Greenacres, FL
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #8 (Taken 12/2011)
-- / --   3 / 345ft.   3 / 545ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Better than expected

1    12/8/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting holes, elevation, nice use of water hazards, beautiful Florida park in West Palm Beach.
Cons: Definitely a challenge to find the next hole, but not terrible and the map is online. Some holes are a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty wide open for someone who has played wooded holes up north. This could be a pro when playing with new players, but might get old if you're experienced. Free courses in community parks really make me happy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee: good mix of water, large bombs and short technical shots.

5+    11/30/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: mdjohnson14
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of everything. Challenging water holes, trees, hills and wind. The new tee pads are incredible.
Cons: Some water holes can be a bit unforgiving and lots of plastic gets lost. Bathrooms near 5 are rarely open. Lots of pedestrians to play around on a nice weekend day.
Other Thoughts: Great for big arms and those who aren't afraid of throwing over water. The wind often changes your game completely.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Park / Disc Golf Average

2-4    7/3/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great park! Bathrooms nearby, parking, nice baskets. Long shots even from shorts. Elevation in an area where there normally isn't any. Nice water challenges. Tee markers for each hole.
Cons: As mentioned above, long shots. Normally long shots aren't a con, but in this case it gets old. Long can be good, but long for the sake of being long, is not a good thing. No real tough natural obstacles, other than the water and some sparse palm trees, so the designers figure long makes up for lack of trees. This can work on a few holes but gets dull for entire 18.

Very hard to navigate as a first time visitor. Even with a printed map it was hard to follow the flow from basket to next tee. I have played many courses that use some technique to point you in the right direction. Not here. Look for spray painted spokes on baskets pointing you toward the next tee, but still very hard to locate the next tee and follow any type of flow.

Horrible drainage issues. I played a day after some rain and was ankle deep on some holes. No drainage help at all in an area where it rains a lot. Played a few days later and it was better.

Again, the length of each hole can make even finding your target (if you are lucky enough to find the tee box) a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Okeeheelee is a fantastic park in the middle of Palm Beach, FL. So much to do for a family day out. I am always impressed when great parks include Disc Golf as Okeeheelee has. That alone makes me want to rate it higher, but as a DG course it is just dull and navigation/drainage issues can make it frustrating.

Yes, it is a full 18 holes in the middle of a Florida city, which is great, but surrounded by so many other amazing activities (A running/bike path, dog park, ect) I am sure on a busy day congestion can be an issue. Combine that with the dull nature of the course I am forced to rate it a half below three. That being said, if I lived in the city it would be the place to play, but its not worth traveling far to play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly designed course

2-4    6/6/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: chriss.2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Standard disc catchers
Cons: No signage whatsoever. Terrible drainage after rain. Confusing layout. Unreasonable "par 3s" for every hole. Course designer forces tee offs over large water hazards for all players. Unpaved tees. Holes surrounded by too many trees - sinking a putt is more luck than skill.
Other Thoughts: I'm not coming back here, even when paved tees are implemented.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

elevation in sfl ?

5+    4/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: discjocky
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: the elevation big hills to rip off drives . amazing scenery open all the time (even holidays) and its always free.
Cons: yes the tee pads concrete coming soon but not in as of yet .
Other Thoughts: prepare for this course food water good sneaks and a cart is helpful .

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Meh

2-4    2/2/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's located in a beautiful park with rolling hills, unlike most other Florida courses, which are usually flat.

It's well groomed, with short grass, wide fairways, and smartly-spaced trees.
Cons: It has dirt tee pads (with a single exception - positioned on a sidewalk). The pads are pretty worn down, making it easy to slip in the sand, even on dry days.

All the holes are long, even from the white tee pads, so if you don't have a big arm, you aren't going to enjoy this course as much as more experienced players.

