Hillsboro, OR 
Orchard Park Share
Uploaded By: Pierparknut Hole #8 (Taken 11/2016)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Meet this course where it's at.

5+    11/20/2016   11/24/2016
Review By: CoachK808
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you think about this course as a place to practice your upshot and your putting game then this may be a 3.5. There are different hole placements that make this course serviceable.

If you're looking to get out of the house on a sunday morning to get the day started this course can do the trick.
Cons: There can be lot's of walkers on the paths around the holes (especially on hole 1). It is very muddy and soggy in some spots when it rains a lot. Not a quality course. Overall it is not a 3 and some may say a 2.5 is a little generous.
Other Thoughts: Don't expect it to be AMAZING and this course is actually pretty cute. I would say it isn't a full out "course" I just think of it as a "putting range" and it does it's job in that right.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice 9-holer in a well-kept park

1    8/9/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Orchard Park is a short, 9-hole course in a nice city park in Hillsboro, Oregon. The course only occupies the small grassy portion of the park. The rest of the park is covered with dense woods. There's definitely enough room for 18 holes.

-It is well-kept and in a location where a lot of people live. It's the only course nearby too. If I lived nearby I would play here all the time.

-Great course for those starting out or if you want putter and mid practice.

-The holes are mostly open, but there are a few technical shots. Some small trees have been planted, which are easy to throw over now but not once they've grown in.

-My favorite holes were #3, a high hyzer over the young trees or a low hyzer if you prefer, #4, where the basket is behind two Douglas Firs, and a bush that makes it so a low shot isn't an option. I also liked #7, the only hole in the woods. It's only 166 ft, but it's a nice anhyzer shot with a jerk-branch.

-The tee signs were wonderful. They showed the hole in detail as well as the course map. Take a look at the map on every tee, sometimes it's hard to find where to go after you've putted out.

-There's a practice basket and restroom near the first tee.

-The course is routed nicely. Never do holes cross one another or come really close. The popular pedestrian path only comes into play on the first hole.
Cons: -The longest hole, #5, is only 270 feet and I doubt it's really that long. Through the whole round I did not use a distance driver.

-I would imagine this course being very busy on the weekends. I was fortunate to play on a weekday but since this is the only course nearby, it must get a lot of use on the weekends. The parking lot is very small, too.

-They must over-water here. Multiple times the ground felt squishy, and this was in the middle of August.
Other Thoughts: -With the property available, the designer did a really great job here. Yes, the holes are somewhat close together but that has to be expected on a small property.

-The pictures on file are not all correct. The course must have been re-routed recently.

-Overall, it's a super fun course, but only worth stopping by if you're nearby. Making the trip out here isn't worth it if the same drive could take you to a longer, more challenging course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite 9 hole course in PDX area

5+    8/12/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: tdennis11
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Fun and quick. If you're a new player or looking to get in a quick round or two on a lunch break or between appointments (or whatever) this is a great course to hit up. The grounds are well maintained and the course does offer some variety. Overall a pretty park and nicely laid out.

This is by far my favorite 9 hole course in the Portland area.
Cons: Some park goers walking on the paths that intersect or skirt some holes, but not a big issue.

Being this is a popular park, you can sometimes find yourself behind a large group of infrequent/fair-weather players. Typically these groups let you pass, but I've definitely had my run-ins here with those who are new to the sport and don't yet have a handle on etiquette (typically teenagers or Pokemongo players . . . so, teenagers).
Other Thoughts: Being one of the first courses I've ever played, and definitely the first course that made me feel like I didn't totally suck, this course is held near and dear to my heart.

I still find myself returning here now and again to up my confidence. Cheap therapy : )

Good easy short course

5+    8/4/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: Noah PDX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Good variety of shot types required. Well maintained.
Cons: Generally flat, and thorny blackberry bushes on the edge of the course (don't shank it).
Other Thoughts: This is an easy course with short distances to the basket. an average player could do the course with a mid range and a putter.

