Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #10
3 / --   3 / 294ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oregon Park

5+    10/31/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course isn't overly wooded, but has been designed to maximize the trees as obstacles. Often, a large tree is right in the middle of the fairway. The challenge makes it a lot of fun.

There is a good diversity of holes. Some have elevated tee shots, others elevated pins. Many pins are guarded by trees or the river.

The walking paths are not paved, so you won't ever get road rash on your discs on a bad throw.
Cons: I normally don't complain about natural tee pads, but this course has a lot of DG traffic. With all the rain we've gotten, most pads are either under water or very slick clay (#12 especially).

I personally don't like the creek that comes into play on the back nine. There are no bridges so you climb down a 2-4 ft embankment, jump across, then climb back up. A few bridges would be a huge upgrade IMO.

The creek is muddy and up to 4 ft deep. Use a bright disk. Dark colored discs are hard to find. I prefer having a friend stand near the river to watch our tee shots. It's saves time int he long run. There are few branches around to help get a disc out. Please don't throw the good branches into the river so they won't rot.

There's enough land betwen the 9 & 12 pins that the last few holes could have utilized this space in lieu of the creek.
Other Thoughts: 1-4 are fairly open, which I enjoy to get started. A bad shot on these holes won't cost you too much.
#5 pin is on a 20 ft hill. The approach shot is challenging and unique.
#7 is a 7 ft wide path. You MUST throw straight.
#8 is a new hole. You can't see the pin. The fairway dips down to the right into the woods. A great addition to the course.
#9 is my favorite tee shot. Beware of the river on this hole. Getting a disc out here is especially tough.
#10 white has a great open downhill view. Long throwers beware, because it is easy to overthrow the hole.
#11 blue is easier than white for left handed or righthand forehand players because of the terrain and bushes.
#17 tee shot is a hyzer through the woods. I can't make it, but good players will enjoy the shot.
#18 is the best utilization of the river. I would love to see the dirt in front of the pin cut out to make it into an island.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but sometimes gridlocked.

5+    8/3/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located in an attractive suburban park. I thought that the creek that comes into play on several holes was quite attractive and an interesting obstacle. It gives you something to worry about avoiding but if you do end up in it you can still easily retrieve your disc.

Having at least two teepads on every hole is very nice because it can allow you to play the 18 holes twice but more or less have the experience of playing 36 different holes. I liked how it was not really an easy and advanced tee but just two different tees that created different shots at the holes.

If I had to pick a favorite hole on the course it would be the new hole #8 which starts off straight but then drops down and to the right as it enters a gap in the forest.

The hole that I strangely enjoyed was #7. I am sure alot of other people hate that shot because it is maybe a 7 foot wide tunnel but there was just something about it that I loved. Having to decide to go for it or just play a couple safer short shots.

From a purely visual enjoyment standpoint I liked how hole 9 looked from the white tees. Which is to say elevated tee with a creek to the left and the pin protected by a large rock. I also visually enjoyed hole 13 which runs over the stream.
Cons: This course can get very crowded at times. Which can cause issues with lines forming at tees. This problem is exacerbated by the fact that multiple teepads are very close to other hole's pins and can easily put you in danger of being hit by even slightly wayward shots. Additionally I think even on some of the fairways you have a good chance of being hit with a disc thrown on another hole. I would hope people would be polite enough to not throw if there is a risk but you never know what some people might do.

Navigation is also a problem. The is most true of the newer holes which do not flow into each other very well in a couple of places. Examples of this would be between holes 8 to 9 and 16 to 17.

The teepad situation is also somewhat sketchy especially on the older 9 holes. They are often 6 inch to 12 inch deep ruts in the ground that hold storm water and turn into mud pits. It is kind of strange that only hole one has concrete but I am sure that it is a money thing.

The hole length was really lacking. It was most noticeable on the new holes which were almost all less than 250 feet. At least they were technical for the most part to help make up for the shorter lengths.
Other Thoughts: You should probably try to avoid the park on youth baseball days because it just gets slammed with cars and finding a parking spot can be tough.

