Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #15 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / --   3 / 145ft.   3 / 206ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  A course with potential

5+    11/14/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Karatemoonsuit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The potential for a really great casual course is definitely here. Oregon Park has undergone a lot of changes in a short time, moving from 9 holes to 18 in early 2009, and as of November 2010 a second full 18 hole course is on the adjoining park property.

The space and layout of the original 18 holes are a good mix of open holes (1-6,10-12) and wooded more technical holes along the creek (13-18). The course is sized well for players just beginning to play disc golf, as almost all the holes are under or around 300 ft. and provide simple/straightforward approaches. Few holes finish right meaning most right hand back hand throwers shouldn't need anything other than a basic throw.

The course is really open and most of the holes provide easy visibility to the rest of the course. The park as a whole is really well maintained and the start of the disc golf course and parking is (sorta) easy to find.

Cons: As good as this course could be it's got a lot of little things wrong with it. First off, finding the holes, even with a map on your first time out can be difficult, and finding both white and blue tees on every hole is a challenge (I still don't know where about half of them are even with a map). The baskets really don't help as many don't have the hole number on them and they seem to be mix of DGA and Discraft catchers with nothing bright to help pick them out at a distance.

While the layout itself makes good use of the available space, it makes for some awkward holes and (mostly) natural tee placement that can be problematic. After a good rain many of the tees are dugout muddy messes, and the back 9 holes along the creek can get really slippery and muddy making finding a good foothold a hassle. Of course these problems aren't unusual, but the course has a good deal of erosion and wear probably due just to the amount of traffic it gets.

Unfortunately the course can get really crowded quickly, and not all of the players I've encountered are polite disc golfers. Despite how easily visible all the baskets are from the pins other players don't always wait for before throwing, and with such a crowded layout it's easy to hit someone on the same hole, or even one of the other holes since some holes (3,4,10,11,13,14) overlap a little.

Signage is almost entirely non-existent, and some that's left over from when it was a 9 hole course is downright confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and though I've only been playing since Summer 2010, I'm on the course weekly. I really enjoy the course but it's quite a ways from the best course it could be.

Improvements as simple as signage, a definite layout (holes occasionally change for "tournaments" and some tees are just impractical) and better tees (concrete, or even simple gravel) would all go towards making Oregon Park a really good disc golf course.

Now with a second course on the property I'd like to see the original course become an easy to navigate, concise course, that's great for beginners.

Since Oregon park is the only disc golf course in Cobb county, and therefore it gets a lot of players everyday, it really should be at least a well maintained, thought out course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 O.P.

5+    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simple course with easy access. This course is not hidden within the park as many are in the area. Pin placements change from time to time to give you a different look.
Cons: Difficult to navigate as very little if anything is "marked" properly. Extremely large groups can be found playing very slow from time to time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Taka
Played: 54  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured park with elevation changes. Good variety of shots needed to score well. There is a creek which comes into play on a few holes which makes things interesting. The back nine has some tight wooded holes. Previous reviewers have made negative comments regarding the tee pads but I though they were fine as the holes are short and you don't need a run up to reach most of the holes.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate as there are no signs. I could see the possibilities of getting hit by discs as the holes are very close together. Lots of big groups which can make it a lengthy round. Very short course. Can play most of the course with a roc/buzz.
Other Thoughts: Stopped and played this course on the way home from Jazzfest. Kind of a pain to get to from I-75 but I really needed to stretch my legs. Found it very difficult to navigate this course but two cool locals offered to show me around on the back nine. Good thing as I was so frustrated that I was about to leave. This a decent course which has potential to improve. The locals said that the park has some more land and they were looking to expand the course or possibly putting in 18 more holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but sometimes gridlocked.

5+    8/3/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located in an attractive suburban park. I thought that the creek that comes into play on several holes was quite attractive and an interesting obstacle. It gives you something to worry about avoiding but if you do end up in it you can still easily retrieve your disc.

Having at least two teepads on every hole is very nice because it can allow you to play the 18 holes twice but more or less have the experience of playing 36 different holes. I liked how it was not really an easy and advanced tee but just two different tees that created different shots at the holes.

If I had to pick a favorite hole on the course it would be the new hole #8 which starts off straight but then drops down and to the right as it enters a gap in the forest.

The hole that I strangely enjoyed was #7. I am sure alot of other people hate that shot because it is maybe a 7 foot wide tunnel but there was just something about it that I loved. Having to decide to go for it or just play a couple safer short shots.

From a purely visual enjoyment standpoint I liked how hole 9 looked from the white tees. Which is to say elevated tee with a creek to the left and the pin protected by a large rock. I also visually enjoyed hole 13 which runs over the stream.
Cons: This course can get very crowded at times. Which can cause issues with lines forming at tees. This problem is exacerbated by the fact that multiple teepads are very close to other hole's pins and can easily put you in danger of being hit by even slightly wayward shots. Additionally I think even on some of the fairways you have a good chance of being hit with a disc thrown on another hole. I would hope people would be polite enough to not throw if there is a risk but you never know what some people might do.

