Disc Golf Store
Belden, MS 
Old Warrior Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: bazkitcase5 Hole #5
3 / 248ft.   3 / 520ft.   4 / 519ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Short Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Mississippi Gem

1    3/25/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is well-designed 18 hole course that is extremely well kept and is quite challenging. This course has excellent variety of hole styles and hole lengths requiring every shot in your bag. I liked how the course is almost like 3 mini courses in regards to style- it starts with parks style for a few holes, then you play around the lake for a few, then some wooded holes coupled with steep elevation, and it finishes like it started. Every hole is unique and every tee shot must be carefully planned and executed. It seems every hole is a memorable one, but the signature #5 levee hole is one you will love to hate, lakes on both sides, the levee slopes down from left to right, and 520' from the long tees.

The layout and scenery are fabulous. I love how this course is spread out, each hole gets its own space, and the land is set aside purely for disc golf. Views of the lake are seen from most holes. The fairways were lush and green (played in spring after a lot of rain). The course has 2 sets of tees that are clearly marked. The baskets are in good shape. The tee signs and bag hangers are very nice and unique just giving one example of the care and detail Mississippi puts into their State Park disc golf courses.

There is ample parking. Restrooms near hole #1. The park workers are very nice, they will gladly give you tons of helpful information, and the ranger actually led us in his truck to #1's tee.
Cons: The biggest con (and this is very minor) are the couple of longer than normal walks from basket to next tee. But because this course covers such a large area of land this is necessary. I suppose they could add extra holes in between, but a little extra walking is really no biggie when you factor just how nice of a course this is. (The longest walk is from #4 to #5, and will give you plenty of time to mentally prepare yourself for the levee hole!)

Another very minor con (and I am digging here) is that you don't come near your car until 18, but in order to obtain that isolated in nature feel by the course being spread out this is a necessity.

Mississippi State Parks do charge $3 a day/car to enter the park, but this is well worth it.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed every second I was on this course. It is one of the best courses I have every played and is one of my all-time favorites. I highly recommend this course to any serious player looking for a challenging good time. (Be prepared to lose a disc or two in the lake.)

Old Warrior Run is the name of the course, Trace State Park is the name of the park, although many locals referred to the course as Trace, but they are one and the same. And it appears the original layout is called Old Warrior Run, and an optional layout is Trace Gold.

*Note- This review is for the standard layout, I have not played the Gold.

This park also features several other park amenities, a big lake, camping, cabins, etc. I strongly endorse the Mississippi State Parks Disc Golf courses. The courses are fun and very well kept and the people are nice. They are perfect for taking a disc golf vacation with your friends or family.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/10/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: 3456789
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is one of my faviroite courses. The park does a great job of keeping the fairways nice and clean. Concrete pads and bag holders on every tee. The water is avoidable from the AM pads.
Cons: The am pads are natrual. All I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a great state park and should get more attention than it does.
I hear the gold setup is amazing but I haven't got around to play it yet.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Scenic, Good Shots Rewarded

2-4    8/9/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a state park, and is well maintained by the park officials. There is concrete tee pads on all holes for pro pads. The course has good signage and flows pretty naturally, so navigation shouldn't be an issue. There's great camping near hole 3, right on the lake. The course starts and finishes by the parking lot, restrooms, and a large pavillion. There is a good variety of right and left holes, short and long holes, tight and open holes, so the course doesn't really favor any certain style of player. Also, there are hooks to hang your bag on most tees, which is cool for those morning rounds where the ground is still a bit damp.
Cons: There were only 5 am pads total, but they were grass pads, which takes away a bit from the course. Nothing major, but if the grass was wet, it could get a little slick. The walks from 2 to 3, 4 to 5, and 16 to 17 are somewhat long, but nothing that was a real issue. The only con that really affected my rating of the course was the wooded holes, 11-14. Holes 12 and 13 were okay, but 11 and 14 weren't good holes. Even thought I didn't mind 12 and 13, I still felt that this stretch of holes through the woods was really more of a "filler" for the rest of the course. They were short, the routes on a couple were sketchy at best, and they just didn't excite me.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course. As stated in the cons, I wasn't fond of the wooded holes (tight wooded holes are some of my favorite, just not these). Under par is certainly manageable, but stray shots can get you in trouble in a hurry, especially on the water holes (5-10). The park was super clean and very well maintained when I was there, and I assume it stays that way. You're not really close to anything here, so bring anything you might need (food, fluids, meds, sunscreen, off, ect.) with you.

Favorite Holes: 2, 5(pro), 6(pro), 7(pro), 8, 9, 10(pro), 16, 18(pro)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Most challenging in area

5+    4/24/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Randy Sharp
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you have a PDGA AM rating, this course will challenge you for a par round.

A great mix of open and wooded holes give the complete package to your round. And the diversity of hole lengths force your hand to your overall ability. It's got it all!

Lefty's will find most of the holes going through the woods to their liking for a natural backhand. The righty's will find favor with the lake holes.

Tee pads are concreted and the fairways are, well, fair. Not wide open, but not too narrow. Most have a 15-20 gap to drive through.

Because the park is off the beaten path, it doesn't get the play and recognition it deserves.
Cons: Some tee pads are well away from the previous hole's basket. Some require a hundred yard's walk. There is potential to add an extra hole here and there to redeem this small "con."
Other Thoughts: This course is the most challenging in the area. If you want gimme birdies, you won't find them here. If you get one here, you've earned it with a well-placed tee shot.

If you finish this course with a good score, you can bet you will be mentally taxed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with a little of everything!