Overall I really liked this course despite some of its deficiencies. I find it a great place to work on my mid range game and probably only pull out my driver on about 25% of the holes.

edit:On more recent visits I have been turned off by very rude younger players. We had several players throw into us and almost hit small children while putting out. We weren't playing slow or holding people up since there were still people on the tee in front of us. I am not sure why this is such a problem here and not at other busy courses like Alexander Park in Lawrenceville.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's good.

5+    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Ro1_
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The original 9 holes are great.
The newest #8 hole is awesome now the woods have been cleared out a bit. It is the first hole to have 3 tee boxes.
Very clean, grass maintained, good community.
Cons: No water fountains at the park, anywhere :{
No signs anywhere.
A lot of bad tee pads.
Most of the back 9 holes feel "forced"
Other Thoughts: My local course & I can tell a lot of work is being put into it. With the design of the latest hole and the extra land acquired, I can tell its going to only get better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Terrain-Lacks Signs & Concrete!

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty nice little piece of park land to have a course in. There's just enough elevation, trees and a small creek to keep it very interesting. Unlike many courses, I don't think other park users are much of a concern but other golfers might be, as some of the pads are fairly close to baskets, so you might want to keep your head on a swivel as you're playing. It's a fairly short course with a nice variety of technical (very technical) versus more open holes. There are a couple of nice ace opps. The locals are seemingly quite active and seem to be striving to improve their course. The park was totally litter and vandalism free. There were white arrows in the trees pointing to the next tees, they helped. The course is mostly shaded for those hot summer days. There were quite a few "fun" holes but not really one that I really felt was a signature hole.
Cons: The only concrete pad was on hole one. The rest were natural. They were fine on a dry, July day. The problem would be after some heavy rain. There were no tee signs so calculating distances was by the braille system. And navigation was easy in some parts but more difficult after a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I like this course all right. It's not going to challenge the pros but most everyone else should enjoy throwing here. There's not much chance of losing your discs. The creek adds to the course's ambiance. Some friendly locals gave allowed me to play along with them.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Recently expanded and re-vamped. Dual tees, full 18 variety of throws, good obstacles, flowing lay-out, good people, clean, great park
(Added: As far as size it's not a large 18 by any means but for the use of space is a great 18. By no means should this park be a 12 or a 15. Perfect the way it is for what it is.
Cons: 2-3 baskets could be replaced. Nothing to bad though. Other than that....great park
(added: I can agree on some of the next tees are close to the pins. Nothing that isn't manageable by any decent disc golfer. Some of the tees would be nice if we got concrete.
Other Thoughts: Great park, the expansion was done to perfection. Another great Metro-Atl park
After reading another review on here, I guess I went a little short. (I added some notes to the cons side).
Understand the course just got redone. The group running it has done a wonderful job getting the county to allow them to build the park up. I think they did a great job. If you live any where close, go toss Oregon..You won't be upset.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hoped for more

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some holes are really cool, the most memorable were 5 and 8. The open holes were good, some of the wooded ones were throw and pray shots.
Lots of shade and great use of terrain, we liked the creek which would not eat your disc but made you feel stupid when you had to go fish it out.
Attempts have been made to guide you around the course, but at times are sketchy at best.
One of the nicest concrete tees on 1...very misleading!
Good catching baskets.
Cons: Blue and white tees seemed to alternate difficulty. Some were outright frustrating to find.
Some tees are more ditches than tees. It is apparent most people stand next to them as they are starting to wear too.
Most holes shoot right into the next, standing on a tee can be nearly as dangerous as standing in a fairway at some spots.
Hole 7...really? (This is probably due to my suckiness but wow this hole is just wrong).
Other Thoughts: I know people really want 18 hole courses but this park is very small and has limited space for disc golf. It could be a really killer 9 hole or even 12...maybe as much as 15 but shoving 18 holes in here (well, 17 really, 18 is across the street) is kind of ridiculous. You always seem to be shooting at someone or near someone which always puts me on edge.