 Great beginner course, still OK for others

5+    5/29/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: danbfree
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very clean and well maintained. even back fields get regular mowing now.
- Closest to a perfect beginner course as I've seen without being too boring. Not too many places to truly lose discs but a couple of spots can still be a challenge to find discs when grown in.
- Can be not crowded at all when weather isn't 100% perfect.
- Baskets were just made longer on the 2 holes they could (5,8), maximizing it's challenge.
Cons: - Too short overall
- very little elevation change
- Literally every shot is within a few degrees of perfectly straight from the tee.
- When the fair weather players decide it's nice it can get crowded in a hurry.
- Ground squirrels have made back fields lumpy and easy to twist ankles.
Other Thoughts: With regular mowing of the back fields and less irrigation of the front, along with the slight lengthening of the 2 holes they could, the park has become more DG friendly for sure now.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Clean, and Straightforward

5+    12/16/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: Uncopyrighted
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
+ High quality baskets
+ Clean concrete pads with brick overrun
+ Park is generally clean and well maintained
+ Clean bathrooms
+ Ample parking
+ Practice basket near the 1st tee
+ Nature trail away from course
+ Next tee always close to last basket, fast-paced
+ Not crowded on weekdays
+ Beautiful signs with Par, distance, and sketch
Cons:
- Generally crowded on weekends
- Flat, non-technical, very little challenge
- Pedestrian paths pass through a few holes
- Very short and can feel rushed if playing leisurely
- Very little shade in summer
- Only one hole (#6) has a chill spot
- Often muddy in spring/winter
- Dog walkers do not always clean up after dogs
Other Thoughts:
Orchard Park is a short, easy, course in a Hillsboro City Park. The layout could have been more technical given the area they chose to use, but the city opted for a mostly flat course to minimize the course impact on pedestrian routes. I rate this course slightly above average only because of the quality of baskets, signage, and pads. Also, the park is generally quite clean and well-maintained. It is good for a quick (fast-paced) mid-day game, or a slow leisurely weekend game (you will be waiting for pedestrians a lot on the weekend). It's a good course for new players (use caution on #3 so you don't end up of the roof of the building - otherwise it is hard to lose a disc). Use caution on hole #6, as it shoots towards the #8 tee. The layouts is easy enough to follow so long as you know what 200' looks like (no, you are not going for that basket that is 500' away). Also, if the course is busy - stay alert or you might get hit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded

5+    6/2/2013   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: - Quick play when not crowded
- Well maintained
- Beginner friendly
- Recent remodel

Cons: - Crowded
- Crowded with non-discers
- Multi-use park
- Lots of Newbies
- inconsiderate park users
Other Thoughts: If you find the rare moment when you have the park to yourself it's nice. I dislike taking an hour and half to play a little 9 hole course... especially when it's because of inconsiderate players and non discers.

 Hard to find typical 9 hole

1    6/22/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 105  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 32.3 Years
Pros: This 9 hole course is hidden in one of the many green belt parks between office parks in the Hillsboro/Beaverton area. I played a couple and this isn't one of the best examples.
It is a well appointed course, well done pads and signs on all holes. Park itself is nice and has trash cans and bathrooms. They used the area to have a couple different shots so it isn't a wide open pitch and putt.
Cons: Big ones are it is a very busy park and course and the layout is very tight so if you go for that tempting drive and are off very much at all there is a good chance you will be hitting someone. Some drives are blind and close to next tee, again a hazard to hit someone.
The park itself was hard to find, I drove around it twice even having looked up directions on line. very rare for me. No city signs, at least that I saw, leading to park, also rare.
Other Thoughts: An interesting place and good use of greenspace but a course to be avoided when busy. Much better courses close.

 Okay Neighborhood Park Course

2-4    12/24/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good, but small, tee pads.
Great signage - easy to follow.
Good baskets.
Decent flow.

This is a decent neighborhood park 9 hole course, great for taking first time players, working on your short game, or just cranking out a fast 18 on a lunch break.
Cons: Lots of straight or slightly left to right shots without many serious obstacle to work around. This may be improved in a couple year as the trees grow on the front half of the course.
Other Thoughts: Marked alternate, longer, tee positions would be nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  The Fisher Price basketball hoop of disc golf courses

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- This course has nice Mach 3 baskets including a practice basket.

- Every hole has concrete tees
Cons:
- This course is underwhelming at best. Pitch and putt in the worst way possible. I like short holes but not these ones.

- Tons of wood chips around the tees leads to tons of woods chips on the tees and lots of slippage.

- Orchard park has little to no shot variety.

- The park has lots of foot traffic, pack golf and 'carriers' who know nothing of disc golf etiquette, often times driving in on greens with golfers still putting out.

- The parking lot is small and often crowded.

- The holes are really crammed into a small space.
Other Thoughts:
- This is basically the 'fisher price basketball hoop' of disc golf courses - it's for little kids and should not be enjoyed by anyone who owns a disc golf bag.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.