Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 294ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course

5+    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: Recently they have moved some of the baskets out at OP, and that was a good surprise. While this course is small, I do think that you get a good variety of shots. It seems that the front 9 is a lot more open, minus hole 7, and the back nine is tighter and more wooded. Mixed layout (open, and wooded),
Cons: Can get crowded, I would have to agree with Quest, that the kids in this area take forever, and don't care about what is going on around them, or think that other people are even there!
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I play regularly, and it is has a good variety. My favorite hole is 10, it is wide open and a good elevation change. I would also say that I enjoy the back 9 more on this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Busiest Course in Georgia

1    3/19/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a beautiful multi-facility park that is currently expanding. I'm not sure on the date, but this course is definitely one of the older ones in the Atlanta area. If you're in the Kennesaw area then this one is definitely worth checking out.

There was a decent mix of elevation changes, but a great diversity of open to wooded holes. Also, both the wooded and open holes had great diversity within their own categories. What I mean by this is that I never felt like I was playing the same hole twice. Water comes into play on a good amount of the holes, but it's normally shallow so there's not much risk of losing plastic. Some of the baskets were older, but they still caught excellently. The course also has dual tees, that differ in length. Sometimes the blue tee is longer, sometimes the white tee is longer. Sometimes the longer tee is the easier shot. I liked this aspect, because you could play the different tees and feel like you were playing a completely different course, instead of just a harder course.
Cons: The park is located around a ton of highschools. If you come after 3 on a week day expect to find a group of about 8 highschoolers on every hole. On top of being the busiest course I've ever seen, the course also lacks signs and concrete tees. The course flows alright, but a guide or map is best. The lack of concrete tees is the biggest problem because people are wearing out the natural tees very quickly. Some of the holes do play long, but big arms might get bored here after a few rounds. There was also some litter on the course, but that's kind of hard to avoid with so much traffic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a very enjoyable time playing this course. Some difficulty on the wooded holes, but enough ace runs to build your confidence. If you schedule a good time to play and come prepared then you can have an amazing time here. If you come on a weekday afternoon then your opinion will probably differ.

On a side note, some of the locals told me that the park is expanding soon and that the course will be expanding as well. This is great news because the park doesn't really feel cramped as it is. More space will only improve the diversity and length of the holes. Once this happens, I see this course's overall rating going up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Terrain-Lacks Signs & Concrete!

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty nice little piece of park land to have a course in. There's just enough elevation, trees and a small creek to keep it very interesting. Unlike many courses, I don't think other park users are much of a concern but other golfers might be, as some of the pads are fairly close to baskets, so you might want to keep your head on a swivel as you're playing. It's a fairly short course with a nice variety of technical (very technical) versus more open holes. There are a couple of nice ace opps. The locals are seemingly quite active and seem to be striving to improve their course. The park was totally litter and vandalism free. There were white arrows in the trees pointing to the next tees, they helped. The course is mostly shaded for those hot summer days. There were quite a few "fun" holes but not really one that I really felt was a signature hole.
Cons: The only concrete pad was on hole one. The rest were natural. They were fine on a dry, July day. The problem would be after some heavy rain. There were no tee signs so calculating distances was by the braille system. And navigation was easy in some parts but more difficult after a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I like this course all right. It's not going to challenge the pros but most everyone else should enjoy throwing here. There's not much chance of losing your discs. The creek adds to the course's ambiance. Some friendly locals gave allowed me to play along with them.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    3/18/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty park setting with well thought out design, multiple tees on most holes. There are are nice amenities around like bathrooms, covered pavilion with grills, some benches scattered around and enough trash cans to keep the park clean. Congrats to the locals I did not see trash around at all.
I liked the layout of the course, this is a moderately wooded course that has taken good advantage of the terrain available. There is a small creek that adds to the beauty of the setting and comes into play on a few holes. The rolling hills add to the variety offered in this design. Hole #8 plays along the creek and the basket is placed on top of a large boulder that requires an uphill putt if you miss the small landing area around this basket. You play across a small ravine on a couple of the holes. If you land in here you will definitely have a blind approach shot.
Cons: Tees and signs are the areas in most need of attention. Hole 1 has two concrete tees all others are natural. Some of these show considerable wear. An attempt has been made to remedy this with wood chips but more are needed on a couple and some need to be smoothed out again. There has been a lot of rain in the area lately and I am sure this contributed to much of the tee box issues. The lack of signs made for confusion finding some holes. There is an attempt made to help with wooden arrows painted white and numbers hand written on them. I am sure these were place by the locals. Without these arrows it would be very hard to find your way around. The numbers by some of the tees are incorrect due to the recent expantion and redesign of the course.
Other Thoughts: This appears to be an older course undergoing some additions and upgrades. Most of the baskets were older and showing some signs of rust however this did not hamper play. There a couple of new baskets I saw. It appears that the tees are in place for a hole #17, however I did not find a basket. It looks as though this hole will require a throw thru the woods and across the creek. Should be a fun hole when the basket arrives. I hope to come back when the improvements are finished.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 9... Holes?....