It has some really cool holes but I would not go out of my way for it.

This course got a 43 out of 100 with my rating system and its biggest downfall was lack of signs and very poor tees. Its biggest plus is there are a few really cool holes and they seem to have a huge disc golf community there...it was one of the busiest parks we have been to yet. There were people playing nearly every hole and we got bottlenecked at 15-17. There was a group of 10 that was faster than most groups of 3.

It really looks like the people deserve a bigger piece of land to put in a course worthy of the quality of folks who have put so much effort into it.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    3/18/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty park setting with well thought out design, multiple tees on most holes. There are are nice amenities around like bathrooms, covered pavilion with grills, some benches scattered around and enough trash cans to keep the park clean. Congrats to the locals I did not see trash around at all.
I liked the layout of the course, this is a moderately wooded course that has taken good advantage of the terrain available. There is a small creek that adds to the beauty of the setting and comes into play on a few holes. The rolling hills add to the variety offered in this design. Hole #8 plays along the creek and the basket is placed on top of a large boulder that requires an uphill putt if you miss the small landing area around this basket. You play across a small ravine on a couple of the holes. If you land in here you will definitely have a blind approach shot.
Cons: Tees and signs are the areas in most need of attention. Hole 1 has two concrete tees all others are natural. Some of these show considerable wear. An attempt has been made to remedy this with wood chips but more are needed on a couple and some need to be smoothed out again. There has been a lot of rain in the area lately and I am sure this contributed to much of the tee box issues. The lack of signs made for confusion finding some holes. There is an attempt made to help with wooden arrows painted white and numbers hand written on them. I am sure these were place by the locals. Without these arrows it would be very hard to find your way around. The numbers by some of the tees are incorrect due to the recent expantion and redesign of the course.
Other Thoughts: This appears to be an older course undergoing some additions and upgrades. Most of the baskets were older and showing some signs of rust however this did not hamper play. There a couple of new baskets I saw. It appears that the tees are in place for a hole #17, however I did not find a basket. It looks as though this hole will require a throw thru the woods and across the creek. Should be a fun hole when the basket arrives. I hope to come back when the improvements are finished.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 9... Holes?....

1    1/21/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, I liked the concrete tee pads on the 1st hole. Second, it was quite easy. This is a course that from what I read is still being worked on. They're off to a pretty good start. The holes are pretty solid and offer two tee's per hole. The tee pad positions do give it a nice 18 hole feel.
Cons: It's a lil too easy. The holes are very close to each other, so on a busy day you'd be in the way of other golfers. The signs might as well be non-existent. Luckily, each hole was pretty easy to find. Like I said before, there are concrete tee pads on the 1st hole... only the 1st hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a pretty little course. The biggest complaint is that I drove over an hour to play here and kind of felt like... this is it? It's a nice place to play if you live close by, but I wouldn't drive more than 20 minutes to get there. If you're ever in Cobb County and the urge strikes you to play, give it a go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT IMPROVEMENT!!!

2-4    3/17/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: When I first played just the old 9 holes I thought the course was easy and dull in the past. However, with the new holes added recentley, the course has improved drastically. You still do not get very many oppurtunities to let it rip here, but the new holes added a tough and technical aspect to the course it lacked before. The new holes are fun and definitley challenging! They are short but have a lot of trees to work your way through and pesent a high risk/reward factor!! They improved the nex-tee signs and have improved some of the tee pads!! I was going to rate it a 3.0 but decided on 3.5 based on the pure potential of the course!
Cons: Besides the new holes being somewhat short, some old baskets, and needing better signage there really are not many cons!
Other Thoughts: The facts with this course are simple, the locals are busting their butts to get the stingy Cobb County Parks and Rec to let them make the course better! They have done so with the new and additional 7 holes recently added. If you would like to see this course improve more, play it often and put your name on the sign-up sheet when you do. Also, come out to the SECOND ANNUAL FRIENDS OF THE PARK FUNDRAISER TOURNAMENT on April 18th!!! I am playing in it and am excited to play in it for sure!!! Come out and help the locals help you by bettering Oregon Park Disc Golf!!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon Park

