Liberty Corner, NJ 
Harry Dunham Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 331ft.   3 / 602ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Casual Course

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Well maintained signs and baskets
* Very clean/tidy park
* Two tee locations
* A couple of holes where you can air out your discs
* Great for beginners or casual playing
* Lots of parking
Cons: * Lots of pedestrians
* Soccer course to the left on two holes
* Could be an easy course for better players
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses for nice, casual playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love it!

5+    10/16/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - No garbage on the course
- In a park so toddlers can go on the playground
Cons: - There are many trees in your way
- MANY people are on the course
- Garbage on the course
- Not a full round
Other Thoughts: This is a course to go back to, but this was not my favorite course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginners Course

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sickwell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open with a couple par 4s. There are bathrooms there in case you need them. The baskets are in perfect condition and the grounds are well maintained.
Cons: Not too much challenge. No trees really to throw through it is pretty much all straight throws to the baskets. Some holes are a little close to the playground so you need some accuracy but i have never had a problem.
Other Thoughts: I started playing on this course I think it is a great course to practice on. It has two starting tees which is always nice.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course...

1    8/31/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find, easy to navigate. Ample parking. Bathroom access. Mostly open, with a few trees involved or easy doglegs to keep you honest. Good for beginners and/or families, nice for advanced players to work on approach and putting.
Cons: Lots of open field = lots of places for families to be in the way. I played during dinner-time, so it was empty; I can imagine that this place is packed with non-golfers at times.

Hole #4 in particular can easily lend itself to having a disc fly into traffic on a fairly busy road. Hole #6 ends at the corner of the parking lot; too close to cars for me.
Other Thoughts: The town of Liberty Corner, NJ put in this course and did a surprisingly good job with what they had. The course is just a little 9-hole town park course, but they have two sets of concrete tees for each hole and the baskets and tees are well-marked. There's no course layout handy, but you really don't need it - the course is small enough that you can easily see the next tee when you hole out.

In all honesty, any intermediate-level player or above should be birdieing these; no need to bring your distance drivers here.

I only had time for nine holes, but this is the type of course where you can just relax and have fun. Not too difficult, laid-back stuff. I'd play it again, and smile as I did.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Harry not so Hairy

5+    9/1/2006   7/12/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Nice clean park
2) Plenty of parking
3) Easy to navigate
4) Relaxing, tough to lose a disc or score a snowman
5) A couple of ace runs, a couple of tricky holes
6) Two tees per hole turns 9 into 18 holes
7) Played 100+ times and never ran into course traffic!!
Cons: 1) OK, as others have stated, this ain't "Warwick Animal to Blues" (search if you are clueless), it is pretty simple, easy golf. Only holes 7a and 7b give you a challenge (but a darn fine challenge it is!!).
2) Don't go if you want to meet up with fellow golfers, guarantee you will be playing the course alone.
3) Funky pars, just get on the trolley and play everything as a three like the big boys.
Other Thoughts: Harry Dunham was the nearest course to my workplace, so I played there pretty regularly from 2001-2006. You can easily get a few rounds in in an hour or so playing solo. I usually played a quick front 9/back 9. Most holes are EASY threes, my lows were -8 from the short and -7 from the long. Favorite holes are 7 long and 6 short (you were kicking yourself if you didn't deuce). All in all a happy, clean, peaceful course, if not overly difficult.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect place to learn and pratice

1    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: jbyrd
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained public park, plenty of parking, Great tees and great baskets. All 9 holes have short and long tees. Some interesting shots. Its a very nice 9 hole course thats perfect to introduce a newbie, or work on your short game. The constant wind will test your skills
Cons: Park is busy, lots of families / kids, you need to be careful when you throw. The constant wind will test your skills
Other Thoughts: It is very well designed for the property, the nine holes run the outside perimiter of a large park and playground and walking path. for the most part all fairways are open for play, but the walking path does come into play on a few holes. I gave it a 4 because its the best 9 hole course in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Local Course

5+    11/26/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a very well maintained public park in Liberty Corner- one of those picturesque small towns you might see on a postcard, Harry Dunham is my favorite local 9 hole course in the Central Jersey Area. Has two tee pads at each hole and clearly marked signs with Par indicator. Hole 7 in particular is a challenge regardless of which tee pad you use, with tall grass on both sides serving as OB. Very easy to negotiate.
Cons: Probably not challenging enough for the advanced disc golfer. Many, many joggers, people walking their dogs and kids you must be mindful of when playing. Very soggy in spots after heavy rains. Would have been nice if some of the surrounding woods had been incorporated into the course.
Other Thoughts: Of the three 9 hole courses in the area, Greenwood Meadows is the best at utilizing the available land, Chimney Rock has the most potential, and Harry Dunham is the nicest overall.Really a peaceful experience playing here despite the heavy park use. People are very friendly and twice older gentlemen curiously asked me "what game I was playing" and expressed approval. As it's a 9 hole course, you can play it two or three times in a morning. Not too far from Chimney Rock & Greenwood Meadows.Worth the trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Asphalt tee boxes
Two tees per hole
Clearly marked
Well-designed, given the limitations of the park
Cons: Only nine holes
I wish they went into the woods behind #8 basket
Other Thoughts: Of the three short courses in this area, this is my favorite. It's a nice little nine-hole course if you don't have a lot of time or if you want to show a beginner what disc golf is like. While it's mostly level, mowed grass fairways, they did their best to arrange the course around the few trees to make it a little challenging, and some of the holes have some good distance from the long tees for such a small course.

EDIT: I've been playing this course more lately for a variety of reasons. If you go when it's not crowded and aren't worried about hitting joggers or kids on the playground, it's a lot of fun to play this course in a semi-safari layout. Play 1's tee to 2's basket, 3's tee to 4's basket and so on until you get to 9, which you play to 1 and then go around again (2 to 3, etc.). It makes the course a lot longer and gives you some very interesting shots. I added this layout (with rough distances taken from Google Maps) to the course and called it the "Gold" layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5/7/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: element42
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well kept. Nice park. Teepads in great condition. 2 teepads per hole. Easily read map/teesign.
Cons: 9 holes. Very flat. Not many trees.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.