Disc Golf Center
Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Beautiful, potential to be GREAT!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with stunning views of the lake. Palm Trees and Sunshine.

I did not notice any trash cans around, and potentially bathrooms could have been in one of the 2 buildings near the course. The park itself is unbelievable. I can not put into words what it is like simply driving into the park... of course, that feeling soon leaves when you never see a sign saying "Disc Golf Course" and realize you have to follow signs to the "Pooch" Park makes it a little insulting for Disc Golf players.

There are brand new baskets and older baskets, that even confuse locals. I had drawn a map off of this page with the 18 holes, and a local asked if I had a map, he had not played sine they moved to 18, so it is new to everyone how it is set up now I assume.

The course really does not get heavily wooded, but do not let that fool you, the Course Designer did a great job hiding the baskets behind the trees.

1 - straight shot in, natural for RHBH fade.
2 - easy to confuse the 2 basket with the 9 basket, the 2 basket is up the hill, follow the path of the trees and you will be ok.
3 - straight downhill to basket.
4 - *Tee is Walkway - straight uphill to basket, which is right of the tall tree on the hill.
5 - My favorite hole of the course. Do not let the trees fool you, they were planted in rows, and there are paths to throw in them.
6 - straight and open hole.
7 - Over creek, beware the wildlife.
8 - Difficult hole even though it is just straight ahead. Stay to the right if possible.
9 - Shorter hole, well hid basket.
10 - straight ahead hole.
11 - left to right hole
12 - right to left hole
13 - uphill straight away hole
14 - Downhill and short. my putter (Wizard) was almost too much
15 - Throwing over lake, tougher hole.
16 - Throw over lake again, I could not reach over the lake, was against the wind. Goodbye dx Eagle.
17 - straight away hole
18 - Lake to the right, but doesn't come into play, unless the wind was blowing really hard.
Cons: NO SIGNS - Get the map off of this site, or you will be lost.

NATURAL TEES - Always a negative to me, need cement pads.

FRONT 9 quite a bit easier than the back 9, could have been designed like that for purpose. Still, a great course, but not super challenging.
*edit - When I said not "super challenging" it was before I saw the current scorecards, it was my understanding that there were a number of par 4's from the blue, but now I realize they are all par 3's, and that is "super tough."
Other Thoughts: A great park, beautiful place. With some work I definitely see a solid 4, just 3 issues, 1 - Signs, 2 - Cement Pads, 3 - Garbage around course. One person with the ambition of a few hours a week could keep the park clean, could do it while playing a round, just carry a bag. Tees and Pads, and I would say a solid 4 course, and I am rating it on it's potential.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Now 18 permanent holes!

2-4    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 91  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - gorgeous park with plenty of amnenties

- lots of elevation changes, water hazards and challenging winds

- multiple natural tees marked with colored stones.

- great group of locals putting a lot of TLC into this course.

- plenty of room for more holes in the future!
Cons: - a lot of unaware pedestrian & bicycle traffic throughout certain sections of the course.

- not much signage yet but I know this is a work in progress.

- hole 14 is a really cool downhill shot that uses a small strip of grass between the road and parking area as an "island green" which makes for a neat challenge.. that is until an unaware park visitor decides to actually use the parking spaces that are about 15 feet in front of the basket. I had to skip this hole on my 2nd time around the course to avoid possibly bouncing my drive off a parked vehicle. A great solution would be to make the island green a temporary occassional basket placement (for tourneys and league rounds) and add another placement in front of the parking area and move the tees back a little bit to compensate.
Other Thoughts: - good layout for various skill levels. The wind seems to dictate the overall difficulty level on a day by day basis.

- parking area for DG has restrooms, water fountain, practice basket and is in close proximity to holes 16, 17, 18, & 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GETS BETTER EVERY YEAR

5+    11/5/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Nice, safe, and scenic park
- now has 18 permanent baskets
- nice elevation changes
- new practice basket area
-
Cons: - no concrete tees
- no signs
- not enough technical holes
- several holes to close to pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: Course is very challenging when the wind starts to blow.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Good

2-4    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: stryker7me
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice Park
- Easy to find Okee Park
- 3 Tee markers Red ,White, Blue
- Friendly groups playing the course, met some nice people
- Free
- Lots of parking
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- Hard to find the course within the park (unmarked)
- No tee pads
- Zero signage
- No course layout documentation
Other Thoughts: - Signage would be nice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In the Area

5+    10/27/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: YawningDrone
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE HAS HAD A REDESIGN...NEW REVIEW COMING SHORTLY



Where to start...This course is set in an absolutely gorgeous and well kept Park. There ar bathrooms and water fountains at Hole 1. There are some fairly significant elevation changes which is unheard of in South Florida. I'm told the rest of the course (another 9-18 are tentatively set to be installed) will utilize more of the parks hilly topography. I have yet to play at Okeeheelee when the wind has not been a factor, so expect to use every shot type you have available. This park is extremely large and spread out, even on busy days there will be minimal interaction with other
park goers. The course has a large lake and some canals that come into play on several holes. There are three tee postions for every hole, each providing a different shot type, with increased distance as well.
For the sake of my review, I will be approaching each from the white tee position and am a RHBH player. I have not yet had the opportunity to GPS the distances but will shortly.

Hole 1 is a fairly open fairway with the lake on the right and OB road on the left. The preferred route seems to be a hyzer out
over the lake, with the right wind this should not be too difficult a shot, but to get it close you have to have some guts and
really let in fly over the water. It's a great 1st hole.