Navigation is also a problem. The is most true of the newer holes which do not flow into each other very well in a couple of places. Examples of this would be between holes 8 to 9 and 16 to 17.

The teepad situation is also somewhat sketchy especially on the older 9 holes. They are often 6 inch to 12 inch deep ruts in the ground that hold storm water and turn into mud pits. It is kind of strange that only hole one has concrete but I am sure that it is a money thing.

The hole length was really lacking. It was most noticeable on the new holes which were almost all less than 250 feet. At least they were technical for the most part to help make up for the shorter lengths.
Other Thoughts: You should probably try to avoid the park on youth baseball days because it just gets slammed with cars and finding a parking spot can be tough.

Overall I really liked this course despite some of its deficiencies. I find it a great place to work on my mid range game and probably only pull out my driver on about 25% of the holes.

edit:On more recent visits I have been turned off by very rude younger players. We had several players throw into us and almost hit small children while putting out. We weren't playing slow or holding people up since there were still people on the tee in front of us. I am not sure why this is such a problem here and not at other busy courses like Alexander Park in Lawrenceville.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    8/31/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun little nine hole course that now has a full 18 holes. Each hole has two tee pads, white and blue. Each tee pad has a slightly different look at the pin with the blues being the lengthier choice on the new holes. On some of the older holes, namely 1 through 6 and 9 through 11, it's hard to tell if blue or white is the advanced tee. They sort of flip flop on which color tee is the more difficult or the lengthier shot. There are several reachable/aceable holes even for the weaker arms. The course's average hole length is somewhere in the 250-300' range with the shortest coming in at under 150' and the longest a little over 350'. There are also a few unofficial alternate tee pads mostly played by the locals. Some are marked better than others but if you look around you can find them. They will offer a little more challenge for those who like more distance/difficulty. There are alternate pin placements as well but in my experience you have to catch them when they are being moved for special events/tournaments.

There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. The first six are fairly open comparatively speaking. You will find some trees in your way on most of these holes but they are far enough apart or in clumps so that you can find your way around them with fairly accurate shots. Don't get too complacent because half hearted shots can add strokes for sure. The newer holes are moderately to heavily wooded and although they are short they do require accuracy. The creek also adds to the risks while offering some nice scenery.

You will find some really nice rolling hills at this park. They give you some slight uphill and slight downhill shots to really mix things up. Number nine (white tee) is one of my favorites. It is a gradual downhill shot and is easy to get some good distance and you'll love watching your discs fly. If I had to guess, I would say this is probably the most aced hole on the course with the majority being skipped in.

Almost everyone's nemesis is number seven, the tunnel shot. It follows a ten foot wide fairway with dense woods on both sides. Number eight, the rock shot plays along the creek with the basket up on a 4' tall rock cliff. I think most people consider it a course favorite. I think you'll find a couple more memorable holes as well.

The course is always maintained and in good order. Benches and trashcans are at some of the holes. Homemade signs/arrows will help you navigate. You will almost never be playing alone out here so if you need some directions I am sure a friendly local will help you find your way around. A lost disc box at the info sign is a nice addition although I think people (teens is my guess) have been stealing out of it as of late. There is a bathroom on site near the baseball fields in the back of the park. You'll also find a water fountain between holes 7 and 8 behind the tennis court.

Cons: This course tends to be really crowded at peak times and sometimes you have to wait on large groups (8-10 players sometimes). While I am happy so many younger players and high school kids play here, they are not always up on their etiquette. I play here with my 11 and 7 year old children and F-bombs coming from the nearby fairways can be pretty distracting as well.

Some of the fairways play pretty close to one another. You might find yourself waiting to tee off a couple of times while others play through on the fairway next to you.

The dirt pads don't really bother me too much but I have played with folks that really hate them. Some of them are in better shape than others. The worst of them have some pretty deep gorges that fill with water during rainy times. I usually just step to the side for a flat area to throw from. The signs should be a little better. As I mentioned, the homemade signs will get you through but some nice professionally made signs would be nice. As Cobb County's only course I would think they would fork out for some great signs. This is especially true considering the local club had to raise money for the new baskets. It seems like the least Cobb County could do.

Other Thoughts: The regulars are very active and involved and take great pride in the course. The North Georgia Disc Golf Club www.ngdgc.org (they should be called "The Oregon Park Club") spends lots of time lobbying the county and should get credit for the expansion of the additional holes. They also raised the money for the baskets.

I think they should rename some of the pads to make the two be distinctively different in terms of difficulty. In other words, have whites more beginner friendly and blues for the advanced.

If you played when it was just a nine hole course I suggest coming back and trying it now that is has the full eighteen. This is by no means a championship caliber course but it is still fun a worth the effort to play. Just enjoy it for what it is!


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.