Greenacres, FL 
Okeeheelee Park Share
Uploaded By: Stud Muffin Hole #12 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hills in South Florida!
Plenty of room to air it out.
Water holes, great use of trees, clever design, what's not like?
Cons: The lack of concrete tees is not the issue I thought it would be. I would rather play on this than many of the short, ankle breaker tees I have seen on some courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Lines - Elevation Changes

1    7/14/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course that forces the player to throw good lines and hit tight spots at times.
-Nice Elevation changes that are sometimes down hill and sometimes up.
-Baskets are in good condition
-Great use of park with mature trees and water
-Most baskets are protected by trees and require a thoughtful or lucky shot.
Cons: -Windy area
-sandy natural tee pads
-not the type of water you want to dive for disc in

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

2-4    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes. Up hill, down hill, side hills.
You must practice putting level, up, down, side hill too.
Cons: No signs
No Tee Pads
Lots of weeds instead of grass, your shoes and socks will get filled with "stickies"
Other Thoughts: Nice use of the park.
Not dense trees, so that was nice.
Nice way to protect the baskets, their either nestled inside a "tree circle", or small landing area.
I would've given it a 4 or 4.5, but there are no tee pads, no signs to direct you to the next hole, and I spent an hour cleaning my shoes and socks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First timer at course

1    3/15/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: try122583
Played: 100  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good usage of trees. Nothing really dense out there, but the trees they do have are a factor.
- Enjoyed the water holes. Adds more of a challenge.
- Very nice and beautiful park with lots of activities. Despite that, none of them seem to interfere with disc golfing. Throw a round and then walk a trail!
-
Cons: - SIGNAGE! I feel this is one of the easiest things to take care of when making a course. Tell the players were to go, especially if it isn't easy to follow. First timers like me will struggle to follow all 18 holes. It is very frustrating when you are in a rhythm and all of a sudden you have to stop because you don't know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: Course has some nice elevation change and a few holes where you will need a good arm to throw over water. This is also a great course to practice on if you want to figure out wind. A lot of holes are over 300, but an advanced player will still have a chance for some birdies. If you know your way around you will enjoy this course. I would have rated it a bit higher if the signage were better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

2-4    3/4/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Elevation actually comes into play at this course, a variable not a lot of us in South Florida get to experience often.

• Nice distance for all holes, only 2 under 300'

• I personally think it's a nicely designed course, with a variety of holes requiring accuracy & precision

• Totally free on the weekends
Cons: • No signage whatsoever, if it's your first time here, PRINT THE MAP - it'll prove invaluable.

• No tee pads, just dirt, and on tee 12 no tee markers either, it's just up the hill near the dog park fence from hole 11, look for the matted down dirt.

• Just to be nit-picky, there are few garbage cans nearby it seems, which isn't a problem for me personally, but apparently others take that as a sign that the ground is the garbage can, and come on, it's not.
Other Thoughts: My first time here was fun, although my game suffered from the steady 25 mph winds we were having. Also, the "Dread 7" is a doozy of a hole, especially with that wind - had to find a sapling to help me fish my dragon out of the pond. If you're a rank amateur like me, it requires real accuracy and nerve going from the tee - a good, challenging hole.

The use of elevation here really makes it fun if you're used to say, Easterlin or Tradewinds Park - holes 5 & 14 especially. I understand the course is funded pretty much by local players, which is cool, but it'd still be nice to have signage & tee pads. That's the only thing keeping me from rating the course higher.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good course - where there aren't many

1    12/29/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Open design allows for numerous lines to the basket.
• Pretty good shot variety.
• Makes excellent use of natural elements; trees, ponds, elevation.
• Dual pads: blues add extra distance, and more often than not, a slightly tougher window through trees, and even the shorts have decent length (11 holes 300-349, with another 5 holes 350+ from the short tees).
• Many well-guarded baskets.
• Water holes that are appealing and challenging - well done!
• A few sloped greens; should you go for it or lay up?
• Virtually no nasty underbrush.
• Course is pretty much circular and laid-out around a section with several parking areas so you can easily start on several different holes.
• Located in a large, pleasant multi-use park with no entry fee.
• Starts and finishes near restrooms.
Cons: • Too much non-disc golf traffic: plays around a dog park, a bike/walking path and near park roads. You have to be mindful of what's going on around you. Often had to wait for other park users to pass before teeing off (can take a while on some holes), ruins rhythm and flow.
• Many holes play near asphalt =murder on discs.
• Natural pads are just sand in some spots, just a matter of time before all of them are dirt.
• While I appreciate the curbstone markers, even simple tee posts would aide in navigation. Lay-out from hole to hole makes sense, but 1st timers should really print the map.

Other Thoughts: Open design and large expanse means prevailing winds are unimpeded - even light breezes get to work on your disc pretty much from tee to green, and you have to account for this… quite different from wooded courses where wind plays differently on certain sections of a hole.

