Belden, MS 
Old Warrior Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: bazkitcase5 Hole #1
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
My favorite course in Mississippi

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 343  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful state park with excellent camping facilities and a disc golf course playing around a lake. Good tee pads, and good baskets. Enough lake shots you will be tired of those after playing here.

The gold layout is the 2nd hardest course I've ever played that combines two holes on the original layout for a double lake shot! Really awesome!

The views here are amazing! The tee signs are very unique, also.
Cons: Navigation. The tee signs don't give you any idea of the hole layout. Just hole number and distance. No tee signage for the Gold layout either. Print a course map!!!!

Most of the water shots are righty friendly. Good chance you will lose a disc. So, Bring some water discs you don't mind losing!
Other Thoughts: The park office always has an excellent selection of discs for sale.

I've heard the park now has two sets of baskets for the original course and gold course. Haven't been back to see for myself. I should be updating this review soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Lake Course

1    4/26/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: air show
Played: 126  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Concrete tee pads and Mach lll baskets.
+ Pay 4 dollars at main gate for vehicle permit and ask for course maps and score cards. Get both maps one for Old Warrior and one for Trace Gold you will need them both.
+ Great disc golf atmosphere. Even the Rangers are DG fans.
+ A great diversity of many different types of holes.
+ Beautifully manicured turf through out course.
+ Some elevation changes but not drastic.
+ Plays amongst many majestic trees.
+ 5 or 6 scenic water holes. I would pack a minimum of 2 water discs.
+ Depending on which layout you play there are many bomber holes
to let the big dog eat.
+ Course length and elevation changes make for a great workout.
+ Clean restroom by hole one.
+ Camping on site.

Cons: - Even with both maps navigation can be a problem. When entering the wooded portion of the course both layouts play amongst each other and first timers may find themselves wandering in search of the right baskets to throw at.
- Many of the water holes seem to be RH bias.
- A few holes play along side or over park roadways so take care.
- During prime camping season park goers and campers may cause conflicts on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most well maintained State Park disc golf courses I have ever played. The manicured turf and the scenic water holes make this course a must play for me when I am in the area. Moreover, a short distance away in Tupelo are 3 or 4 quality disc golf courses making this area a fantastic DG destination. Also the course designers and state park officials at Old Warrior Run DGC should be commended for creating such a beautiful disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced course

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: dustan32
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Holes 1,2,3,4,5, and 11-18 were really nice somewhat technical holes with nice lines and very fun to play esp 3, 12 and 16! The course outlay was awesome and the views were great. The gift shop has a very wide selection of innova discs.
Cons: Holes 6,7,8, and 10 were kind of disappointing because the lines were all normal with only the water to avoid. Unfortunately, the only discs available at the gift shop are innova brand discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that would definitely call you back to this tucked in state park literally in the middle of the woods. So many great views and would have loved to see holes closer to the big lake!

 The Best Course In The South

5+    5/20/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: ConnorGraham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is absolutely my favorite course. The terrain, the views, the design, and the difficulty all make for an incredible disc golf experience. You do not need to play the Gold layout for you to enjoy the course, or for the course to be challenging. The front 9 plays a little more open than the back, but much harder, due to all the H2O lurking around. The Hole # signs are ingeniously creative. They are in the shape of like a Longhorn skull, with # and distance on them. Each hole is different, and provides a unique challenge to your game. Benches are available, more through the back 9 than front but still. You need to have everything game-wise, to play well here. But even if you don't, you will have an enjoyable time. Nothing beats the scenery, the knowledgeable staff, and the ability to buy discs when (not if) you put one in the water!
Cons: The only thing that needs work is signage. You can get mixed up on tee pads and which basket you're throwing to (granted thats only on like hole 4, the rest is just pads) They need to update signs for most holes, and improve how easily it is to maneuver the course no matter what layout you are playing.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is the best course in the state, and in the South. Definitely worth taking a trip to come camp out and play! I am very fortunate to live <10 minutes away from this course. PS - Bring your swimming trunks in the summer/spring!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trace Gold

2-4    3/10/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 90  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views are beautiful! It is a long course, but not just long as in throw drivers each shot until you are at the basket, you have to have placement shots. For a person with a short arm, this makes the playing field a little more even with the long arms.

The hole design themselves are top of the line.. I love hole four. Hole five through ten are some of the best water holes I have ever had the privilege of losing discs on. Hole ten is a signature hole, and one of my favorites any where.

Overall, it is very challenging which makes for a great play.

Cons: The course itself is a little confusing to navigate without a map of the course. Losing discs can suck, but I think that adds to the fun personally.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 5 Star Disc Golf!!

