Hillsboro, OR 
Orchard Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #1
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun little city park

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 37.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- Cement tee pads
- Meticulously maintaned course. Mowed grass, trash cans everywhere
- Well placed trees that will really make the course better in 5-10 years when they mature fully.
- Easy to navigate
- Pretty setting
- Wood chips around all the baskets
Cons: - No real cons. It is what it is. A cool little 9 hole city park that everyone should be grateful exists for the community
- Could get dangerous on the last few holes with overlap with walking paths and conflicts with other park users on busier weekend days
Other Thoughts: - Ideal place to introduce friends or family to the game. 9 holes, easy to navigate, no real risk of losing discs. Just good family fun

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course...

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good use of available space
Very well maintained
Very clean
Nice vibe
Good signage
Great tees
Great baskets
Awesome course for beginners
A superb place to introduce newbies to the sport - I saw a group of six start after us and 2 were players and the other 4 were playing for the first time--how cool is that :)
Trees planted strategically to create obstacles...as they mature, they will really change the dynamics of the course
There is some very nice wooded areas next to the course that may allow them to expand...hole 7 is a great example of the potential of this area
A good place to play with shots that you want to work on, like playing the WHOLE course forehanded
Cons: The cons that I found are not a fault of the design but more a result of the limited space and terrain
It could get a little "dangerous" if crowded...walking paths throughout the course and some of the fairways overlap or are very close to each other
Other Thoughts: This is a great warm up type of course and if you are doing a trip to Horning's, this is worth a stop and a few minutes of your time

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quick, relaxed course

5+    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: badbitbucket
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - short and sweet. great for a quick 9 on the way home.
- Park is clean and well-maintained
- perfect flat course for the novice.
Cons: - Hole number 2 needs a new sign. the hole has been moved but the same sign was used.
- no elevation changes, except on hole 7.
- minor nit: course is "stuffed" into a small city park.
Other Thoughts: There's really not a lot to say about this course. I use it often because it's a mile from my office. It's 9 holes, nothing over 300. I usually play two rounds in just over an hour.

There is one hole in the woods (#7, my favorite) with a slight elevation change, and the rest are flat.

This is a very popular and somewhat crouded course, yet everyone is relaxed and friendly, and ready to allow you to play through if they lose a disc or want to take a break.

The course does feel a little cramped at times. Discs(mine included) often land on the wrong fairway.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun warm up course

2-4    11/15/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely clean park!!! Very well manicured grass and trees/ shrubbery. Wonderful warm up/ practice course for advanced players… and an even better course for beginners. I can spend all day on hole #7 as it's a blind basket during summer time great for tomahawks and curved slices to the right @ a distance of 172 feet its an ideal hole for aces. The tee boxes are extremely comfortable w/ provided maps/markers trash buckets and a small broom to dust it off. Most importantly it is almost impossible to loose a disc on this course. ( if you do loose one… just think of it as a contribution to a beginner player as a gift )… Restrooms provided during summer time operation. Great baskets!!!

Cons: Many Pedestrians and dogs!!! For advanced players it's an almost expected birdie on the holes if you can't ace them. Gets crowed w/ a lot of families that don't let you play through. ( but in a positive way of thinking forgive them as they are learning how to play ). Small parking area and It was somewhat confusing to locate my 1st time.

Other Thoughts: I live w/in walking distance of "greenway" and it is a short drive for me to "orchard" so if located in down town Beaverton it's fun to start here @ "orchard" hop on hwy 26 to "lunch time" then settle @ "greenway" for a days worth of playing (for me). I think the next closest parks from "orchard" are 2 courses located in forest grove ( I have no reviews for them as I haven't played them yet ) but I know they have one @ mc minimans pub so if you're a drinker it might be in your interest to hit up that one or viseversa.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Mid range practice course

8/17/2006   6/17/2008
Review By: Greg_R
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course for beginners or for people working on new shots (forehand, thumbers, anny, hyzers, etc.). The course is wide open so you can throw virtually any shot on every hole. I like to play the entire round with a Roc or Aviar to work on my short game. The tee pads are HUGE and the park is extremely clean & well manicured. Picnic tables and a nature trail will give the non-DG members of a family something to do while you play a quick 9.
Cons: This is not a competition level course. Dogs are often off-leash (can be an issue for some people). Bathrooms are locked during the winter months. Ultra-large after work groups and large groups of beginners are prevalent during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Do NOT go over the fence to get your disc... the neighbors will return your plastic to HPRD (near the Hillsboro stadium).

Weekly doubles during the summer are good practice because you MUST birdie everything. When you play a difficult course, those <250ft approach shots can be thrown with a high degree of confidence.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice clean park, always kept up nicely.
Good baskets, tee signs, and now, new tee pads.
holes 8 and 9 are interesting and challenging for many players.
hole 7 is a unique shot into a very small protected green.
Restrooms (clean!!)
Weekly doubles league through the summer (Tuesday nights)
Wind can add a much needed challenge factor.
Cons: Very simple, only 9 holes.
Flat, on the whole the course is rather unremarkable.
Not very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Orchard park is a charming 9 hole course, it's great for beginners and shines a good light on the game of disc golf for newer players, what with the clean look and general lack of trash or crime. I really only come out to Orchard for the weekly league but people living on the west side of Portland really should check it out. Folks just passing through would be better of at courses like Pier or Milo.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ultimate Yuppie Course!

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This might be the world's cleanest course. Some of the brand new tee pads have another ring of bark built around them. The baskets are new. The holes are short, easy with little chance of a lost disc. It would be the perfect course to introduce a newbie to the game.
Cons: Very little challenge for advanced players. No holes to really air it out on. I can see it getting really crowded.
Other Thoughts: I see this as the ultimate little yuppie course. I think they should install an expresso machine. Maybe have their own Starbucks. Think Paris Hilton playing disc golf!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5/17/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good course for friends and family who are just learning how to play. Good baskets and great new cement teepads. Well layed out and great signs to guide you through the course.
Cons: Very easy course and can be overly crowded. The course can be mastered within just a few rounds and gets boring quickly.
Other Thoughts: There is a great weekly tournament through out the summer that attracts tons of golfers of all skill levels.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 -

1    3/3/2008   3/3/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect for beginners.
Good baskets.
Well maintained park.
Weekly doubles during summer.
Good signage on each hole, with map at kiosk.
Cons: Can get crowded.
VERY short holes.
Boring for advanced DGers.
Very little challenge.
Other Thoughts: Orchard is one of the best places to take you friends who are interested in trying DG out. The holes are very short and don't require much skill.

That being said, if you are an advanced disc golfer, this course will probably be boring after the second or third round. Unless you spend all your time trying to ace the holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.