shape and of course they're easy to spot from the tee.

The park offers plenty of parking convenient to the course. Clean restrooms and a water fountain are close as well.
Cons: As everyone has already mentioned, the lack of signage can make navigation a struggle. Thankfully printing a map and some common disc golf intuition can get you through. Unfortunately I didn't have a map and my worst challenge was finding the first hole. After I found it, it wasn't terribly difficult to make my way around the course from then on. There are just a few tricky spots that'll have you looking around.

For those who dislike natural pads the concrete is sure to be missed. This is especially true on the longer holes where a big run up may be necessary. You'll find the lake holes, especially the lily pad pond, make it difficult to retrieve your discs from the water, even if you're pretty close to the shore.

The course is missing some of the amenities that most of us like to see, signage, benches, trashcans, etc.

Lastly there are a couple of minor safety issues where other park users, namely walkers, will find their way in the flight path of thrown discs. Consequently you'll probably have to wait a time of two for the coast to clear before you throw. I imagine on particularly nice days this could be a pronounced problem. Just be courteous and especially cautious.
Other Thoughts: This is a great multiple use park and a really nice course. The elevation changes and the longer open holes coupled with that steady wind offer a bit of a change from the Florida courses I've played in the past. As others have mentioned, a few bells and whistles would jack the rating up a bit but overall the course speaks for itself. While not necessarily a destination course, I think it's worth a decent drive without too much regret.



6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hills in South Florida!
Plenty of room to air it out.
Water holes, great use of trees, clever design, what's not like?
Cons: The lack of concrete tees is not the issue I thought it would be. I would rather play on this than many of the short, ankle breaker tees I have seen on some courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.