1    4/5/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes one large loop and had a great mix of open holes, wooded holes, water carries, up hill, down hill. It really does have it all. The course has some long holes and some shorter holes. The highlight of the round is a hole that is played inbetween the levies of 2 lakes. You have water on both sides of you on a 500ft+ hole. The landing area is fairly wide, but any wild shot will find the water. This is fallowed by 4 more holes around the lake with all of them requiring short carries over water. Every hole has a tee sign with the yardage marked and there are a few benches scattered throughout the course. This is a lovely park and is very well taken care of. The course is not excedingly hard but beginners are going to have issues with all of the water and some of the long holes. All of the wooded holes have well defined fairways. Overall this is just are super course that everyone would enjoy.
Cons: Like every busy park several of the holes might have people around them. This is especially true around the lake with people fishing. There are also a couple of holes that have you throwing across the park road and one basket that is very close to the boat dock parking and parked cars can come into play. there is also a long walk inbetween 4 and 5. Just becareful with vehicals on the road and people around the lake!!
Other Thoughts: The tee signs are unique but serve there purpose. This is a really great course that is a must play if you are in the area. It really will provide you with a great all around disc golf experience. Lots of different hole types for new players to learn on and enough of a challenge for better players to enjoy as well.

I highly recommend this course!!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course in an Awesome Park

1    3/25/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The piece of property that is set aside for Disc Golf here is amazing. They have room to create a course of immense and varying challenges and the designer sufficiently accomplished this. Tee Pads were in excellent shape, Bag posts and benches were excellent. The course was extremely well groomed.Again I keep coming back to the views but they are amazing.

Cons: There is a long walk from hole 4 to hole 5. It is not hard to find as you simply follow the path. However, we played on a morning immediately following a heavy rain the previous night. It was a long soggy, muddy tromp.
Other Thoughts: This curse was really about 3 kinds of courses blended into one. This is what made it fabulous. The first 4 holes and the the last 3 holes are "city-park" type of holes. These are long holes with large mature trees in the fairway. Then there were the water holes (5-10) which were amazingly beautiful and challenging. The remainder of the course was in the woods going up and down a hill, requiring exceptional accuracy and execution. Combine all 3 and this is a course that most seasoned disc golfers would love.

Hole 5 is a difficult hole over a levee. While I think it was intended to be the signature hole, I like hole 10 the best. It requires a downhill throw over an inlet of the lake. The carry is roughly about 275 and the pin backs up against the forest. An absolutely fantastic disc golf hole.

If you are ever in the Tupelo area, I highly recommend stopping in at Trace State Park and playing this phenomenal course. You will not be disappointed.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/8/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Best kept disc golf secret in North Mississippi!
The course is maintained by Trace State Park and kept in excellent condition!!
Cons: None, but you will have to pay $3 to get in the park unless you have a pass.
Other Thoughts: You won't want to miss playing this course if your ever in Tupelo.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't throw in the water!

5+    2/1/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses! Course is well taken care of. Benches on a few holes, where needed. 2 sets of tee pads, am and pro. Concrete pads. Footage for each set of tees.

Out of the 18 holes I would say at least 8-10 are possible birdies but it can be really quick to take a bogey if not more and possible lose a disc. The holes around the lake are easy to get a birdie on from the short pads but also really easy to go OB. The wind seems to be blowing 75% of the time I've played it and just have to play safe. The holes up in the woods par is good on but take a birdie where you get them. Hole #15 is a fun blinde spike hyzer shot for a lefty.

Hole # 5 is by far the toughest and most challenging from the pro pad. It's around 500' with OB on the left and right with about a 60' or so fairway to play with.
Cons: This course is a bit out of the way which is why it doesn't get played as much as it should. Also a lot of the newer players don't like playing it because it's real easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the state I believe, that I have played at least. Great pro shop inside the park lodge with good prices and selection. Par is a good score on this course for an AM player. Best course in the Tupelo area IMO. Worth the drive for sure!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Course of beauty

5+    9/17/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads and freshly built benches on a few holes. Pro shop with great selection. The park ranger cares about disc golf and it shows on the course (the grass is cut weekly and fairways are cleaned). The design contains decent elevation, water, OB roads, technical shots, open shots, both short and long, as well as variety on shot selection.

The water holes 5, 6, 7, 10 have short tees for newer players, but they are not concrete (look for the metal bag holders that have distances written on them).

Camping is available, as well as bathrooms and a pavilion at the start of the course.
Cons: The course can be semi difficult to get to from the highway and it is a good 10-15 minutes from Pontotoc or Tupelo.

The course is in a MS state park, so entry into the park is $3 per car, which is incorporated into the entry fee for tournaments. (most MS residents just buy yearly passes for $42). Typical MS state park with lots of ticks and other critters. Sometimes has people fishing from the banks of the fairways around holes 6, 7, and 8, that don't understand that these discs might hurt them. The course also does not loop back to the start at the half way point.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in a scenic park. It is one of my favorite courses, with the potential for a championship layout for tournaments. Every hole challenges a differently part of your game, but with enough distance and accuracy, scores in the 40's can be shot.

Hole 5 is the signature hole that is remembered by everybody who plays this course. Every time I meet somebody at an away tournament that has played this course, not only do they love the course, but they always mention this hole. The hole is 520 ft. with a 50 ft. levy for a fairway. Water all the way down the right side, then the levy starts for 20 ft and slowly slopes for 30 more ft. to water on the left side. The water on the left stops at about the 400 ft. mark to give the cannon arms a good landing zone. If that is not enough, then there is almost ALWAYS wind blowing on this course, particularly the usual left-right crosswind on this hole. The short tee is a 280 ft. shot that starts at the base of the slope on the left of the fairway.

Go to www.tupelodiscgolf.com to post if you are in the area and looking for somebody to join you when playing this course. Most locals prefer the easier courses in town, but there are a few, including me, who would be happy to join you for a round if available.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.