Hole 2 is a straight shot with a low ceiling for the first 50ft or so. Your best bet is to lay up a little short as when you start
to approach the basket a canal comes into play both to the right and behind the basket. I hyzer flipped a sidewinder that over shot the basket and dissappeared into a maze of gargantuan lilly pads and strange Floridian reptiles.

Hole 3 is an uphill, dogleg right tunnel shot that opens up for the last 150 ft or so.
I've yet to see a birdie on it (though I've only played here a handful of times with a handful of people) as any shot that is low enough to clear the tunnel will undoubtedly catch the hill leaving a long jump put or upshot. Some of the big arms may be able to play a big turnover over everything, though it would take some superior shot shaping.

Hole 4 is a fun down hill shot with a cluster of palm tress on the right that really shouldn't
come into play. There is an OB road to the right of the basket as well as a few small trees protecting it
but a hyzer over everything is a pretty easy shot here and will get you close.

Hole 5 is a short hole that plays directly along the road (on the left) to a well protected basket. The entire right side of the fairway is open giving ample room for a soft hyzer. The park has asked that we not throw over the road so turnovers or RH flicks are discouraged.

Hole 6 is a straight shot with trees along the right side of the fairway. The last 75 ft or so are littered with small trees making a shot right at the basket tough. The whole left side of the fairway is wide open though.

Hole 7 is a slightly uphill shot with a couple of different ways to approach. There is a tunnel
through the trees heading left to right, uphill. It is probably pretty difficult to get it very close taking this route as once again, the combination of a tunnel and an uphill approach require extreme
accuracy. The left side is fairly open, though there is an OB road which will punish any turnover shots that fall out. There is a drop off behind the basket so if you're going miss your upshot, miss short.

Hole 8 is an ridiculously fun hole extending over the edge of the lake to basket protected by a few small trees and OB on the backside. There is also a cluster of trees on the far shore of the lake which can come into
play if you take too low of a line on your drive. There is Ob on the left which can hurt you if you don't attack the basket (going out over the lake.) You will be driving over a bike path so please be aware.

Hole 9 is the signature peninsula hole with a shot completely over that disc eating lake to a basket surrounded on 3 sides by water. There are trees along the right bank which can make an approach form that side slightly difficult. There are also two large trees protecting the front edge but there is an ample gap if you decide to go right at it. Keep in mind that this hole is often made all the more
treacherous due to that heinous and ever present okeeheelee howl. The wind does not give up.

Cons: The only cons on this course will probably be rectified over time, the course in its current layout is only two weeks old. There are no tee pads as of now, though this is not as big of a problem in South Florida as I imagine it can be in other areas. Each tee pad is marked but large round painted stones. The number of the hole is painted on the white stone. If these stones were to be moved for some reason, it could become an issue. There are also no signs but the layout is extremely easy to follow. The baskets are old Innova Discatchers, some have one set of chains and some have two. They are in good condition but obviously another set of chains in the baskets that need it would be ideal.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be the best course in South Florida. It has everything: short techincal holes, long bomber shots, elevation, water,wind and punishing OB. I have played the full layout with temporary baskets and it is absolutely superb. Dan, the designer has obviously poured a ton of time and effort into making this a top notch course.
It is still in its infancy, but even with the existing 9 holes it is probably the best option in the immediate area. If you are in Palm Beach County and have only time for one round, this needs to be your choice. My rating will go to at least 4 when the rest of the baskets are installed.

edit: a tenth basket has been added and the former hole 2 is now hole 1, hole 3 is hole 2 and so on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Temp Baskets

2-4    10/4/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Osotogari
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of shots, long and short with water hazards. Elevation changes are nice, especially in Florida.
Cons: Park offices and the park's Ball golf course claims not to know much about this course, which makes it hard to find.
NO permanent baskets! (Hard to play unless you know when the locals play)
Hole three plays across/over hole sixteen's basket.
Hole eight's basket looks like it should be hole sevens'.
Other Thoughts: This course will be a very nice course once permanent baskets and signs are installed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where's The Course?

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: There are marked trees, but that is all.
Other Thoughts: I had heard at the last tournament I attended that Okeeheelee Park was going to be the new home of the March Fabulous Florida Tour stop in Fort Lauderdale. I decided to check out the course, thinking that actual baskets may have gone in and that it was going to be a top notch course. Nothing seems to have happened yet. After much searching I found some marked trees, which are supposed to be the holes. They are marked with two pieces of police tape, one high and one low. Presumably, the target is between the pieces of tape. What I was not able to find were any other things that usually make up a disc golf course. I searched near half of the holes for anything that might be considered a tee area. Not only were there no markings, there was no worn spots that would give a hint as to where a tee might be. There were also no markings on any of the tree targets as to which target they might be. I was very disappointed, because it is a really nice park. I did get a little excited, when I found a disc near one of the marked trees. I called the number on the bank, thinking that this person could guide me as to how the course was played. It turns out that the owner of the disc had never even heard of the park and hadn't even played in Florida for over 6 years. He was living in Iowa now. You would think that the person who stole his disc could have at least put his own info on the back. Oh well, he did tell me to keep the disc with his compliments, so I got that going for me. After driving all around the park looking for other players or any other signs of course markings, I gave up and headed back to my hotel. Unless you know someone who was in on setting up the course, don't bother driving out to this park. It has the potential to be a good course, but as for now, it doesn't appear to even BE a course at all.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.