Liberty Corner, NJ 
Harry Dunham Park Share
Uploaded By: Aupps Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 223ft.   3 / 409ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A course to cut your teeth on

2-4    4/25/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: UCC Wizard
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: Clean park, Restrooms, quick paying.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course. Few difficult holes, if any. Walking paths EVERYWHERE and lots of walkers. Several holes up against little kid playgrounds, parking lots, and soccer fields. No wooded holes to speak of, a couple random trees at best.
Other Thoughts: Played this course a few times to practice for a Birdie Bash I entered here. Other than that, I doubt I'd make the drive again and its only 25 minutes away. If your wife or small kids want to learn how to play, this would be a nice place to bring them. Not trying to kill this place, its pretty, and friendly, just gonna bore an avid disc golfer.

 GNATS!

1    6/30/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: GarageRock
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is huge and well manicured with many amenities. The course itself is well maintained, and pretty easy for beginners, like myself. You can get free equipment if you stop by the Basking Ridge Recreation Center nearby. There are plenty of things to do if others in your party aren't playing. Huge play area for kids.
Cons: Gnats...lots of them! The entire park is full of gnats for whatever reason...they'll be in your face all day. Not much of a problem, but very annoying if you hate that sort of thing. Other paths in the park either cross the course or pass close by, so you have to wait for others to get out of the way before you throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Casual Course

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2013
Pros: * Well maintained signs and baskets
* Very clean/tidy park
* Two tee locations
* A couple of holes where you can air out your discs
* Great for beginners or casual playing
* Lots of parking
Cons: * Lots of pedestrians
* Soccer course to the left on two holes
* Could be an easy course for better players
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses for nice, casual playing.

Play it only if you're in the area

5+    10/16/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 46  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -This is a great course if you are a pro and you want to teach a beginner the basics of disc golf
-It has a couple of middle distanced par 4's so you can take out your big arm
-There's a blue tee and a red tee so good disc golfers can be a little challenged on the far layout
-Open if you really want to break down your mechanics and not worry about hitting a tree
-Variety of short holes and long holes
-Different sports fields so you can play there after or before your round
-If you just want to play a casual 25 minute round or you are in a rush, just play a round here because a round takes about 18-27 minutes with one person and 20-33 minutes with 2+ people
Cons: -If you are a 900+ rated player, do not come here. It will be a waste of time for you
-Only 9 holes, so if you want 18 holes, you have to play the same 9 holes again
-If you are a beginner, it could be easy to hit a person on a sports field or on the playground
-In the summer, the rough will get tall and thick so be careful
-Pedestrians on walking paths could be a hazard
Other Thoughts: Don't be tricked by the photos because this course isn't horrible, but it really isn't a course that is going to be in your top 25 courses. I recommend only come here if you are in the area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginners Course

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sickwell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open with a couple par 4s. There are bathrooms there in case you need them. The baskets are in perfect condition and the grounds are well maintained.
Cons: Not too much challenge. No trees really to throw through it is pretty much all straight throws to the baskets. Some holes are a little close to the playground so you need some accuracy but i have never had a problem.
Other Thoughts: I started playing on this course I think it is a great course to practice on. It has two starting tees which is always nice.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 straightforward, simple course

1    6/30/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice tees boxes, two per hole. clear signage and navigation. good park, plenty of facilities and parking.
Cons: very straightforward, open holes so no need to use a lot of shots. course runs next to a jogging path so lots of pedestrian traffic. although the course briefly goes up against the woods, it does not make use of the woods.
Other Thoughts: the lack of variety makes this course boring, just a tee, open area and a basket for most holes. the alternate tees could have been better served being located in different areas to give this a true 18-hole feel. good practice for putting, easy to get in a quick round, but not worth driving out of the way to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course...

1    8/31/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find, easy to navigate. Ample parking. Bathroom access. Mostly open, with a few trees involved or easy doglegs to keep you honest. Good for beginners and/or families, nice for advanced players to work on approach and putting.
Cons: Lots of open field = lots of places for families to be in the way. I played during dinner-time, so it was empty; I can imagine that this place is packed with non-golfers at times.

Hole #4 in particular can easily lend itself to having a disc fly into traffic on a fairly busy road. Hole #6 ends at the corner of the parking lot; too close to cars for me.
Other Thoughts: The town of Liberty Corner, NJ put in this course and did a surprisingly good job with what they had. The course is just a little 9-hole town park course, but they have two sets of concrete tees for each hole and the baskets and tees are well-marked. There's no course layout handy, but you really don't need it - the course is small enough that you can easily see the next tee when you hole out.

In all honesty, any intermediate-level player or above should be birdieing these; no need to bring your distance drivers here.

I only had time for nine holes, but this is the type of course where you can just relax and have fun. Not too difficult, laid-back stuff. I'd play it again, and smile as I did.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good if you are looking for a quick round
Cons: Out in the open
Share park with other amenities
have a few shots that are next to main road or throw over walking path
Short holes even with extended tees
Other Thoughts: Don't expect anything too challenging

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Harry not so Hairy

5+    9/1/2006   7/12/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice clean park
2) Plenty of parking
3) Easy to navigate
4) Relaxing, tough to lose a disc or score a snowman
5) A couple of ace runs, a couple of tricky holes
6) Two tees per hole turns 9 into 18 holes
7) Played 100+ times and never ran into course traffic!!
Cons: 1) OK, as others have stated, this ain't "Warwick Animal to Blues" (search if you are clueless), it is pretty simple, easy golf. Only holes 7a and 7b give you a challenge (but a darn fine challenge it is!!).
2) Don't go if you want to meet up with fellow golfers, guarantee you will be playing the course alone.
3) Funky pars, just get on the trolley and play everything as a three like the big boys.
Other Thoughts: Harry Dunham was the nearest course to my workplace, so I played there pretty regularly from 2001-2006. You can easily get a few rounds in in an hour or so playing solo. I usually played a quick front 9/back 9. Most holes are EASY threes, my lows were -8 from the short and -7 from the long. Favorite holes are 7 long and 6 short (you were kicking yourself if you didn't deuce). All in all a happy, clean, peaceful course, if not overly difficult.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Underrated!

5+    6/1/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: rasTerize
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of holes for righties and lefties, and for technique and power. Course is very well groomed. Layout flows. It's never too trafficked. You will probably never lose any discs. There are A and B tees at each hole. Each hole is well marked. No park fee.
Cons: You only need one solid throw to beat a hole.
Other Thoughts: All the holes should be played as par 3's, though some are labeled par 4. I've played the course 30+ times to date, and still love throwing a round here. Sure the course isn't that difficult, and the holes aren't super clever, but the course doesn't try to do more than it can or should. It's very strong for a simple course and it's definitely underrated in my opinion.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.