2-4    11/11/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is Mississippi disc golf. Championship level course, well-trimmed Bermuda grass everywhere, top-notch design, good variety, challenging, lots of concrete pads. Tons of money and tons of love put into this course!
Cons: This is a tough course, so noobs stick to the shorts, good players get over here this is how good disc golf should be played in this beautiful Mississippi land!
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. Don't let the one star and half star reviews fool you. Without those people sour about some baskets missing for however long, the score would be way higher. Went there yesterday and saw baskets everywhere, 24 of them, and all easy to navigate! Played there again 11/11/12 and came back here to update my review - this course is one of the top five I've played in my life, and I've played everywhere in Michigan!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 2012 SNDC

1    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (I'm reviewing the Trace Gold Course)

The course was in great shape for the SNDC. Fairways were mowed and trees were pruned to perfection. The course has nice baskets that are clearly marked. Playing from the long tees, you the shorter tee signs along the way that worked as "yardage markers", similar to ball golf.

Benches and trash cans abounded. The course plays around water and provide a good use of the mild elevation changes. Some holes were open while some played through the woods.

This is a championship caliber course.
Cons: This course is for a limited set of players: the super long arms. It was fun to play in doubles format, but as Intermediate player, I would likely not enjoy this course by myself.
Other Thoughts: I'm reviewing this after playing the Southern Nationals Doubles Championship. The course was in pristine condition.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Woulda coulda shoulda been awesome.

1    4/16/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Mach7
Played: 122  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course is beautiful at a glance with stunning lakes used as OB on almost half of the holes. The course's lush green fairways are well maintained.

- Cool wrought iron tee signs that are custom made and offer you a place to hang your bag.

- Lots of long bomber holes for the big arms, with a good variety of technical holes.

- Concrete tee pads on all 18. Most of the holes feature multiple tees.

- Excellent risk/reward. The use of the lakes as OB is very well done with clever basket placement. The course gives you the opportunity for birdies, but fairly penalizes bad or overaggressive throws.

Cons: - Missing baskets. I followed the maps of Old Warrior Run and Trace Gold, yet couldn't find 6+ baskets on the course. I ended up playing to trees near where the baskets should have been.

- Multiple long walks between baskets and tees.

- Poor navigation signs.

- Some of the open holes, in the middle stretch of the course, become repetitive.

- Campers in the center of fairways. This is unacceptable on a pay-to-play course.
Other Thoughts: Old Warrior Run has the makings of a 4-star course, yet not being able to find baskets, poor navigation and tents in the fairways ruined what should have been an amazing experience.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A bit of a mess

1    4/9/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: fractalzoom
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: So.. Old Warrior Run is the highest rated course in Mississippi. Seems like a great destination for a road trip, amirite? 10 hours of driving and hitting a couple of great courses in the area - we were really looking forward to this one.

The day couldn't have been better. A little windy to make those over the water holes more challenging, but sunny, beautiful, and no mosquitoes. We're new to this course, but we've got our maps... should be a piece of cake, right?

It was easy to find the tees. They had cool signs and a place to hang your bag. The tees were always nice and good for a nice runup.. but the baskets. Where are the goddamn baskets? I think half the baskets were missing/moved/something.

I have generally low standards for what a course should be. I don't care about concrete tees (I can throw from grass). I don't care too much about old, rusty baskets. What I care about is if there are actually baskets around. It's the *one* essential thing to make a disc golf course. I can't tell you how times we line up to tee off.. and go down the fairway to find nothing. We ended up playing to random trees.

If I can get past not having a basket to throw to, the course was good, not great. I can't figure out how it got rated so much higher than the other courses in the area.

...and if you're going to pay... like, hand money over to someone - there's the presumption that this person may, I dunno, pass on some information. Something like, "Hey man, the course is messed up today, we moved/removed a bunch of baskets because we like f*cking with people... so be wary." Nothing like that.

Clearly the place is well maintained. Everything outside of the disc golf course was great. It was just such a weird disconnect to have so many missing baskets.

Suffice to say, I was dissappointed.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Highly over-rated course not well-maintained

1    4/16/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: tweissm
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful camp ground area with a nice lake and some rolling hills.

We were very excited to play here, as the reviews of the course are pretty high.

However, the experience was so un-inspiring that it actually inspired me to write a review.
Cons: I have no problem paying to play at a course. In fact, my preference would be to pay, if it means the course is going to be maintained and developed. This course doesn't seem to be either.

The course had at least 8 missing baskets, and horrendous signage between holes. The staff at the front had no clue which layout was currently in place and there didn't seem to be any logic to why some baskets were simply not there and others were.

We had both maps for the two layouts, and we aren't newbies to finding our way around unfamiliar courses. But, this place was just not user friendly.

There were campers all over and on hole 18 we had to drive down in to tents and lawn chairs.

Overall if was frustrating getting around and dissappointing to have so many missing baskets with very little help from the paid staff.
Other Thoughts: If you go to this area of the country, don't waste your time here. Spend it at Bud Hill.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.