Disc Golf Center

Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #13 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / --   3 / 209ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Mike B.
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to play, good for both beginners and pros. A good combination of hilly, wooded and open holes.
Cons: None of the tees are marked with a hole number, I could see how someone could get confused on this course.
Other Thoughts: A really nice course, I think a few reviewers have confused this course with the one adjacent to it at the old driving range (a temporary course see Bullard Stockton DGC) Though none of the tees were well marked ( some spray paint or stakes with numbers painted on, or even mailbox stickers work great, hint hint local disc golf club.) after playing many un marked mountain courses in CO, Wyoming and Montana, with a course map it was fairly easy to navigate ( 7 and 9 can be tough to find, and make sure you find the right basket on 8 it's not the visible one, the basket is further down and to the right) I don't live in the area but enjoy playing the course when I come and visit, All this course needs is for the local Disc Golf Club to make some labels and perhaps offer course maps by hole 1 and it really could be a great course. Disc Golf is a growing sport and to keep these courses from being turned into playgrounds and tennis courts we have to stop leaving trash on them and do our part to make them accessible to everyone who has interest. Local DG club I know you like the course to yourself but it's imperative to keep your course maintained or you may lose it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great First Course

5+    3/11/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: haier2
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The atmosphere at this park is welcoming and open. The course itself has evolved to 18 holes over the past year or two and is only going to keep improving. The holes themselves tend to be on the short side but they are great for a game for beginners, intermediates or even some advanced players to score a great round. There are now a few technical shots with numbers 7, 8, 9 and some others on the back 9 which really add to the original holes. The community which runs the weekly doubles tournament is great, the people here are awesome to players of all levels. The creek adds a bit of strategy to about 6 holes while you can still get your discs out of the water easily unlike lakes.
Cons: The teepads do often need some work and I believe that the park is working on this. The hole length is a little too short to really open up but the park is under construction and longer holes are in the plans I do believe. There tend to be large groups which seem to take up the entire course especially on the weekdays after three and om weekends. Sometimes these groups are too slow to manage and you have to skip over holes.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course and I think it is a great park for anyone who needs a relaxing round of disc golf. I think that not every park should be about throwing as far as you can on every hole though OP could have a few more long shots. If you're looking to stop by and play a quick game of golf this course is what you need.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    10/31/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course isn't overly wooded, but has been designed to maximize the trees as obstacles. Often, a large tree is right in the middle of the fairway. The challenge makes it a lot of fun.

There is a good diversity of holes. Some have elevated tee shots, others elevated pins. Many pins are guarded by trees or the river.

The walking paths are not paved, so you won't ever get road rash on your discs on a bad throw.
Cons: I normally don't complain about natural tee pads, but this course has a lot of DG traffic. With all the rain we've gotten, most pads are either under water or very slick clay (#12 especially).

I personally don't like the creek that comes into play on the back nine. There are no bridges so you climb down a 2-4 ft embankment, jump across, then climb back up. A few bridges would be a huge upgrade IMO.

The creek is muddy and up to 4 ft deep. Use a bright disk. Dark colored discs are hard to find. I prefer having a friend stand near the river to watch our tee shots. It's saves time int he long run. There are few branches around to help get a disc out. Please don't throw the good branches into the river so they won't rot.

There's enough land betwen the 9 & 12 pins that the last few holes could have utilized this space in lieu of the creek.
Other Thoughts: 1-4 are fairly open, which I enjoy to get started. A bad shot on these holes won't cost you too much.
#5 pin is on a 20 ft hill. The approach shot is challenging and unique.
#7 is a 7 ft wide path. You MUST throw straight.
#8 is a new hole. You can't see the pin. The fairway dips down to the right into the woods. A great addition to the course.
#9 is my favorite tee shot. Beware of the river on this hole. Getting a disc out here is especially tough.
#10 white has a great open downhill view. Long throwers beware, because it is easy to overthrow the hole.
#11 blue is easier than white for left handed or righthand forehand players because of the terrain and bushes.
#17 tee shot is a hyzer through the woods. I can't make it, but good players will enjoy the shot.
#18 is the best utilization of the river. I would love to see the dirt in front of the pin cut out to make it into an island.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Recently expanded and re-vamped. Dual tees, full 18 variety of throws, good obstacles, flowing lay-out, good people, clean, great park
(Added: As far as size it's not a large 18 by any means but for the use of space is a great 18. By no means should this park be a 12 or a 15. Perfect the way it is for what it is.
Cons: 2-3 baskets could be replaced. Nothing to bad though. Other than that....great park
(added: I can agree on some of the next tees are close to the pins. Nothing that isn't manageable by any decent disc golfer. Some of the tees would be nice if we got concrete.
Other Thoughts: Great park, the expansion was done to perfection. Another great Metro-Atl park
After reading another review on here, I guess I went a little short. (I added some notes to the cons side).
Understand the course just got redone. The group running it has done a wonderful job getting the county to allow them to build the park up. I think they did a great job. If you live any where close, go toss Oregon..You won't be upset.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT IMPROVEMENT!!!