Personal favorites were:
7 - It takes a brave sole to go for it from the tee; short and you're in the drink, long and you might lose it in the brushy growth behind the basket, but there is a fair landing area.
14 - Tee off from a hilltop for a downhill Ace Run. Yes, it's disgustingly easy to par, but fun to run, and the challenge here is for deuce.
16 - Sort of a basket on a peninsula - signature hole IMO.
I liked hole 5 from the tee, but the trees surrounding the basket are essentially a pinball machine. Yes, there are paths to the basket, but none of them seem like natural routes to me.

Apparently, this course is the undertaking of local players (rather than a line item on the city or county Parks & Rec budget). Hence, the only money available for pads and tee markers is what the locals can raise through their own efforts. Since there aren't many courses in the area, I doubt there's a large population of DGer's, and it's probably hard to get businesses to sponsor holes and such if they simply don't see it as being that popular in the immediate locality. I give them credit for being able to put a quality course in. If they can scrape together the $$ for pads, it'll be a nice touch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, potential to be GREAT!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course with stunning views of the lake. Palm Trees and Sunshine.

I did not notice any trash cans around, and potentially bathrooms could have been in one of the 2 buildings near the course. The park itself is unbelievable. I can not put into words what it is like simply driving into the park... of course, that feeling soon leaves when you never see a sign saying "Disc Golf Course" and realize you have to follow signs to the "Pooch" Park makes it a little insulting for Disc Golf players.

There are brand new baskets and older baskets, that even confuse locals. I had drawn a map off of this page with the 18 holes, and a local asked if I had a map, he had not played sine they moved to 18, so it is new to everyone how it is set up now I assume.

The course really does not get heavily wooded, but do not let that fool you, the Course Designer did a great job hiding the baskets behind the trees.

1 - straight shot in, natural for RHBH fade.
2 - easy to confuse the 2 basket with the 9 basket, the 2 basket is up the hill, follow the path of the trees and you will be ok.
3 - straight downhill to basket.
4 - *Tee is Walkway - straight uphill to basket, which is right of the tall tree on the hill.
5 - My favorite hole of the course. Do not let the trees fool you, they were planted in rows, and there are paths to throw in them.
6 - straight and open hole.
7 - Over creek, beware the wildlife.
8 - Difficult hole even though it is just straight ahead. Stay to the right if possible.
9 - Shorter hole, well hid basket.
10 - straight ahead hole.
11 - left to right hole
12 - right to left hole
13 - uphill straight away hole
14 - Downhill and short. my putter (Wizard) was almost too much
15 - Throwing over lake, tougher hole.
16 - Throw over lake again, I could not reach over the lake, was against the wind. Goodbye dx Eagle.
17 - straight away hole
18 - Lake to the right, but doesn't come into play, unless the wind was blowing really hard.
Cons: NO SIGNS - Get the map off of this site, or you will be lost.

NATURAL TEES - Always a negative to me, need cement pads.

FRONT 9 quite a bit easier than the back 9, could have been designed like that for purpose. Still, a great course, but not super challenging.
*edit - When I said not "super challenging" it was before I saw the current scorecards, it was my understanding that there were a number of par 4's from the blue, but now I realize they are all par 3's, and that is "super tough."
Other Thoughts: A great park, beautiful place. With some work I definitely see a solid 4, just 3 issues, 1 - Signs, 2 - Cement Pads, 3 - Garbage around course. One person with the ambition of a few hours a week could keep the park clean, could do it while playing a round, just carry a bag. Tees and Pads, and I would say a solid 4 course, and I am rating it on it's potential.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Now 18 permanent holes!

2-4    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 71  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - gorgeous park with plenty of amnenties

- lots of elevation changes, water hazards and challenging winds

- multiple natural tees marked with colored stones.

- great group of locals putting a lot of TLC into this course.

- plenty of room for more holes in the future!
Cons: - a lot of unaware pedestrian & bicycle traffic throughout certain sections of the course.

- not much signage yet but I know this is a work in progress.

- hole 14 is a really cool downhill shot that uses a small strip of grass between the road and parking area as an "island green" which makes for a neat challenge.. that is until an unaware park visitor decides to actually use the parking spaces that are about 15 feet in front of the basket. I had to skip this hole on my 2nd time around the course to avoid possibly bouncing my drive off a parked vehicle. A great solution would be to make the island green a temporary occassional basket placement (for tourneys and league rounds) and add another placement in front of the parking area and move the tees back a little bit to compensate.
Other Thoughts: - good layout for various skill levels. The wind seems to dictate the overall difficulty level on a day by day basis.

- parking area for DG has restrooms, water fountain, practice basket and is in close proximity to holes 16, 17, 18, & 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GETS BETTER EVERY YEAR

5+    11/5/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Nice, safe, and scenic park
- now has 18 permanent baskets
- nice elevation changes
- new practice basket area
-
Cons: - no concrete tees
- no signs
- not enough technical holes
- several holes to close to pedestrian traffic
Other Thoughts: Course is very challenging when the wind starts to blow.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Good

2-4    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: stryker7me
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice Park
- Easy to find Okee Park
- 3 Tee markers Red ,White, Blue
- Friendly groups playing the course, met some nice people
- Free
- Lots of parking
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- Hard to find the course within the park (unmarked)
- No tee pads
- Zero signage
- No course layout documentation
Other Thoughts: - Signage would be nice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center