5+    8/31/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun little nine hole course that now has a full 18 holes. Each hole has two tee pads, white and blue. Each tee pad has a slightly different look at the pin with the blues being the lengthier choice on the new holes. On some of the older holes, namely 1 through 6 and 9 through 11, it's hard to tell if blue or white is the advanced tee. They sort of flip flop on which color tee is the more difficult or the lengthier shot. There are several reachable/aceable holes even for the weaker arms. The course's average hole length is somewhere in the 250-300' range with the shortest coming in at under 150' and the longest a little over 350'. There are also a few unofficial alternate tee pads mostly played by the locals. Some are marked better than others but if you look around you can find them. They will offer a little more challenge for those who like more distance/difficulty. There are alternate pin placements as well but in my experience you have to catch them when they are being moved for special events/tournaments.

There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. The first six are fairly open comparatively speaking. You will find some trees in your way on most of these holes but they are far enough apart or in clumps so that you can find your way around them with fairly accurate shots. Don't get too complacent because half hearted shots can add strokes for sure. The newer holes are moderately to heavily wooded and although they are short they do require accuracy. The creek also adds to the risks while offering some nice scenery.

You will find some really nice rolling hills at this park. They give you some slight uphill and slight downhill shots to really mix things up. Number nine (white tee) is one of my favorites. It is a gradual downhill shot and is easy to get some good distance and you'll love watching your discs fly. If I had to guess, I would say this is probably the most aced hole on the course with the majority being skipped in.

Almost everyone's nemesis is number seven, the tunnel shot. It follows a ten foot wide fairway with dense woods on both sides. Number eight, the rock shot plays along the creek with the basket up on a 4' tall rock cliff. I think most people consider it a course favorite. I think you'll find a couple more memorable holes as well.

The course is always maintained and in good order. Benches and trashcans are at some of the holes. Homemade signs/arrows will help you navigate. You will almost never be playing alone out here so if you need some directions I am sure a friendly local will help you find your way around. A lost disc box at the info sign is a nice addition although I think people (teens is my guess) have been stealing out of it as of late. There is a bathroom on site near the baseball fields in the back of the park. You'll also find a water fountain between holes 7 and 8 behind the tennis court.

Cons: This course tends to be really crowded at peak times and sometimes you have to wait on large groups (8-10 players sometimes). While I am happy so many younger players and high school kids play here, they are not always up on their etiquette. I play here with my 11 and 7 year old children and F-bombs coming from the nearby fairways can be pretty distracting as well.

Some of the fairways play pretty close to one another. You might find yourself waiting to tee off a couple of times while others play through on the fairway next to you.

The dirt pads don't really bother me too much but I have played with folks that really hate them. Some of them are in better shape than others. The worst of them have some pretty deep gorges that fill with water during rainy times. I usually just step to the side for a flat area to throw from. The signs should be a little better. As I mentioned, the homemade signs will get you through but some nice professionally made signs would be nice. As Cobb County's only course I would think they would fork out for some great signs. This is especially true considering the local club had to raise money for the new baskets. It seems like the least Cobb County could do.

Other Thoughts: The regulars are very active and involved and take great pride in the course. The North Georgia Disc Golf Club www.ngdgc.org (they should be called "The Oregon Park Club") spends lots of time lobbying the county and should get credit for the expansion of the additional holes. They also raised the money for the baskets.

I think they should rename some of the pads to make the two be distinctively different in terms of difficulty. In other words, have whites more beginner friendly and blues for the advanced.

If you played when it was just a nine hole course I suggest coming back and trying it now that is has the full eighteen. This is by no means a championship caliber course but it is still fun a worth the effort to play. Just enjoy it for what it is!


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.