2-4    3/17/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: When I first played just the old 9 holes I thought the course was easy and dull in the past. However, with the new holes added recentley, the course has improved drastically. You still do not get very many oppurtunities to let it rip here, but the new holes added a tough and technical aspect to the course it lacked before. The new holes are fun and definitley challenging! They are short but have a lot of trees to work your way through and pesent a high risk/reward factor!! They improved the nex-tee signs and have improved some of the tee pads!! I was going to rate it a 3.0 but decided on 3.5 based on the pure potential of the course!
Cons: Besides the new holes being somewhat short, some old baskets, and needing better signage there really are not many cons!
Other Thoughts: The facts with this course are simple, the locals are busting their butts to get the stingy Cobb County Parks and Rec to let them make the course better! They have done so with the new and additional 7 holes recently added. If you would like to see this course improve more, play it often and put your name on the sign-up sheet when you do. Also, come out to the SECOND ANNUAL FRIENDS OF THE PARK FUNDRAISER TOURNAMENT on April 18th!!! I am playing in it and am excited to play in it for sure!!! Come out and help the locals help you by bettering Oregon Park Disc Golf!!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Short Course

7/30/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Short par3. Some complain about the short courses, but if you only have an hour (or small children with short attention spans) a short course is great
- Terrific design. Dog legs left and right. Trees and open fairways.
- Great elevation changes.
- Manicured fairways. Look liked a golf course when there.
Cons: - The baskets are aging
- Natural tees have been worn deep in some places
- Potential to be busy. Had folks in front and behind us around midday
Other Thoughts: - A large portion of the course is under trees, making it a good course for hot sunny days. Even the open fairways have shade on one side or the other depending on the time of day.
- Trash bins, very clean park
- Friendly county employees
- Restrooms picnic areas, playgrounds

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small but good

3/26/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Ricemossj
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Home course, it's close to my house and its the only course in Cobb County. Its a challenging course, with all par 3's. No water hazards and no real place to lose your disc unless you have a really awful shot and are too lazy to go look.
Cons: Only nine holes, I know everyone says it plays like 18 because it has two tees for each hole. But if you use that logic, East Roswell has 54 holes! It can also be very busy at times.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

1/1/2008   2/24/2008
Review By: Skaggdaddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am new to Disc Golf. I have been playing 2-3 times a week for a couple of months. Yea, I caught the bug. Although the course has a little of trouble to find yourself in, I have not lost any disc. I have played other courses that could cost a you a fortune in lost plastic. The course offers a variety of tee shots (both Hizer and Anhizer) off the tee. The course is extremely easy to navigate. I have played courses that need GPS, yahoo maps, and a woman in the passenger seat to navigate through.

The course is 9 holes but the duel tee boxes (and their positions) allow the course to play more like 18. I like the elevation changes in the course. There are a couple of "grip it and rip it holes" followed by some careful tee shot holes.
Cons: Only 9 holes! The course can be busy at times. Due to the elevation changes, the wind seems to vary between holes.
Other Thoughts: The baskets don't like my putter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Location, location, location...

11/15/2007   11/27/2007
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to metro ATL... That means the difference between "squeezing in 9 holes after work", and not playing... A nice variety of hole shapes requires above average execution. The blind tee shot at #8 is cool. The shot must go up, over a hill through a tunnel of privet hedges and tree branches overhead and out into an open fairway. The gigantic downhill shot at #7 is very challenging with the tree tops 200' away at eye-level on the tee, and a creek running down the left side.
No conflicts with walking trails or other-use areas. Plenty of parking (they need it!) Concrete tees on #1.
Cons: Busy! Occasional waits for other groups are a regular occurance at busy times. The people are always nice though. The tees for #3 and #9, and the the holes for #4 and #8 are all very close together. Keep your head on a swivel there...
Other Thoughts: Cobb county needs 10 more just like Oregon Park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center