Liberty Corner, NJ 
Harry Dunham Park Share
Uploaded By: Aupps Hole #9 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 331ft.   3 / 370ft.   4 / 691ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Alt. Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Perfect place to learn and pratice

1    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: jbyrd
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained public park, plenty of parking, Great tees and great baskets. All 9 holes have short and long tees. Some interesting shots. Its a very nice 9 hole course thats perfect to introduce a newbie, or work on your short game. The constant wind will test your skills
Cons: Park is busy, lots of families / kids, you need to be careful when you throw. The constant wind will test your skills
Other Thoughts: It is very well designed for the property, the nine holes run the outside perimiter of a large park and playground and walking path. for the most part all fairways are open for play, but the walking path does come into play on a few holes. I gave it a 4 because its the best 9 hole course in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Local Course

5+    11/26/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a very well maintained public park in Liberty Corner- one of those picturesque small towns you might see on a postcard, Harry Dunham is my favorite local 9 hole course in the Central Jersey Area. Has two tee pads at each hole and clearly marked signs with Par indicator. Hole 7 in particular is a challenge regardless of which tee pad you use, with tall grass on both sides serving as OB. Very easy to negotiate.
Cons: Probably not challenging enough for the advanced disc golfer. Many, many joggers, people walking their dogs and kids you must be mindful of when playing. Very soggy in spots after heavy rains. Would have been nice if some of the surrounding woods had been incorporated into the course.
Other Thoughts: Of the three 9 hole courses in the area, Greenwood Meadows is the best at utilizing the available land, Chimney Rock has the most potential, and Harry Dunham is the nicest overall.Really a peaceful experience playing here despite the heavy park use. People are very friendly and twice older gentlemen curiously asked me "what game I was playing" and expressed approval. As it's a 9 hole course, you can play it two or three times in a morning. Not too far from Chimney Rock & Greenwood Meadows.Worth the trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Asphalt tee boxes
Two tees per hole
Clearly marked
Well-designed, given the limitations of the park
Cons: Only nine holes
I wish they went into the woods behind #8 basket
Other Thoughts: Of the three short courses in this area, this is my favorite. It's a nice little nine-hole course if you don't have a lot of time or if you want to show a beginner what disc golf is like. While it's mostly level, mowed grass fairways, they did their best to arrange the course around the few trees to make it a little challenging, and some of the holes have some good distance from the long tees for such a small course.

EDIT: I've been playing this course more lately for a variety of reasons. If you go when it's not crowded and aren't worried about hitting joggers or kids on the playground, it's a lot of fun to play this course in a semi-safari layout. Play 1's tee to 2's basket, 3's tee to 4's basket and so on until you get to 9, which you play to 1 and then go around again (2 to 3, etc.). It makes the course a lot longer and gives you some very interesting shots. I added this layout (with rough distances taken from Google Maps) to the course and called it the "Gold" layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Welcome

5+    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *easy
* good stroll
* can move the tees back and put some trees and tunnels in front of you
*8th Hole Break
Cons: *wide open
*frequent walkers/joggers
* WINDYYY
*prickers
Other Thoughts: One of the first courses ive ever played, i was able to birdie sum holes with an ultimate disc and have aquired a few hole in ones on 3 and 5.. Deff worth checkin out for a lesuirely drive and putt session, otherwise not worth the drive if its over 15mins away from you.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park.

2-4    3/6/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained park with a playground, bathrooms, and other facilities. Each tee is asphalt and signage is first rate. The course plays counter clockwise on the outside of the park. Because of this many of the throws are left to right. If played before the park is crowded it can be used for a friendly game among friends or for some nice practice. Especially if you use the dual tees to make it play like 18 baskets.
Cons: Basket 2 is a bit hairy because it is a left to right throw along side a road. If your throw gets away from you it could end up headed for the street and it is fairly well used. There is also a home behind 2 but it should not be a problem unless you are being foolish. 3 kind of scares me because on the right you have heavy brush with lots of briars and on the left is the real nice children's playground. If a disc got away here when children are playing or a child decides to take off running when attention is not being fully shown by all involved it could be ugly. 6 is a nice slightly downhill throw but it is next to the parking lot so be careful. 7 and 8 are next to a very well used walking and running path.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to play if the park is quiet. Like early in the morning like I did. Other than that it has very little potential. Unless they want to expand it into the woods where I saw the people on mountain bikes going.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Pitch and Putt

1    2/18/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent signage. Well groomed park. Course has 2 very nice aspalt tees per hole, thus 9 holes can be played as 18. I liked these tees more than I expected too. Meanders along perimeter of park and does a fair job of avoiding other park activities. Great place to air out drives. Optimal place to practice open game, teach, and learn new discs. Open course, little chance to lose discs. Given the limited space, the holes have some nice length...any longer and it would be dangerous, any shorter and it would be too boring. Nice use of small slopes and minimal trees to utilize limited obstacles into fun factor of course. Play it during winter or off season and this course is much funner as there will be limited traffic in park. I played in February, I had no pedestrian problems. #7 owned me I had all kinds of trouble there!
Cons: It's flat, like south Jersey flat but it's not south Jersey. Holes 2 and 4 will have you driving parallel to roads, be careful. Hole #6 plays around a parking area, watch for cars. Hole #9 runs along a baseball field, it's not unrealistic to lose a drive into the playing area. Wish the woods between 8 and 9 were used for a few holes..this would increase the variety and safety of the course. Watch the walking path as well. If you don't clear the brush on hole #7 your gonna be pissy! I was, took a 7, hit a tree then tomahawked into a 2 meter rule then threw an anhyzer that the wind grabbed and threw into walking path before eventaully holing out....pretty funny having all that trouble on a course I thought was easy as pie.
Other Thoughts: Poor North Jersey and New York....All those people and such limited courses to choose from. If anyone can build some more elite courses up there I am sure Disc Golf will take off.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 FIrst ACE!!!! - Might be Biased

1    8/27/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained park. Multiple tee-boxes add a little variety. I Aced #6-Red '145 so that was my favorite hole (lol).
Cons: Lots of football parents on the course near 7-8 and cheerleaders practicing on 9's fairway made it a little more challeging.
Other Thoughts: Really good short course to get your feet wet on. Good practice area near the first tee and on hole nine

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course!!

5+    8/29/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: illnana94
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are asphalt. If you are just learning how to play this is the course for you. The entire park is maintained well.
Cons: The course is very short even from the deeps. Wide open and hardly any obsticles. Playground on the 4th hole is a little close. Not for anyone that wants to be challenged
Other Thoughts: I grew up playing this course and it serves its purpose of being a well maintained beginner course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

5+    6/2/2008   9/2/2008
Review By: Macnamara
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Never lose a disc
-Well marked
-Well groomed
Cons: -Flat
-Wide Open
-Walking paths get dangerously close at times (playground on the 4th).
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong...I love this course and learned to play on this course.

So if you want to learn to how to play, workout some kinks in your form or want to flat out throw bombs all day without any consequences, go there.

If you want to get better...you are probably going to have to go elsewhere.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/27/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is very well kept and very nice looking. The actual disc golf course is well marked and well groomed. Every hole has well marked tees and signs. All of the holes are in the open with very little in between the tee and the basket. Hole 7 has some rough to the right where it is easy to lose a disc. The course winds through the various amenitites of the park so you have to watch for people before throwing off. Overall a pretty nice course.
Cons: Not much variety here - all the holes are open and relatively flat.
The park was crowded when I played it - this was especially hard on the holes adjacent to the playground.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty windy, and since it is all open, the wind comes in to play on all holes.
The large wood carvings around the course are pretty cool.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.