1    1/21/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, I liked the concrete tee pads on the 1st hole. Second, it was quite easy. This is a course that from what I read is still being worked on. They're off to a pretty good start. The holes are pretty solid and offer two tee's per hole. The tee pad positions do give it a nice 18 hole feel.
Cons: It's a lil too easy. The holes are very close to each other, so on a busy day you'd be in the way of other golfers. The signs might as well be non-existent. Luckily, each hole was pretty easy to find. Like I said before, there are concrete tee pads on the 1st hole... only the 1st hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a pretty little course. The biggest complaint is that I drove over an hour to play here and kind of felt like... this is it? It's a nice place to play if you live close by, but I wouldn't drive more than 20 minutes to get there. If you're ever in Cobb County and the urge strikes you to play, give it a go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Now with 18 baskets!

5+    7/25/2009   9/29/2008
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oregon Park's disc golf course has the advantage of having its parkland space devoted strictly to disc golf. You won't have to compete with joggers or picnickers for the fairways, and the occasional dog walkers are no problem at all. Most peole here are friendly, and the local dg community is active and committed to improving the course and grounds. The weeds and brush are always kept at bay.

The course has two dirt tee pads for most of the holes, marked with a pair of concrete blocks in either blue and white. #1, #2, #5, and #9 all have concrete pads. There are also alternate pin positions that the local club uses to mix things up during events.

There is a good local gear shop, called Disc Caddie Golf, a few minutes away on the Marietta Square, in the building with BP Sports Collectibles. They sell several major brands, including fundraiser discs for metro Atlanta tournaments. You'll also find plenty of places to eat within a mile of the course.
Cons: There is a lot of traffic on the course, so several of the tee boxes and basket areas have seen serious erosion. Long-term plans to install concrete pads on all holes have been put on hold while the new layout is developed. The other tees are marked with white and blue concrete blocks, but you'll be driving from hard-packed dirt most of the way around the course. You may also find yourself waiting to tee off. Although slower groups will almost always offer to let you play through, you may find yourself waiting for a teebox on a particularly busy day.

You will probably be disappointed by the lack of signage on this course. We (the Cobb Disc Golf Club) have put signage on hold while our course designer redesigns the course (no need to waste money on signage that will have to be replaced). The result is a very confusing course for those who are unfamiliar with it. Adding to the confusion is the set of 11 new Innova Discatcher baskets that are in a semi-permanent layout on adjacent park land that is even more poorly marked than the old course. You can add as many of the 11 Discatchers as you like to your round, but they'll be safari holes until the new layout is installed.
Other Thoughts: Counting the semi-permanent installation of 11 Discatchers, this park currently has 29 holes in the ground. The only navigable set of 18 baskets is the old course, but the Discatchers can add a few extra holes to your round, especially if you want to unleash your arm on some big field bombs. All of the land that the disc golf baskets now occupy is going to be used for a new layout, pending the completion of our course designer's plan.

It's nice to see the popularity of this course among high schoolers and younger players. The younger we're hooked, the better for the sport!

The lengths of the holes are mostly around 250-330 feet. The front 9 are mostly open, with distinct clumps of trees to play around, while the back 9 is mostly wooded with water in play on several holes. You will find moderate elevation changes throughout the course. In my experience this course gives lots of birdie or ace chances to skilled players, and is probably best suited for the recreational game. For the stronger arms, this is a great place to work on your accuracy and "mid" game.

The lack of signs and the lack of concrete tee pads can be traced to this course's gradual maturation process. Once it's settled in its final 18+ hole layout, better signs and better tee pads will follow. In the meantime, if you're feeling a bit lost, ask a local. We'll be happy to show you around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid three discs!

5+    5/22/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great layout.
- Open and moderately wooded holes.
- Nice hill shots up and down.
- Great disc Golf community.
Cons: - Only 9 holes.
- Dirt tee pads with wear.
- Aging baskets.
Other Thoughts: I know that many homers will disagree but Oregon should be rated no better than three discs for several reasons. First, this very used course is only 9 holes. Duel tee placement will make some say that the course plays like 18 but this is only the case for a handful of holes. More times than not, the experience from the blue and white will be the same from the drive and no one will disagree that the second shot and putt will be exactly the same. Second, is with the exception of hole one, you are teeing off in the dirt. Because of the heavy play some of the dirt tee pads are so warn you will honestly be throwing out of what will remind you of a WWI fox hole. The third problem is the basket condition. The Mach 3 baskets have seen better days and are mounted too high on level ground. You will also notice that a couple of areas around the baskets have eroded. You can see the concrete pour floating above a couple fo the basket poles and a couple of holes have huge natural ditches warn in below the baskets.

I mention the negatives first to counter the higher reviews. But on the positive side this course will provide you with a very enjoyable time. The flow of the course is very good and this course takes great advantage of its given terrain. You will find most holes will involve either going downhill or uphill. You will not find heavily wooded holes but the moderately wooded holes will provide you will the risk reward you desire. I find the length of the holes to be well laid out. It will give the beginner the ability to make up for a bad drive and provide the advanced player several ace opportunities. One of the biggest advantages of this course is its player community. Some may think that the crowds are a disadvantage, but having an opportunity to watch or play with others should be a benefit to anyone in this sport. I would recommend this course to anyone living in the area or anyone that wants to participate in a great disc golf community.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.