It has three brutal water holes. The short pads should be located in positions that mitigate the water, with more challenging shots from the long pads, but whether you throw from the short pads or the long pads, it's far too easy to throw your discs in the water.
Other Thoughts: The concrete markers that mark the tee pads should be relocated every once in a while so the pads don't too worn down and slippery. If this course ever gets concrete tee pads, I'll have to reevaluate it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okeeheelee Park DGC

1    12/26/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The beautiful Okeeheelee Park offers a very challenging course located in Greenacres, Florida. It's a sprawling design winding its way through a mostly open layout. Most of the course is very clean with nicely maintained grass. There's very little of that Florida scrubby undergrowth littering the fairways except maybe on just a few outlying areas. Scattered pines, palms, and smaller ornamental trees offer the obstacles, shape the fairways, and help define the greens. Several lake shots will have you throwing over its unforgiving waters. From the longs, a couple of the shots will have you looking on with your favorite disc in hand and thinking to yourself, "I know I can throw this across yet I'm not quite sure enough if it's worth possibly losing my favorite disc." Inevitably you'll probably put your favorite disc away and grab your backup. If you make it, it's pure joy. If not you'll thank yourself for not losing your go to disc. Very fun and challenging shots for sure! Besides the lake, there are plenty of other opportunities to go OB as well. Roads, sidewalks, and even the fenced in dog park come into play. The moderate elevation changes were a nice surprise for a Florida course and the designer did a pretty good job incorporating some uphill and downhill shots into the layout. Thoughtful basket placements throughout the course utilize all the above mentioned elements and added a good amount of variety. Lengthy holes allow those with bigger arms to air it out and they will certainly have an advantage over the weaker throwers. The wind, which is evidently common here, adds one more element of difficulty and helps round out this well-balanced course.

Dual tee pads, although natural, do the job nicely. Although they're not the preferred concrete pads most of us would like to see, most of them are in satisfactory shape. They are marked by painted domes that reminded me of half buried bowling balls. They're painted white for shorts and blue for the longs and in most cases have the hole numbers and distances marked on them. Mixtures of newer and older Innova DISCatchers are in good shape and of course they're easy to spot from the tee.

The park offers plenty of parking convenient to the course. Clean restrooms and a water fountain are close as well.
Cons: As everyone has already mentioned, the lack of signage can make navigation a struggle. Thankfully printing a map and some common disc golf intuition can get you through. Unfortunately I didn't have a map and my worst challenge was finding the first hole. After I found it, it wasn't terribly difficult to make my way around the course from then on. There are just a few tricky spots that'll have you looking around.

For those who dislike natural pads the concrete is sure to be missed. This is especially true on the longer holes where a big run up may be necessary. You'll find the lake holes, especially the lily pad pond, make it difficult to retrieve your discs from the water, even if you're pretty close to the shore.

The course is missing some of the amenities that most of us like to see, signage, benches, trashcans, etc.

Lastly there are a couple of minor safety issues where other park users, namely walkers, will find their way in the flight path of thrown discs. Consequently you'll probably have to wait a time of two for the coast to clear before you throw. I imagine on particularly nice days this could be a pronounced problem. Just be courteous and especially cautious.
Other Thoughts: This is a great multiple use park and a really nice course. The elevation changes and the longer open holes coupled with that steady wind offer a bit of a change from the Florida courses I've played in the past. As others have mentioned, a few bells and whistles would jack the rating up a bit but overall the course speaks for itself. While not necessarily a destination course, I think it's worth a decent drive without too much regret.



6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hills in South Florida!
Plenty of room to air it out.
Water holes, great use of trees, clever design, what's not like?
Cons: The lack of concrete tees is not the issue I thought it would be. I would rather play on this than many of the short, ankle breaker tees I have seen on some courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight Lines - Elevation Changes

1    7/14/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course that forces the player to throw good lines and hit tight spots at times.
-Nice Elevation changes that are sometimes down hill and sometimes up.
-Baskets are in good condition
-Great use of park with mature trees and water
-Most baskets are protected by trees and require a thoughtful or lucky shot.
Cons: -Windy area
-sandy natural tee pads
-not the type of water you want to dive for disc in

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

2-4    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes. Up hill, down hill, side hills.
You must practice putting level, up, down, side hill too.
Cons: No signs
No Tee Pads
Lots of weeds instead of grass, your shoes and socks will get filled with "stickies"
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the park.
Not dense trees, so that was nice.
Nice way to protect the baskets, their either nestled inside a "tree circle", or small landing area.
I would've given it a 4 or 4.5, but there are no tee pads, no signs to direct you to the next hole, and I spent an hour cleaning my shoes and socks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.